DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 12. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "both" of claim 15, line 11, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph 0004, “time-“ is unclear
In Paragraphs 0044 and 0060, Examiner notes “Figure 1b” does not appear in the Drawings
In Paragraphs 0048-0049, Examiner notes a brief description does not appear to be provided for “Figure 2d”
In Paragraph 0057-0058, 0065, and 0072, Examiner suggests amending “Figures 1a - 1c” to appropriately reflect the Drawings
In Paragraph 0077, “fastener bracket 10” should read “fastener bracket 105”
In Paragraph 0080, “counter plate 21” should read “counter plate 215”
In Paragraph 0083, “fixation portion 236” should read “fixation portion 226”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 2, “the same” should read “a same”
In claim 15, lines 1-2, “a holding structure” should read “the holding structure”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the pins" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 4 will be read as “the at least two pins”.
Regarding claim 5, line 2, claim recitation of “fireproof members s is stabilized” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 5 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the pins" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 7 will be read as “the at least two pins”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "both said two pins" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 8 will be read as “the at least two pins”.
Regarding claim 12, lines 2 and 5, claim recitation of “at least one holding structure” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “at least one holding structure” is the same or different as the “holding structure” as recited in claim 1, line 1, in which claim 12 depends from. For the purpose of examination, claim 12 will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claim 13, lines 5 and 7, claim recitations of “at least one holding structure” and “the holding structure”, respectively is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “at least one holding structure” and “the holding structure” are the same or different as the “holding structure” as recited in claim 1, line 1, in which claim 13 depends from. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the pins" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 will be read as “the at least two pins”.
Regarding claim 14, lines 2 and 3, claim recitations of “the holding structure” and “at least one holding structure”, respectively, is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “the holding structure” and “at least one holding structure” is the same or different as the “holding structure” as recited in claim 1, line 1, in which claim 14 depends from. For the purpose of examination, claim 14 will be examined as best understood.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the pins" in lines 3, 7, and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 15 will be read as “the at least two pins”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James (US20130187014A1), hereinafter "James".
Regarding claim 1, James teaches a fastener bracket (Figs 4A-4C, plate 340) configured to be installed (see Fig 4C) on a holding structure (Fig 4C, bar 310), the fastener bracket (340) formed as a single piece (see Fig 4B, Paragraph 0029, Examiner notes body 410 may include a boss molded around the full thread metallic insert as formed as a single piece) comprising:
a plate portion (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes a plate portion having surface 420 as a plate portion) and at least two pins (Fig 4B, posts 430, 440) protruding (see Fig 4B) in parallel (see Fig 4B) from a first surface (Fig 4B, surface 420) of the plate portion (see Fig 4B),
wherein the at least two pins (430, 440) are at least partially made of a remoldable material (Paragraph 0029, Examiner notes made of plastic as are at least partially made of a remoldable material).
Regarding claim 2, James teaches the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 and further teaches comprising:
a mount portion (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes a mount portion of plate 340 having portion 460 protruding from the plate portion having surface 420 as a mount portion) protruding (see Fig 4B) from a second surface (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes a surface opposite of the plate portion having surface 420 and below lever 480 as from a second surface) of the plate portion (see Fig 4B) opposite (see Fig 4B) to the first surface (420) and configured to be connected (see Fig 4C, Paragraph 0025) with an element to be fastened (see Fig 4C, Paragraph 0025, Examiner notes portion 460 for engaging fastener hardware as configured to be connected with an element to be fastened) to the holding structure (310).
Regarding claim 3, James teaches the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plate portion (see Fig 4B) is at least partially made of the same or another remoldable material (Paragraph 0029, Examiner notes made of plastic as is at least partially made of the same or another remoldable material).
Regarding claim 6, James teaches the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 and further teaches comprising:
a mount portion (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes a mount portion of plate 340 having portion 460 protruding from the plate portion having surface 420 as a mount portion) protruding (see Fig 4B) from a second surface (see Fig 4B, Examiner notes a surface opposite of the plate portion having surface 420 and below lever 480 as from a second surface) of the plate portion (see Fig 4B) opposite (see Fig 4B) to the first surface (420) and configured to be connected (see Fig 4C, Paragraph 0025) with an element to be fastened (see Fig 4C, Paragraph 0025, Examiner notes portion 460 for engaging fastener hardware as configured to be connected with an element to be fastened) to the holding structure (310), and
one or more fireproof members (Fig 4B, insert 460, Paragraph 0025, Examiner notes metallic insert as one or more fireproof members) at least partially extending (see Fig 4B) in the mount portion (see Fig 4B) thereof.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, James teaches an aircraft structure (Fig 1, aircraft 100) comprising:
the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 installed (see Fig 4C) on at least one holding structure (310) of the aircraft structure (100),
wherein the at least two pins (430, 440) of the fastener bracket (340) run through respective holes (Fig 4C, holes 312, 316) in the at least one holding structure (310).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, James teaches the aircraft structure (100) according to claim 12 and further teaches wherein the at least two pins (430, 440) have a bulb (Fig 4B, caps 435, 445) at a side (see Fig 4C) of the holding structure (310) facing (see Fig 4C) away from the plate portion (see Fig 4B), thereby fixing (see Fig 4C) the fastener bracket (340) to the at least one holding structure (310).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, James teaches a method (see Fig 4C, Paragraphs 0030-0031) of installing (see Fig 4C, Paragraphs 0030-0031) the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 on a holding structure (310) of an aircraft structure (Fig 1, aircraft 100), the method (see Fig 4C) comprising:
inserting (see Fig 4C, Paragraphs 0030-0031) the pins (430, 440) of the fastener bracket (340) through respective holes (Fig 4C, holes 312, 316) in the holding structure (310); and
fixing (see Fig 4C, Paragraphs 0030-0031) the fastener bracket (340) to the holding structure (310):
by mechanically mounting (see Fig 4C, Paragraphs 0030-0031), at a side (see Fig 4C) of the holding structure (310) facing (see Fig 4C) away from the plate portion (see Fig 4B), at least one interlocking element (Fig 4B, caps 435, 445) on at least one (see Fig 4B) of the pins (430, 440), or
by deforming, on a side of the holding structure facing away from the plate portion, at least one of the pins, or
both.
Claim(s) 1 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konig et al. (US20050042057A1), hereinafter "Konig".
Regarding claim 1, Konig teaches a fastener bracket (Figs 1a-2, part 4) configured to be installed (see Fig 2) on a holding structure (Fig 1b, component 5), the fastener bracket (4) formed as a single piece (see Fig 1a, Paragraph 0038, Examiner notes made of plastic as formed as a single piece) comprising:
a plate portion (Fig 1a, flange 6) and at least two pins (Fig 1a, hooks 7, 8) protruding (see Fig 1a) in parallel (see Fig 1a) from a first surface (see Fig 1a, Examiner notes a lower surface of flange 6 having hooks 7, 8 extending therefrom as from a first surface) of the plate portion (6),
wherein the at least two pins (7, 8) are at least partially made of a remoldable material (Paragraph 0038, Examiner notes made of plastic as are at least partially made of a remoldable material).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Konig teaches a fastener kit (see Figs 1a-2, Examiner notes parts 1 and 4 as a fastener kit) comprising:
the fastener bracket (4) according to claim 1 (see claim 1), and
one or more counter components (Fig 1c, part 1) having a hole (Fig 1c, bores 11, 12) and configured to be slipped (see Fig 2, Paragraph 0038) or screwed onto at least one (see Fig 2) of the pins (7, 8) of the fastener bracket (4).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Konig teaches the fastener kit (see Figs 1a-2) according to claim 7 and further teaches wherein at least one (see Fig 1c) of the one or more counter components (1) comprises a counter plate (see Fig 1c, Examiner notes a plate of part 1 having elements 2, 3 with bores 11, 12, respectively, as comprises a counter plate) having two holes (see Fig 1c, Examiner notes bores 11, 12 as having two holes) and configured to be slipped (see Fig 2, Paragraph 0038) on both (see Fig 2, Paragraph 0038) said two pins (7, 8).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Konig teaches the fastener kit (see Figs 1a-2) according to claim 8 and further teaches wherein said at least one (see Fig 1c) of the one or more counter components (1) comprises a fixation portion (see Fig 1c, Examiner notes a fixation portion of part 1 having bore 20 has comprises a fixation portion) protruding (see Fig 1c) from the counter plate (see Fig 1c) and configured to be connected (see Fig 2) with an item (Fig 2, element 19) to be fastened (see Fig 2) to the holding structure (5).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Konig teaches the fastener kit (see Figs 1a-2) according to claim 8 and further teaches wherein said counter plate (see Fig 1c) is at least partially made of said remoldable material (Paragraph 0038, Examiner notes made of plastic as is at least partially made of said remoldable material), or
wherein said counter plate is at least partially made of a further remoldable material which is different from said remoldable material, or
both.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Konig teaches the fastener kit (see Figs 1a-2) according to claim 10 and further teaches wherein said at least one (see Fig 1c) of the one or more counter components (1) comprises at least one fireproof part (see Fig 1c, Examiner notes screw 17 extending through part 1 as comprises at least one fireproof part).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James, in view of Took (US6155741A), hereinafter "Took".
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, James teaches the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 1 but fails to teach further comprising: one or more fireproof members at least partially extending in a respective one of the pins.
However, Took teaches it is known to provide one or more fireproof members at least partially extending in a respective one of the pins (Col 2, lines 53-60, Examiner notes the collet preferably will be formed of a plastic material which has sufficient springiness to enable the legs to be resiliently deflected together and may have a core of defined by one or more strips of spring steel around which the plastics material is formed as provide one or more fireproof members at least partially extending in a respective one of the pins).
Therefore, as evidenced by Took, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine adequately sized and shaped one or more fireproof members at least partially extending in a respective one of the pins as taught by Took to James. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to ensure resiliency of the nut plate based on use and application requirements, e.g. inserting into components of varying materials, dimensions, etc.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, modified James teaches the fastener bracket (340) according to claim 4 and further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more fireproof members (Took, Col 2, lines 53-60) s is stabilized (see Fig 4B; Took, Col 2, lines 53-60, Examiner notes the combination of a spring steel core of Took to the posts of James as is stabilized) in the plate portion (see Fig 4B) with at least one fireproof element included (Fig 4B, insert 460, Paragraph 0025, Examiner notes metallic insert as with at least one fireproof element included) in the plate portion (see Fig 4B).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James, in view of Kassouni (US5407310A), hereinafter "Kassouni".
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, James teaches the aircraft structure (100) of claim 12 but fails to teach further comprising one or more counter components having a hole and configured to be slipped or screwed onto at least one of the pins of the fastener bracket, wherein the at least two pins of the fastener bracket run through respective holes in at least one holding structure of the aircraft structure, and through a respective hole of at least one of the one or more counter components, wherein the holding structure is arranged between the at least one of the one or more counter components and the plate portion.
However, Kassouni teaches it is known to provide one or more counter components (Fig 5, member 30) having a hole (Fig 5, apertures 78, 80) and configured to be slipped (see Fig 6) or screwed onto at least one (see Fig 6) of the pins (Fig 5, members 42, 44) of the fastener bracket (Fig 5, member 14), wherein the at least two pins (42, 44) of the fastener bracket (14) run (see Fig 5) through respective holes (Fig 5, apertures 74, 76) in at least one holding structure (Fig 5, member 24) of the structure (see Fig 5), and through a respective hole (see Fig 5, Examiner notes apertures 78, 80 as through a respective hole) of at least one (see Fig 6) of the one or more counter components (30), wherein the holding structure (24) is arranged (see Fig 6) between the at least one (see Fig 6) of the one or more counter components (30) and the plate portion (Fig 5, portion 40).
Therefore, as evidenced by Kassouni, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped one or more counter components such that the one or more counter components having a hole and configured to be slipped or screwed onto at least one of the pins of the fastener bracket, wherein the at least two pins of the fastener bracket run through respective holes in at least one holding structure of the structure, and through a respective hole of at least one of the one or more counter components, wherein the holding structure is arranged between the at least one of the one or more counter components and the plate portion as taught by Kassouni to James. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide additional mounted members based on use and application requirements, e.g. attaching nut plates in different areas with varying members.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675