DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 2/19/2026.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims, which changed the scope of the claims. Examiner notes wherein Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which are addressed by the newly found prior art, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 15-17, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1)
Claim 1:
A modular [(Cardon – [0078] … various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. … ; [See also Figures 2 and 13]) at least one power supply, (Cardon – [0100] … the method 1000 includes a step of coupling the end effector 102 to the robotic manipulator 104. The system 100 is then powered on and system checks are performed.) at least one rotatable base arm, and (Cardon – [See also Figures 2 and 13]) a base attachment mechanism; (Cardon - [0066] Referring to FIG. 1 and to FIGS. 2, 12 and 13, in one or more examples, the base 142 is releasably coupleable to (e.g., is configured to be selectively coupled to and decoupled from) the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. …) at least one module; at least one arm attachment component; at least one processor; and at least one tool; wherein a first end of the at least one arm attachment component is rotatably connected to the at least one rotatable base arm via an attachment component; wherein a second end of the at least one arm attachment component is operable to receive the at least one tool; (Cardon - [0078] In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as a transportation mechanism for the base 142 and the robotic manipulator 104. In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as the base 142. For example, the base end 108 of the robotic manipulator 104 is coupled to the cart 166 and the cart 166 supports the robotic manipulator 104 during positioning of the end effector 102, during coupling of the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114, and during the processing operation. In one or more examples, as illustrated in FIG. 15, the cart 166 supports various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. For example, the system 100 includes the first end effector 102A that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., drill) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to drill the holes 178 and the second end effector 102B that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., impact driver) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to remove the fasteners 180 from the workpiece 114.) wherein the base attachment mechanism is operable to engage an external surface; (Cardon - [0066] Referring to FIG. 1 and to FIGS. 2, 12 and 13, in one or more examples, the base 142 is releasably coupleable to (e.g., is configured to be selectively coupled to and decoupled from) the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. Coupling the base 142 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114 enables the robotic manipulator 104 and, thus, the end effector 102 to be easily positioned at any desired location on the workpiece 114 for processing.) wherein the at least one module is in electrical connection with the at least one processor and the at least one tool; and wherein the at least one module is operable to control the at least one tool. (Cardon – [0059] … In one or more examples, the machine tool 112 also includes a rotary encoder that that converts an angular position or motion of the shaft to analog or digital output signals, which can be provided to a controller 152 for rotational control of the machine tool 112. In one or more examples, rotary drive is a servomotor. The rotary encoder and the controller 152 enable the setting of torque limits, the monitoring of rotational velocity, the monitoring of rotational position, and the like.)
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
A modular computerized numerical control (CNC) system comprising:
(Adams - [0033] The determination module 206 can be a software-based module or include a combination of hardware or software. In some embodiments, the determination module 206 is a digital signal processor (e.g., a computer numeric controller (CNC)). The determination module 206 can be integrated with the cutting or welding system 204 to control the operation of the system 204 and the delivery device 202. )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a Computerized Numerical Control (CNC) system as taught in Adams. Having the ability to control tooling components using CNC provides a means to improve the quality, accuracy, and repeatability of each manufacturing process.
Claim 2:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool is an oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 3:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 2, wherein the at least one module is an oxy-fuel module, wherein the oxy-fuel module is operable to control a flow of gas to the oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies. ; [0031] … An appropriate operating requirement can be a specific value or a range of values for an operating parameter of the system 204, such as specifications for current, gas flow/composition, workpiece thickness, workpiece material, etc.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 5:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool is a plasma torch.
(Adams - [0018] In some embodiments, the selected component comprises a consumable component. The consumable component can comprise one of an electrode, a nozzle, a shield, a swirl ring, a retaining cap or a replaceable torch body for a plasma arc system. The consumable component can be associated with a plasma arc, laser or waterjet cutting system. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with a plasma cutter as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 6
Cardon teaches the following limitations:
The modular CNC system of claim 1, wherein the base assembly further includes a height control assembly, wherein the height control assembly is operable to control a height of the at least one rotatable base arm.
(Cardon - [0034] The robotic manipulator 104 support, moves, and positions the end effector 102 in a manufacturing environment and relative to the workpiece 114. Coupling the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114 using the end-effector vacuum clamp 118 enables the processing force Fp to be reacted by the end effector 102 and transferred back to the workpiece 114, thereby, reducing the required robustness of the robotic manipulator 104, the end effector 102, and the machine tool 112. The machine tool 112 performs one or more machining operations on the workpiece 114 once the end effector 102 is coupled to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. ; [see also Figure 2] )
Examiner’s Note:
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a multi-axis manipulator as described in Cardon would inherently have height control.
Claim 15:
Cardon teaches the following limitations:
A
a base assembly comprising a housing, (Cardon – [0078] … various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. … ; [See also Figures 2 and 13]) at least one power supply, (Cardon – [0100] … the method 1000 includes a step of coupling the end effector 102 to the robotic manipulator 104. The system 100 is then powered on and system checks are performed.) at least one rotatable base arm, and (Cardon – [See also Figures 2 and 13]) a base attachment mechanism; (Cardon - [0066] Referring to FIG. 1 and to FIGS. 2, 12 and 13, in one or more examples, the base 142 is releasably coupleable to (e.g., is configured to be selectively coupled to and decoupled from) the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. …) at least one removable module; at least one arm attachment component; at least one processor; and at least one tool; wherein a first end of the at least one arm attachment component is detachably connected to the at least one rotatable base arm via an attachment component, wherein the at least one arm attachment component is configured to rotate relative to the at least one rotatable base arm; wherein a second end of the at least one arm attachment component is operable to receive the at least one tool; (Cardon - [0078] In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as a transportation mechanism for the base 142 and the robotic manipulator 104. In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as the base 142. For example, the base end 108 of the robotic manipulator 104 is coupled to the cart 166 and the cart 166 supports the robotic manipulator 104 during positioning of the end effector 102, during coupling of the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114, and during the processing operation. In one or more examples, as illustrated in FIG. 15, the cart 166 supports various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. For example, the system 100 includes the first end effector 102A that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., drill) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to drill the holes 178 and the second end effector 102B that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., impact driver) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to remove the fasteners 180 from the workpiece 114.) wherein the base attachment mechanism is operable to engage an external surface; (Cardon - [0066] Referring to FIG. 1 and to FIGS. 2, 12 and 13, in one or more examples, the base 142 is releasably coupleable to (e.g., is configured to be selectively coupled to and decoupled from) the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. Coupling the base 142 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114 enables the robotic manipulator 104 and, thus, the end effector 102 to be easily positioned at any desired location on the workpiece 114 for processing.) wherein the at least one removable module is in electrical connection with the at least one processor and the at least one tool; wherein the at least one rotatable base arm is operable to rotate relative to the base housing and wherein the at least one removable module is operable to control the at least one tool. (Cardon - [0059] … In one or more examples, the machine tool 112 also includes a rotary encoder that that converts an angular position or motion of the shaft to analog or digital output signals, which can be provided to a controller 152 for rotational control of the machine tool 112. In one or more examples, rotary drive is a servomotor. The rotary encoder and the controller 152 enable the setting of torque limits, the monitoring of rotational velocity, the monitoring of rotational position, and the like. ; [0078] In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as a transportation mechanism for the base 142 and the robotic manipulator 104. In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as the base 142. For example, the base end 108 of the robotic manipulator 104 is coupled to the cart 166 and the cart 166 supports the robotic manipulator 104 during positioning of the end effector 102, during coupling of the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114, and during the processing operation. In one or more examples, as illustrated in FIG. 15, the cart 166 supports various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like.)
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
A modular computerized numerical control (CNC) system comprising:
(Adams - [0033] The determination module 206 can be a software-based module or include a combination of hardware or software. In some embodiments, the determination module 206 is a digital signal processor (e.g., a computer numeric controller (CNC)). The determination module 206 can be integrated with the cutting or welding system 204 to control the operation of the system 204 and the delivery device 202. )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a Computerized Numerical Control (CNC) system as taught in Adams. Having the ability to control tooling components using CNC provides a means to improve the quality, accuracy, and repeatability of each manufacturing process.
Claim 16:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 15, wherein the at least one tool is an oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 17:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 16, wherein the at least one removable module is an oxy-fuel module, wherein the oxy-fuel module is operable to control a flow of gas to the oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies. ; [0031] … An appropriate operating requirement can be a specific value or a range of values for an operating parameter of the system 204, such as specifications for current, gas flow/composition, workpiece thickness, workpiece material, etc.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 18:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 15, wherein the at least one tool is a plasma torch.
(Adams - [0018] In some embodiments, the selected component comprises a consumable component. The consumable component can comprise one of an electrode, a nozzle, a shield, a swirl ring, a retaining cap or a replaceable torch body for a plasma arc system. The consumable component can be associated with a plasma arc, laser or waterjet cutting system. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with a plasma cutter as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 19
Cardon teaches the following limitations:
The modular CNC system of claim 15, wherein the base assembly further includes a height control assembly, wherein the height control assembly is operable to control a height of the at least one rotatable base arm.
(Cardon - [0034] The robotic manipulator 104 support, moves, and positions the end effector 102 in a manufacturing environment and relative to the workpiece 114. Coupling the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114 using the end-effector vacuum clamp 118 enables the processing force Fp to be reacted by the end effector 102 and transferred back to the workpiece 114, thereby, reducing the required robustness of the robotic manipulator 104, the end effector 102, and the machine tool 112. The machine tool 112 performs one or more machining operations on the workpiece 114 once the end effector 102 is coupled to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. ; [see also Figure 2] )
Examiner’s Note:
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a multi-axis manipulator as described in Cardon would inherently have height control.
Claims 4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1) in view of Wanner (US 20180169813 A1)
Claim 4:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 1,
(Adams - [0033] The determination module 206 can be a software-based module or include a combination of hardware or software. In some embodiments, the determination module 206 is a digital signal processor (e.g., a computer numeric controller (CNC)). The determination module 206 can be integrated with the cutting or welding system 204 to control the operation of the system 204 and the delivery device 202. )
Cardon in combination with Adams does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Wanner teaches:
wherein the base attachment mechanism includes a magnet wherein the magnet is operable to attach the modular CNC system to a workpiece surface.
(Wanner - [0010] With the mechanical support at the end of the kinematic chain of the articulated-arm robot on the workpiece itself, the articulated-arm robot forms a mechanical system which is rigid on two sides, that is on one side the articulated-arm robot is clamped firmly to the robot base, and on the other side the articulated arm robot is fixed on the workpiece via the detachable, rigid mechanical connection according to the invention. The contact of the mechanical connection with the workpiece may range from a simple, loose surface or frictional connection created by the force of the robot to an actively adhesive surface bond, in which pneumatically or magnetically generated holding forces assist in creating a detachable rigid connection of the mechanical connection to the workpiece.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a CNC controlled modular tool component system as taught in Adams and to further include an electromagnetic machine base as taught in Wanner. Having the ability to exchange various types of CNC controlled tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes. Further having an electromagnetic machine base provides a means for positively locking the machine to any surface that has ferro-magnetic properties, thus increasing portability and opening up options for locating the machine within the manufacturing environment.
Claim 9:
Cardon teaches the following limitations:
A modular [(Cardon – [0078] … various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. … ; [See also Figures 2 and 13]) at least one power supply, (Cardon – [0100] … the method 1000 includes a step of coupling the end effector 102 to the robotic manipulator 104. The system 100 is then powered on and system checks are performed.) at least one rotatable base arm, and (Cardon – [See also Figures 2 and 13])
at least one module; at least one arm attachment component; at least one processor; and at least one tool; wherein a first end of the at least one arm attachment component is rotatably connected to the at least one rotatable base arm via an attachment component; wherein a second end of the at least one arm attachment component is operable to receive the at least one tool; (Cardon - [0078] In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as a transportation mechanism for the base 142 and the robotic manipulator 104. In one or more examples, the cart 166 serves as the base 142. For example, the base end 108 of the robotic manipulator 104 is coupled to the cart 166 and the cart 166 supports the robotic manipulator 104 during positioning of the end effector 102, during coupling of the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114, and during the processing operation. In one or more examples, as illustrated in FIG. 15, the cart 166 supports various other components of the system 100, such as a plurality of end effectors 102 that are interchangeably attachable to the robotic manipulator 104 (e.g., interchangeable instances of a first end effector 102A and a second end effector 102B), communication lines (e.g., air lines, vacuum lines, electrical lines, etc.), computer control systems (e.g., a controller), and the like. For example, the system 100 includes the first end effector 102A that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., drill) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to drill the holes 178 and the second end effector 102B that includes the machine tool 112 (e.g., impact driver) and end-effector vacuum clamp 118 configured to remove the fasteners 180 from the workpiece 114.)
wherein the at least one module is in electrical connection with the at least one processor and the at least one tool; and wherein the at least one module is operable to control the at least one tool. (Cardon – [0059] … In one or more examples, the machine tool 112 also includes a rotary encoder that that converts an angular position or motion of the shaft to analog or digital output signals, which can be provided to a controller 152 for rotational control of the machine tool 112. In one or more examples, rotary drive is a servomotor. The rotary encoder and the controller 152 enable the setting of torque limits, the monitoring of rotational velocity, the monitoring of rotational position, and the like.)
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
A modular computerized numerical control (CNC) system comprising:
(Adams - [0033] The determination module 206 can be a software-based module or include a combination of hardware or software. In some embodiments, the determination module 206 is a digital signal processor (e.g., a computer numeric controller (CNC)). The determination module 206 can be integrated with the cutting or welding system 204 to control the operation of the system 204 and the delivery device 202. )
Cardon in combination with Adams does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Wanner teaches:
a magnetic attachment component
(Wanner – [0010] … The contact of the mechanical connection with the workpiece may range from a simple, loose surface or frictional connection created by the force of the robot to an actively adhesive surface bond, in which pneumatically or magnetically generated holding forces assist in creating a detachable rigid connection of the mechanical connection to the workpiece.)
wherein the magnetic attachment component is operable to engage a workpiece surface, wherein the base assembly is removably mounted to the workpiece surface via the magnetic attachment component;
(Wanner - [0010] With the mechanical support at the end of the kinematic chain of the articulated-arm robot on the workpiece itself, the articulated-arm robot forms a mechanical system which is rigid on two sides, that is on one side the articulated-arm robot is clamped firmly to the robot base, and on the other side the articulated arm robot is fixed on the workpiece via the detachable, rigid mechanical connection according to the invention. The contact of the mechanical connection with the workpiece may range from a simple, loose surface or frictional connection created by the force of the robot to an actively adhesive surface bond, in which pneumatically or magnetically generated holding forces assist in creating a detachable rigid connection of the mechanical connection to the workpiece.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a CNC controlled modular tool component system as taught in Adams and to further include an electromagnetic machine base as taught in Wanner. Having the ability to exchange various types of CNC controlled tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes. Further having an electromagnetic machine base provides a means for positively locking the machine to any surface that has ferro-magnetic properties, thus increasing portability and opening up options for locating the machine within the manufacturing environment.
Claim 10:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 9, wherein the at least one tool is an oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 11:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 10, wherein the at least one module is an oxy-fuel module, wherein the oxy-fuel module is operable to control a flow of gas to the oxy-fuel torch.
(Adams - [0003] A delivery device (e.g., a torch) can be included in a cutting or welding system configured to automatically control the operation of the delivery device. FIG. 1 shows a known automated plasma arc torch system 90, which is shown to include a plasma arc torch 100, an associated power supply/gas supply 110, … In general, the digital signal processor 160 can be configured to operate with plasma arc, laser, oxy fuel, and/or water jet technologies. ; [0031] … An appropriate operating requirement can be a specific value or a range of values for an operating parameter of the system 204, such as specifications for current, gas flow/composition, workpiece thickness, workpiece material, etc.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with an Oxy-fuel Module as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 12:
Cardon does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Adams teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 9, wherein the at least one tool is a plasma torch.
(Adams - [0018] In some embodiments, the selected component comprises a consumable component. The consumable component can comprise one of an electrode, a nozzle, a shield, a swirl ring, a retaining cap or a replaceable torch body for a plasma arc system. The consumable component can be associated with a plasma arc, laser or waterjet cutting system. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon with a modular tool component system with a plasma cutter as taught in Adams. Having the ability to exchange various types of tooling components such as plasma cutters and Oxy-fuel torches provides manufacturing flexibility and reduces the working footprint by allowing one machine to do multiple types of manufacturing processes.
Claim 13
Cardon teaches the following limitations:
The modular CNC system of claim 9, wherein the base assembly further includes a height control assembly, wherein the height control assembly is operable to control a height of the at least one rotatable base arm.
(Cardon - [0034] The robotic manipulator 104 support, moves, and positions the end effector 102 in a manufacturing environment and relative to the workpiece 114. Coupling the end effector 102 to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114 using the end-effector vacuum clamp 118 enables the processing force Fp to be reacted by the end effector 102 and transferred back to the workpiece 114, thereby, reducing the required robustness of the robotic manipulator 104, the end effector 102, and the machine tool 112. The machine tool 112 performs one or more machining operations on the workpiece 114 once the end effector 102 is coupled to the surface 116 of the workpiece 114. ; [see also Figure 2] )
Examiner’s Note:
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a multi-axis manipulator as described in Cardon would inherently have height control.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1) in view of Axinte (US 20160279750 A1)
Claim 7:
Cardon in combination with Adams does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Axinte teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 1, wherein the base attachment mechanism includes a vacuum component, wherein the vacuum component includes at least two suction cups and at least one pump, wherein the at least one pump is operable to remove air from the at least two suction cups to create a sealed environment.
(Axinte - [0046] The first leg 18, the second leg 20 and the third leg 22 each comprise an upper part 46, a lower part 48, and a foot part 50. The upper part 46 and the lower part 48 are telescopically arranged and form a prismatic joint 52. The foot part 50 is coupled to the lower part 48 via a spherical joint 54 and may include apparatus for securing the foot part 50 to a surface (for example, the foot part 50 may include an air pump to enable the foot part 50 to form a vacuum with the surface to secure the machine tool 101 to the surface). …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon and Adams with a vacuum-based machine mounting system as taught in Axinte. Having the ability to positively lock the machine to a surface using the properties of vacuum increases portability and opens up options for locating the machine within the chosen manufacturing environment.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1) in view of Cantor (US 20200122328 A1)
Claim 8:
Cardon in combination with Adams does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Cantor teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is in network communication with at least one remote device, wherein the at least one remote device is operable to transmit at least one command to the at least one processor,
(Cantor - [0061] The robot arm control system 212 comprises a processor 230, a memory 232, and a computer-readable non-transitory medium 234. According to some embodiments, the robot arm control system 212 may also include a communications transceiver (not shown in FIG. 2), such as a wireless transceiver for communicating with a wireless communications network (e.g. using an IEEE 802.11 protocol or similar).)
wherein the at least one command includes a power command and/or a position command, wherein the power command includes at least one of activating the base assembly, deactivating the base assembly, activating the at least one tool, or deactivating the at least one tool, wherein the position command includes a target position for the at least one rotatable base arm and/or the at least one tool.
(Cantor - [0062] The particular robot arm control system 212 is shown in FIG. 2 represents an embodiment, and is also provided for ease of explanation. According to some embodiments, any or all of the processor 230, the memory 232, the medium 234, and the wireless transceiver (not shown) may be shared with the respective analogous components of the vehicle control system 204. For example, in some embodiments, a single system may provide both the vehicle control system 204 and the robot arm control system 212. In some embodiments, the vehicle control system 204 and the robot arm control system 212 may each have their own processors, memory, and media, but may be connected via a wired communications link or bus, and share a single wireless transceiver.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon and Adams with a wireless transceiver for controlling the robot as taught in Cantor. Having the ability to control the robot wirelessly provides the flexibility to choose where the is operator located in relationship to the robot and the work being performed, which enhances safety and allows for the flexible arrangement of manufacturing environment.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1) and Wanner (US 20180169813 A1) in view of Toolkit Technologies (2/4/2023; https://toolkittech.com/shop/smc-portable-robot/ )
Claim 14:
Cardon in combination with Adams and Wanner does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Toolkit Technologies teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 8, further comprising a carrying case, wherein the carrying case is operable to receive the base assembly, the at least one module, the at least one arm attachment component, and the at least one tool.
(Toolkit Technologies – [Included PDF Pages 1-2] MODEL #PELIBOT-200 SMC, Suitcase Robot Training System (Pelibot-200); SMC is proud to bring this one-of-a-kind Robot Training Platform to schools for real world robot training! The SMC Pelibot-200 is the world’s first portable robot training system housed in a compact, rugged suitcase. This allows for easy and safe transport to remote training locations, satellite campuses, recruiting events and more. Additionally, the rugged and compact storage case allows for robots to be easily stored when not in use. Classrooms limited on space particularly enjoy the compact footprint of the Pelibot-200. The SMC Portable Robot Training System includes the controller, workpieces, training activities, curriculum, and all required components for successful robotics training. Foam inserts allow for safe and organized storage for all components and workpieces.; [See also included product images])
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon, Adams, and Wanner with a carrying case to transport the robot to a job location as taught by Toolkit Technologies. Having the ability to easily transport the robot in a carrying case increase robot portability and opens up the variety of work site locations for using the robot.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardon (US 20240198537 A1) as modified by Adams (US 20150105898 A1) in view of Albrecht (US 20170157693 A1) and Bolin (US 20150127139 A1)
Claim 20:
Cardon in combination with Adams does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Albrecht teaches:
The modular CNC system of claim 15 further comprising at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is operable to receive audio data during operation of the at least one tool, wherein the at least one sensor is operable to transmit the received audio data to the at least one processor, wherein, based on the received audio data, the at least one processor is operable to change at least one operation of the at least one tool,
(Albrecht – [0036] … In further embodiments, the sensor 82 may be a UV sensor, an audio sensor, a voltage sensor, a current sensor, a power sensor, a sound sensor, a video sensor, a wire position sensor (e.g. configured to detect encoded wire) or a combination thereof. It should be understood, however, that these are non-limiting examples and that the sensor 82 may be configured to sense any parameter related to the welding operation being performed on the joint 24. Sensor 82 thresholds may either be mathematically defined. Data collected by the sensor 82 may be communicated back to the coordinated control circuitry 72 of the coordinated control system 16 via the conduit 84. Based upon the data received from the sensor 82, the coordinated control circuitry 72 may vary the parameters of the welding operation (e.g., wire feed speed, welding power, welding phase, position of the welding robot 20, etc.) in accordance with the routine or process being performed, or in accordance with inputs received from one or more of the operator interfaces 32, 48, 78.)
Cardon in combination with Adams and Albrecht does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Bolin teaches:
wherein the at least one operation includes a cutting rate.
(Bolin - [0014] In accordance with another feed rate optimization method, feed rate optimization of CNC programs can be performed during the machining process in a control loop. In accordance with this method, sensors are used to identify cutting conditions and the feed rate is adjusted to maintain process constraints during CNC operation. Using this method, feed rates can be adjusted to compensate for tool wear and forging inconsistencies. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cardon and Adams with auditory sensors for monitoring the robot and manufacturing process as taught in Albrecht and to further include a method of specifically using sensors to monitor the cutting rate as taught in Bolin. Having the ability to collect audio sensor data and then apply this sensor data to adjust machine operations, such as a cutting rate, ensures that a plasma or flame cutting operation is closely monitored and adjusted thereby increasing product quality and operator safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Wheetley (US 5468099 A) describes a seam tracking robotic drilling machine (10) is disclosed which is capable of moving a drill head along the seam (12) between abutting skin panels (16, 18) to drill a plurality of precisely positioned holes (18) through the panel. The machine (10) includes a perimeter support frame (20) which mounts a platform (36) for rotation about an axis (38) generally perpendicular the panels to be drilled. A series of variable height vacuum cup assemblies (22-28) support the perimeter support frame (20). A similar series of variable height vacuum cup assemblies (66-72) support the inner carriage (62). When one set of vacuum cup assemblies is activated for attachment to the panels, the other set is deactivated to allow the machine to walk along the seam.
Meeker (US 20180079073A1) describes a remotely controlled packable robot features a chassis, right and left main tracks for maneuvering the chassis, and right and left tracked rotatable flipper arms for maneuvering the chassis. An integrated drive assembly is provided for each main track and flipper pair and includes a motor in a housing attached to the chassis for rotating the flipper and a stator and rotor disposed about the motor housing for driving the main track and the flipper track.
Mitra (US 20230221222 A1) describes a surgical robot which adjusts its cutting rate based on sensor information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657