Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 16-19 & 21-27 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claims 13-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 1 & 18 have been amended.
Claims 23-27 have been added and are presented for examination.
Rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 16-19, 21 & 22 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1 & 18, but new grounds of rejections of these claims have been introduced based on new reference Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 7/2/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 16-19, 21 & 22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made in view of new reference Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to this claim traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Lei. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 18, applicant submits that amendments to this claim are similar to amendments for claim 1, and thus for the same arguments as made above for claim 1, amended claim 18 traverses the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026, but for the same reasons as discussed above introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Lei.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19, 21 & 22, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claim under 35 USC 103 in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026 based on amendments and arguments made above for claims 1 & 18 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 18. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/8/2026, but for the same reasons as discussed above introduces a new ground of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Lei.
Claim Interpretation
Note that for the purpose of this review, Network Coding is interpreted as a packet processing function that transforms X input/source packets into Y output/coded packets. This is consistent with the definition of Network Coding in [0076-0078] of the current application. Per this interpretation of Network Coding (NC), Incremental Redundancy (IR), as known to one skilled in the art, represents a form of Network Coding. The Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) associated with an IR coded sequence of Y packets (from the same source of X packets) represent the generation of a NC coded group of Y packets (from the same source of X packets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 & 18, these claims recite the limitations:
1st limitation - “transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) associated with a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period”,
2nd limitation - “transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods”, and
3rd limitation - “wherein the WTRU is further configured to, for a transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determine whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero”.
It is unclear whether “the transmit occasion” in the 3rd limitation is in reference to the “one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period” of the 1st limitation or is in reference to the “transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods” of the 2nd & 3rd limitations. It is also unclear whether “being equal to zero” in the 3rd limitation is in reference to the redundancy version or the transmit occasion. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting the 3rd limitation above as “wherein the WTRU is further configured to, for a new transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determine whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the one or more transmit occasions of the CG period, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version, associated with the one or more transmit occasions of the CG period, being equal to zero”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 11, 16, 18, 19, 21-23, 25 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”) and Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising
circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver, a processor, and memory ([0008] discloses a wireless communication apparatus, representing a UE or WTRU (for the purpose of this review, a UE will represent a WTRU), including a processor and memory and capable of uplink transmission. [0128] discloses the wireless device UE may include a receiver.), configured to:
transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) associated with a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period ([0059] discloses configuration of a UE for semi-persistent scheduling that designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit, which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061 & 0072] disclose that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these TTIs, representing transmit occasions, and the transmitted data or control packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR). [0070-0071] discloses that each transmitted incremental redundancy packet includes different information with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) indicating the group of transmissions that contain coded packets from the same pre-coded information. Transmitting a set of incremental redundancy coded packets with their RVIDs represents sending network coded NC-PDUs associated with a NC generation.);
transmit NC related information associated with the NC generation to assist a network in decoding; ([0070-0071] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with an RVID sequence, representing a NC generation, to assist the network and increase the chances of the network correctly decoding a transmission. The RVID information can be used to indicate a number of IR coded packets from an RVID sequence, representing a number of NC-PDUs of an NC generation, to be successfully received for recovering a data unit.);
monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a UE monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback. The HARQ feedback may consist of an ACK/NACK from the base station for a previous transmission related to an RVID sequence, representing feedback information from the network for an NC generation.);
transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods ([0106] discloses that the UE may retransmit data during a second/subsequent TTI, representing a subsequent CG period) until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network ([0063] discloses that the base station may transmit an ACK when the UE transmission from an RVID sequence is successfully received, after which the UE may refrain from transmitting further. This discloses that the transmissions continue until feedback information acknowledging a reception of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation, is received.).
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units;
However, Lauridsen teaches wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units (Fig 6 & [0035] disclose Network Coding of a plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to a receiver Rx (i.e. a NC generation) associated with packet numbers 1, 2, 3,… (i.e. more than one data unit) that are encoded into a plurality of NC packets transmitted by a transmitter Tx (i.e. NC PDUs) using different linear combinations of the plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to the Rx.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period; transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit; and transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs from the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the NC generation is associated with a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units, as taught by Lauridsen. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of Network Coding a plurality of packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of more than one packets to be transmitted to produce NC packets to be transmitted; transmitting the NC packets for recovering the more than one packets to be transmitted; and transmitting one or more subsequent NC packets when an updated CPI indicates that more linear combinations are needed to successfully decode the more than one packets to be transmitted wherein at least one NC packet is a different linear combination of the packets to be transmitted from previously transmitted linear combinations of the packets to be transmitted, to improve spectral efficiency in a wireless communication channel.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units;
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units (Col 8, lines 37-45 discloses a base station transmitting network coding parameters (NC related information) including an original k value, encoding/decoding algorithms and decodable set size M. Col 7, lines 17-27 disclose that the k value may represent a number of original packets to be encoded into N encoded packets, and M represents the number of encoded packets that must be received to recover the original (i.e. unencoded) packets with a desired probability (e.g. a desired probability of 100% represents the case where M is the number of encoded packets that must be received to guarantee recovery of the original packets). Thus, disclosed is transmitting, for a set of k original packets network encoded with a defined network coding algorithm (i.e. a NC generation), a first number M out of a second number N, of NC packets to be successfully received for recovery the k original packets.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period and transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of Network Coding k original packets into N encoded packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of k original packets and transmitting a number M of successfully received encoded packets required to be successfully decode the k original packets so that the receiver can wait until the receiver receives at least M encoded packets before performing decoding of the network coded packets, avoiding the potential wasting of processing power that would occur if the receiver attempted to perform network decoding with less than M encoded packets.
Sun fails to but Choi further teaches wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU (Fig 1 and Page 2558, Sections II-A & B disclose configuration of K-repetition for transmitting M data packets, where K>1, over K*M GFRA slots (i.e. transmit occasions) to fit within a time deadline (i.e. representing a CG period). Fig 2 and Pages 2258-2259, sections III & IV disclose, in replacement of a GFRA slot repetition (i.e. representing a transport block repetition), transmitting a transmission s with a network coded packet (i.e. representing a new NC-PDU) associated with a NC generation of K*M encoded packets using a different linear combination of the M data packets using weighting factors gsm, relative to the network coded packet transmitted in transmission 1 in the initial transmit occasion of the deadline using weighting factors g1m, such that the transmit occasion for transmission s associated with one of the K-repetition GFRA slots conveys an additional network coded packet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, as disclosed by Sun, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as further taught by Choi. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of transmitting, during a configured grant (CG) period, a Network Coded packet based on a linear combinations M original packets during a transport block repetition occasion within the CG grant period instead of retransmitting the packet during the transport block repetition occasion in order to reduce error probabilities in Machine Type Communication (MTC) systems using Grant Free Random Access (GFRA).
Sun fails to disclose but Zhou2 further teaches terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation (Figs 3A, 3B & 4 and [0058]-[0064] disclose a transmitter device, that may be a UE, that sends network coded packets that are linear combinations to source packets p1, p2 and p3 that may be subpackets of an original packet (i.e. a NC generation of NC-PDUs) and receives feedback provided by a receiver indicating that the three source packets p1, p2 and p3 were successfully decoded (acknowledging that the original packet was successfully decoded and acknowledging reception of the NC generation) and to stop a current transmission (i.e. terminate transmission of further linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUS of the original packet) and move on to a next transmission (i.e. start sending linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUs of a next packet).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, and monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, as disclosed by Sun, and terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou2. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of transmitting to a network device, during a configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, receive feedback from the network device that the original packet has been successfully decoded, and terminate the sending of further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet, in order to not waste uplink resources by sending further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet that are not needed by the network device to decode the original packet, and to begin sending linear combinations of sub-packets of a next packet in order to improve throughput.
Sun fails to disclose but Lei further teaches wherein the WTRU is further configured to, for a transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determine whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero ([0032], Table 1 & [0060] disclose different redundancy version (RV) patterns for transmission of repetitions (i.e. RVs for NC-PDUs) including RV pattern {0,2,3,1} and {0,0,0,0}. Fig 3 & [0072]-[0079] & [0084-0088] disclose that a UE may select an RV pattern and when an LBT procedure for a first N consecutive CG occasions of a first CG period fail, the UE may transmit the N repetitions (i.e. the first N RVs in the selected RV pattern) in first N CG occasions of the next CG period (i.e. a subsequent CG period). In the scenario where N=2 and the UE selects the {0,2,3,1} RV pattern, then the UE would determine to transmit repetition RV0 (i.e. a repetition, or NC-PDU, with a new redundancy version different than the redundancy versions RV2, RV3 and RV1 transmitted by repetitions in the first CG period, wherein the new redundancy version repetition is associated with redundancy version zero) in the first CG occasion of the next CG period, while if the UE selects the {0,0,0,0} RV pattern, then the UE would determine to transmit repetition RV0 (i.e. a repetition of the redundancy version RV0 transmitted in the first CG period) in the first CG occasion in the next CG period.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, and transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as disclosed by Sun in view of Choi, wherein the WTRU is further configured to, for a transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determine whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero, as further taught by Lei. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of transmitting to a network device, during a first configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded (NC) PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, determining that LBT procedures fail for at least one CG occasion of the first CG period and determining a RV pattern for transmitting the NC PDUs, wherein one RV pattern results in transmitting a new NC PDU based on an RV different than RVs transmitted and associated with redundancy version 0 in a CG occasion in a next CG period, and another RV pattern results in transmitting a repetition of an NC PDU based on an RV version of the NC PDU transmitted in a CG occasion of the first CG period, so that the UE may determine whether to focus transmission during the CG occasion in the next CG period on higher performance using higher complexity (i.e. transmitting a new NC PDU) or using lower complexity with lower performance (i.e. transmitting a repetition of the NC PDU).
Regarding Claim 2, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein being configured to transmit the set of NC-PDUs comprises:
being configured to transmit (i) a first subset of NC-PDUs in a first transport block at a first transmit occasion of the CG period (Fig 4 & [0091] disclose a configuration for transmitting data packets during a first TTI allocated for SPS uplink transmission, representing a first set of NC-PDUs transmitted in a first transport block of a first CG transmit occasion) and
(ii) a second subset of NC-PDUs in a second transport block at a second transmit occasion of the CG period (Fig 4 & [0091] disclose transmitting data packets during a second TTI allocated for SPS uplink transmission, representing a second set of NC-PDUs transmitted at a second transport block of a first CG transmit occasion).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted for the NC generation ([0070] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs), and that the RVID information can be used to indicate a number of attempted IR coded packet transmissions, representing a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted. [0071] discloses an example where the RVID sequence is 0/2/3/1. When RVID1 is transmitted, this indicates that a total number of 4 coded packets have been transmitted.).
Regarding Claim 5 & 23, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1 and the method of claim 18.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates an identifier of the NC generation or a sequence number of the NC generation ([0070] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with a Redundancy Version Identifier (RVID) sequence, representing a NC generation. [0071] discloses that the RVID information, representing NC related information, can be an indication of a sequence number of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation.).
Regarding Claims 7 & 25, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1 and the method of claim 18.
Sun discloses wherein transmitting, or being configured to transmit, the NC related information associated with the NC generation comprises transmitting, or being configured to transmit, the NC related information associated with the NC generation in the one or more transmit occasions of the CG period ([0059] discloses configuration of a UE for semi-persistent scheduling which designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061] discloses that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these one or more TTIs, representing transmit occasions. [0072] discloses that the transmitted packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR) with different RVIDs for an IR HARQ process, representing NC related information for an NC generation.).
Regarding Claims 8 & 26, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1 and the method of claim 18.
Sun discloses wherein transmitting, or being configured to transmit, the NC related information associated with the NC generation comprises transmitting, or being configured to transmit, the NC related information associated with the NC generation in any of uplink control information, a medium access control element and a radio resource control message ([0061 discloses that uplink SPS resource allocations may be used to transmit uplink control packets such as RVIDs associated with an RVID sequence, that represent uplink control information such as NC related information associated with an NC generation.).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to receive configuration information indicating the repetition parameter greater than one ([0071] discloses an example where the base station receives UE uplink transmissions with an RVID sequence of 0/2/3/1. In this configuration, the base station may receive RVIDs 2, 3 or 1 indicating that these are 2nd, 3rd and 4th transmissions (i.e. retransmissions with configuration information indicating a repetition parameter greater than 1) of the first transmission RVID0 from the UE).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein the feedback information is received in any of downlink control information, a medium access control element (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a UE monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback on the physical HARQ indicator channel (PHICH), representing downlink control information.).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun discloses a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
transmitting a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) associated with a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period ([0059] discloses a method comprising a UE configured for semi-persistent scheduling that designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit, which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061 & 0072] disclose that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these TTIs, representing transmit occasions, and the transmitted data or control packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR). [0070-0071] discloses that each transmitted incremental redundancy packet includes different information with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) indicating the group of transmissions that contain coded packets from the same pre-coded information. Transmitting a set of incremental redundancy coded packets with their RVIDs represents sending network coded NC-PDUs of a NC generation.);
transmitting NC related information associated with the NC generation to assist a network in decoding ([0070-0071] discloses a method comprising transmission of IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with an RVID sequence, representing a NC generation, in a TTI configured for SPS, representing one or more transmit occasions of a CG period.);
monitoring to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a method comprising monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback. The HARQ feedback may consist of an ACK/NACK from the base station for a previous transmission related to an RVID sequence, representing feedback information from a network for an NC generation.);
transmitting one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods ([0106] discloses a method to retransmit data during a second/subsequent TTI, representing a subsequent CG period) until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network ([0063] discloses that the base station may transmit an ACK when the UE transmission from an RVID sequence is successfully received, after which the UE may refrain from transmitting further. This discloses that the transmissions continue until feedback information acknowledging a reception of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation, is received.).
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units.
However, Lauridsen teaches wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units (Fig 6 & [0035] disclose Network Coding of a plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to Rx (i.e. a NC generation) associated with packet numbers 1, 2,3,… (i.e. more than one data unit) that are encoded into a plurality of NC packets transmitted by Tx (i.e. NC PDUs) using different linear combinations of the plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to Rx. [0030] discloses that for N packets to be transmitted to Rx there are at least N network coded packets (i.e. more than N different linear combinations of the N packets to be transmitted to Rx).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period; transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit; and transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs from the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the NC generation is associated with a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units, as taught by Lauridsen. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of Network Coding a plurality of packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of more than one packets to be transmitted to produce NC packets to be transmitted; transmitting the NC packets for recovering the more than one packets to be transmitted; and transmitting one or more subsequent NC packets when an updated CPI indicates that more linear combinations are needed to successfully decode the more than one packets to be transmitted wherein at least one NC packet is a different linear combination of the packets to be transmitted from previously transmitted linear combinations of the packets to be transmitted, to improve spectral efficiency in a wireless communication channel.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number "X" of NC PDUs out of a second number "Y" of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation;
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number "X" of NC PDUs out of a second number "Y" of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation (Col 8, lines 37-45 discloses a base station transmitting network coding parameters (NC related information) including an original k value, encoding/decoding algorithms and decodable set size M. Col 7, lines 17-27 disclose that the k value may represent a number of original packets to be encoded into N encoded packets, and M represents the number of encoded packets that must be received to recover the original (i.e. unencoded) packets with a desired probability (e.g. a desired probability of 100% represents the case where M is the number of encoded packets that must be received to guarantee recovery of the original packets). Thus, disclosed is transmitting, for a set of k original packets network encoded with a defined network coding algorithm (i.e. a NC generation), a first number M out of a second number N, of NC packets to be successfully received for recovery the k original packets (i.e. recovering the NC generation).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period and transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of Network Coding k original packets into N encoded packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of k original packets and transmitting a number M of successfully received encoded packets required to be successfully decode the k original packets so that the receiver can wait until the receiver receives at least M encoded packets before performing decoding of the network coded packets, avoiding the potential wasting of processing power that would occur if the receiver attempted to perform network decoding with less than M encoded packets.
Sun fails to disclose but Choi further teaches wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU (Fig 1 and Page 2558, Sections II-A & B disclose configuration of K-repetition for transmitting M data packets, where K>1, over K*M GFRA slots (i.e. transmit occasions) to fit within a time deadline (i.e. representing a CG period). Fig 2 and Pages 2258-2259, section III discloses, in replacement of a GFRA slot repetition (i.e. representing a transport block repetition), transmitting a transmission s with a network coded packet (i.e. representing a new NC-PDU) associated with a NC generation of K*M encoded packets using a different linear combination of the M data packets using weighting factors gsm, relative to the network coded packet transmitted in transmission 1 in the initial transmit occasion of the deadline using weighting factors g1m, such that the transmit occasion for transmission s associated with one of the K-repetition GFRA slots conveys an additional network coded packet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, as disclosed by Sun, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as further taught by Choi. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of transmitting, during a configured grant (CG) period, a Network Coded packet based on a linear combinations M original packets during a transport block repetition occasion within the CG grant period instead of retransmitting the packet during the transport block repetition occasion in order to reduce error probabilities in Machine Type Communication (MTC) systems using Grant Free Random Access (GFRA).
Sun fails to disclose but Zhou2 further teaches terminating transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation (Figs 3A, 3B & 4 and [0058]-[0064] disclose a transmitter device, that may be a UE, that sends network coded packets that are linear combinations to source packets p1, p2 and p3 that may be subpackets of an original packet (i.e. a NC generation of NC-PDUs) and receives feedback provided by a receiver indicating that the three source packets p1, p2 and p3 were successfully decoded (acknowledging that the original packet was successfully decoded and acknowledging reception of the NC generation) and to stop a current transmission (i.e. terminate transmission of further linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUS of the original packet) and move on to a next transmission (i.e. start sending linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUs of a next packet).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method, implemented in a wireless WTRU, to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, and monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, as disclosed by Sun, and terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou2. The motivation to do so would be to have a method, implemented in a WTRU, for transmitting to a network device, during a configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, receive feedback from the network device that the original packet has been successfully decoded, and terminate the sending of further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet, in order to not waster uplink resources by sending further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet that are not needed by the network device to decode the original packet, and to begin sending linear combinations of sub-packets of a next packet in order to improve throughput.
Sun fails to disclose but Lei further teaches wherein the method further comprises, for a transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determining whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero ([0032], Table 1 & [0060] disclose different redundancy version (RV) patterns for transmission of repetitions (i.e. RVs for NC-PDUs) including RV pattern {0,2,3,1} and {0,0,0,0}. Fig 3 & [0072]-[0079] & [0084-0088] disclose that a UE may select an RV pattern and when an LBT procedure for a first N consecutive CG occasions of a first CG period fail, the UE may transmit the N repetitions (i.e. the first N RVs in the selected RV pattern) in first N CG occasions of the next CG period (i.e. a subsequent CG period). In the scenario where N=2 and the UE selects the {0,2,3,1} RV pattern, then the UE would determine to transmit repetition RV0 (i.e. a repetition, or NC-PDU, with a new redundancy version different than the redundancy versions RV2, RV3 and RV1 transmitted by repetitions in the first CG period, wherein the new redundancy version repetition is associated with redundancy version zero) in the first CG occasion of the next CG period, while if the UE selects the {0,0,0,0} RV pattern, then the UE would determine to transmit repetition RV0 (i.e. a repetition of the redundancy version RV0 transmitted in the first CG period) in the first CG occasion in the next CG period.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method implemented in a wireless WTRU, the method comprising transmitting a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, monitoring to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, and transmitting one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit a new NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as disclosed by Sun in view of Choi, wherein the WTRU is further configured to, for a transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods, determine whether to transmit the new NC-PDU or to perform a repetition of a previously transmitted NC-PDU based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion, and wherein the new NC-PDU is transmitted based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero, as further taught by Lei. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a WTRU comprising transmitting to a network device, during a first configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded (NC) PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, determining that LBT procedures fail for at least one CG occasion of the first CG period and determining a RV pattern for transmitting the NC PDUs, wherein one RV pattern results in transmitting a new NC PDU based on an RV different than RVs transmitted and associated with redundancy version 0 in a CG occasion in a next CG period, and another RV pattern results in transmitting a repetition of an NC PDU based on an RV version of the NC PDU transmitted in a CG occasion of the first CG period, so that the UE may determine whether to focus transmission during the CG occasion in the next CG period on higher performance using higher complexity (i.e. transmitting a new NC PDU) or using lower complexity with lower performance (i.e. transmitting a repetition of the NC PDU).
Regarding Claim 19, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the method of claim 18.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted for the NC generation ([0070] discloses a method comprising transmission of IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs), and that the RVID information can be used to indicate a number of attempted IR coded packet transmissions, representing a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted. [0071] discloses an example where the RVID sequence is 0/2/3/1. When RVID1 is transmitted, this indicates that a total number of 4 coded packets have been transmitted.).
Regarding claim 21, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to transmit remaining NC PDUs associated with the NC generation in dynamically scheduled resources ([0071]-[0072] disclose transmission of RVID2 after transmission of RVID0 (i.e. transmission of a remaining NC PDU) for RVID sequence 0/2/3/1 (i.e. an NC generation). [0058] discloses the retransmission may be based on dynamic scheduling of resources to a UE.).
Regarding claim 22, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to retransmit NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in dynamically scheduled resources ([0071]-[0072] disclose RVID2 (i.e. a NC PDU) may be a retransmission for RVID sequence 0/2/3/1 (i.e. an NC generation). [0058] discloses the retransmission may be based on dynamic scheduling of resources to a UE.).
Claims 6 & 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”) and Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Techlteworld et al. (https://techlteworld.com/harq-hybrid-automatic-repeat-request-in-lte/, 3/30/2023) (herein after “Techlteworld”).
Regarding Claims 6 & 24, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun fails to disclose but Techlteworld teaches wherein the NC related information indicates whether the set of NC-PDUs transmitted in the CG period corresponds to a new NC generation or an ongoing NC generation (HARQ entity includes section discloses that the DCI message in LTE includes the HARQ process identifier that indicates the corresponding HARQ process ID of an RVID packet transmission/retransmission. The HARQ process ID information in the DCI, representing NC related information, is used to indicate whether a set of RVID packet transmissions, representing a set of NC-PDUs, corresponds to a new or ongoing RVID sequence, representing a new or ongoing NC generation.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the WTRU of Claim 1, or the method of claim 18, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei, wherein the NC related information indicates whether the set of NC-PDUs transmitted in the CG period corresponds to a new NC generation or an ongoing NC generation, as taught by Techlteworld. The motivation in doing so would be have a WTRU that can, or method for a WTRU to, enable multiple HARQ processes with different RVID sequence sets to be scheduled concurrently.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”) and Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”), as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Techlteworld et al. (https://techlteworld.com/harq-hybrid-automatic-repeat-request-in-lte/, 3/30/2023) (herein after “Techlteworld”).
Regarding Claim 17, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of Claim 5.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the feedback information indicates the identifier of the NC generation or the sequence number of the NC generation.
However, Techlteworld teaches wherein the feedback information indicates the identifier of the NC generation or the sequence number of the NC generation (HARQ entity includes section discloses that HARQ feedback information can consist of a DCI message providing ACK/NACK feedback which includes the HARQ process identifier, representing the identifier of an NC generation.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the WTRU of Claim 5, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei, use a HARQ feedback message including HARQ process ID information in a DCI, wherein the feedback information indicates the HARQ process identifier, representing the identifier of the NC generation, or the sequence number of the NC generation as taught by Techlteworld. The motivation in doing so would be to enable multiple HARQ processes with different RVID sequence sets to be scheduled concurrently.
Claims 10 & 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”) and Lei et al. (US 2023/0261789)(herein after “Lei”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Bethu et al. (“Compromising Random Linear Network Coding as A Cipher”, Sravya Bethu, Ye Zhu, June 2023, Published at the 97th Vehicular Technology Conference) (herein after “Bethu”).
Regarding Claims 10 & 27, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei disclose the WTRU of Claim 1 and the method of claim 18.
Sun fails to disclose but Bethu further teaches wherein a first PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a first linear combination of the set of data units using a first set of coefficients, and a second PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of data units using a second set of coefficients different from the first set of coefficients (2nd Page, Fig 1 discloses a first output packet p1out, representing a first PDU of an NC generation, obtained based on a first linear combination of a set of input packets p1in, p2in and p3in, representing a set of data units, using a first set of coefficients c11, c12 and c13, and a second output packet p2out, representing a second PDU of the NC generation, obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of input packets p1in, p2in and p3in, using a second set of coefficients c21, c22 and c23 , different from the first set of coefficients.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a UE of Claim 1, or the method of claim 18, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 and Lei, wherein a first PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a first linear combination of the set of data units using a first set of coefficients, and a second PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of data units using a second set of coefficients different from the first set of coefficients, as further taught by Bethu. The motivation in doing so would be to have a WTRU that can, or method for a WTRU to, improve network throughput through use of network coding techniques.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang et al. (US 2022/0312442) discloses Uplink Configured Grant Transmission Repetition Techniques in Wireless Communications.
Wong et al. (WO 2024/200318) discloses Methods, Communications Devices, and Infrastructure Equipment.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419