DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, the Examiner is unsure what the terms “house power”, “fuel tender loads”, and/or “resistor grid” mean. They are general terms and the specification lacks a clear description of what they mean. The Examiner will interpret the term “house power” to mean power provided to elements “in house” meaning powering elements that are inside the vehicle. The Examiner requests the Applicant explicitly state what these terms mean in response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ono (2018/0178775).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, Ono teaches (Fig. 1) a system and method comprising:
an energy provision system (36 and 48) configured to provide a first voltage (42b);
a first converter (40) configured to increase the first voltage from the energy provision system from the first voltage into at least a second voltage (42a)([0032]);
a traction system (32, 34) of a vehicle configured to be powered by the second voltage from the first converter;
a second converter (54) configured to decrease the first voltage from the energy provision system from the first voltage to a third voltage (42c) which is less than the second voltage ([0034]); and
an auxiliary system (52) of the vehicle configured to be powered by the third voltage of from the second converter that is less than the second voltage,
wherein the auxiliary system comprises one or more of house power (to power control unit 70; [0033]), a hydraulic pump, a fuel tender loads, and a resistor grid.
Regarding claim 2, Ono teaches the energy provision system includes a bank of two or more energy systems (36 and 48), each of the two or more energy systems independently connected through the first converter (40) to the traction system (32, 34), the two or more energy systems configured such that one or more of the two or more energy systems are configured to power the auxiliary system (via 54).
Regarding claim 4, Ono teaches the traction system includes one or more of a traction inverter (34), a traction motor (32), and a resistor grid.
Regarding claim 5, Ono teaches the auxiliary system includes implements for maintenance of wayside vehicle ([0033]; lights to see in the dark).
Regarding claim 6, Ono teaches the auxiliary system of the vehicle is configured to be powered by the third voltage (42c) from the second converter (54) separately of the traction system (32, 34) of the vehicle being powered by the second voltage (42a) from the first converter (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (2018/0178775) and Kitanaka (2011/0166736).
Ono teaches the system as described above. Ono also teaches the auxiliary system further comprises a thermal management system (i.e. seat heater) ([0033]). Ono fails to explicitly teach the auxiliary system comprising an air compressor. Kitanaka teaches a similar system (Fig. 1) to that of Ono. Kitanaka teaches a traction system (50, 71) and an auxiliary system (31), just like in Ono’s system. Kitanaka teaches the auxiliary system comprising an air compressor ([0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an air compressor into Ono’s auxiliary system, since Kitanaka teaches a similar auxiliary system comprising an air compressor and Ono was silent as to if an air compressor was included in their auxiliary system and Kitanaka teaches an example where one is included in the auxiliary system.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (2018/0178775) and Penney et al. (2024/0239198). Ono teaches the system and method as described above.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 11, and 12, Ono fails to explicitly teach the use of an off-board source to provide power to the vehicle. Penney teaches a similar system and method (Fig. 1) to that of Ono. Penney teaches an energy provision system (124), a first converter (126), a traction system (116), a second converter (128), and an auxiliary system (156).
Penney also teaches the energy provision system configured to receive a charging current and a powering/fourth voltage from an off-board source (136), the charging current configured to charge the energy provision system ([0026]) and the powering/fourth voltage configured to provide power to the traction system ([0027] via 132 and 126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Penney’s off-board source into Ono’s invention to allow for additional power to be received in the vehicle system to recharge the energy provision system and provide additional power to the traction system as needed.
Also, Penney fails to explicitly teach the fourth voltage (output from off-board source 136) being at or above the second voltage, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fourth voltage be at or above the second voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Penney teaches the off-board source including one or more of a trolley line, a catenary, a charging station, or an electrified third rail ([0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Penney teaches recharging an energy storage device with the second voltage ([0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As explained above, the terms used at the end of the independent claims are indefinite and lack a description to inform the Examiner as to what exactly is meant/claimed by these terms. The Examiner, giving these terms their broadest reasonable interpretation, believes that the Ono reference teaches the last indent of the independent claims. Again, the Examiner requests the Applicant explain more explicitly what these terms are meant to mean.
Conclusion
DMP
2/13/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836