DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed April 25, 2024.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LIGHT EMITTING DEVICE INCLUDING HYDROPHILIC MATERIAL LAYER.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “outisde” should have been outside in line 4, page 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US 2017/0288093 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Cha et al. teach a light emitting diode (LED) stack 50B for a display comprising: a first LED stack 10 including a first conductivity-type semiconductor layer 10a and a second conductivity-type semiconductor layer 10c; a second LED stack 20 disposed on the first LED stack 10; a third LED stack 30 disposed on the second LED stack 20; an intermediate bonding layer 26 disposed between the first LED stack 10 and the second LED stack 20 to bond the second LED stack 20 to the first LED stack 10 ; an upper bonding layer 36 disposed between the second LED stack 20 and the third LED stack 30 to couple the third LED stack 30 to the second LED stack 20; and a first hydrophilic material layer 17 disposed between the first LED stack 10 and the upper bonding layer 36 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 2, Cha et al. teach the first hydrophilic material layer is disposed on an interface between the first LED stack 10 and the intermediate bonding layer 26, and the LED stack further includes a second hydrophilic material layer 27 disposed on an interface between the second LED stack 20 and the upper bonding layer 37 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 3, Cha et al. teach the first hydrophilic material layer 17 comprising at least one of a SiO2 layer and a surface modified layer (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 4, Cha et al. teach a support substrate 60 disposed below the first LED stack 10; a lower bonding layer 16 disposed between the support substrate 60 and the first LED stack 10; and a second hydrophilic material layer 42 disposed on a surface of the support substrate 41 (Figures 36 and 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 5, Cha et al. teach the third hydrophilic material layer 37 comprising at least one of a SiO2 layer and a surface modified layer (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 7, Cha et al. teach light generated in the first LED stack 10 configured to be emitted to the outside of the LED stack 50B through the second LED stack 20 and the third LED stack 30; and light generated in the second LED stack 20 configured to be emitted to the outisde of the LED stack 50B through the third LED stack 30 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 8, Cha et al. teach the first, second, and third LED stacks 10/20/30 configured to emit red light, green light, and blue light, respectively (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 9, Cha et al. teach a first color filter 19b interposed between the intermediate bonding layer 26 and the second LED stack 20, and configured to transmit light generated in the first LED stack 10 and reflect light generated in the second LED stack 20; and a second color filter 29b interposed between the upper bonding layer 36 and the third LED stack 30, and configured to transmit light generated in the first and second LED stacks 10/20 and reflect light generated in the third LED stack 30 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 10, Cha et al. teach at least one of the first color filter 19b and the second color filter 29b comprising a SiO2 layer; and at least one of the intermediate bonding layer 26 and the upper bonding layer 36 contacts the SiO2 layer (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 11, Cha et al. teach a display apparatus comprising: a plurality of pixels PA aligned on a support substrate 60, each pixel PA including: a first LED stack 10 disposed on the support substrate 60; a second LED stack 20 disposed on the first LED stack 10; a third LED stack 30 disposed on the second LED stack 20; an intermediate bonding layer 26 disposed between the first LED stack 10and the second LED stack 20 to bond the second LED stack 20 to the first LED stack 10; an upper bonding layer 36 disposed between the second LED stack 20 and the third LED stack 30 to couple the third LED stack 30 to the second LED stack 20; and a first hydrophilic material layer 17 disposed between the first LED stack 10 and the upper bonding layer 36 (Figures 1 and 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 12, Cha et al. teach the first hydrophilic material layer 17 disposed on an interface between the first LED stack 10 and the intermediate bonding layer 26, and each pixel PA further comprises a second hydrophilic material layer 27 disposed on an interface between the second LED stack 20 and the upper bonding layer 36 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 13, Cha et al. teach the first hydrophilic material layer 17 comprising at least one of a SiO2 layer and a surface modified layer (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 14, Cha et al. teach each pixel PA further including: a lower bonding layer 16 disposed between the support substrate 60 and the first LED stack 10; and a second hydrophilic material layer 42 disposed on a surface of the support substrate 41 (Figures 36 and 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 15, Cha et al. teach the second hydrophilic material layer 42 disposed on the surface of the support substrate 41 comprising at least one of a SiO2 layer and a surface modified layer (Figures 36 and 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 16, Cha et al. teach the first LED stack 10 configured to emit light having a wavelength longer those emitted from the second and third LED stacks 20/30; and the second LED stack 20 configured to emit light having a wavelength longer that that emitted from the third LED stack 30(Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 17, Cha et al. teach each pixel PA further including: a first color filter 19b interposed between the intermediate bonding layer 26 and the second LED stack 20, and configured to transmit light generated in the first LED stack 10 and reflect light generated in the second LED stack 20; and a second color filter 29b interposed between the upper bonding layer 36 and the third LED stack 30, and configured to transmit light generated in the first and second LED stacks 10/20 and reflect light generated in the third LED stack 30 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 18, Cha et al. tech each of the first, second, and third LED stacks 10/20/30 including a first conductivity-type semiconductor layer 10a/20a/30a and a second conductivity-type semiconductor layer 10c/20c/30c; the first conductivity-type semiconductor layers 10a/20a/30a of the first, second, and third LED stacks 10/20/30 of each pixel PA are electrically connected to a common line 46; and the second conductivity-type semiconductor layers 10c/20c/30c of the first, second, and third LED stacks 10/20/30 of each pixel PA electrically connected to different lines 22 (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
In regard to claim 19, Cha et al. teach the common line 46 comprising a data line; and the different lines 22 comprising scan lines (Figure 38, pages 2-10, paragraphs [0026]-[0146]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to light emitting diodes:
Banna et al. (US 2017/0338275 A1) Choi et al. (US 2010/0084668 A1)
Forrest et al. (US 2001/0000005 A1) Kim (US 2010/0032691 A1).
IMS
June 8, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898