DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0048] references “an fastener”. The Examiner believes the Applicant intended to reference “[[an]] a fastener”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 currently states “The aircraft according to claim 13, wherein the tank is integrated in a fuselage of the tank.” This appears to be incorrect aircraft anatomy. The Examiner believes the Applicant intended to state “The aircraft according to claim 13, wherein the tank is integrated in a fuselage of the [[tank]] aircraft.” For the purposes of further consideration, the claim has been interpreted as referencing the fuselage of the aircraft. Further clarification or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20120033827 – supplied by Applicant) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1
Lee teaches a tank (below – Fig. 1-3 and 5) comprising: at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion (14) fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion (100) configured to selectively close or unclose an opening (12) edged by the frame portion, as can be seen in the figures below (Paragraphs [0013]-[0023]).
Regarding Claim 2
Lee teaches the door portion (100) comprises one or more sliding door plates configured to linearly move relative to the frame portion (14) for selectively closing or unclosing the opening (12), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 3
Lee teaches the frame portion (14) comprises at least one slide rail guiding the one or more sliding door plates (100), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 4
Lee teaches in an orientation designated for use of the tank, the one or more sliding door plates (100) are configured to slide vertically, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 5
Lee teaches door portion comprises several sliding door plates (Fig, 6 and 7), at least two sliding door plates (2000/1000) having a hook portion (120) configured to engage with a hook portion (2100) of another sliding door plate, as can be seen in Fig. 7 below (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Claim 6
Lee teaches the at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement comprises a fastener (120/130) for selectively locking or unlocking the door portion (100) in a predetermined position relative to the frame portion (14), as can be seen in the figures above.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stumpf et al. (US 11192491) (hereinafter Stumpf).
Regarding Claim 1
Stumpf teaches a tank (below – Fig. 9 and 13) comprising: at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion (60) fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion (62) configured to selectively close or unclose an opening (61) edged by the frame portion (Col. 11, Ln. 56-62; Col. 12, Ln. 63 – Col. 13, Ln. 17; and Col. 13, Ln. 50-61).
Regarding Claim 6
Stumpf teaches the at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement comprises a fastener (63) for selectively locking or unlocking the door portion (62) in a predetermined position relative to the frame portion (60), in that the solenoid is intended to maintain (or lock) the position of the door portion over the opening, and then release the door portion from covering the opening (Col. 13, Ln. 50-61).
Regarding Claim 7
Stumpf teaches the fastener (63) is configured to move with an electromagnet (solenoid) comprised by the at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement.
Regarding Claim 8
Stumpf teaches a motor (63) configured to operate the door portion (62) for closing the opening, unclosing the opening, or both (Col. 13, Ln. 50-61).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reber (US 7604256).
Regarding Claim 1
Reber teaches a tank (below – Fig. 3 and 4) comprising: at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion (24) fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion (32) configured to selectively close or unclose an opening (28) edged by the frame portion (Col. 3, Ln. 5-55).
Regarding Claim 6
Reber teaches the at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement comprises a fastener (36) for selectively locking or unlocking the door portion (32) in a predetermined position relative to the frame portion (24), as can be seen in Fig. 5 below.
Regarding Claim 9
Reber teaches the opening includes an area of at least 45cm x 50cm (Col. 3, Ln. 45-49).
Regarding Claim 10
Reber teaches the tank has a single entrance (13) into an interior space, as can be seen in the Fig. 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linde et al. (US 2022/0411092) (hereinafter Linde) in view of Stumpf et al. (US 11192491).
Regarding Claim 11
Linde teaches a tank (below – Fig. 1), wherein the tank (16) is configured as a pressure vessel for containing liquid hydrogen (Paragraph [0028]).
Linde does not teach at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion configured to selectively close or unclose an opening edged by the frame portion.
Stumpf teaches a tank (Fig. 9 and 13) comprising: at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion (60) fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion (62) configured to selectively close or unclose an opening (61) edged by the frame portion (Col. 11, Ln. 56-62; Col. 12, Ln. 63 – Col. 13, Ln. 17; and Col. 13, Ln. 50-61).
Linde and Stumpf are analogous inventions in the field of tanks for transporting liquids. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the tank of Linde with the teachings of the anti-sloshing wall arrangement of Stumpf in order to lessen the dynamic load that the fluid exerts on the tank as it moves within the interior space due to the movement of the tank (Col. 12, Ln. 64-66).
Regarding Claim 12
Linde teaches a tank (16) configured to be mounted in an aircraft (10), for feeding an engine of the aircraft with fuel contained in the tank (Paragraph [0018]).
Linde does not teach at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion configured to selectively close or unclose an opening edged by the frame portion.
Stumpf teaches a tank (Fig. 9 and 13) comprising: at least one anti-sloshing wall arrangement including a frame portion (60) fixed to a tank wall of the tank, and a door portion (62) configured to selectively close or unclose an opening (61) edged by the frame portion (Col. 11, Ln. 56-62; Col. 12, Ln. 63 – Col. 13, Ln. 17; and Col. 13, Ln. 50-61).
Linde and Stumpf are analogous inventions in the field of tanks for transporting liquids. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the tank of Linde with the teachings of the anti-sloshing wall arrangement of Stumpf in order to lessen the dynamic load that the fluid exerts on the tank as it moves within the interior space due to the movement of the tank (Col. 12, Ln. 64-66).
Regarding Claim 13
Linde in view of Stumpf (hereinafter “modified Linde”) teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as shown above. Linde further teaches an aircraft (10) comprising: the tank (16) according to claim 12, and at least one engine configured to be fed with fuel contained in the tank (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Linde teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as shown above. Linde further teaches the tank (16) is integrated in a fuselage (12) of the aircraft (10) (Paragraph [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733