DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zee et al (US 2019/0239191, hereinafter Zee, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/376,954) and Anderson et al (US 2014/0321371, hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding claim 1, Zee discloses a method performed by a first core network (CN) device, the method comprising: receiving, from a radio access network (RAN), in response to a RAN based paging failure, a first message comprising first information (outcome of the performed RAN paging procedure is a failure, RAN node sends a request to the CN node to perform paging to the UE, Para [0062], providing CN node with information pertaining to the RAN paging procedure, Para [0064], RAN and CN exchange paging information, Para [0111], information may be exchanged in UE context messages, Para [0113]); initiating a CN based paging procedure, and sending, to the UE, a first paging message (CN node performs paging procedure of the wireless device, Para [0062]. Also see pages 14-15 and 18 of the provisional); but does not explicitly disclose first information is for identifying information related to the first UE. Anderson discloses when there is no response from the eNB paging the UE, the eNB sends a paging escalation message to the MME, Para [0161], message sent to the CN includes an identification of the UE, Para [0237] and paging messages identify the UE they are attempting to contact, Para [0222]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Anderson in the system of Zee in order to reduce system resource and control overheads.
Regarding claim 2, Zee discloses a first core network (CN, Fig. 6) device comprising: one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors (memory and processor, Fig. 6) configured to process the instructions to control the first CN device to: receive, from a radio access network (RAN), a first message comprising first information of a user equipment (UE) (outcome of the performed RAN paging procedure is a failure, RAN node sends a request to the CN node to perform paging to the UE, Para [0062], providing CN node with information pertaining to the RAN paging procedure, Para [0064], RAN and CN exchange information, Para [0111], information may be exchanged in UE context messages, Para [0113]); initiate a CN based paging procedure; and send, to the UE, a first paging message (CN node performs paging procedure of the wireless device, Para [0062]. Also see Fig. 6, pages 14-15 and 18 of the provisional); but does not explicitly disclose first information is for identifying information related to the first UE. Anderson discloses when there is no response from the eNB paging the UE, the eNB sends a paging escalation message to the MME, Para [0161], message sent to the CN includes an identification of the UE, Para [0237] and paging messages identify the UE they are attempting to contact, Para [0222]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Anderson in the system of Zee in order to reduce system resource and control overheads.
Regarding claim 3, Zee discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a first core network (CN) device, a first paging message (CN node performs paging procedure of the wireless device, Para [0062]), the first paging message being sent by the first CN device based on a first message being received from a radio access network (RAN) based on a RAN based paging failure, the first message comprising first information of the UE (outcome of the performed RAN paging procedure is a failure, RAN node sends a request to the CN node to perform paging to the UE, Para [0062], providing CN node with information pertaining to the RAN paging procedure, Para [0064], RAN and CN exchange information, Para [0111], information may be exchanged in UE context messages, Para [0113]. Also see pages 14-15 and 18 of the provisional); but does not explicitly disclose first information is for identifying information related to the first UE. Anderson discloses when there is no response from the eNB paging the UE, the eNB sends a paging escalation message to the MME, Para [0161], message sent to the CN includes an identification of the UE, Para [0237] and paging messages identify the UE they are attempting to contact, Para [0222]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Anderson in the system of Zee in order to reduce system resource and control overheads.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Zee does not disclose first information for identifying information related to the first UE. In response, arguments are moot because a new reference is being used in the current office action in response to the amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461