Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement entered July 22nd, 2024 has been considered. A copy of the cited statement(s) including the notation indicating its respective consideration is attached for the Applicant's records.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigsby et al (US 2006/0189387) in view of King (US 2013/0044100)
Claim 1: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches a removable cover for an electronic gaming machine having one or more external surfaces (Rigsby Abstract), comprising:
a textured surface for positioning over the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine, the textured surface comprising one or more integrated sensors configured to detect one or more conditions of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 64;), wherein the textured surface comprises Braille (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]); and
one or more circuits or switches connected to the one or more integrated sensors and configured to enable touch control of an underlying touch sensitive interface to provide information and receive input (Rigsby Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 64;) in Braille (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]).
Rigsby teaches the invention including a textured surface for positioning over the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine as presented herein above. While Rigsby is silent regarding the implementation of Braille in a user interface, however King teaches this feature in an analogous invention (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the use of Braille with touch interfaces as taught by King in the invention of Rigsby in order to provide the predictable and expected result of expanding the useability of the interface for the visually impaired.
Claim 2: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the textured surface is replaceable to enable reconfiguration of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Abstract; Paragraph [0008] & King Abstract).
Claim 3: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the textured surface is made of a plastic material (Rigsby Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 4: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the textured surface is configured to be imprinted with one or more of graphics, patterns, colors, text, or a combination thereof (Rigsby Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 5: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 4, wherein the one or more of graphics, patterns, colors, or text, is configured to dynamically change to display different information in response to a change in graphics or light effects on an underlying component of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Paragraphs [0042], [0044]).
Claim 6: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 5, wherein the underlying component is one of a light source or a digital display (Rigsby Paragraphs [0042], [0044];).
Claim 7: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the removable cover is shaped to correspond with a shape of at least a portion of the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Figures 1, 4b;).
Claim 8: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the removable cover comprises a semi-translucent layer (Rigsby Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 9: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the removable cover comprises a plurality of sections, wherein each section is configured to be individually removable or to envelope one or more physically separate units (Rigsby Abstract; Paragraph [0030];).
Claim 10: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the removable cover is subjected to heating, stretching, sealing, or a combination thereof to secure the removable cover to the one or more external surfaces (- mounted by adhesive, tape, or the like- Rigsby Paragraph [0030]; & Described by Applicant’s Specification @ [0053] as an unqualified equivalent to the claimed alternatives).
Claim 11: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, further comprising a multi-layer film with an adhesive layer arranged to secure the multi-layer film and the textured surface to the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine (- mounted by adhesive, tape, or the like- Rigsby Paragraph [0030];).
Claim 13: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 11, wherein the multi-layer film is removably arranged around at least a portion of the external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Figures 1, 4b;).
Claim 14: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, further comprising one or more sensors to detect one or more conditions associated with the electronic gaming machine, a gaming environment, the removable cover, or a combination thereof (-encompasses the use of a touchscreen and the detection of inputs thereon- Rigsby Element 64;).
Claim 15: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 14, wherein the one or more circuits or switches communicate data corresponding to the one or more conditions to a processor of the electronic gaming machine, a remote computing device, or a combination thereof (-encompassing player inputs as measured by the touch sensors- Rigsby Abstract; Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 68).
Claim 16: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the removable cover of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions of the electronic gaming machine is tampering, enhanced game play features, a status of the removable cover, player vital signs, environmental conditions, and a status of the electronic gaming machine (-encompassing player inputs as measured by the touch sensors- Rigsby Abstract; Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 68).
Claim 17: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches a method of applying a removable covering to an electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Abstract), comprising:
positioning a removable cover comprising a textured layer of material over one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 64;), wherein the textured layer of material comprises Braille (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]); and
enabling touch control of an underlying touch sensitive interface (Rigsby Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 64;)to provide and receive input in Braille via the textured layer of material (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]).
Rigsby teaches the invention including a textured surface for positioning over the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine as presented herein above. While Rigsby is silent regarding the implementation of Braille in a user interface, however King teaches this feature in an analogous invention (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the use of Braille with touch interfaces as taught by King in the invention of Rigsby in order to provide the predictable and expected result of expanding the useability of the interface for the visually impaired.
Claim 18: The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising replacing the removable cover to enable reconfiguration of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Abstract; Paragraph [0008] & King Abstract).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigsby et al (US 2006/0189387) in view of King (US 2013/0044100) as applied to at least claimed 1-11 and 13-18 above, further in view of On et al (US 2013/0280463).
Claim 12: The combination of Rigsby, King & On teaches the removable cover of claim 11, wherein the multi-layer film is flexible and comprises a vinyl layer made of a calendared vinyl or a cast vinyl material (On Paragraphs [0005], [0083] Figures 1B, 3A).
The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the teaches the invention including a printable film for use with a gaming machine as presented above. While the combination of Rigsby & King is arguably silent regarding the inclusion of a flexible multi-layer film covering the printable film utilizing a calendared vinyl or a cast vinyl material, On teaches this feature in an analogous invention (On Paragraph [0005], [0083]; Figures 1B, 3A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the additional multilayer films covering the printable film utilizing a calendared vinyl or a cast vinyl material in the combination of Rigsby & King in order to provide the expected and predictable result of protecting content printed on the printable film from degradation and/or possible contamination issues associate with vinyl as taught by On (On Paragraph [0083]).
Claim 19: The combination of Rigsby, King & On teaches a removable cover for an electronic gaming machine having one or more external surfaces (Rigsby Abstract), comprising:
a Braille (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]) textured surface for positioning over the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine (Rigsby Figure 4a-4b; Paragraph [0042]; Element 64;);
a flexible vinyl film covering the Braille textured surface (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065] & On Paragraph [0005], [0083]; Figures 1B, 3A); and
a circuit comprising one or more conductive traces printed on the Braille textured surface and configured to provide a signal in response to receiving input via the Braille textured surface (-conductive traces- Rigsby Paragraph [0040]; Element 68 & King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017],[0045]).
Rigsby teaches the invention including a textured surface for positioning over the one or more external surfaces of the electronic gaming machine as presented herein above. While Rigsby is silent regarding the implementation of Braille in a user interface, however King teaches this feature in an analogous invention (King Abstract; Paragraphs [0017], [0063]-[0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the use of Braille with touch interfaces as taught by King in the invention of Rigsby in order to provide the predictable and expected result of expanding the useability of the interface for the visually impaired.
The combination of Rigsby & King teaches the teaches the invention including a printable film for use with a gaming machine as presented above. While the combination of Rigsby & King is arguably silent regarding the inclusion of a flexible multi-layer film covering the printable film utilizing a calendared vinyl or a cast vinyl material, On teaches this feature in an analogous invention (On Paragraph [0005], [0083]; Figures 1B, 3A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the additional multilayer films covering the printable film utilizing a calendared vinyl or a cast vinyl material in the combination of Rigsby & King in order to provide the expected and predictable result of protecting content printed on the printable film from degradation and/or possible contamination issues associate with vinyl as taught by On (On Paragraph [0083]).
Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigsby et al (US 2006/0189387) in view of King (US 2013/0044100) further in view of On et al (US 2013/0280463) as applied to claims 12 and 19 and further in view of Shimabukuro et al et al (US 2010/0160016).
Claim 20: The combination of Rigsby, King, On, & Shimabukuro teaches removable cover of claim 19, wherein the circuit includes a piezoelectric switch (Shimabukuro Paragraph [0083]).
The combination of Rigsby, King & On teaches the invention including the application of various circuits and touch screens as cited herein above. While the combination of Rigsby, King & On is silent regarding the use of a piezoelectric switch, in an analogous invention Shimabukuro teaches this feature was a known element in gaming devices (Shimabukuro [0083]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective priority date of the claimed invention to have utilize a piezoelectric switch as taught by Shimabukuro in the invention Rigsby, King & On because such would have provided the known and expected advantage of providing the ability to simulate the haptic feedback of actual switches as taught by Shimabukuro (Shimabukuro [0083]).
Conclusion
The following prior art is made of record and though not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kaplan (US 5,429,507) teaches a braille slot machine; and
Ongkojoyo (US 2006/0045599) teaches a customizable keyboard that can be fitted with detachable keys in various shapes and sizes
ROBERT E. MOSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT E MOSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715