CTNF 18/645,867 CTNF 101644 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 6 and 20 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “wherein the first thermal interface material occupies a first area of the surface of the processor die that is less than the surface of the processor die” is likely intended to mean “wherein the first thermal interface material occupies a first area of the surface of the processor die that is less than a total area of the surface of the processor die” or equivalent language . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Saeidi (US 9472485 B2) . Regarding claim 1, Saeidi discloses, in FIG. 3, a “flip chip package” (processor package) 300, with a “first thermal interface material” 322 disposed on a surface of “an integrated circuit die/chip” (processor die ) 304, and a “second TIM” 324 that is also deposited on a surface of the processor die. FIG. 5 discloses that the second TIM 324 is deposited around a periphery of and encloses the first TIM 322 (in addition, paragraph 40 states “the second pattern of second TIM 324 is a perimeter rectangular ring-shaped pattern that surrounds the first pattern of first TIM 322 ”). The examiner notes that the aforementioned structures constitute an information handling system (as, for example, the chip itself is a system capable of handling information). Regarding claim 6, Saeidi additionally discloses, in FIG. 3, that the first thermal interface material occupies a first area of the surface of the processor die that is less than the surface of the processor die. Regarding claim 7, Saeidi additionally discloses, in paragraph 30 : “As shown in FIG. 3, first and second TIMs 322 and 324 are both in contact with surface 328 of die 304 . . . “ FIG. 3 also shows that the second TIM seals in the first TIM (also see FIG. 5). Regarding claim 8, Saeidi discloses, in FIG. 3 a “flip chip package” (processor package) 300, with a “first thermal interface material” 322 disposed on a surface of “an integrated circuit die/chip” (processor die ) 304, and a “second TIM” 324 that is also deposited on a surface of the processor die. FIG. 5 discloses that the second TIM 324 is deposited around a periphery of and encloses the first TIM 322 (in addition, paragraph 40 states “the second pattern of second TIM 324 is a perimeter rectangular ring-shaped pattern that surrounds the first pattern of first TIM 322 ”). Regarding claim 13, as explained above, Saeidi additionally discloses, in FIG. 3, that the first thermal interface material occupies a first area of the surface of the processor die that is less than the surface of the processor die . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The examiner notes that, for the sake of conciseness in this office action, the rejection of claim 14 will be presented first: 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeidi (US 9472485 B2) . Regarding claim 14, Saeidi teaches, in FIG. 4, a “flow chart of a process” (a method) comprising the steps “apply a first thermal insulating material (TIM) on a surface of the die in a first pattern” (deposit a first TIM on a surface of a processor die) and “apply the second TIM on the second surface of the die in a second pattern.” FIG. 5 additionally teaches a pattern for applying the first and second TIM such that the second TIM encloses the first by occupying the periphery of the first TIM. Regarding claim 20, as explained above, Saeidi teaches that the first TIM occupies a first area of the surface of the processor die which is less than the surface of the first die . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeidi (US 9472485 B2) in view of Lee (US 20220295663 A1) . Regarding claims 2 and 9, Saeidi teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above. Saeidi further teaches, in paragraph 31, that the first TIM should have a lower thermal resistance and the second TIM should have a higher thermal resistance (while also illustrating that lower thermal resistance often means lower rigidity). Paragraph 34 teaches: “By using these types of TIMs together in a same flip chip package, greater thermal transfer may be achieved, while also achieving greater package stiffness.” Lee teaches, in paragraph 0027, “TIM is coated between the electronic components and the heat sink to . . . reduce the resistance of heat transfer and improve heat dissipation. For example, [the TIM is] liquid thermal grease (Thermal grease), or thermally conductive gap filler.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the liquid thermal grease taught by Lee to be the lower thermal resistance TIM (first TIM) taught by Saeidi. One having ordinary skill in the art is suggested to choose the liquid thermal grease and its ability to “reduce the resistance of heat transfer” (see above) for the reasons taught by Saeidi (see above). Regarding claim 15, as explained above Saeidi teaches the limitations of claim 14. Saeidi does not explicitly teach that the first TIM is a liquid thermal grease. Lee teaches the use of liquid thermal grease as thermal-resistance reducing TIM (see above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further specify the method taught by Saeidi such that the first TIM is a phase change material. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to garner the benefits of such a TIM taught by Saeidi and Lee above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeidi (US 9472485 B2) in view of Hung (US 20240105530 A1) . Regarding claims 3 and 10, as explained above, Saeidi teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8. Saeidi teaches that the second TIM should be made of a more rigid material, as explained above. Saeidi does not teach that the second thermal interface material is a phase change material. Hung teaches, in FIG. 15, a “package component” 100, which has a first TIM 304 in which “The thermal interface material 304 has a high thermal conductivity” (paragraph 0067). A “lower dam” (second TIM) 236 is shown in FIG. 15 to be at the periphery of the first TIM (see paragraph 0063). Hung paragraph 0059 states “ . . . the viscosity of the phase-change material decreases as temperature increases. A phase-change material may include long polymer chains that provide good thermal stability for the filler in both states.“ It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the phase change material taught by Hung to be the second TIM taught by Saeidi. One having ordinary skill in the art is suggested to do so because Hung teaches that “the phase-change material changes from a solid to a viscous liquid at a temperature in the range of 40° C. to 60° C . . . a phase-change material may include long polymer chains that provide good thermal stability for the filler in both states” (paragraph 0059), which fits the stability (rigidity) requirement of the first TIM. The examiner notes that this teaching acknowledges the excellent mechanical properties of phase change material as a TIM disposed at the periphery of a separate, low thermal resistance TIM, even though the phase change material has a reduced viscosity at a high temperature. Regarding claim 16, Saeidi teaches the limitations of claim 14, as explained above. Saeidi does not explicitly teach the use of a phase change material as the second TIM. As explained above, Hung teaches the use of a phase change material as a TIM disposed at the periphery of a separate, low thermal resistance TIM. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Saeidi such that the second TIM is a phase change material. One having ordinary skill it the art is suggested to do so in order to garner the benefits taught by Saeidi and Hung above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-5, 11-12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeidi (US 9472485 B2) in view of Shen (US 10643924 B1) . Regarding claims 4 and 11, Saeidi teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8, as explained above. Saeidi does not teach that the second TIM is a liquid thermal gap filler. Shen teaches, in paragraph 2: “A liquid metal as TIM usually includes gallium and gallium alloy . . . Furthermore, a liquid metal has much better capability for surface wetting and gap filling.” Therefore, the described TIM is a liquid thermal gap filler. Shen further teaches: “If a liquid metal can be used in a lidded flip chip package, the temperature of the lidded flip chip package can be reduced significantly as compared to other types of TIM. However, the conventional lidded flip chip packages based on a conventional lid of prior arts are limited to use a liquid metal as its TIM due to the pumping-out issue . . .” However, in paragraph 5 Shen describes a capping structure that overcomes these issues. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device (information handling system/processor package) taught by Saeidi such that the second TIM is a liquid thermal gap filler, as taught by Shen. Although Saeidi does not teach the use of a liquid (non-rigid) material as the second TIM, it would have been obvious to utilize a liquid thermal gap filler as the second TIM because of the benefits of doing so taught by Shen, and the means of mitigating the “punch-out problem” as also taught by Shen. Regarding claim 17, as shown above, Saeidi teaches the limitations of claim 14. Saeidi does not teach that the second TIM is a liquid thermal gap filler. As explained above, Shen teaches a liquid thermal gap filler for use as a TIM. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method taught by Saeidi such that the second TIM is a liquid thermal gap filler. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to garner the benefits thereof explained above. Regarding claims 5 and 12, Shen further teaches, in FIG. 3, a “flip chip package” (processor package) 160 which is attached to “lid” (processor block) that has “seal ring” (recess) 211. Paragraph 21 states “a liquid material 222A/212A, the gap between the lid 220 and the flip chip 161 is sealed at the edge region of the flip chip 161 by the seal ring 211A . . . the liquid material 222A forms a liquid TIM between the flip chip 161 and lid 220.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device (information handling system/processor package) taught by Saeidi such that the liquid thermal gap filler is compensated for by recesses formed in a processor block, as further taught by Shen. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to in order to garner the benefits of utilizing liquid thermal gap filler without the punch out problem described by Shen (see above). Regarding claim 18, Shen further teaches the use of a recess on a processor block to contain (compensate for the thickness of) the liquid thermal gap filler. The examiner notes that in order for the recess taught by Shen to exist, it must first be formed. See In re Best , 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433-434 (CCPA 1977). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method taught by Saeidi and Shen such that a recess is formed in a processor block to compensate for the thickness of the second TIM (liquid thermal gap filler). One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to garner the benefits taught by Shen above. Regarding claim 19, Shen further teaches, in FIG. 3, a “reservoir” (recess of the processor block) which is filled by the liquid thermal gap filler 222A (see above). Paragraph 21 states “. . . a liquid material is fully filled in the sealed gap 222, and partially filled in the reservoir.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method taught by Saeidi and Shen such that the second thermal interface material fills the recess of the processor block, as taught by Shen. One having ordinary skill in the art is motivated to do so in order to, for example, to garner the benefits of a liquid thermal TIM while avoiding the punch out problem taught by Shen above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Lin (US 20200161275 A1) – Chip package with first and second TIM in which the second TIM surrounds the first and is made of different materials than the first. Steinke (US 20250279328 A1) – FIGs. 3 and 4 show a TIM 116 which is contained by a “stiffener” 122. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GABRIEL S MINNEY whose telephone number is (571)272-9688. The examiner can normally be reached Monday Friday, 8:30 a.m. 5 p.m. ET.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Choi can be reached at (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /G.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/645,867 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897