DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the original filing of April 25, 2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 25, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dou et al. (US 2023/0032764 A1, hereinafter Duo), in view of Rossbach et al. (US 12,137,368 B2, hereinafter Rossbach).
As to Claim 1, Duo discloses a method for data transmission, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first information from a network device, wherein the first information comprises related configurations and/or indications of an application data unit (ADU) ((Duo; [0228, 0229]), where Duo discloses receiving a first information comprising indicators in the streams.); and
performing, by the terminal device, transmission of the ADU according to the first information or stopping, by the terminal device, the transmission of the ADU according to the first information ((Duo; [0228, 0229]), where Duo discloses based on the identified indication of the packet, the device can stop/ignore the received streams.).
However, Duo does not explicitly disclose an application data unit (ADU).
In an analogous art, Rossbach disclose an application data unit (ADU) ((Rossbach; Fig. 7; [0007, 0126]), where Rossbach discloses the stream segments includes a set of ADUs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duo to include an application data unit (ADU)as taught by Rossbach to enable how QoS is applied in the application and to data transfers between the UE and the network (Rossbach; [0128]).
As to Claim 2, Duo-Rossbach discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
a data radio bearer (DRB) and/or logical channel (LCH) corresponding to the ADU (Rossbach; [0133-0134]);
an LCH parameter corresponding to the ADU (Rossbach; [0133-0134]);
a transmission control parameter of the ADU (Rossbach; [0136]); or
an indication that the ADU does not meet a configuration requirement (Duo; [0186]), (Rossbach; [0133-0135]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to Claim 5, Duo-Rossbach discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in case where the terminal device stops the transmission of the ADU, the method further comprises: deleting, by the terminal device, a data packet of the ADU ((Duo; [0260]), where Duo discloses deleting the data/packet in the stream.).
As to Claim 9, Duo discloses an access network (AN) device, comprising:
a transceiver (Duo; [0052]);
a memory configured to store computer-executed instructions (Duo; [0093]); and
a processor configured to execute the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to (Duo; [0093]):
receive second information from a core network (CN) device, wherein the second information indicates related information of an application data unit (ADU) (Duo; Figs. 1 & 3; [0079, 0083]), where Duo discloses sending/receiving second information.).
However, Duo does not explicitly disclose an application data unit (ADU).
In an analogous art, Rossbach disclose an application data unit (ADU) ((Rossbach; Fig. 7; [0007, 0126]), where Rossbach discloses the stream segments includes a set of ADUs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duo to include an application data unit (ADU)as taught by Rossbach to enable how QoS is applied in the application and to data transfers between the UE and the network (Rossbach; [0128]).
As to Claim 10, Duo-Rossbach discloses the AN device of claim 9, wherein the second information comprises at least one of: quality of service (QoS) flow information of the ADU; a transmission requirement of the ADU; an associated indication of the ADU; an associated indication of a QoS flow; an overall transmission requirement of associated ADUs; or a transmission requirement of each ADU in the associated ADUs (Duo; [0119, 0132, 0173]), (Rossbach; Fig. 8; [col. 16, lines 4-18]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to Claim 11, Duo discloses the AN device of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the transceiver to perform at least one of: generating first information according to the second information; or sending the first information to a terminal device ((Duo; Fig. 1; [0131-0135), where Duo discloses transmitting the information the terminal device.).
As to Claim 12, Duo discloses the AN device of claim 11, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a data radio bearer (DRB) and/or logical channel (LCH) corresponding to the ADU (Rossbach; [0133-0134]); an LCH parameter corresponding to the ADU (Rossbach; [0133-0134]); a transmission control parameter of the ADU (Rossbach; [0136]); or an indication that the ADU does not meet a configuration requirement (Duo; [0186]), (Rossbach; [0133-0135]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to Claim 13, Duo discloses the AN device of claim 9, wherein the CN device is a session management function (SMF) network element (NE) (Duo; [0097, 0173]).
As to Claim 14, Duo discloses a core network (CN) device, comprising:
a transceiver (Duo; [0052]);
a memory configured to store computer-executed instructions (Duo; [0093]); and
a processor configured to execute the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to (Duo; [0093]):
send second information to an access network (AN) device, wherein the second information indicates related information of an application data unit (ADU) (Duo; Figs. 1 & 3; [0079, 0083]), where Duo discloses sending/receiving second information.).
However, Duo does not explicitly disclose an application data unit (ADU).
In an analogous art, Rossbach disclose an application data unit (ADU) ((Rossbach; Fig. 7; [0007, 0126]), where Rossbach discloses the stream segments includes a set of ADUs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duo to include an application data unit (ADU)as taught by Rossbach to enable how QoS is applied in the application and to data transfers between the UE and the network (Rossbach; [0128]).
As to Claim 15, Duo discloses the CN device of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the transceiver to perform at least one of:
obtaining the related information of the ADU (ADU) ((Duo; [0228, 0229]), where Duo discloses receiving a first information comprising indicators in the streams.); or generating the second information according to the related information of the ADU (Duo; Figs. 1 & 3; [0079, 0083]), where Duo discloses sending/receiving second information.); wherein the second information comprises at least one of: quality of service (QoS) flow information of the ADU; a transmission requirement of the ADU; an associated indication of the ADU; an associated indication of a QoS flow; an overall transmission requirement of associated ADUs; or a transmission requirement of each ADU in the associated ADUs (Duo; [0119, 0132, 0173]), (Rossbach; Fig. 8; [col. 16, lines 4-18]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to Claim 16, Duo discloses the CN device of claim 14, wherein the related information of the ADU contains at least one of: data stream information of the ADU; QoS flow information of the ADU; a transmission requirement of the ADU; an associated indication of the ADU; an associated indication of a QoS flow (Duo; [0119, 0132, 0173]), (Rossbach; Fig. 8; [col. 16, lines 4-18]); or an associated indication of a data radio bearer (DRB) or radio link control (RLC) (Rossbach; [0133-0134]).
As to Claim 17, Duo discloses the CN device of claim 14, wherein the CN device is a session management function (SMF) network element (NE) (Duo; [0097, 0173]).
As to Claim 18, Duo discloses the CN device of claim 15, wherein in terms of obtaining the related information of the ADU, the processor is configured to cause the transceiver to: obtain the related information of the ADU from a policy control function (PCF) NE and/or an application function (AF) NE (Duo; [0097]), (Rossbach; Fig. 6; [col. 14, lines 17-49]).
The Examiner provides the same motivation to combine as previously presented in the independent claim.
As to Claim 19, Duo discloses a terminal device, comprising:
a transceiver (Duo; [0052]),
a processor (Duo; [0093]), and
a memory storing computer-executed instructions (Duo; [0093]); and
wherein the computer-executed instructions stored in the memory are configured to perform the method of claim 1 when executed by the processor (Duo; [0093]).
As to Claim 20, Duo discloses the terminal device of claim 19, wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a data radio bearer (DRB) and/or logical channel (LCH) corresponding to the ADU; an LCH parameter corresponding to the ADU; a transmission control parameter of the ADU; or an indication that the ADU does not meet a configuration requirement (Duo; [0004, 0033, 0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BENJAMIN M THIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
12.19.2025