DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on June 2, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments to claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, and 18, the previous rejections under this heading are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (WO 2021/097597, see corresponding publication US 2022/0278886 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Yan teaches a method, comprising:
sending, by a first device, a first signal to a second device on N orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, wherein the N OFDM symbols comprise N1 first symbols and N2 second symbols, N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N1 < N, N2 +N1 = N (“410: An exciter sends an excitation signal to a reflector. Accordingly, the reflector receives the excitation signal” – See [0152]; “That is, the exciter sends W excitation signals to the reflector, and the reflector receives the W excitation signals” – See [0153]; “the time unit of the excitation signal may be represented as an OFDM symbol” – See [0157]; “For example, the W excitation signals may be used to represent excitation signals carried in W time units” – See [0159]; “reflector reflects the data and L reference signals to the receiver, where the L reference signals are carried in L excitation signals in the W excitation signals, where L is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and L is less than or equal to W. For example, W and L are both integers greater than or equal to 2” – See [0172]; “The W excitation signals include the T excitation signals, and the T excitation signals do not carry the reference signal and/or the reflected data. Alternatively, this may be understood as that in L+T reference signals, the L excitation signals are used to carry the L reference signals” – See [0013]; See also Fig. 4; Exciter (first device) sends a first signal to reflector (second device) on a plurality OFDM symbols, wherein the first signal comprises W (i.e., N) of excitation signals/symbols. The W symbols include L (i.e., N1) first excitation signals/symbols and T (i.e., N2) second excitation signals/symbols, such that L+T=W (i.e., N1+N2=N and N1<N)), and
configuration of the N2 second symbols reduces network resource overheads and improves spectral efficiency (“Based on the foregoing technical solutions, interference caused by the excitation signal to a reflected data signal can be greatly reduced, and demodulation performance can be improved” – See [0060]; “Although a preamble sequence based on a data packet header may be used for channel estimation, performance is poor and overheads are high. In view of this, this application provides a method, to improve performance of channel estimation and reflected data detection” – See [0148]-[0149]; The techniques that involve configuration/transmission of the N2 second symbols improve overhead and spectral efficiency); and
sending, by the first device, a second signal to a third device on at least one of the N1 first symbols (“420: The reflector reflects data and a reference signal” – See [0170]; “The reflector may reflect the received excitation signal, and modulate the data and the reference signal of the reflector on the reflected signal” – See [0171]; “That is, the reflector reflects the data and L reference signals to the receiver, where the L reference signals are carried in L excitation signals in the W excitation signals” – See [0172]; The exciter sends L reference signals (a second signal) to the receiver (third device) via the reflector on the L (i.e., N1) OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 3, Yan teaches the method of Claim 2. Yan further teaches that each second symbol of the N2 second symbols is an OFF symbol corresponding to on-off keying modulation or multi-carrier on-off keying modulation (“The modulation scheme may include, for example, pi/2-binary phase shift keying (BPSK), ASK, and binary on-off keying (OOK)” – See [0220]; A second OFDM symbol may be an OFF symbol when on-off keying modulation is used).
Claims 6, 11, and 16 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claims 8, 13, and 18 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2021/097597, see corresponding publication US 2022/0278886 for citations) in view of Cha et al. (US 2021/0306045).
Regarding Claim 2, Yan teaches the method of Claim 1. Yan further teaches that the first symbol is an ON symbol corresponding to on-off keying modulation or multi-carrier on-off keying modulation (“The modulation scheme may include, for example, pi/2-binary phase shift keying (BPSK), ASK, and binary on-off keying (OOK)” – See [0220]; A first OFDM symbol may be an ON symbol when on-off keying modulation is used).
Yan does not explicitly teach that each N1 first symbol has the same power.
However, Cha teaches that each N1 first symbol has the same power (“the same power may need to be allocated to each CSI-RS resource for fair comparison of RSRP values of different CSI-RS resources” – See [0232]; Each of the reference signals (first symbols) has the same power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that each N1 first symbol has the same power. Motivation for doing so would be to facilitate comparison of values across different resources/symbols (See Cha, [0232]).
Claims 7, 12, and 17 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2021/097597, see corresponding publication US 2022/0278886 for citations) in view of Nemeth et al. (US 2023/0115192).
Regarding Claim 4, Yan teaches the method of Claim 1. Yan further teaches that the N OFDM symbols comprise at least four consecutive first symbols (“For example, the W excitation signals may be used to represent excitation signals carried in W time units” – See [0159]; “reflector reflects the data and L reference signals to the receiver, where the L reference signals are carried in L excitation signals in the W excitation signals, where L is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and L is less than or equal to W. For example, W and L are both integers greater than or equal to 2” – See [0172]; “the L time units in which the L reference signals are located are consecutive” – See [0274]; The W (i.e., N) OFDM symbols comprise L consecutive OFDM symbols, where L is an integer greater than or equal to 2. Thus, L may have a value of four or more consecutive OFDM symbols).
Yan does not explicitly teach that the N OFDM symbols correspond to a non cell defined SSB.
However, Nemeth teaches that the N OFDM symbols correspond to a non cell defined SSB (“Configuration of additional non-cell-defining (non-CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) is required to support a large number of RedCap UEs (e.g., low-end phones) and offload them to sub-bands. Non-CD SSBs may be used to conduct RRM measurements (of serving and neighbor cells) and frequency/time tracking by a UE” – See [0005]; The reference signals/symbols correspond to a non-cell-defining SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan such that the N OFDM symbols correspond to a non cell defined SSB. Yan suggests that other types of reference signals may be included in the N OFDM symbols besides the specific examples that are disclosed (“The reference signal may include but is not limited to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like” – See [0129]). The non-cell-defining SSB disclosed by Nemeth provides the advantage of being suited to supporting a large number low power/narrow bandwidth reduced capacity UEs similar to the low power devices in Yan (See Nemeth, [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yan in view of Nemeth teaches the method of Claim 4. Yan further teaches that the four consecutive first symbols carry a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal (“The reference signal may include but is not limited to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), and the like. Different reference signals have different functions. For example, a DMRS and a CSI-RS may be used to obtain channel information, and a PTRS may be used to obtain phase variation information” – See [0129]; “Based on the reference signal, a transmit end or a receive end may deduce, based on a known or predetermined rule, a time and frequency location of a signal” – See [0130]; The reference signal may be a PTRS (synchronization signal) for performing phase synchronization and the reference signal further enables time/frequency synchronization by enabling the receiver of the reference signal to deduce the time/frequency location of a signal).
Claims 9, 14, and 19 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claims 10, 15, and 20 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Response to Arguments
On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant argues “The Office Action relied upon Van for OFDM symbols but failed to identify N1 first symbols and N2 second symbols. Van does not suggest or teach that configuration of the N2 second symbols reduces network resource overheads and improves spectral efficiency. Accordingly, independent claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are allowable over Van.” Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the amended limitations, the Examiner has cited additional passages from Yan. In particular, Yan discloses “The W excitation signals include the T excitation signals, and the T excitation signals do not carry the reference signal and/or the reflected data. Alternatively, this may be understood as that in L+T reference signals, the L excitation signals are used to carry the L reference signals.” (See [0013]). Thus, the exciter (first device) sends a first signal to reflector (second device) on a plurality OFDM symbols, wherein the first signal comprises W (i.e., N) of excitation signals/symbols. The W symbols include L (i.e., N1) first excitation signals/symbols and T (i.e., N2) second excitation signals/symbols, such that L+T=W (i.e., N1+N2=N and N1<N).
Additionally, Yan discloses “Based on the foregoing technical solutions, interference caused by the excitation signal to a reflected data signal can be greatly reduced, and demodulation performance can be improved.” (See [0060]). Yan also discloses “Although a preamble sequence based on a data packet header may be used for channel estimation, performance is poor and overheads are high. In view of this, this application provides a method, to improve performance of channel estimation and reflected data detection.” (See [0148]-[0149]). Thus, the techniques that involve configuration/transmission of the N2 second symbols improve overhead and spectral efficiency.
On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant argues “Claim 2, recites, in part: ‘each N1 first symbol has the same power.’ Similar subject matter appears in claims 7, 12, and 17. When N1 ON symbols have different power and power of an ON symbol is low, the ON symbol is mistakenly considered as an OFF symbol by the second device, thereby affecting demodulating performance. See paragraph [0014].
The Office Action did not establish that each N1 first symbol has the same power.
Claim 4, recites, in part: ‘the N OFDM symbols comprise at least four consecutive first symbols and correspond to a non cell defined SSB.’ Similar subject matter appears in claims 9, 14, and 19. To avoid impact caused, when the SIB 1 occupies consecutive OFDM symbols, on the boundary that is of the ON symbol or the OFF symbol in the first signal and that is obtained by a second device, for example, the SSB is a non cell defined SSB (non CD-SSB), that is, the SSB does not include the SIB 1. See paragraph [00227]
The Office Action did not address a non cell defined SSB.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 19 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478