Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the meaning of “all of the rendezvous server, the endpoint device, and the plurality of orchestrators” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210099339 (Behm) in view of US 20130339949 (Spiers) further in view of US 11675577 (Aseev).
Regarding claim 8, Behm teaches or suggests a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing endpoint devices (claim 13), the operations comprising:
during an onboarding of an endpoint device of the endpoint devices, the endpoint device being configured to be onboarded to a deployment (¶ 2):
cooperating, by the endpoint device, with the orchestrator of the orchestrators to complete the onboarding of the endpoint device to a deployment (¶¶ 40, 42, 43); and
providing, by the endpoint device, a portion of computer implemented services provided by the deployment (¶ 2).
Behm does not expressly disclose but Spiers teaches or suggests obtaining, by an endpoint device and from a rendezvous server, a plurality of rendezvous data packages, each of the plurality of rendezvous data package comprising network information for a respective orchestrator of a plurality of orchestrators available for onboarding (¶ 38) and the rendezvous server being remote to both of the endpoint device and the deployment (¶ 63);
performing, directly by the endpoint device and using the plurality of rendezvous data packages, a resolution process to select a first orchestrator of the orchestrators (¶¶ 38-39) wherein the endpoint device, the rendezvous server, and each of the plurality of orchestrators are separate and distinct from one another (¶ 63).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding and Spiers’s selecting in order to intelligently select an orchestrator.
Behm does not expressly disclose but Aseev teaches or suggests each of the plurality of rendezvous data packages further comprises limiting information indicating at least one criterion and indicating that a corresponding orchestrator of the plurality of orchestrators must be selected as the first orchestrator if the at least one criterion is met by the endpoint device (claim 21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding, Spiers’s selecting, and Aseev’s limiting in order to meet minimum requirements.
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests each rendezvous data package further comprises: preference information that indicates whether a corresponding orchestrator of the plurality of orchestrators is a preferred onboarding partner for the endpoint device (Spiers ¶ 38). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the preference information comprises an identifier from a list of identifiers consisting of:
a domain;
a network address; and
a tag applied to the endpoint device by a dynamic host configuration protocol system. (Spiers ¶ 38). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claim 8.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 15-17, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests the claimed limitations as explained regarding claims 8-10 supra, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210099339 (Behm) in view of US 20130339949 (Spiers) further in view of US 11675577 (Aseev). and US 10547679 (Burnett).
Behm does not expressly disclose but Burnett teaches or suggests the identifier is usable to determine whether the preference information is applicable to the endpoint device (19:32-60). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding, Spiers’s selecting, Aseev’s limiting, and Burnett’s determination in order to facilitate compatibility.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210099339 (Behm) in view of US 20130339949 (Spiers) further in view of US 11675577 (Aseev), US 10547679 (Burnett), and US 20090300199 (Burns).
Behm does not expressly disclose but Burns teaches or suggests the limiting information further indicating whether the preference information is required to be met in the resolution process or may not be met in the resolution process (¶ 42). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding, Spiers’s selecting, Aseev’s limiting, Burnett’s determination, and Burns’ limiting in order to differentiate criteria.
Claims 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 20210099339 (Behm) in view of US 20130339949 (Spiers) further in view of US 11675577 (Aseev), US 10547679 (Burnett), US 20090300199 (Burns), and US 20100042711 (Hernandez).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Behm does not expressly disclose but Spiers teaches or suggests weight information for the corresponding orchestrator of the orchestrators (¶ 39) and Hernandez teaches or suggests each rendezvous data package further comprises: weight information for the corresponding orchestrator of the orchestrators (¶ 26). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding, Spiers’s selecting, Aseev’s limiting, Burnett’s determination, Burns’ limiting, and Hernandez’s weight in order to prioritize criteria.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the aforementioned combination teaches or suggests performing the resolution process comprises:
using weights from the plurality of rendezvous data packages to weight at least a portion of the plurality of orchestrators (Spiers ¶ 39, Hernandez ¶ 26); and
using a highest weighted orchestrator of the plurality of orchestrators as the selected orchestrator (Spiers ¶ 39, Hernandez ¶ 26,). A rationale to combine teachings and suggestions of the references would have been for the same reason as for claims 6, 13, and 20.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210099339 (Behm) in view of US 20130339949 (Spiers) further in view of US 11675577 (Aseev) and WO 2022039359 (Lee).
Behm does not expressly disclose but Lee teaches or suggests all of the plurality of orchestrators are registered with the rendezvous server, and wherein each of the plurality of orchestrators provides a respective one of the plurality of rendezvous data packages to the rendezvous server when registering with the rendezvous server (TECH-SOLUTION). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Behm’s onboarding, Spiers’s selecting, Aseev’s limiting, and Lee’s registration in order to learn about orchestrators.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered.
The applicant argues that “amended independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are patentable over Behm, Spiers, Burnett, Burns, and Hernandez. By virtue of their dependence, the remaining claims are also patentable for at least the same reasons.” (Resp. 9.)
Aseev has been added, however, to teach or suggest the argued limitations.
Other Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the instant disclosure. For example, US 10489808 determines policies for cloud orchestrators.
Conclusion
/LANCE LEONARD BARRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457