DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 4/25/24. Claims 1-24 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10, 13-18,21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ross (20230367392.)
Claim 1, 9, 17: Ross discloses an electronic device comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 1; par. 19, one or more forward facing cameras 110);
one or more processors (Fig. 5: 514, processor(s)); and
memory storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 5: 525, memory subsystem), the instructions for:
obtaining, via a first subset of the one or more sensors, first sensor data (par. 23, capture an image of an environment that the user 202 is facing), wherein the first sensor data comprises one or more images;
determining contextual information based on the first sensor data (par. 23, The image(s) can be processed as part of the contextual data to identify particular environmental features that the user 202 may be interested in; par. 4, contextual data can indicate location, time, gaze);
comparing the determined contextual information to a database (par. 29-33, server) of shortcuts, wherein each shortcut comprises an associated contextual trigger (par. 24, contextual data such as location data and temporal data can indicate that multiple different Italian restaurants are open near the location of the user 202); and
in response to identifying a match between the determined contextual information and a contextual trigger for a given shortcut in the database, presenting a suggestion associated with the given shortcut (Fig. 2B: 230, 232, 226 selectable suggestion elements.)
Claim 2, 10, 18: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, a user input; and in response to the user input, performing an action associated with the given shortcut, wherein performing the action associated with the given shortcut comprises presenting content or transmitting a command to an additional electronic device (par. 32, audio input; par. 47, A user can select a particular selectable suggestion by providing an input gesture, a spoken utterance, and/or any other input that is directed to the particular selectable suggestion; par. 52, microphone.)
Claim 5, 13, 21: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the database of shortcuts is stored in at least one external server and wherein comparing the determined contextual information to a database of shortcuts comprises transmitting the determined contextual information to the at least one external server (par. 29-33, the server device can host the automated assistant 304, and/or computing device 302 can transmit inputs received at one or more assistant interfaces 320 to the server device.)
Claim 6, 14, 22: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the database of shortcuts comprises shortcuts generated using additional electronic devices (par. 29, control a peripheral device.)
Claim 7, 15, 23: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the determined contextual information comprises an identity of a physical object in a physical environment of the electronic device, a location, or an activity (par. 4, contextual data can indicate location, time, gaze.)
Claim 8, 16, 24: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, wherein the first subset of the one or more sensors comprises a camera, an accelerometer, a depth sensor, a microphone, an ambient light sensor, a magnetometer, a heart rate monitor, a temperature sensor, a touch sensor, a moisture sensor, a gas sensor, a barometer, a gaze-tracking sensor, a button, a light-based proximity sensor, or a global positioning system (GPS) sensor (Fig. 1; par. 19, one or more forward facing cameras 110.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Wang (12,051419.)
Claim 3, 11, 19: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 2. However, Ross does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: in response to the user input, setting an action associated with the given shortcut to be automatically performed in response to subsequent identifications of the determined contextual information.
Wang discloses a similar device for context driven automatic action, including:
wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: in response to the user input, setting an action associated with the given shortcut to be automatically performed in response to subsequent identifications of the determined contextual information (3: 4-26, a system and/or device may determine that one or more conditions have been satisfied for sending a directive to a target device to perform an action. The one or more conditions may have been user defined and/or the one or more conditions may have been determined based on historical use of the target device and/or similar devices. For example, when a user habitually requests that a smart plug be transitioned from an on state to an off state every day at or around 6:00 pm, this historical usage data may be utilized to generate a rule, such as a “routine” (e.g., combination of trigger event, such as time, followed by an action, such as directive to turn light on/off), indicating that a directive to cause the smart plug to transition from the on state to the off state should be sent to the target device at 6:00 pm each day.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ross with Wang so as to learn from user’s habitual input and automate various functions given a similar context.
Claim(s) 4, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Pastor (20190294690.)
Claim 4, 12, 20: Ross discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1. However, Ross does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, a user input; in response to the user input, foregoing performing an action associated with the given shortcut; and in response to the user input, setting the given shortcut to not be suggested during subsequent identifications of the determined contextual information.
Pastor discloses a similar device for generating suggestions, including:
wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, a user input; in response to the user input, foregoing performing an action associated with the given shortcut; and in response to the user input, setting the given shortcut to not be suggested during subsequent identifications of the determined contextual information (par. 49, one or more of the non-selected suggestions can also be removed and replaced with new suggestions in accordance with the user selection of suggestions. For example, the user selection of suggestions can be evaluated to infer a user's taste and determine if one or more of the non-selected suggestions reflect the user's taste. Once one or more of the non-selected suggestions do not meet the user's taste, they can be replaced with new suggestions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ross with Wang so as to remove the least likely suggestions and narrow down the selection that better meet user’s taste.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhou (11,100,179) content suggestions for an assistant program.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
2/7/26