This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 2/17/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-19, 21 & 22 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1 & 18 have been amended.
Rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-19, 21 & 22 under 35 USC 103 in the previous record Non-Final Rejection dated 11/17/2025 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1 & 18. However, after further consideration, new grounds of rejections of these claims have been introduced based on new reference Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant submits that claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-19, 21 & 22 are patentable because the cited references, individually or in combination, fail to disclose all to the limitations in amended claims 1 & 18, and due to dependency of all dependent claims on claims 1 or 18. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 2/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-19, 21 & 22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made in view of new reference Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to this claim traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 in the previous record Non-Final Rejection dated 11/17/2025. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the previous record. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhou2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the previous record, but introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhou2.
Regarding claim 18, applicant submits that amendments to this claim are similar to amendments for claim 1, and thus for the same arguments as made above for claim 1, amended claim 18 traverses the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 in the previous record Non-Final Rejection dated 11/17/2025. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 103 made in the previous record, but for the same reasons as discussed above introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhou2.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-17, 19, 21 & 22, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claim under 35 USC 103 in the previous record Non-Final Rejection dated 11/17/2025 based on amendments and arguments made above for claims 1 & 18 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 18. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the previous record, but for the same reasons as discussed above introduces a new ground of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Zhou2.
Claim Interpretation
Note that for the purpose of this review, Network Coding is interpreted as a packet processing function that transforms X input/source packets into Y output/coded packets. This is consistent with the definition of Network Coding in [0076-0078] of the current application. Per this interpretation of Network Coding (NC), Incremental Redundancy (IR), as known to one skilled in the art, represents a form of Network Coding. The Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) associated with an IR coded sequence of Y packets (from the same source of X packets) represent the generation of a NC coded group of Y packets (from the same source of X packets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 11, 13-16, 18, 19, 21 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising
circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver, a processor, and memory ([0008] discloses a wireless communication apparatus, representing a UE or WTRU (for the purpose of this review, a UE will represent a WTRU), including a processor and memory and capable of uplink transmission. [0128] discloses the wireless device UE may include a receiver.), configured to:
transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) associated with a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period ([0059] discloses configuration of a UE for semi-persistent scheduling that designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit, which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061 & 0072] disclose that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these TTIs, representing transmit occasions, and the transmitted data or control packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR). [0070-0071] discloses that each transmitted incremental redundancy packet includes different information with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) indicating the group of transmissions that contain coded packets from the same pre-coded information. Transmitting a set of incremental redundancy coded packets with their RVIDs represents sending network coded NC-PDUs associated with a NC generation.);
transmit NC related information associated with the NC generation to assist a network in decoding; ([0070-0071] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with an RVID sequence, representing a NC generation, to assist the network and increase the chances of the network correctly decoding a transmission. The RVID information can be used to indicate a number of IR coded packets from an RVID sequence, representing a number of NC-PDUs of an NC generation, to be successfully received for recovering a data unit.);
monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a UE monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback. The HARQ feedback may consist of an ACK/NACK from the base station for a previous transmission related to an RVID sequence, representing feedback information from the network for an NC generation.);
transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods ([0106] discloses that the UE may retransmit data during a second/subsequent TTI, representing a subsequent CG period) until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network ([0063] discloses that the base station may transmit an ACK when the UE transmission from an RVID sequence is successfully received, after which the UE may refrain from transmitting further. This discloses that the transmissions continue until feedback information acknowledging a reception of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation, is received.).
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units;
However, Lauridsen teaches wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units (Fig 6 & [0035] disclose Network Coding of a plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to a receiver Rx (i.e. a NC generation) associated with packet numbers 1, 2, 3,… (i.e. more than one data unit) that are encoded into a plurality of NC packets transmitted by a transmitter Tx (i.e. NC PDUs) using different linear combinations of the plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to the Rx.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period; transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit; and transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs from the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the NC generation is associated with a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units, as taught by Lauridsen. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of Network Coding a plurality of packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of more than one packets to be transmitted to produce NC packets to be transmitted; transmitting the NC packets for recovering the more than one packets to be transmitted; and transmitting one or more subsequent NC packets when an updated CPI indicates that more linear combinations are needed to successfully decode the more than one packets to be transmitted wherein at least one NC packet is a different linear combination of the packets to be transmitted from previously transmitted linear combinations of the packets to be transmitted, to improve spectral efficiency in a wireless communication channel.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units;
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units (Col 8, lines 37-45 discloses a base station transmitting network coding parameters (NC related information) including an original k value, encoding/decoding algorithms and decodable set size M. Col 7, lines 17-27 disclose that the k value may represent a number of original packets to be encoded into N encoded packets, and M represents the number of encoded packets that must be received to recover the original (i.e. unencoded) packets with a desired probability (e.g. a desired probability of 100% represents the case where M is the number of encoded packets that must be received to guarantee recovery of the original packets). Thus, disclosed is transmitting, for a set of k original packets network encoded with a defined network coding algorithm (i.e. a NC generation), a first number M out of a second number N, of NC packets to be successfully received for recovery the k original packets.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period and transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the more than one data units, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of Network Coding k original packets into N encoded packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of k original packets and transmitting a number M of successfully received encoded packets required to be successfully decode the k original packets so that the receiver can wait until the receiver receives at least M encoded packets before performing decoding of the network coded packets, avoiding the potential wasting of processing power that would occur if the receiver attempted to perform network decoding with less than M encoded packets.
Sun fails to disclose wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU.
However, Choi further teaches wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU (Fig 1 and Page 2558, Sections II-A & B disclose configuration of K-repetition for transmitting M data packets, where K>1, over K*M GFRA slots (i.e. transmit occasions) to fit within a time deadline (i.e. representing a CG period). Fig 2 and Pages 2258-2259, section III discloses, in replacement of a GFRA slot repetition (i.e. representing a transport block repetition), transmitting a transmission s with a network coded packet (i.e. representing a NC-PDU) associated with a NC generation of K*M encoded packets using a different linear combination of the M data packets using weighting factors gsm, relative to the network coded packet transmitted in transmission 1 in the initial transmit occasion of the deadline using weighting factors g1m, such that the transmit occasion for transmission s associated with one of the K-repetition GFRA slots conveys an additional network coded packet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, as disclosed by Sun, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as further taught by Choi. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of transmitting, during a configured grant (CG) period, a Network Coded packet based on a linear combinations M original packets during a transport block repetition occasion within the CG grant period instead of retransmitting the packet during the transport block repetition occasion in order to reduce error probabilities in Machine Type Communication (MTC) systems using Grant Free Random Access (GFRA).
Sun fails to disclose but Zhou2 further teaches terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation (Figs 3A, 3B & 4 and [0058]-[0064] disclose a transmitter device, that may be a UE, that sends network coded packets that are linear combinations to source packets p1, p2 and p3 that may be subpackets of an original packet (i.e. a NC generation of NC-PDUs) and receives feedback provided by a receiver indicating that the three source packets p1, p2 and p3 were successfully decoded (acknowledging that the original packet was successfully decoded and acknowledging reception of the NC generation) and to stop a current transmission (i.e. terminate transmission of further linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUS of the original packet) and move on to a next transmission (i.e. start sending linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUs of a next packet).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a wireless WTRU transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, and monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, as disclosed by Sun, and terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou2. The motivation to do so would be to have a WTRU capable of transmitting to a network device, during a configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, receive feedback from the network device that the original packet has been successfully decoded, and terminate the sending of further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet, in order to not waster uplink resources by sending further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet that are not needed by the network device to decode the original packet, and to begin sending linear combinations of sub-packets of a next packet in order to improve throughput.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein being configured to transmit the set of NC-PDUs comprises:
being configured to transmit (i) a first subset of NC-PDUs in a first transport block at a first transmit occasion of the CG period (Fig 4 & [0091] disclose a configuration for transmitting data packets during a first TTI allocated for SPS uplink transmission, representing a first set of NC-PDUs transmitted in a first transport block of a first CG transmit occasion) and
(ii) a second subset of NC-PDUs in a second transport block at a second transmit occasion of the CG period (Fig 4 & [0091] disclose transmitting data packets during a second TTI allocated for SPS uplink transmission, representing a second set of NC-PDUs transmitted at a second transport block of a first CG transmit occasion).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted for the NC generation ([0070] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs), and that the RVID information can be used to indicate a number of attempted IR coded packet transmissions, representing a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted. [0071] discloses an example where the RVID sequence is 0/2/3/1. When RVID1 is transmitted, this indicates that a total number of 4 coded packets have been transmitted.).
Regarding Claim 5, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates an identifier of the NC generation or a sequence number of the NC generation ([0070] discloses that a UE supporting IR may transmit IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with a Redundancy Version Identifier (RVID) sequence, representing a NC generation. [0071] discloses that the RVID information, representing NC related information, can be an indication of a sequence number of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation.).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein being configured to transmit the NC related information associated with the NC generation comprises being configured to transmit the NC related information associated with the NC generation in the one or more transmit occasions of the CG period ([0059] discloses configuration of a UE for semi-persistent scheduling which designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061] discloses that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these one or more TTIs, representing transmit occasions. [0072] discloses that the transmitted packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR) with different RVIDs for an IR HARQ process, representing NC related information for an NC generation.).
Regarding Claim 8, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein being configured to transmit the NC related information associated with the NC generation comprises being configured to transmit the NC related information associated with the NC generation in any of uplink control information, a medium access control element and a radio resource control message ([0061 discloses that uplink SPS resource allocations may be used to transmit uplink control packets such as RVIDs associated with an RVID sequence, that represent uplink control information such as NC related information associated with an NC generation.).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to receive configuration information indicating the repetition parameter greater than one ([0071] discloses an example where the base station receives UE uplink transmissions with an RVID sequence of 0/2/3/1. In this configuration, the base station may receive RVIDs 2, 3 or 1 indicating that these are 2nd, 3rd and 4th transmissions (i.e. retransmissions with configuration information indicating a repetition parameter greater than 1) of the first transmission RVID0 from the UE).
Regarding Claim 13, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to determine for a transmit occasion of the one or more CG periods, whether to transmit at least a part of the one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation ([0059] discloses configuration of a UE for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) that designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit, which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0070-0072] discloses an example where the UE may be configured, during an SPS TTI, to send uplink transmissions, from an RVID sequence of 0/2/3/1 and that RVIDs 2, 3, and 1 may support incremental redundancy (IR). Thus, RVIDs 2, 3, and 1 represent NC-PDUs of a NC generation.)
or to perform a repetition of at least a part of the set of NC-PDUs in the transmit occasion based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion ([0071] discloses that alternatively the UE may be configured to retransmit a first version (e.g. RVID0) of the RVID sequence, representing performing a repetition of part of a set of NC-PDUs. This discloses a configuration for determining whether to retransmit part of the IR coded information (e.g. RVIDs 2, 3 and 1 using IR), representing part of one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs of the NC generation, or to perform a repetition of part of the RVID sequence (i.e. retransmit RVID0) in a TTI configured through SPS to transmit the RVID sequence in the TTI, representing a repetition of at least part of the set of NC-PDUs in a transmit occasion based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion.).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 13.
Sun discloses configured to determine to transmit at least a part of the one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in the transmit occasion based on the redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being equal to zero ([0071] discloses an example where the UE is configured to send uplink transmissions with an RVID sequence of 0/2/3/1. [0072] discloses that RVIDs 2, 3, and 1 may support incremental redundancy (IR), and thus RVIDs 2, 3, and 1 associated with RVID0 (redundancy version equal to zero) represent NC-PDUs of a NC generation based on a redundancy version zero. This discloses a configuration for determining to transmit at least part of the one or more subsequent sets of RVIDs 2, 3 or 1 from the RVID sequence based on a redundancy version equal to zero (i.e. RVID0), representing one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs of the generation based on a redundancy version equal to zero, in a TTI configured through SPS to transmit the RVID sequence in the TTI, representing a transmit occasion based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion).
Regarding Claim 15, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 13.
Sun discloses configured to determine to perform a repetition of at least a part of the set of NC-PDUs in the transmit occasion based on a redundancy version associated with the transmit occasion being different from zero ([0071] discloses that a UE may be configured to indicate that each transmission is a first transmission regardless of whether it is a retransmission. Considering the example in [0071] with RVID sequence 0,2,3,1, the UE may transmit RVID0 as first transmission, then transmit RVID2 as an IR retransmission, then transmit RVID3 as a repetition of RVID2 (i.e. indicate RVID3 as a first transmission of RVID2). This discloses a configuration performing a repetition of a part of an RVID sequence, representing part of a set of NC-PDUs, in a TTI based on a redundancy version different that zero (i.e. based on redundancy version 2), representing in a transmit occasion based on a redundancy version different from zero.).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses wherein the feedback information is received in any of downlink control information, a medium access control element (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a UE monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback on the physical HARQ indicator channel (PHICH), representing downlink control information.).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun discloses a method implemented in a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
transmitting a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) associated with a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period ([0059] discloses a method comprising a UE configured for semi-persistent scheduling that designates specific time periods called Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) when the UE is scheduled to transmit, which represent one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant period. [0061 & 0072] disclose that the UE may transmit data or control packets during these TTIs, representing transmit occasions, and the transmitted data or control packets may be sent using Incremental Redundancy (IR). [0070-0071] discloses that each transmitted incremental redundancy packet includes different information with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs) indicating the group of transmissions that contain coded packets from the same pre-coded information. Transmitting a set of incremental redundancy coded packets with their RVIDs represents sending network coded NC-PDUs of a NC generation.);
transmitting NC related information associated with the NC generation to assist a network in decoding ([0070-0071] discloses a method comprising transmission of IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with an RVID sequence, representing a NC generation, in a TTI configured for SPS, representing one or more transmit occasions of a CG period.);
monitoring to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation (Fig 5 & [0105] discloses a method comprising monitoring a base station for HARQ feedback. The HARQ feedback may consist of an ACK/NACK from the base station for a previous transmission related to an RVID sequence, representing feedback information from a network for an NC generation.);
transmitting one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods ([0106] discloses a method to retransmit data during a second/subsequent TTI, representing a subsequent CG period) until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network ([0063] discloses that the base station may transmit an ACK when the UE transmission from an RVID sequence is successfully received, after which the UE may refrain from transmitting further. This discloses that the transmissions continue until feedback information acknowledging a reception of the RVID sequence, representing the NC generation, is received.).
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units.
However, Lauridsen teaches wherein the NC generation comprises a number of more than one data units encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units (Fig 6 & [0035] disclose Network Coding of a plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to Rx (i.e. a NC generation) associated with packet numbers 1, 2,3,… (i.e. more than one data unit) that are encoded into a plurality of NC packets transmitted by Tx (i.e. NC PDUs) using different linear combinations of the plurality of buffered packets to be transmitted to Rx. [0030] discloses that for N packets to be transmitted to Rx there are at least N network coded packets (i.e. more than N different linear combinations of the N packets to be transmitted to Rx).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period; transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit; and transmit one or more subsequent sets of NC-PDUs from the NC generation in one or more subsequent CG periods until the feedback information acknowledging a reception of the NC generation is received from the network, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the NC generation is associated with a number of more than one data units that are encoded into a plurality of NC PDUs using different linear combinations of the more than one data units, as taught by Lauridsen. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of Network Coding a plurality of packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of more than one packets to be transmitted to produce NC packets to be transmitted; transmitting the NC packets for recovering the more than one packets to be transmitted; and transmitting one or more subsequent NC packets when an updated CPI indicates that more linear combinations are needed to successfully decode the more than one packets to be transmitted wherein at least one NC packet is a different linear combination of the packets to be transmitted from previously transmitted linear combinations of the packets to be transmitted, to improve spectral efficiency in a wireless communication channel.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number "X" of NC PDUs out of a second number "Y" of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation;
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number "X" of NC PDUs out of a second number "Y" of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation (Col 8, lines 37-45 discloses a base station transmitting network coding parameters (NC related information) including an original k value, encoding/decoding algorithms and decodable set size M. Col 7, lines 17-27 disclose that the k value may represent a number of original packets to be encoded into N encoded packets, and M represents the number of encoded packets that must be received to recover the original (i.e. unencoded) packets with a desired probability (e.g. a desired probability of 100% represents the case where M is the number of encoded packets that must be received to guarantee recovery of the original packets). Thus, disclosed is transmitting, for a set of k original packets network encoded with a defined network coding algorithm (i.e. a NC generation), a first number M out of a second number N, of NC packets to be successfully received for recovery the k original packets (i.e. recovering the NC generation).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period and transmit NC related information for recovering a data unit, as disclosed by Sun, wherein the transmitted NC related information indicates, for the NC generation, a first number “X” of NC PDUs out of a second number “Y” of NC PDUs to be successfully received for recovering the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of Network Coding k original packets into N encoded packets to be transmitted to a receiver based on linear combinations of k original packets and transmitting a number M of successfully received encoded packets required to be successfully decode the k original packets so that the receiver can wait until the receiver receives at least M encoded packets before performing decoding of the network coded packets, avoiding the potential wasting of processing power that would occur if the receiver attempted to perform network decoding with less than M encoded packets.
Sun fails to disclose wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU.
However, Choi further teaches wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU (Fig 1 and Page 2558, Sections II-A & B disclose configuration of K-repetition for transmitting M data packets, where K>1, over K*M GFRA slots (i.e. transmit occasions) to fit within a time deadline (i.e. representing a CG period). Fig 2 and Pages 2258-2259, section III discloses, in replacement of a GFRA slot repetition (i.e. representing a transport block repetition), transmitting a transmission s with a network coded packet (i.e. representing a NC-PDU) associated with a NC generation of K*M encoded packets using a different linear combination of the M data packets using weighting factors gsm, relative to the network coded packet transmitted in transmission 1 in the initial transmit occasion of the deadline using weighting factors g1m, such that the transmit occasion for transmission s associated with one of the K-repetition GFRA slots conveys an additional network coded packet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a wireless WTRU to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, as disclosed by Sun, wherein, based on a repetition parameter being configured with a value greater than one, at least one transmit occasion of the one or more subsequent CG periods that is associated with repetitions is used, in replacement of a transport block repetition, to transmit an NC-PDU associated with the NC generation that is a different linear combination of the more than one data units relative to NC-PDUs transmitted in initial transmit occasions of the CG period, such that the at least one transmit occasion associated with repetitions conveys an additional NC-PDU, as further taught by Choi. The motivation to do so would be to have a method wherein a WTRU is capable of transmitting, during a configured grant (CG) period, a Network Coded packet based on a linear combinations M original packets during a transport block repetition occasion within the CG grant period instead of retransmitting the packet during the transport block repetition occasion in order to reduce error probabilities in Machine Type Communication (MTC) systems using Grant Free Random Access (GFRA).
Sun fails to disclose but Zhou2 further teaches terminating transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation (Figs 3A, 3B & 4 and [0058]-[0064] disclose a transmitter device, that may be a UE, that sends network coded packets that are linear combinations to source packets p1, p2 and p3 that may be subpackets of an original packet (i.e. a NC generation of NC-PDUs) and receives feedback provided by a receiver indicating that the three source packets p1, p2 and p3 were successfully decoded (acknowledging that the original packet was successfully decoded and acknowledging reception of the NC generation) and to stop a current transmission (i.e. terminate transmission of further linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUS of the original packet) and move on to a next transmission (i.e. start sending linear combinations of sub-packets/NC-PDUs of a next packet).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method, implemented in a wireless WTRU, to transmit a set of network coded protocol data units (NC-PDUs) of a network coding (NC) generation in one or more transmit occasions of a configured grant (CG) period, and monitor to receive feedback information from the network for the NC generation, as disclosed by Sun, and terminate transmission of any further subsequent sets of NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in response to receiving the feedback information acknowledging the reception of the NC generation, as further taught by Zhou2. The motivation to do so would be to have a method, implemented in a WTRU, for transmitting to a network device, during a configured grant (CG) period, Network Coded PDUs based on linear combinations of sub-packets of an original packet, receive feedback from the network device that the original packet has been successfully decoded, and terminate the sending of further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet, in order to not waster uplink resources by sending further linear combinations of sub-packets of the original packet that are not needed by the network device to decode the original packet, and to begin sending linear combinations of sub-packets of a next packet in order to improve throughput.
Regarding Claim 19, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the method of claim 18.
Sun discloses wherein the NC related information indicates a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted for the NC generation ([0070] discloses a method comprising transmission of IR related information, representing NC related information, associated with Redundancy Version Identifiers (RVIDs), and that the RVID information can be used to indicate a number of attempted IR coded packet transmissions, representing a total number of NC-PDUs to be transmitted. [0071] discloses an example where the RVID sequence is 0/2/3/1. When RVID1 is transmitted, this indicates that a total number of 4 coded packets have been transmitted.).
Regarding claim 21, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to transmit remaining NC PDUs associated with the NC generation in dynamically scheduled resources ([0071]-[0072] disclose transmission of RVID2 after transmission of RVID0 (i.e. transmission of a remaining NC PDU) for RVID sequence 0/2/3/1 (i.e. an NC generation). [0058] discloses the retransmission may be based on dynamic scheduling of resources to a UE.).
Regarding claim 22, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun discloses configured to retransmit NC-PDUs associated with the NC generation in dynamically scheduled resources ([0071]-[0072] disclose RVID2 (i.e. a NC PDU) may be a retransmission for RVID sequence 0/2/3/1 (i.e. an NC generation). [0058] discloses the retransmission may be based on dynamic scheduling of resources to a UE.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Techlteworld et al. (https://techlteworld.com/harq-hybrid-automatic-repeat-request-in-lte/, 3/30/2023) (herein after “Techlteworld”).
Regarding Claim 6, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of claim 1.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the NC related information indicates whether the set of NC-PDUs transmitted in the CG period corresponds to a new NC generation or an ongoing NC generation.
However, Techlteworld teaches wherein the NC related information indicates whether the set of NC-PDUs transmitted in the CG period corresponds to a new NC generation or an ongoing NC generation (HARQ entity includes section discloses that the DCI message in LTE includes the HARQ process identifier that indicates the corresponding HARQ process ID of an RVID packet transmission/retransmission. The HARQ process ID information in the DCI, representing NC related information, is used to indicate whether a set of RVID packet transmissions, representing a set of NC-PDUs, corresponds to a new or ongoing RVID sequence, representing a new or ongoing NC generation.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the WTRU of Claim 1, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2, use the HARQ process ID information in the DCI, wherein the HARQ process ID information in the DCI, representing NC related information, indicates whether the set of RVID packet transmissions/retransmissions in a TTI, representing NC-PDUs transmitted in a CG period, corresponds to an RVID sequence for a new HARQ process or an RVID sequence for an ongoing HARQ process, representing a new NC generation or an ongoing NC generation, as taught by Techlteworld. The motivation in doing so would be to enable multiple HARQ processes with different RVID sequence sets to be scheduled concurrently.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”), as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Techlteworld et al. (https://techlteworld.com/harq-hybrid-automatic-repeat-request-in-lte/, 3/30/2023) (herein after “Techlteworld”).
Regarding Claim 17, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of Claim 5.
Sun fails to disclose wherein the feedback information indicates the identifier of the NC generation or the sequence number of the NC generation.
However, Techlteworld teaches wherein the feedback information indicates the identifier of the NC generation or the sequence number of the NC generation (HARQ entity includes section discloses that HARQ feedback information can consist of a DCI message providing ACK/NACK feedback which includes the HARQ process identifier, representing the identifier of an NC generation.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the WTRU of Claim 5, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2, use a HARQ feedback message including HARQ process ID information in a DCI, wherein the feedback information indicates the HARQ process identifier, representing the identifier of the NC generation, or the sequence number of the NC generation as taught by Techlteworld. The motivation in doing so would be to enable multiple HARQ processes with different RVID sequence sets to be scheduled concurrently.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0048432)(herein after “Sun”) in view of Lauridsen et al. (US 2018/0359050)(herein after, “Lauridsen”) and Zhou et al. (US 11844102)(herein after “Zhou”) and Choi et al. (Jinho Choi & Jie Ding, “Network Coding for K-Repetition in Grant-Free Random Access”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 10, No. 11, pages 2557-2561, November 2021)(herein after “Choi) and Zhou et al. (US 2021/0336725)(herein after “Zhou2”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Bethu et al. (“Compromising Random Linear Network Coding as A Cipher”, Sravya Bethu, Ye Zhu, June 2023, Published at the 97th Vehicular Technology Conference) (herein after “Bethu”).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2 disclose the WTRU of Claim 1.
Sun fails to disclose wherein a first PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a first linear combination of the set of data units using a first set of coefficients, and a second PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of data units using a second set of coefficients different from the first set of coefficients.
However, Bethu further teaches wherein a first PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a first linear combination of the set of data units using a first set of coefficients, and a second PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of data units using a second set of coefficients different from the first set of coefficients (2nd Page, Fig 1 discloses a first output packet p1out, representing a first PDU of an NC generation, obtained based on a first linear combination of a set of input packets p1in, p2in and p3in, representing a set of data units, using a first set of coefficients c11, c12 and c13, and a second output packet p2out, representing a second PDU of the NC generation, obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of input packets p1in, p2in and p3in, using a second set of coefficients c21, c22 and c23 , different from the first set of coefficients.).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a UE of Claim 1, as disclosed by Sun in view of Lauridsen and Zhou and Choi and Zhou2, wherein a first PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a first linear combination of the set of data units using a first set of coefficients, and a second PDU associated with the NC generation is obtained based on a second linear combination of the set of data units using a second set of coefficients different from the first set of coefficients, as further taught by Bethu. The motivation in doing so would be to improve network throughput through use of network coding techniques.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Liu et al. (CN 103546245) discloses a Data Packet Retransmission Method Based on Network Coding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419