DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 20 May 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I and Species IV should belong to the same species. This is not found persuasive because Species I discloses that the chamfered parts are formed continuously along the entire cutting edges, as seen in figure 7, while in Species IV the chamfered parts are formed dispersed in a plurality of cutting portions, as seen in figure 10. While these may have the same effect of preventing the cutting edges from being chipped, the structures of each species are unique and therefore do not belong to the same species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta (US 2016/0039024 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haruta discloses a tap 1 comprising: an incomplete thread 6 (tapered section, see figure 4) having a plurality of thread ridges 3a that threads a workpiece; a complete thread 2 (non-tapered section, see figure 4) including cutting edges 3a formed continuously from the incomplete thread; and a groove 5 that is disposed in each of the incomplete thread and the complete thread to discharge chips of the workpiece, wherein relationships respectively expressed by the following expressions (1) and (2) are simultaneously satisfied in a relationship among a nominal diameter D0 of the tap, a root diameter D1, a pitch P, and a thread ridge height h:
D1 ≥ D0 – P … (1), and h ≤ P/2 … (2). Since D0 = D1 + h, the first equation can be rewritten as D1 + P ≥ DO, or D1 + P ≥ D1 + h, such that this can be shortened to P ≥ h. The second equation can be rewritten as P ≥ 2h. Therefore, whenever the second equation is met, the first equation must also be met.
Haruta discloses that the tap is a large pitch tap for forming a large-lead internal thread, and as can be seen in figure 4 of Haruta, P ≥ 2h, as the pitch appears to be equal to approximately 4h. However, if it is to be argued that the pitch of Haruta is not distinctly disclosed to be ≥ 2h in the specification of Haruta, it is put forth that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have selected a pitch to be ≥ 2h for the purpose of creating a desired large pitch internal thread in a workpiece. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, involves only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruta in view of Henderer et al. (US 9,011,050).
Regarding claims 2-5, Haruta discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Haruta does not disclose wherein the cutting edges in the complete thread are subjected to chamfering, or wherein the cutting edges at a second and subsequent thread ridges in the complete thread are subjected to the chamfering, or wherein the cutting edges in the whole or part of a portion excluding roots in the complete thread are subjected to the chamfering. Henderer et al. teaches the use of a thread tap 10 comprising an incomplete thread portion 24 and a complete thread portion 26, wherein the complete thread portion comprises full threads 28 with cutting edges 29 that are chamfered on a chamfer surface 48 of the cutting edge portion, excluding a root 34 of the thread, for the purpose of preventing chipping of the cutting edges. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the cutting edges of Haruta with the chamfer surfaces as taught by Henderer et al. in order to provide a thread tap that is less susceptible to having the cutting edges chip, thereby increasing the operational life of the tap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 2 June 2026