DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/29/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Nukada et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference which is included in this action.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Bhatt et al. disclose a film member 34 comprising an outer layer 48 made of PEEK, i.e. polyetheretherketone (second thermoplastic material layer), an enclosure portion 12 made of PC, i.e. polycarbonate (first thermoplastic material layer) and an inner layer that serves as an intermediate or tie layer made of PEI, i.e. polyetherimide (interface layer) to bond dissimilar polymer materials (see Figure 5 and page 10, paragraph 1 and page 14, claim 8). As evidenced by Plastic Melting Point Guide, the melting point temperature of PEEK is 350 to 390 °C and the melting point temperature of PC is 280 to 320 °C (see page 3, Plastic Material Melt and Mold Temperatures Table). Therefore, the melting point temperature difference between PEEK and PC is 30 to 110 °C. Given that PEEK and PC are identical to thermoplastic materials utilized in the present invention, PEEK and PC are thermoplastic materials (see paragraph 0024 of present specification). Given that PEEK and PC are dissimilar polymer materials, a joint is between dissimilar thermoplastic materials. Accordingly, Bhatt et al. disclose a joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as presently claimed.
Bhatt et al. do not disclose the inner layer (interface layer) made of polyetherimide has a melting point having a value of between the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material layer made of polycarbonate (PC) and the melting point temperature of the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
Prospector discloses ULTEM Resin 1000, which is a polyetherimide (PEI) resin, having high heat resistance, high strength and modulus and broad chemical resistance up to high temperatures (see page 1, Product Description). As evidenced by Nukada et al., ULTEM Resin 1000 has a melting point temperature of 350 to 400 °C (see paragraph 0142). The melting point of 350 C is between the melting point of PC (i.e. 280 °C) and PEEK (i.e. 390 °C).
In light of motivation for using ULTEM Resin 1000 disclosed by Prospector as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ULTEM Resin 1000 as the polyetherimide resin in the inner layer (interface layer) of Bhatt et al. in order to provide high heat resistance, high strength and modulus and broad chemical resistance up to high temperatures, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the inner layer (interface layer) made of polyetherimide having melting point of 350 to 400 °C. Therefore, the inner layer (interface layer) has a melting point having a value of between the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material layer made of polycarbonate (PC) and the melting point temperature of the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
Regarding claim 5, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as presently claimed. The interface layer comprises polyetherimide (PEI), the first thermoplastic material comprises polycarbonate (PC) and the second thermoplastic material comprises polyetheretherketone (PEEK) as noted above. The interface layer, the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer are identical to that utilized in the present invention (see paragraph 0032 of present specification). Accordingly, the interface layer comprises a material (PEI) with a lower processing temperature that chemically interacts and bonds to the first thermoplastic material layer (PC) and the second thermoplastic material layer (PEEK) in the absence of melting during the welding.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Massengale et al. (WO 96/10046 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as set forth above. While Bhatt et al. disclose second thermoplastic material layer comprising PEEK, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose second thermoplastic material layer is a thermoplastic composite material.
Massengale et al. disclose a composite material comprising a carbon fiber reinforced polymer, wherein the reinforced polymer can be polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (see Abstract and page 4, lines 22-27). The composite material provides excellent friction and wear characteristics (see Abstract).
In light of motivation for using a composite material comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and carbon fiber disclosed by Massengale et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use composite material comprising polyetherketone and carbon fiber as the outer layer (second thermoplastic material layer) in Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector in order to provide excellent friction and wear characteristics, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ebnesajjad (Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation, 2011).
Regarding claim 3, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the joint between dissimilar thermoplastic materials as set forth above. Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose a surface treatment on at least one of the first thermoplastic material layer and the second thermoplastic material layer.
Ebnesajjad disclose surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) improves adhesion and joint strength (see page 107, col. 1, 7.2, paragraph 1 and col. 2, 7.2.1.1, paragraph 1).
In light of motivation for using surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) disclosed by Ebnesajjad et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use surface treatment on the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK) in Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector in order to improves adhesion and joint strength, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A). It is noted that the disclosures of Nukada et al. are based on a machine translation of the reference which is included in this action.
Regarding claim 6, Bhatt et al. disclose a film member 34 comprising an outer layer 48 made of PEEK, i.e. polyetheretherketone (second thermoplastic material layer or component), an enclosure portion 12 made of PC, i.e. polycarbonate (first thermoplastic material layer or attachment) and an inner layer that serves as an intermediate or tie layer made of PEI, i.e. polyetherimide (interface layer) to bond dissimilar polymer materials (see Figure 5 and page 10, paragraph 1 and page 14, claim 8). As evidenced by Plastic Melting Point Guide, the melting point temperature of PEEK is 350 to 390 °C and the melting point temperature of PC is 280 to 320 °C (see page 3, Plastic Material Melt and Mold Temperatures Table). Therefore, the melting point temperature difference between PEEK and PC is 30 to 110 °C. Given that PEEK and PC are identical to thermoplastic materials utilized in the present invention, PEEK and PC are thermoplastic materials (see paragraph 0024 of present specification).
Bhatt et al. do not disclose the inner layer (interface layer) made of polyetherimide has a melting point having a value of between the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material layer made of polycarbonate (PC) and the melting point temperature of the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
Prospector discloses ULTEM Resin 1000, which is a polyetherimide (PEI) resin, having high heat resistance, high strength and modulus and broad chemical resistance up to high temperatures (see page 1, Product Description). As evidenced by Nukada et al., ULTEM Resin 1000 has a melting point temperature of 350 to 400 °C (see paragraph 0142). The melting point of 350 C is between the melting point of PC (i.e. 280 °C) and PEEK (i.e. 390 °C).
In light of motivation for using ULTEM Resin 1000 disclosed by Prospector as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ULTEM Resin 1000 as the polyetherimide resin in the inner layer (interface layer) of Bhatt et al. in order to provide high heat resistance, high strength and modulus and broad chemical resistance up to high temperatures, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the inner layer (interface layer) made of polyetherimide having melting point of 350 to 400 °C. Therefore, the inner layer (interface layer) has a melting point having a value of between the melting point temperature of the first thermoplastic material layer made of polycarbonate (PC) and the melting point temperature of the second thermoplastic material layer made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK).
Accordingly, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose an attachment joined to a component via an interface layer to form a joint. Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose an attachment “welded” to a component via an interface layer and do not disclose “a welded joint”.
However, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector meets the requirements of the claimed product, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector clearly meet the requirements of present claims.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Massengale et al. (WO 96/10046 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. While Bhatt et al. disclose second thermoplastic material layer comprising PEEK, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose second thermoplastic material layer is a thermoplastic composite material.
Massengale et al. disclose a composite material comprising a carbon fiber reinforced polymer, wherein the reinforced polymer can be polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (see Abstract and page 4, lines 22-27). The composite material provides excellent friction and wear characteristics (see Abstract).
In light of motivation for using a composite material comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and carbon fiber disclosed by Massengale et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use composite material comprising polyetherketone and carbon fiber as the outer layer (second thermoplastic material layer or component) in Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector in order to provide excellent friction and wear characteristics, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Ebnesajjad (Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation, 2011).
Regarding claim 9, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose a surface treatment on at least one of the first thermoplastic material layer (attachment) and the second thermoplastic material layer (component).
Ebnesajjad disclose surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) improves adhesion and joint strength (see page 107, col. 1, 7.2, paragraph 1 and col. 2, 7.2.1.1, paragraph 1).
In light of motivation for using surface treatment of thermoplastic material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) disclosed by Ebnesajjad et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use surface treatment on the second thermoplastic material layer (component) made of polyetheretherketone (PEEK) in Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector in order to improve adhesion and joint strength, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (WO 03/045673 A1) in view of Prospector (ULTEM Resin 1000, 2018), taken in view of evidence by Plastic Melting Point Guide (2024) and Nukada et al. (JP 2012185393 A) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Koshi et al. (WO 2019/093277 A1). It is noted that when utilizing Koshi et al., the disclosures of the reference are based on US 2020/0369838 A1 which is an English language equivalent of the reference. Therefore, the paragraph numbers cited with respect to Koshi et al. are found in US ‘838.
Regarding claim 10, Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector disclose the attachment joint to a component via an interface layer as set forth above. Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector do not disclose the interface layer (inner layer) comprising a fiber reinforcement on the interface layer.
Koshi et al. disclose a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament comprising a reinforcing fiber such as carbon fiber impregnated with a thermoplastic resin such as polyetherimide resin (PEI) (see page 6, claims 11 and 15, and Table 1, Example 7). A shaped product can be made from the fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin film (see paragraphs 0045 and 0047). The fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament provides good reinforcing effect and good handling ability at the time of forming (see paragraphs 0006, 0008 and 0066).
In light of motivation for using a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic resin filament disclosed by Koshi et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use a carbon fiber impregnated with polyetherimide resin (PEI) as the inner layer (interface layer) in Bhatt et al. in view of Prospector in order to provide good reinforcing effect and good handling ability at the time of forming, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. Accordingly, Bhatt et al. in view of in view of Prospector and Koshi et al. disclose a fiber reinforcement on the interface layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
In light of amendments, claim objections are withdrawn.
In light of amendments, 112(b) paragraph rejections are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787