DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2024 and 09/18/2024 are considered and signed IDS forms are attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 3 recites “a material with a lower processing temperature material”, which should be “a material with a lower processing temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, line 4 recites “the first thermoplastic material”, which should be “the first thermoplastic material layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5, lines 4-5 recite “the second thermoplastic material”, which should be “the second thermoplastic material layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, line 16 recites “the first thermoplastic material layer”, which should be “the first thermoplastic material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, line 17 recite “the second thermoplastic material layer”, which should be “the second thermoplastic material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the interface layer is configured to join the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer together to form the joint”. It is not clear what is meant by “configured” or how the interface layer must “configured” or modified in order to form the joint. It is suggested that the claim be amended to recite “the interface layer joins the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer together to form the joint”. This rejection affects all the dependent claims.
Claim 6 recites “the interface layer is configured to join the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material together to form a welded joint”. It is not clear what is meant by “configured” or how the interface layer must “configured” or modified in order to form the welded joint. It is suggested that the claim be amended to recite “the interface layer joins the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material together to form a welded joint”. This rejection affects all the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Bhatt et al. disclose a film member 34 comprising an outer layer 48 made of PEEK, i.e. polyetheretherketone (second thermoplastic material layer), an enclosure portion 12 made of PC, i.e. polycarbonate (first thermoplastic material layer) and an inner layer that serves as an intermediate or tie layer made of PEI, i.e. polyetherimide (interface layer) to bond dissimilar polymer materials (see Figure 5 and page 10, paragraph 1 and page 14, claim 8). As evidenced by Plastic Melting Point Guide, the melting point temperature of PEEK is 350 to 390 °C and the melting point temperature of PC is 280 to 320 °C (see page 3, Plastic Material Melt and Mold Temperatures Table). Therefore, the melting point temperature difference between PEEK and PC is 30 to 110 °C. Given that PEEK and PC are identical to thermoplastic materials utilized in the present invention, PEEK and PC are thermoplastic materials (see paragraph 0024 of present specification). As evidenced by Platt, polyetherimide has melting temperature of 215 to 217 °C. Given that the inner layer (interface layer) comprises polyetherimide (PEI), the inner layer (interface layer) has a lower melting point temperature than the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material layer comprising polycarbonate (PC) and the second thermoplastic material layer comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK). Given that PEEK and PC are dissimilar polymer materials, a joint is between dissimilar thermoplastic materials. Accordingly, Bhatt et al. disclose a joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Bhatt et al. disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as presently claimed. The interface layer comprises polyetherimide (PEI), the first thermoplastic material comprises polycarbonate (PC) and the second thermoplastic material comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK) as noted above. The interface layer, the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer layer are identical to that utilized in the present invention (see paragraph 0032 of present specification). Accordingly, the interface layer comprises a material (PEI) with a lower processing temperature that chemically interacts and bonds to the first thermoplastic material layer (PC) and the second thermoplastic material layer (PEEK) in the absence of melting during the welding.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003).
Regarding claim 6, Bhatt et al. disclose a film member 34 comprising an outer layer 48 made of PEEK, i.e. polyetheretherketone (second thermoplastic material layer or component), an enclosure portion 12 made of PC, i.e. polycarbonate (first thermoplastic material layer or attachment) and an inner layer that serves as an intermediate or tie layer made of PEI, i.e. polyetherimide (interface layer) to bond dissimilar polymer materials (see Figure 5 and page 10, paragraph 1 and page 14, claim 8). As evidenced by Plastic Melting Point Guide, the melting point temperature of PEEK is 350 to 390 °C and the melting point temperature of PC is 280 to 320 °C (see page 3, Plastic Material Melt and Mold Temperatures Table). Therefore, the melting point temperature difference between PEEK and PC is 30 to 110 °C. Given that PEEK and PC are identical to thermoplastic materials utilized in the present invention, PEEK and PC are thermoplastic materials (see paragraph 0024 of present specification). As evidenced by Platt, polyetherimide has melting temperature of 215 to 217 °C. Given that the inner layer (interface layer) comprises polyetherimide (PEI), the inner layer (interface layer) has a lower melting point temperature than the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material comprising polycarbonate (PC) and the second thermoplastic material comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
Accordingly, Bhatt et al. disclose an attachment joined to a component via an interface layer to form a joint. Bhatt et al. do not disclose an attachment “welded” to a component via an interface layer and do not disclose “a welded joint”.
However, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Bhatt et al. meets the requirements of the claimed product, Bhatt et al. clearly meet the requirements of present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Massengale et al. (WO 96/10046 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bhatt et al. disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as set forth above. While Bhatt et al. disclose second thermoplastic material layer comprising PEEK, Bhatt et al. do not disclose second thermoplastic material layer is a thermoplastic composite material.
Massengale et al. disclose a composite material comprising a carbon fiber reinforced polymer, wherein the reinforced polymer can be polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (see Abstract and page 4, lines 22-27). The composite material provides excellent friction and wear characteristics (see Abstract).
In light of motivation for using a composite material comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and carbon fiber disclosed by Massengale et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use composite material comprising polyetherketone and carbon fiber as the outer layer (second thermoplastic material layer) in Bhatt et al. in order to provide excellent friction and wear characteristics, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ebnesajjad (Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation, 2011).
Regarding claim 3, Bhatt et al. disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as set forth above. Bhatt et al. do not disclose a surface treatment on at least one of the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer.
Ebnesajjad disclose surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) improves adhesion and joint strength (see page 107, col. 1, 7.2, paragraph 1 and col. 2, 7.2.1.1, paragraph 1).
In light of motivation for using surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) disclosed by Ebnesjjad et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use surface treatment on the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK) in Bhatt et al. in order to improves adhesion and joint strength, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Massengale et al. (WO 96/10046 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bhatt et al. disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. While Bhatt et al. disclose second thermoplastic material layer comprising PEEK, Bhatt et al. do not disclose second thermoplastic material layer is a thermoplastic composite material.
Massengale et al. disclose a composite material comprising a carbon fiber reinforced polymer, wherein the reinforced polymer can be polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (see Abstract and page 4, lines 22-27). The composite material provides excellent friction and wear characteristics (see Abstract).
In light of motivation for using a composite material comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and carbon fiber disclosed by Massengale et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use composite material comprising polyetherketone and carbon fiber as the outer layer (second thermoplastic material layer or component) in Bhatt et al. in order to provide excellent friction and wear characteristics, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Ebnesajjad (Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation, 2011).
Regarding claim 9, Bhatt et al. disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. Bhatt et al. do not disclose a surface treatment on at least one of the first thermoplastic material layer (attachment) and the second thermoplastic material layer (component).
Ebnesajjad disclose surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) improves adhesion and joint strength (see page 107, col. 1, 7.2, paragraph 1 and col. 2, 7.2.1.1, paragraph 1).
In light of motivation for using surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) disclosed by Ebnesjjad et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use surface treatment on the second thermoplastic material layer (component) made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK) in Bhatt et al. in order to improves adhesion and joint strength, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Platt (2003) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Koshi et al. (WO 2019/093277 A1). It is noted that when utilizing Koshi et al., the disclosures of the reference are based on US 2020/0369838 A1 which is an English language equivalent of the reference. Therefore, the paragraph numbers cited with respect to Koshi et al. are found in US ‘838.
Regarding claim 10, Bhatt et al. disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. Bhatt et al. do not disclose the interface layer (inner layer) comprising a fiber reinforcement on the interface layer.
Koshi et al. disclose a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament comprising a reinforcing fiber such as carbon fiber impregnated with a thermoplastic resin such as polyethermide resin (PEI) (see page 6, claims 11 and 15, and Table 1, Example 7). A shaped product can be made from the fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin film (see paragraphs 0045 and 0047). The fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament provides good reinforcing effect and good handling ability at the time of forming (see paragraphs 0006, 0008 and 0066).
In light of motivation for using a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament disclosed by Koshi et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use a carbon fiber impregnated with polyethermide resin (PEI) as the inner layer (interface layer) in Bhatt et al. in order to provide good reinforcing effect and good handling ability at the time of forming, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. Accordingly, Bhatt et al. in view of Koshi et al. disclose a fiber reinforcement on the interface layer.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Le Meur et al. (US 2018/0333922 A1) disclose an aircraft blade two or more fibre-reinforced thermoplastic composite parts made of PEEK or PEKK welded together utilizing an additional thermoplastic made of PEI (see Abstract and paragraph 0018). The additional plastic has melting or softening temperature lower than a melting temperature of each of the fibre-reinforced thermoplastic composite parts being assembled (see Abstract).
Tobin et al. (US 2017/0074238 A1) disclose a rotor blade a first blade component, a second blade component and an insert between the first blade component and the second blade component (see Abstract and paragraph 0044). The first blade component, the second blade component and the insert can be made from different thermoplastic resins, wherein the thermoplastic resins include polycarbonate and polyetherketone (see paragraphs 0044, 0035).
Uryu et al. (US 2006/0222202 A1) disclose an acoustic vibratory plate comprising a first laminated body, a second laminated body and a third laminated body, wherein the second laminated body is in between the first laminated body and the third laminated body (see Abstract). The first laminated body and the third laminated body can be blade of polycarbonate (PC) or polyetheretherketone (PEEK), wherein the first laminated body and the third laminated body can be made of different materials (see paragraphs 0028, 0029).
Conclusion
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787