DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“constant current charging control section”
1
A processor executing a program [0037]
“constant voltage charging control section”
1, 2
A processor executing a program [0037]
“obtaining section”
2
A processor executing a program [0037] & [0048]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ungar et al. US PGPUB 2009/0273320.
Regarding claim 1, Ungar discloses a charging system for supplying power to a battery for driving an electric vehicle from a rapid charger installed outside the electric vehicle [pars. 5 & 39; Examiner notes that since the “electric vehicle” and “rapid charger” are not mentioned in the body of the claim the portion of the preamble after “for driving” is being treated as non-limiting], the charging system comprising:
a constant current charging control section [pars. 35 & 61-65; figs. 5-7] that executes constant current charging control that supplies power from the rapid charger to the battery, based on a constant charging current value [fig. 8; various constant current stages; pars. 61-65]; and
a constant voltage charging control section that, in a case where a voltage value of the battery reaches a predetermined target voltage value and the constant current charging control is stopped, executes constant voltage charging control that supplies the power from the rapid charger to the battery two or more times, based on a constant charging voltage value [fig. 8; after a constant current phase I1 and the battery voltage reaches V1, CC ends and CV begins; various CV stages occur after the first CV stage V1; pars. 61-65].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ungar et al. US PGPUB 2009/0273320.
Regarding claim 2, Ungar discloses an obtaining section that obtains a first voltage value that is a voltage value of the battery upon stopping when the constant current charging control is stopped [par. 51 & 62; cell voltage V_cell is monitored and used to control the switching of stages], and
a determination section that determines whether a difference between the obtained first voltage value and the obtained second voltage value is within a predetermined range, wherein the constant voltage charging control section executes the constant voltage charging control based on a predetermined charging current value in a case where the difference is determined to be within the predetermined range [fig. 8; after the stopping of the first CC stage (“since the stopping”) another voltage value is measured (V2), and if the difference is within a range of the value (the voltage is V2) then another constant voltage stage occurs; pa. 62].
Unger does not explicitly disclose the second voltage value is a voltage value of the battery after a predetermined period of time has elapsed since the stopping. However, Ungar teaches the voltage is monitored [pars. 77 & 82], and Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the battery charging arts to sample parameters at periodic intervals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include the second voltage value is a voltage value of the battery after a predetermined period of time has elapsed since the stopping for the purpose of sampling the value at a regular interview to have an updated understand of its current state, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Ungar discloses wherein the charging current value in the constant voltage charging control executed two or more times is a numerical value obtained by subtracting a predetermined current value from the charging current value in previous constant voltage charging control executed before present constant voltage charging control is executed [fig. 8; the current for each of the CV stages is stepped down according to a formula (predetermined); pars. 55-62].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ito et al. JP 2009033795 A discloses a CC-CV charging system with multiple CV stages (a pre-charge stage).
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859