DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Because, when Examiner rejected the application, Examiner did not apply the claimed to specification of application. Examiner rejected based on claim language.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion “receiving, by a network device from an end device, a registration request; retrieving, by the network device responsive to the registration request, subscription information including energy consumption control service criteria; selecting, by the network device and using the energy consumption control service criteria, network components based on energy consumption profiles associated with the network components; and provisioning, by the network device, an application session for the end device according to the energy consumption control service criteria.”
Velev clearly teaches
receiving, by a network device from an end device, a registration request;
retrieving, by the network device (AMF) responsive to the registration request, subscription information including energy consumption control service criteria;
[0007] There is further provided an unified data management (UDM) entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UDM entity to: store subscription information for a UE, wherein the subscription information comprises subscribed energy related information; and transmit, to a network entity, one or more second parameters comprising the subscribed energy related information. The subscribed energy related information optionally comprises at least one of: an indication the UE is enabled for energy related service restrictions; a value for a subscribed aggregated maximum energy rate (AMER) for the UE; a service type to which the subscribed energy related information applies; and a network slice to which the subscribed energy related information applies.
[0072] In a further step 202, a UE 220 initiates a registration procedure. This is shown as UE 220 providing AMF 240 with a ‘Registration Request’.
[0073] In a further step 203a, the AMF 240 sends a request message to retrieve the UE’s 220 subscription data from the UDM 250. The AMF 240 may include in the request message a SUPI as reference identifier for the UE 220. The step 203 a is shown in the example 200 as ‘Request Subscription data’.
selecting, by the network device (AMF) and using the energy consumption control service criteria, network components based on energy consumption profiles associated with the network components; and
[0034] It should be noted that, as described herein, the term ‘maximum energy credit limit’ is distinct from the term ‘maximum energy consumption’. This is because the energy credit limit is a total amount of energy consumed, whereas the maximum energy consumption is a limit to the consumption in a given interval of time.
[0037] The disclosure herein introduces ‘energy-related service restriction information’ for a UE. Said information may be determined by a network entity i.e., a policy control function (PCF) of a core network. Said information may be provided to an access and mobility management function (AMF) which may then provide energy-related service restriction information for the UE for enforcement in an AN. The enforcement may be through an AN entity of the AN. A unified data repository (UDM) may store and provide subscribed energy-related service restriction information for a UE. A charging function (CHF) may also monitor energy consumption in the wireless communication system/network and provide notifications when a maximum energy consumption or energy credit limit is reached
[0076] In the further step 204a, the AMF 240 requests the access and mobility (AM) policy association establishment to the PCF (e.g., AM-PCF) 260. For this purpose the AMF may use the Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Create service operation. The AMF 240 may include the SUPI (as the UE ID), list TAIs of the registration area, Access Type, and in addition the ‘subscribed energy-related information’. In particular, the AMF 240 may indicate that the UE is subject to service restriction due to EC (i.e., include a maximum EC enabled parameter); and/or the subscribed UE-AMER value (i.e., which can be referred as AMERsubscribed). The step 204a is shown in the example 200 as ‘AM Policy Association Est. Req.’.
[0088] Based on the notification, the AMF 240 determines to enforce energy-related service restriction. The AMF 240 may determine whether to apply the service restriction A or service restriction B as hereinbefore discussed, e.g., based on local configuration in the AMF 240. In the case that the service restriction A is determined, the AMF 240 may derive the ‘UE-AMER’ or the ‘UE-AMER AN’ to be enforced in the AN. For the calculation of the ‘UE-AMER’ or the ‘UE-AMER AN’ the AMF 240 may use local configuration or input from NWDAF 280 and may apply the same or similar formula as described in Equation 1. In case that the service restriction B is determined, the AMF 240 may derive an alternative reduce bitrate or reduced QoS level to be applied to the UE 220. For example, the AMF 240 may determine a reduced UE-AMBR value. In one alternative, such reduced UE- AMBR value may be received from the UDM 250 as an alternative UE-AMBR value to be enforced in case that the event of service restriction due to maximum EC reached applies. The original UE-AMBR may still be kept in the UE context.
provisioning, by the network device, an application session for the end device according to the energy consumption control service criteria.
[0064] It should be noted that the AMF may receive enhanced UE Subscription data including subscribed energy-related information. The AMF may store such information and use it during: a policy association establishment with the AM-PCF; and/or as an input to derive service restriction information to be enforced in the AN when an indication for energy-related restriction is received from the CHF/NWDAF.
[0065] Figure 2 illustrates an example 200 of signalling flow for enforcing policy (e.g., service restrictions) to limit the EC for the aggregated traffic of a UE, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. It is assumed that the service restrictions are applied for the user plane (UP) traffic. The energy-related service restriction/s is/are enforced in the AN, specifically in the radio access network (RAN) based on LTE, NR or other technology. Since the UP data for all PDU Sessions is transmitted over the AN, this is an example of an appropriate place to enforce the energy-related service restriction for the aggregated UE traffic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velev, Genadi (WO 2024188494 A1).
Considering claim 1, Velev teaches a method comprising:
Receiving (202, Fig.2), by a network device (AMF) from an end device (UE, Fig.2), a registration request (Fig.2, [0072] Registration Request);
retrieving, by the network device (AMF) responsive to the registration request (AMF 240 sends a request message to retrieve the UE’s 220 subscription data from the UDM 250), subscription information including energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2, [0007], [0072]-[0074] the UDM 250 determines as per step 201a that the UE Subscription data includes ‘subscribed energy-related information’);
selecting, by the network device (AMF) and using the energy consumption control service criteria ([0027] select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters), network components based on energy consumption profiles associated with the network components ([0027], [0034], [0037], [0076], [0105]-[0106] AMF can process these parameters (and other information) to determine and provide the energy-related service restriction information…choice to select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters, and for the provision of an “energy as a service” scenario wherein energy consumption in a network is monitored, the related information is exposed to network customers/verticals, and enforcement action can be taken to manage/control energy consumption); and
provisioning, by the network device (AMF), an application session for the end device according to the energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2, [0064]-[0065], [0075]-[0078] PCF 260 determines that the energy consumption restriction for the UE has to be enforced (e.g., based on Use Cases A or B), [0086] step 204b and the determination to apply energy-related service restrictions, a further approach will be described with reference to step 205c).
Considering claim 8, Velev teaches a system comprising: processors configured to:
receive (202, Fig.2), from an end device (UE, Fig.2), a registration request (Fig.2, [0072] Registration Request);
retrieve, responsive to the registration request (AMF 240 sends a request message to retrieve the UE’s 220 subscription data from the UDM 250), subscription information including energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2, [0007], [0027], [0073]-[0074] the UDM 250 determines as per step 201a that the UE Subscription data includes ‘subscribed energy-related information’);
select, using the energy consumption control service criteria ([0027] select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters), network components based on energy consumption profiles associated with the network components ([0027] an “energy as a service” capability in the network would allow customers or verticals to have the choice to select proper energy efficiency criteria, ([0027], [0034], [0037], [0076], [0105]-[0106] AMF can process these parameters (and other information) to determine and provide the energy-related service restriction information…choice to select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters, and for the provision of an “energy as a service” scenario wherein energy consumption in a network is monitored, the related information is exposed to network customers/verticals, and enforcement action can be taken to manage/control energy consumption); and
provision an application session for the end device according to the energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2, [0027], [0064]-[0065], [0075]-[0078] PCF 260 determines that the energy consumption restriction for the UE has to be enforced (e.g., based on Use Cases A or B), [0086] step 204b and the determination to apply energy-related service restrictions, a further approach will be described with reference to step 205c).
Considering claim 15, Velev teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a processor of a network device, wherein the instructions are configured to:
receive (202, Fig.2), from an end device (UE, Fig.2), a registration request (Fig.2, [0072] Registration Request);
retrieve, responsive to the registration request (AMF 240 sends a request message to retrieve the UE’s 220 subscription data from the UDM 250), subscription information including energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2,[0007], [0027], [0073]-[0074] the UDM 250 determines as per step 201a that the UE Subscription data includes ‘subscribed energy-related information’);
select, using the energy consumption control service criteria ([0027] select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters), network components based on energy consumption profiles associated with the network components ([0027] an “energy as a service” capability in the network would allow customers or verticals to have the choice to select proper energy efficiency criteria, ([0027], [0034], [0037], [0076], [0105]-[0106] AMF can process these parameters (and other information) to determine and provide the energy-related service restriction information…choice to select proper energy efficiency criteria or other network performance parameters, and for the provision of an “energy as a service” scenario wherein energy consumption in a network is monitored, the related information is exposed to network customers/verticals, and enforcement action can be taken to manage/control energy consumption); and
provision an application session for the end device according to the energy consumption control service criteria (Fig.2, [0027], [0064]-[0065], [0075]-[0078] PCF 260 determines that the energy consumption restriction for the UE has to be enforced (e.g., based on Use Cases A or B), [0086] step 204b and the determination to apply energy-related service restrictions, a further approach will be described with reference to step 205c).
Considering claims 2, 9, Velev teaches performing, using the energy consumption control service criteria ([0027] energy efficiency criteria), a procedure to determine allowed network slice selection assistance information (NSSAIs) for the application session ([0027], [0112] a network slice to which the subscribed energy related information applies (i.e., as identified by S-NSSAI or DNN)).
Considering claims 4, 11, 17, Velev teaches dynamically invoking the energy consumption control service criteria based on information pertaining to network conditions ([0027]-[0028] energy efficiency parameters as part of a communication service).
Considering claims 5, 12, Velev teaches dynamically invoking the energy consumption control service criteria based on policy counters related to the application session ([0027]-[0028]).
Considering claims 6, 13, 19, Velev teaches wherein provisioning the application session comprises imposing at least one of energy saving measures or energy efficiency measures on the application session ([0027]).
Considering claims 7, 14, 20, Velev teaches evaluating, based on the energy consumption control service criteria, at least one of: access mobility and management policies ([0106] manage/control energy consumption), session management policies, or user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641