DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Kato et al. (US 20160126583 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kato teaches a battery cell (Figure 5), comprising:
an electrode body (110), in which is stacked a plurality of laminated structures, each of the laminated structures including a cathode, an anode, and a separator interposed between the cathode and the anode (para. [0009]); and
a tape (160) that is wound one round around an outer perimeter of the electrode body (110) (as illustrated) and applied, wherein
the tape (160) includes an overlapping portion (as illustrated) at which one end side and another end side in an outer perimeter direction overlap (as illustrated), and
with a direction in which the laminated structures are stacked in the electrode body (110) as a stacking direction, and an end face in the stacking direction in the electrode body (110) as a stacking face (as illustrated), the overlapping portion is disposed on a face/(side face) of the electrode body (110) other than the stacking face (as illustrated).
With respect to claim 2, Kato teaches a plurality of pieces of the tape (Figure 6, 270 & 271) is wound and applied to the outer perimeter of the electrode body (210), and
the overlapping portions of all of the pieces of tape (270 & 271) are disposed on a face of the electrode body (210) other than the stacking face (as illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 20160126583 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of KR 20060092429 A (to Hwang et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 3, Kato discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach wherein the overlapping portions of all of the pieces of tape are disposed on a same one face of the faces of the electrode body, other than the stacking face. Hwang teaches an electrode assembly (Figure 1, 300) comprising a first fixing tape (Figure 5, 600) and a second fixing tape (610) positioned similarly to tape pieces of Figure 5 of Kato; Hwang also teaches positioning the tape pieces in an alternative arrangement as illustrated in Figure 4 in which tape pieces (600, 601, 602) are side-by-side in order to apply uniform pressure across the electrode assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to arrange the tape pieces in Kato side-by-side, as taught by Hwang, in order to apply uniform pressure across the electrode assembly. Consequently, arranging the tape pieces in Kato side-by-side would provide that the overlapping portions of all of the pieces of tape are disposed on a same one face of the faces of the electrode body, other than the stacking face.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 20160126583 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 20140114688 A (to Hyun) – translation attached and relied upon below.
With respect to claim 4, Kato discloses all claim limitations as set forth above but fails to teach a battery cell stack, comprising a plurality of the battery cells according to claim 1, stacked in the stacking direction. Hyun teaches a battery cell stack (Figure 5, 20), comprising a plurality of the battery cells (14) according to claim 1 (as illustrated in Figure 4), stacked in the stacking direction (as illustrated) in order to provide the energy needed for driving electric vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide a battery cell stack, comprising a plurality of the battery cells according to claim 1, and as in Kato, stacked in the stacking direction, as taught by Hyun, in order to provide the energy needed for driving electric vehicles.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 8/21/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725