DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
6. Claims 20-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patented claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11973926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, and claims 20-38 of the instant application is broader than the corresponding patented claims.
18/645808
US 11973926
20. (New) An autostereoscopic display system comprising: a transmissive display panel comprising: a backlight having an array of backlight pixels; a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix having a first side facing the backlight and an opposing second side, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprising an array of display pixels; a first lenticular array disposed between and directly adjacent to the backlight and the first side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix; a second lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to and facing the opposing second side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix; and wherein the backlight is configured to separately activate different subsets of the backlight pixels such that light emitted by an activated subset of backlight pixels and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as display light in a corresponding separate direction relative to the transmissive display panel.
1. An autostereoscopic display system comprising: a transmissive display panel comprising: a backlight having an array of backlight pixels; a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix having a first side facing the backlight and an opposing second side, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprising an array of display pixels; a first lenticular array disposed between and directly adjacent to the backlight and the first side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix; a second lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to and facing the opposing second side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix; and wherein the backlight is configured to separately activate different subsets of the backlight pixels corresponding to at least one detected pose of one or more viewers such that light emitted by an activated subset of backlight pixels and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as display light in a corresponding separate direction relative to the transmissive display panel.
21. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, further comprising: a display controller coupled to the backlight and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, the display controller configured to: display a first frame and a second frame in sequence, the first frame associated with a first video stream and the second frame associated with a second video stream; activate a first subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the first frame such that light emitted from the first subset of backlight pixels during display of the first frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as first display light in a first direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the first display light representative of image content of the first frame; and activate a second subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the second frame such that light emitted from the second subset of backlight pixels during display of the second frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as second display light in a second direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the second display light representative of image content of the second frame, the second subset different from the first subset, and the second direction different from the first direction.
2. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 1, further comprising: a display controller coupled to the backlight and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, the display controller configured to: display a first frame and a second frame in sequence, the first frame associated with a first video stream and the second frame associated with a second video stream; activate a first subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the first frame such that light emitted from the first subset of backlight pixels during display of the first frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as first display light in a first direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the first display light representative of image content of the first frame; and activate a second subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the second frame such that light emitted from the second subset of backlight pixels during display of the second frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as display light in a second direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the second display light representative of image content of the second frame, the second subset different from the first subset, and the second direction different from the first direction.
22. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 21, further comprising: a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of one or more viewers; wherein the first subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a first viewer such that the first direction intersects with the pose of the first viewer relative to the transmissive display panel; and wherein the second subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a second viewer such that the second direction intersects with the pose of the second viewer relative to the transmissive display panel.
3. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 2, further comprising: a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of the one or more viewers; wherein the first subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a first viewer such that the first direction intersects with the pose of the first viewer relative to the transmissive display panel; and wherein the second subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a second viewer such that the second direction intersects with the pose of the second viewer relative to the transmissive display panel.
23. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 22, further comprising: a video subsystem configured to generate the first frame based on the pose of the first viewer and to generate the second frame based on the pose of the second viewer.
4. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 3, further comprising: a video subsystem configured to generate the first frame based on the pose of the first viewer and to generate the second frame based on the pose of the second viewer.
24. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 23, wherein the pose of a viewer includes at least one of a pose of a head of the viewer or a pose of at least one eye of the viewer.
6. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 4, wherein the pose of a viewer includes at least one of a pose of a head of the viewer or a pose of at least one eye of the viewer.
25. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 21, wherein: each of the first frame and the second frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer of one or more viewers and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer.
5. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 2, wherein: each of the first frame and the second frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer of the one or more viewers and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer.
26. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 21, wherein: activation of the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activation of the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting.
7. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 2, wherein: activation of the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activation of the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting.
27. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, further comprising: a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of the one or more viewers; and wherein a subset of the backlight pixels selected for activation during display of a frame is selected based on a pose of a viewer of the one or more viewers intended to view the display of the frame.
8. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 1, further comprising: a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of the one or more viewers; and wherein the subset of backlight pixels selected for activation during display of a frame is selected based on a pose of a viewer of the one or more viewers intended to view the display of the frame.
28. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 27, further comprising: a video subsystem configured to generate the frame for display based on the pose of the viewer intended to view the display of the frame.
9. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 8, further comprising: a video subsystem configured to generate the frame for display based on the pose of the viewer intended to view the display of the frame.
29. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 27, wherein the frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer.
10. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 8, wherein the frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer.
30. (New) The autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, wherein the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprises a liquid crystal pixel array.
11. The autostereoscopic display system of claim 1, wherein the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprises a liquid crystal pixel array.
31. (New) A method comprising: selectively activating a first subset of backlight pixels of a backlight of a display panel and transmitting light emitted by the first subset through a first lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to the backlight, a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix disposed directly adjacent to the first lenticular array, and a second lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix so that the display panel emits first display light representative of a first frame in a first direction relative to the display panel; and selectively activating a second subset of backlight pixels of the backlight and transmitting light emitted by the second subset through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array so that the display panel emits second display light representative of a second frame in a second direction relative to the display panel.
12. A method comprising: responsive to detecting a first pose of a first viewer, selectively activating a first subset of backlight pixels, corresponding to the first pose, of a backlight of a display panel and transmitting light emitted by the first subset through a first lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to the backlight, a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix disposed directly adjacent to the first lenticular array, and a second lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix so that the display panel emits first display light representative of a first frame in a first direction relative to the display panel, wherein a first viewer is positioned in the first direction relative to the display panel; and responsive to detecting a second pose of a second viewer, selectively activating a second subset of backlight pixels, corresponding to the second pose, of the backlight and transmitting light emitted by the second subset through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix, and the second lenticular array so that the display panel emits second display light representative of a second frame in a second direction relative to the display panel, wherein a second viewer is positioned in the second direction relative to the display panel.
32. (New) The method of claim 31, further comprising: tracking a first pose of a first viewer and a second pose of a second viewer; selecting the first subset of backlight pixels based on the first pose of the first viewer; and selecting the second subset of backlight pixels based on the second pose of the second viewer.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: tracking the first pose of the first viewer and the second pose of the second viewer; selecting the first subset of backlight pixels based on the first pose of the first viewer; and selecting the second subset of backlight pixels based on the second pose of the second viewer.
33. (New) The method of claim 32, further comprising: generating the first frame based on the first pose of the first viewer; and generating the second frame based on the second pose of the second viewer.
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising: generating the first frame based on the first pose of the first viewer; and generating the second frame based on the second pose of the second viewer.
34. (New) The method of claim 33, wherein each of the first frame and the second frame each comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of at least one of the first viewer or the second viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the at least one of the first viewer or the second viewer.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein each of the first frame and the second frame each comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of at least one of the first viewer or the second viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the at least one of the first viewer or the second viewer.
35. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein: activating the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activating the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein: activating the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activating the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting.
36. (New) The method of claim 31, wherein the first lenticular array faces the backlight, the second lenticular array faces a first viewer and a second viewer, and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix is disposed between the first lenticular array and the second lenticular array.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein the first lenticular array faces the backlight, the second lenticular array faces the first viewer and the second viewer, and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix is disposed between the first lenticular array and the second lenticular array.
37. (New) An autostereoscopic display system to perform the method of claim 31.
18. An autostereoscopic display system to perform the method of claim 12.
38. (New) A non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions configured to manipulate at least one processor to perform the method of claim 31.
19. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions configured to manipulate at least one processor to perform the method of claim 12.
In view of the above, allowing claims 20-38 of the instant application would result in an
unjustified or improper time-wise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent. See In re
Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Feb. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 20,27,29,30-35 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CRONE et al. (JP 2019508726).
Regarding claim 20, Crone throughout the disclosure, discloses an autostereoscopic display system comprising; a transmissive display panel (e.g., fig. 4) comprising; a backlight having an array of backlight pixels (e.g., abstract, figs. 3-5, backlight 41 comprises an array of illumination stripes 51 and LEDs), a selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., fig. 4, display includes a light modulation display panel 40) having a first side facing the backlight and an opposing second side (e.g., fig. 4, element 40), the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprising an array of display pixels (e.g., fig. 4, display includes a light modulation display panel 40), a first lenticular array disposed between and directly adjacent to the backlight (e.g., the backlight is provided with a first lenticular array 52), and the first side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., fig. 4, 40), a second lenticular array disposed directly adjacent to and facing the opposing second side of the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., the second lenticular array 54), and wherein the backlight is configured to separately activate different subsets of the backlight pixels such that light emitted by an activated subset of backlight pixels (e.g., fig. 4, controller 50) and transmitted through the first lenticular array (e.g., figs. 4-5, control unit 50, lenticular array 52), the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., fig. 4, display 40), and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as display light in a corresponding separate direction relative to the transmissive display panel (e.g., figs. 4-5, display 40 and second lenticular 54).
Regarding claim 27, Crone discloses the autostereoscopic display The autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, further comprising; a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of the one or more viewers (fig. 4, element 49,50), and wherein a subset of the backlight pixels selected for activation during display of a frame is selected based on a pose of a viewer of the one or more viewers intended to view the display of the frame (e.g., abstract, fig. 4, combination of elements 40-42,
44,46,49,50).
Regarding claim 29, Crone discloses the autostereoscopic display system of claim 27, wherein
the frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer (e.g., presentation of three-dimensional images to viewer, disclosed throughout the disclosure, implicitly covers the above limitation).
Regarding claim 30, Crone discloses the autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, wherein the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix comprises a liquid crystal pixel array (e.g., fig. 1, autostereoscopic display device 1. The known device 1 comprises an active-matrix liquid crystal display panel 3).
Regarding claim 31, the limitations claimed are substantially similar to claim 20 above, and has been addressed in the above claim. As for, display light representative of first and second frame and direction (e.g., fig. 4).
Regarding claim 32, Crone discloses the method of claim 31, further comprising; tracking a first pose of a first viewer and a second pose of a second viewer; selecting the first subset of backlight pixels based on the first pose of the first viewer; and selecting the second subset of backlight pixels based on the second pose of the second viewer (e.g., abstract, combination of elements 40-42,44,46,49,50, of fig. 4, entire disclosure).
Regarding claim 33, Crone discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising; generating the first frame based on the first pose of the first viewer; and generating the second frame based on the second pose of the second viewer (e.g., generation of frames for stereoscopic display, disclosed throughout the disclosure, also fig. 4).
Regarding claim 34, Crone discloses the method of claim 33, wherein each of the first frame and the second frame each comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of at least one of the first viewer or the second viewer
and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the at least one of the first
viewer or the second viewer (e.g., please refer to claim 29 above).
Regarding claim 35, Crone discloses the method of claim 31, wherein; activating the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activating the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting (e.g., activation of the backlight pixels and time sequential/series, in detail description).
Regarding claims 37-38, refer to claim 31 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 21-26,28-29,34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CRONE et al. (JP 2019508726) in view of Graham et al. (EP 0597629).
Regarding claim 21, Crone teaches the autostereoscopic display system of claim 20, further comprising; a display controller coupled to the backlight and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., fig. 4, control unit 50), activate a first subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the first frame such that light emitted from the first subset of backlight pixels during display of the first frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (e.g., refer to claim 20 above, and control unit 50 in fig. 4), and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as first display light in a first direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the first display light representative of image content of the first frame (e.g., refer to claim 20 above, also fig. 4), and activate a second subset of backlight pixels of the backlight for display of the second frame such that light emitted from the second subset of backlight pixels during display of the second frame and transmitted through the first lenticular array, the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix (please see claim 20), and the second lenticular array is emitted by the transmissive display panel as second display light in a second direction relative to the transmissive display panel, the second display light representative of image content of the second frame, the second
subset different from the first subset, and the second direction different from the first direction (please see claim 20 above).
Crone is silent to explicitly indicate, the display controller configured to; display a first frame and a second frame in sequence, the first frame associated with a first video stream and the second frame associated with a second video stream.
However, Graham in the same field of endeavor, and throughout the disclosure, teaches the above, display frames in sequence, the first frame associated with a first video stream and the second frame associated with a second video stream (e.g., col. 1, lines 5-12), also further teaches activating subset of backlight pixels of backlight for display of frames and direction relative to display (e.g., figs. 1,3 and 5-8, control circuitry 9, and col. 2, lines 24-40,col. 3, lines 31-39,col. 4, lines 9-45).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Graham, into the display system of Crone, for producing an autostereoscopic image.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display system of claim 21, further comprising; a viewer tracking subsystem configured to track a pose of each of one or more viewers (e.g., abstract, fig. 4, entire disclosure of Crone), wherein the first subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a first viewer such that the first direction intersects with the pose of the first viewer relative to the transmissive display panel (e.g., fig. 4, combination of elements 40-42,44,46,49,50 of Crone), and wherein the second subset of backlight pixels is selected based on a pose of a second viewer such that the second direction intersects with the pose of the second viewer relative to the transmissive display panel (e.g., fig. 4, combination of elements 40-42,44,46,49,50 of Crone).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display system of claim 22, including the first frame based on the pose of the first viewer and to generate the second frame based on the pose of the second viewer, as discussed in the above action. But is silent to
explicitly indicate, a video subsystem to generate video frames.
Examiner take official notice, to indicate that, it is a conventional technical means in the art to provide a video subsystem in order to generate the corresponding first and second frames, based on the pose of the viewers. For further clarification, Gaudreau (WO 2021/119807) clearly teaches a video subsystem to generate video frames (e.g., image source 120, in figs. 1-4b,10,15-16b). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement such known teaching.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display system of claim 23, wherein the pose of a viewer includes at least one of a pose of a head of the viewer or a pose of at least one eye of the viewer (e.g., abstract, fig. 4, and disclosure of Crone).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display
System of claim 21, wherein; wherein; each of the first frame and the second frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer of one or more viewers and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer (e.g., presentation of three-dimensional images to viewer, disclosed throughout the disclosure of the combination).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display system of claim 21, wherein; activation of the first subset of backlight pixels produces a first bar-pattern of backlighting; and activation of the second subset of backlight pixels produces a second bar-pattern of backlighting (e.g., please refer to, activation of backlight, discussed in the above action and throughout the disclosure of the combination, also figs. 1 and 3-7 of Graham, also figs. 2 and 4 of Crone).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Crone and Graham teach the autostereoscopic display
system of claim 27, further comprising; a video subsystem configured to generate the frame for display based on the pose of the viewer intended to view the display of the frame (e.g., please refer to claim 232 above).
Regarding claims 29 and 34, the limitation, wherein the frame comprises a three-dimensional (3D) composite frame comprising a first subset of pixels representing image content for a left eye of a viewer and a second subset of pixels representing image content for a right eye of the viewer, as claimed, also addressed in claim 25 above).
Regarding claim 36, Crone teaches the method of claim 31, including lenticular array; but is silent in regards to, wherein the first lenticular array faces the backlight, the second lenticular array faces a first viewer and a second viewer, and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix is disposed between the first lenticular array and the second lenticular array.
Graham, in the same field of endeavor, and throughout the disclosure, teaches the above first lenticular array faces the backlight, the second lenticular array faces a first viewer and a second viewer, and the selectively-transmissive display pixel matrix is disposed between the first lenticular array and the second lenticular array (e.g., abstract, elements 12,13 and 16 in figs. 1 and 3-8).
it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Crone, in accordance with the teaching of Graham, in order to project the views in different directions towards an observer.
Contact Information
should be directed to Behrooz Senfi, whose telephone number is (571)272-7339. The examiner can
normally be reached on Monday-Friday 10:00-6:00.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher Kelley can be reached on 571 272 7331. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact
the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571 -272-1000.
/BEHROOZ M SENFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482