DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quaranta (US 6095874 A).
In regard to claim 1, Quaranta discloses a connection terminal 2, comprising:
an electric wire connection part 4 to which an electric wire is electrically connected by bonding, and
an electric connection part 6 integrated with the electric wire connection part 4 and electrically connected to a mating terminal, wherein
the electric connection part 6 includes a box unit (formed by 10 and 12) which is formed in a cylindrical shape by bending a plurality of bending parts 42, 43 and into which the mating terminal is capable of being inserted,
a thin-walled portion (this is inherent of the device since the bending parts 42, 43 have been disclosed in fig. 4 and it is apparent that some type of thin-wall portion must be present along the bending parts for the bending parts to work) having a thickness less than other parts of the box unit is continuously provided along each of the bending parts 42, 43, and
at least one of the thin-walled portions (43) is arranged at a distance from an end portion 18 of the box unit.
However, Quaranta does not disclose the electric wire is electrically connected by ultrasonic bonding.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing for electrically connecting a wire with a terminal which include the ultrasonic bonding are well known and expected in the art since Ultrasonic wire bonding remains a cornerstone technology in semiconductor manufacturing due to its speed, reliability, and ability to handle delicate microelectronic structures.
In regard to claim 2, Quaranta discloses the end portion 18 of the box unit arranged at a distance from the thin-walled portion is an end portion located on an opposite side of the electric wire connection part 4.
In regard to claim 5, Quaranta discloses the box unit includes a connecting wall part (between 42 and 43 as shown in fig. 4) provided with each bending part 42, 43 on both sides in a width direction, the thin-walled portion arranged at a distance from the end portion 18 of the box unit is arranged in each bending part 42, 43 of the connecting wall part.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 5897405 A).
In regard to claim 1, Endo discloses a connection terminal 11, comprising:
an electric wire connection part 13 to which an electric wire is electrically connected by bonding, and
an electric connection part 15 integrated with the electric wire connection part 13 and electrically connected to a mating terminal, wherein
the electric connection part 15 includes a box unit 91 which is formed in a cylindrical shape by bending a plurality of bending parts 61, 63, 64, 71, 73 and into which the mating terminal is capable of being inserted,
a thin-walled portion (this is inherent of the device since the bending parts 61, 63, 64, 71, 73 have been disclosed in fig. 1 and it is apparent that some type of thin-wall portion must be present along the bending parts for the bending parts to work) having a thickness less than other parts of the box unit 91 is continuously provided along each of the bending parts, and
at least one of the thin-walled portions (61) is arranged at a distance from an end portion 19 of the box unit 91 (see fig. 1).
However, Endo does not disclose the electric wire is electrically connected by ultrasonic bonding.
Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of providing for electrically connecting a wire with a terminal which include the ultrasonic bonding are well known and expected in the art since Ultrasonic wire bonding remains a cornerstone technology in semiconductor manufacturing due to its speed, reliability, and ability to handle delicate microelectronic structures.
In regard to claim 2, Endo discloses the end portion 19 of the box unit 91 arranged at a distance from the thin-walled portion is an end portion located on an opposite side of the electric wire connection part 13.
In regard to claim 3, Endo discloses the electric connection part 15 includes a spring part 45 arranged inside the box unit 91 so that the spring part 45 is capable of being elastically deformed and contacted with the mating terminal, the spring part 49 is connected to the end portion 19 of the box unit 91 and is bent toward the inside of the box unit 91 at a spring bend 63, and the thin-walled portion arranged at a distance from the end portion 19 of the box unit 91 is arranged in the bending part 61 of a wall part 33 provided with the spring bend 63 in the box unit 91.
In regard to claim 4, Endo discloses the box unit 91 includes an open wall part 45 provided with the bending part 63 on one side in a width direction and opened on the other side in the width direction, the open wall part 45 is provided with the spring bend 63, and the thin-walled portion arranged at a distance from the end portion 19 of the box unit 91 is arranged in the bending part 63 of the open wall part 45.
In regard to claim 5, Endo discloses the box unit includes a connecting wall part (adjacent 65 and 75 as shown in fig. 1) provided with each bending part 61, 64 on both sides in a width direction, the thin-walled portion arranged at a distance from the end portion 19 of the box unit 91 is arranged in each bending part of the connecting wall part.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
5/29/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834