Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 12-15 and 18-32, in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 1 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/10/2026.
Claim Interpretation
In this instant case, “illumination means” of claim 12 is being interpreted as a first optical system comprising a lens, a beam splitter, and an objective lens (specification, [0037]) and equivalents thereof.
Note that “illumination means” is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in claim 23 since claim 23 recites sufficient structures to perform the recited functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 recites “the processor is configured to determine, for each of the plurality of particles, whether the particle forms part of the first subset or the second subset based at least in part on a difference in intensity of the detected different signals.” The specification discloses a processor configured to determine presence of the detection molecules based at least in part on the signal from the detector ([0008],[0033]). However, the disclosure fails to describe the processor is “configured to determine, for each of the plurality of particles, whether the particle forms part of the first subset or the second subset based at least in part on a difference in intensity of the detected different signals”. Therefore, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14, 23-25, and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baer et al. (US 20190317020 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Baer teaches a system (Fig. 1; abstract) for determining presence of a plurality of fluorophore-labelled detection molecules bound to a plurality of particles arranged on a planar surface (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0014] teaches screening biological elements for presence or absence of subpopulation of biological elements; [0053] teaches fluorophores associated with proteins may appear in the samples; [0138] teaches capture binding and detection binding partner pairs, with a binding partner having a detectable label attached; [0146]-[0150] teaches fluorescent dyes, moieties, or labels attached to particles or binding partners to be detected; Fig. 1 and [0031] teaches a micropore array, i.e. planar surface, including samples with a fluorescent moiety; therefore, the system of Fig. 1 is structurally capable of determining presence of fluorophore-labelled detection molecules bound to a plurality of particles arranged on a planar surface at a later time; note that “plurality of fluorophore-labelled detection molecules bound to a plurality of particles arranged on a planar surface” are not positively recited structurally), comprising:
a magnetic field generator ([0125],[0128]-[0129] teaches adjusting magnetic field to apply alternating or intermittent magnetic fields, which implies a magnetic field generator) configured to expose a sample, comprising the particles suspended in a liquid medium, to an alternating magnetic field to reduce a tendency of the particles to aggregate on the planar surface (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0125],[0128]-[0129] teaches adjusting magnetic field to apply alternating or intermittent magnetic fields to particles and probes in the cavities; therefore, the magnetic field generator is structurally capable of exposing a sample with particles in a liquid medium to alternating magnetic field to reduce a tendency of the particles to aggregate on the planar surface);
an illumination means (Fig. 1 teaches a first optical system comprising laser sources 104, 106, lenses 107,108, 110, a beam splitter 120, and an objective lens 122, which reads on the interpretation of illumination means under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) for illuminating the particles when settled on the planar surface (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0038]-[0040] teaches the system can direct excitation light to a column of samples of the micropore array 102, therefore is capable of illuminating particles when settled on a planar surface);
a detector (Fig. 1, camera 140) configured to generate a signal indicative of photons emitted from the illuminated detection molecules ([0112] teaches the detector or detectors are capable of capturing and converting amplitude and duration of photon bursts from a fluorescent moiety to electrical signals); and
a processor (Fig. 1 and [0055] teaches controller 142 with processors) configured to determine presence of the detection molecules based at least in part on the signal from the detector ([0055] teaches the processors are programmed to analyze images captured by the cameras and determine wavelength intensity profiles to identify samples based on their fluorescence signals; [0014] teaches screening biological elements of presence or absence of subpopulation of biological elements).
Note that “a plurality of fluorophore-labelled detection molecules bound to a plurality of particles arranged on a planar surface”, “a sample”, and “a liquid medium” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article “a plurality of fluorophore-labelled detection molecules bound to a plurality of particles arranged on a planar surface”, “a sample”, and “a liquid medium”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 14, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured for use with the plurality of particles wherein each particle is dyed with a fluorophore ([0053] teaches fluorophores associated with proteins may appear in the samples; [0138] teaches capture binding and detection binding partner pairs, with a binding partner having a detectable label attached; [0146]-[0150] teaches fluorescent dyes, moieties, or labels attached to particles or binding partners to be detected; Fig. 1 and [0031] teaches a micropore array, i.e. planar surface, including samples with a fluorescent moiety; therefore, the system is configured for use with particles dyed with a fluorophore),
wherein the detector is configured to generate the signal indicative of photons emitted from the fluorophore ([0112] teaches the detector or detectors are capable of capturing and converting amplitude and duration of photon bursts from a fluorescent moiety to electrical signals), and
wherein the processor is configured to determine the position of the particles based at least in part on the signal from the detector ([0073] teaches based on optical information received from a detector, target cavities are identified for characterization; [0074] teaches signals from each cavity are scanned to locate the binding events of interest; therefore, the processor is configured to determine the position of particles based on a signal from the detector in order to locate binding events of interest in the micropore array 102).
Regarding claim 23, Baer further teaches wherein the illumination means (Fig. 1 teaches a first optical system comprising laser sources 104, 106, lenses 107,108, 110, a beam splitter 120, and an objective lens 122) comprises a first optical system comprising a lens (107,108, 110), a beam splitter (120), and an objective lens (122) configured to direct light in a scanning motion over the sample (Fig. 1; [0032],[0040],[0074] teaches scanning of each cavities with excitation light).
Regarding claim 24, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured to receive a container having a bottom comprising a light-transmitting material, wherein the planar surface is formed by the bottom of the container (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0031] teaches the system is capable of receiving a micropore array 102 that is optically analyzed from below; therefore, the system is capable of receiving a container having a bottom comprising a light-transmitting material as claimed; note that “a container having a bottom comprising a light-transmitting material…” is not positively recited structurally), and wherein the illumination means is configured to illuminate the particles from below through the bottom of the container (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0080] teaches illumination of particles from below through a bottom of a micropore array 102; therefore, the illumination means is structurally capable of illumination particles from below through a bottom of a container).
Note that “a container having a bottom comprising a light-transmitting material, wherein the planar surface is formed by the bottom of the container” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“a container having a bottom comprising a light-transmitting material, wherein the planar surface is formed by the bottom of the container”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 25, Baer further teaches wherein: the illumination means is configured to illuminate the particles to generate different signals from a first subset of the particles and a second subset of the particles ([0033]-[0035],[0076],[0109] teaches excitation laser sources 104 and 106 that emit different wavelengths in order to accommodate different absorption spectra of materials and labels in the sample; [0115] teaches particles tagged with different labels will emit photons with energy in different spectra; therefore, the illumination means is configured to illuminate particles to generate different signals from a first and second subset of particles; note that “a first subset of the particles and a second subset of the particles” are not positively recited structurally),
the first subset is dyed with a first concentration of a first type of fluorophore and a second concentration of a second type of fluorophore, and the second subset is dyed with a third concentration of the first type of fluorophore and a fourth concentration of the second type of fluorophore; a ratio between the first and second concentrations is larger than a ratio between the third and fourth concentrations (note that “first subset” and “second subset” are not positively recited structurally, therefore these limitations are not positively recited structurally and are interpreted as functional limitations of the illumination means; as discussed above, [0033]-[0035],[0076],[0109] teaches excitation laser sources 104 and 106 that emit different wavelengths in order to accommodate different absorption spectra of materials and labels in the sample; [0115] teaches particles tagged with different labels will emit photons with energy in different spectra; therefore, Baer’s illumination means is structurally capable of illuminating the claimed first subset and second subset of particles and respective fluorophores and ratio); and
the detector is configured to detect the different signals ([0112] teaches the detector or detectors are capable of capturing and converting amplitude and duration of photon bursts from a fluorescent moiety to electrical signals; [0115] teaches detectors to detect particles with different labels and spectra; therefore, the detector is configured to detect different signals).
Regarding claim 27, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured for use with the sample wherein each detection molecule is bound to an analyte, the analyte is bound to a capture molecule, and the capture molecule is bound to the particle (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0053] teaches fluorophores associated with proteins may appear in the samples; [0138] teaches capture binding and detection binding partner pairs, with a binding partner having a detectable label attached; [0146]-[0150] teaches fluorescent dyes, moieties, or labels attached to particles or binding partners to be detected; Fig. 1 and [0031] teaches a micropore array, i.e. planar surface, including samples with a fluorescent moiety; therefore, the system is structurally capable of being used with the sample including the claimed detection molecule, analyte, capture molecule, and particle).
Note that “sample”, “detection molecule”, “analyte”, “capture molecule”, and “particle” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“sample”, “detection molecule”, “analyte”, “capture molecule”, and “particle”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 28, Baer further teaches the system according to claim 27, wherein the system is configured for use with the sample wherein the capture molecule is a capture antibody and the analyte is a protein found in blood (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0027] teaches binding reactions including antibody and protein; [0028] teaches blood samples; therefore, the system is structurally capable of being used with a sample wherein the capture molecule is a capture antibody and the analyte is a protein found in blood).
Note that “sample”, “capture molecule”, ”capture analyte”, “analyte is a protein found in blood” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“sample”, “capture molecule”, ”capture analyte”, “analyte is a protein found in blood”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 29, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured for use with the detection molecules wherein the detection molecules comprise fluorophore-conjugated antibodies (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0145] teaches fluorescent moiety is attached to an antibody; therefore, the system is structurally capable of use with fluorophore-conjugated antibodies).
Note that “sample”, “detection molecules comprise fluorophore-conjugated antibodies” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“sample”, “detection molecules comprise fluorophore-conjugated antibodies”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 30, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured for use with the plurality of particles wherein each of the plurality of particles comprises a ferromagnetic material (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0128]-[0129] teaches the system is configured to be used with magnetic particles; therefore, the system is structurally capable of use with ferromagnetic particles), and
wherein the magnetic field generator is configured to at least partly randomize magnetic domains of the ferromagnetic material (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0128]-[0129] teaches adjusting how and when magnetic field is applied and alternating magnetic fields; therefore, the magnetic field generator is structurally capable of randomizing magnetic domains of ferromagnetic materials by adjusting how and when magnetic field is applied and by alternating magnetic fields).
Note that “plurality of particles comprises a ferromagnetic material” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“plurality of particles comprises a ferromagnetic material”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 31, Baer further teaches the system according to claim 30, wherein the ferromagnetic material comprises a plurality of magnetic particles having a size allowing them to be predominantly superparamagnetic (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0128]-[0129] teaches the system is configured to be used with superparamagnetic magnetic particles; therefore, the system is structurally capable of use with “ferromagnetic material comprises a plurality of magnetic particles having a size allowing them to be predominantly superparamagnetic”).
Note that “ferromagnetic material comprises a plurality of magnetic particles having a size allowing them to be predominantly superparamagnetic” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“ferromagnetic material comprises a plurality of magnetic particles having a size allowing them to be predominantly superparamagnetic”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 32, Baer further teaches wherein the system is configured for use with the plurality of particles wherein each of the plurality of particles comprises a polymer matrix with magnetic particles dispersed therein (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0128]-[0129] teaches the system is configured to be used superparamagnetic iron oxide-doped microbeads; therefore, the system is structurally capable of use with plurality of particles comprises a polymer matrix with magnetic particles dispersed therein).
Note that “plurality of particles comprises a polymer matrix with magnetic particles dispersed therein” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“plurality of particles comprises a polymer matrix with magnetic particles dispersed therein”) worked upon by a structure (system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Baer is identical to the presently claimed structure. Baer discloses the system comprising a magnetic field generator, illumination means, detector, and processor as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the functions recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Bose et al. (US 20200124602 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Baer fails to teach: the system according to claim 12, further comprising an agitator configured to agitate the sample to further reduce the tendency of the particles to aggregate, wherein the agitator is structurally integrated with the magnetic field generator.
Baer teaches particles movement with magnetic fields are used to mix contents in cavities ([0129]).
Bose teaches a test system for diagnosing diseases (abstract; [0001]). Bose teaches the system includes binding and labeling parts of pathogens or cells and an illumination device ([0008]). Bose teaches adding and mixing with means for binding and labeling structures of pathogens and cells of a sample ([0016]), wherein mixing includes a mixer structure ([0016]). Bose teaches to intensify the mixing process, mixing structures, such as fishbone patterns in the channel, a direction-alternating external magnetic field, vibrations, sound or other mixing methods can be employed ([0018],[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of magnetic fields and particles to mix samples ([0129]) and Bose’s teachings of a mixture structure or other mixing methods including vibrations and direction-alternating external magnetic field ([0016],[0018],[0032]) to provide: the system according to claim 12, further comprising an agitator configured to agitate the sample to further reduce the tendency of the particles to aggregate, wherein the agitator is structurally integrated with the magnetic field generator. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving mixing of contents of a sample as taught by Baer and Bose.
Regarding claim 18, modified Baer fails to explicitly teach: the system according to claim 13, wherein the agitator is configured to create motion of the particles in the liquid medium by rotation or vibrations.
Baer teaches particles movement with magnetic fields are used to mix contents in cavities ([0129]).
Bose teaches a test system for diagnosing diseases (abstract; [0001]). Bose teaches the system includes binding and labeling parts of pathogens or cells and an illumination device ([0008]). Bose teaches adding and mixing with means for binding and labeling structures of pathogens and cells of a sample ([0016]), wherein mixing includes a mixer structure ([0016]). Bose teaches to intensify the mixing process, mixing structures, such as fishbone patterns in the channel, a direction-alternating external magnetic field, vibrations, sound or other mixing methods can be employed ([0018],[0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of magnetic fields and particles to mix samples ([0129]) and Bose’s teachings of a mixture structure or other mixing methods including vibrations and direction-alternating external magnetic field ([0016],[0018],[0032]) to provide: the system according to claim 13, wherein the agitator is configured to create motion of the particles in the liquid medium by rotation or vibrations. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving mixing of contents of a sample as taught by Baer and Bose.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hanashi et al. (US 20160252456 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Baer further teaches wherein the illumination means (Fig. 1 teaches a first optical system comprising laser sources 104, 106, lenses 107,108, 110, a beam splitter 120, and an objective lens 122) and the detector (Fig. 1, camera 140) form part of a laser scanning microscope (Fig. 1 and [0114], “laser scanning microscope”):
Baer fails to explicitly teach: wherein the illumination means and the detector form part of a confocal laser scanning microscope.
Hanashi teaches a single particle detection system based on a scanning molecule counting method using light measurement with a confocal microscope, which detects light intensity of particles (abstract). Hanashi teaches laser confocal microscope and photon counting techniques have been proposed to allow for super high sensitive light detection of photons of fluorescent molecules ([0003]). Hanashi teaches a laser scan type optical microscope ([0028]). Hanashi teaches the system employs a scanning molecule counting method and confocal microscope to detect particles of low emission light or a small number ([0044]). Hanashi teaches the system is advantageous in conducting analysis of rare or expensive samples ([0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser scanning microscope of Baer to incorporate Hanashi’s teachings of laser confocal microscopy and scanning techniques ([0003],[0028],[0044],[0122]) to provide: wherein the illumination means and the detector form part of a confocal laser scanning microscope. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving sensitivity of light detection of photons of fluorophores and allow for improved analysis of particles of low emission light or rare or expensive samples as taught by Hanashi.
Claims 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kahlman et al. (US 20100324828 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Baer fails to teach: wherein the magnetic field generator is configured to gradually reduce a strength of the alternating magnetic field.
Baer teaches adjusting how and when the magnetic field is applied ([0128]). Baer teaches magnetic particles are subjected to alternating or intermittent magnetic fields during an incubation step ([0129]).
Kahlman teaches a sensor device for sensing magnetic particles and a magnetic field control unit to generate time-dependent magnetic field for interaction with the magnetic particles (abstract). Kahlman teaches capture molecules adapted to bind to complementary molecules attached to magnetic particles ([0062]). Kahlman teaches sensor to detect the presence of magnetic particles includes fluorescence optical methods ([0069]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used for biochemical assays ([0070]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used as rapid, robust, and easy to use point-of-care biosensors for small sample volumes ([0073]). Kahlman teaches using a time-dependent magnetic field including gradually decreasing the magnetic field and magnetic field pulses including gradually decreasing to zero; which allows the magnetic field to be softly blended in and/or out ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic field generator of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of adjusting and alternating magnetic fields ([0128]-[0129]) and Kahlman’ teachings of a sensor device including gradually decreasing magnetic fields ([0055]) to provide: wherein the magnetic field generator is configured to gradually reduce a strength of the alternating magnetic field. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control of the magnetic field, such as improving blending in or out of the magnetic field for time-dependent processes as taught by Kahlman.
Regarding claim 21, Baer fails to teach: wherein the system is configured to move the magnetic field generator or the sample to allow the alternating magnetic field to pass through the sample from different directions.
Baer teaches adjusting how and when the magnetic field is applied ([0128]). Baer teaches magnetic particles are subjected to alternating or intermittent magnetic fields during an incubation step for mixing ([0129]).
Kahlman teaches a sensor device for sensing magnetic particles and a magnetic field control unit to generate time-dependent magnetic field for interaction with the magnetic particles (abstract). Kahlman teaches capture molecules adapted to bind to complementary molecules attached to magnetic particles ([0062]). Kahlman teaches sensor to detect the presence of magnetic particles includes fluorescence optical methods ([0069]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used for biochemical assays ([0070]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used as rapid, robust, and easy to use point-of-care biosensors for small sample volumes ([0073]). Kahlman teaches the magnetic field control unit may be adapted for generating the time-dependent magnetic field by moving, particularly by rotating and/or by translating and/or by reciprocating (i.e. alternating the direction of motion of) ([0057]). Kahlman teaches moving the magnets to modulate a magnetic field acting upon the magnetic particles ([0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic field generator of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of adjusting and alternating magnetic fields to move the magnetic particles for mixing ([0128]-[0129]) and Kahlman’ teachings of a sensor device including alternating the direction the magnetic field and moving the magnets to modulate magnetic fields ([0057]) to provide: wherein the system is configured to move the magnetic field generator or the sample to allow the alternating magnetic field to pass through the sample from different directions. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control of the magnetic field, such as for mixing and for improving time-dependent modulation of magnetic particles as taught by Kahlman.
Regarding claim 22, Baer fails to teach: wherein the magnetic field generator is configured to repeatedly change a direction of the alternating field to cause magnetic domains in the particles to flip back and forth.
Baer teaches adjusting how and when the magnetic field is applied ([0128]). Baer teaches magnetic particles are subjected to alternating or intermittent magnetic fields during an incubation step for mixing ([0129]).
Kahlman teaches a sensor device for sensing magnetic particles and a magnetic field control unit to generate time-dependent magnetic field for interaction with the magnetic particles (abstract). Kahlman teaches capture molecules adapted to bind to complementary molecules attached to magnetic particles ([0062]). Kahlman teaches sensor to detect the presence of magnetic particles includes fluorescence optical methods ([0069]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used for biochemical assays ([0070]). Kahlman teaches the device can be used as rapid, robust, and easy to use point-of-care biosensors for small sample volumes ([0073]). Kahlman teaches the magnetic field control unit may be adapted for generating the time-dependent magnetic field by moving, particularly by rotating and/or by translating and/or by reciprocating (i.e. alternating the direction of motion of) ([0057]). Kahlman teaches moving the magnets to modulate a magnetic field acting upon the magnetic particles ([0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic field generator of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of adjusting and alternating magnetic fields for mixing ([0128]-[0129]) and Kahlman’ teachings of a sensor device including alternating the direction the magnetic field and moving the magnets to modulate magnetic fields ([0057]) to provide: wherein the magnetic field generator is configured to repeatedly change a direction of the alternating field to cause magnetic domains in the particles to flip back and forth. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control of the magnetic field, such as for mixing and improving time-dependent modulation of magnetic particles as taught by Kahlman.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (CN 111024574 A; see machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, Baer fails to teach: wherein the magnetic field generator comprises one or more electromagnetic coils combined with a capacitor to create an oscillating LC circuit.
Baer teaches adjusting how and when the magnetic field is applied ([0128]). Baer teaches magnetic particles are subjected to alternating or intermittent magnetic fields during an incubation step for mixing ([0129]).
Feng teaches metal an oil metal particle detection device based on magnets and high-frequency excitation ([0002]). Feng teaches an LC oscillation circuit is formed by a planar coil and a capacitor and alternating current in the coil will generate an alternating magnetic field in the axial direction of the coil to magnetize ferromagnetic metal particles ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic field generator of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of adjusting and alternating magnetic fields for mixing ([0128]-[0129]) and Feng’s teachings of an LC oscillation circuit formed by a coil and capacitor to generate an alternating magnetic fields to magnetize magnetic particles ([0002],[0028]) to provide: wherein the magnetic field generator comprises one or more electromagnetic coils combined with a capacitor to create an oscillating LC circuit. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control of generation of alternating magnetic fields for mixing the magnetic particles.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Horan et al. (US 5206143 A).
Regarding claim 26, Baer fails to explicitly teach the system according to claim 25, wherein the processor is configured to determine, for each of the plurality of particles, whether the particle forms part of the first subset or the second subset based at least in part on a difference in intensity of the detected different signals.
Baer teaches emitting different wavelengths in order to accommodate different absorption spectra of materials and labels in the sample ([0033]-[0035],[0076],[0109]). Baer teaches detectors to detect particles with different labels and spectra ([0115]). Baer teaches samples are distinguishable and identifiable by their respective intensity profiles ([0052]- [0053]). Baer teaches the system allow multispectral analysis to provide distinct wavelength intensity profiles and enhance identification and characterization of samples ([0054]). Baer teaches processors are programmed to analyze images captured by the cameras and determine wavelength intensity profiles to identify samples based on their fluorescence signals ([0055]). Baer teaches expanding multiplexing capability of the assays ([0127]-[0128]), wherein different probes can be put on different particles ([0128]). Baer teaches labels including a first and second type of dye having different emission spectra ([0148]).
Horan teaches methods for distinguishing multiple subpopulation of biological particles in a single sample based on differences in fluorescence intensity of fluorochromes with which the particles are labelled (abstract). Horan teaches the fluorescence intensity exhibited by each particle is measured and the total number of particles having each of the fluorescence intensity levels selected by labelling each of the subsets with a different amount of fluorochrome is determined and the cells are sorted based upon quantitative differences in measured fluorescence intensity (column 4, lines 37-44). Horan teaches for a great many applications, subset analysis, defined as distinguishing multiple subpopulations of particles in a single sample of particles, would afford great savings in time and expense (column 1, lines 42-45). Horan teaches the method allows for increased number of subsets to be measured from a single sample (column 2, lines 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of Baer to incorporate Baer’s teachings of identification and characterization of different labels and particles for multiplexed capabilities based on intensity profiles (see above) and Horan’s teachings of distinguishing between subpopulations of biological particles in a single sample based on different fluorescence intensities (abstract; column 4, lines 37-44; column 1, lines 42-45; column 2, lines 62-64) to provide: the system according to claim 25, wherein the processor is configured to determine, for each of the plurality of particles, whether the particle forms part of the first subset or the second subset based at least in part on a difference in intensity of the detected different signals. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving distinguishing, identification, and characterization of multiple subpopulations of particles in a sample as taught by Horan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prins (US 20060205093 A1) teaches an assay including magnetic beads and biological entities (abstract). Prins teaches very large aggregates of the second are preferably avoided because the aggregates can have a reduced accessibility to the sensor surface; and aggregation can be reduced by switching the magnetic field off part of the time, by using beads with a very low remnant moment (e.g. due to fast magnetic relaxation, small magnetic domains, super-paramagnetism), by using anti-stick coatings, by fluidic shear stress, by using moderate concentrations of second beads, and by changing the orientation of the magnetic field (e.g. using varying magnitude and direction of magnetic field) ([0122]). Prins teaches label designs including a magnetic core or magnetic cores encapsulated within a polymer sphere, e.g. polystyrene (commonly known as latexes), PMMA; and within the polymer matrix other signaling molecules (e.g. fluorophores) can be embedded or co-polymerized ([0067]).
Viovy et al. (US 20110212440 A1) teaches an integrated microsystem including a field generator to create a magnetic field (abstract). Viovy teaches switchable magnetic fields ([0280]). Viovy teaches laser confocal microscopy ([0408]).
Carrasco et al. (US 20200284787 A1) teaches detection and quantification of an analyte in fluids (abstract). Carrasco teaches an AC magnetic field generator comprises a Litz wire coil as an excitation coil that is connected to a capacitor; wherein the generator generates alternating magnetic field in a sample ([0262]). Carrasco teaches the AC magnetic field generator is part of an LCR circuit ([0113]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758