DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Device Species A, claims 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakamata JP2021150466A.
Figure 1
Nakamata JP2021150466A
Regarding claim 1, Nakamata Fig. 1 and [0001]-[0083] disclose a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor module [0021] including a semiconductor chip 11;
a cooler 13 [0021] configured to cool the semiconductor module;
a thermal conductive layer 12(122) [0023] interposed between the semiconductor module and the cooler; and
a protective film 19 [0021]-[0039] covering:
a boundary between the semiconductor module and the thermal conductive layer; and
a boundary between the cooler and the thermal conductive layer,
wherein the protective film 19 has a water absorption rate ([0028] a physical property of polyamide, polyimide or resin containing a polyamide-imide) that is less than a water absorption rate of the thermal conductive layer 12(122) ([0023] a physical property of a material having excellent electrical insulation and thermal conductivity can be used. Examples of the material of the insulating substrate 122 include Al2O3, AlN, SiN and the like.) . See, for example, MPEP 2112.01.I.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamata Fig. 1 and [0001]-[0083] disclose a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor module [0021] including a semiconductor chip 11;
a cooler 13 [0021] configured to cool the semiconductor module;
a thermal conductive layer 12(122) [0023] interposed between the semiconductor module and the cooler; and
a protective film 19 [0021]-[0039] covering:
a boundary between the semiconductor module and the thermal conductive layer; and
a boundary between the cooler and the thermal conductive layer,
wherein the protective film 19 [0028] has a thickness (e.g. 1-15 µm) that is less than a distance between the semiconductor module 11 and the cooler 13 (annotated above). See, for example, MPEP 2125.I
Regarding claim 3, Nakamata Fig. 1 and [0001]-[0083] teach the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the protective film 19 has a water absorption rate ([0028] a physical property of polyamide, polyimide or resin containing a polyamide-imide) that is less than a water absorption rate of the thermal conductive layer 12(122) ([0023] a physical property of a material having excellent electrical insulation and thermal conductivity can be used. Examples of the material of the insulating substrate 122 include Al2O3, AlN, SiN and the like.) . See, for example, MPEP 2112.01.I.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamata Fig. 1 (annotated above) and [0001]-[0083] disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the thermal conductive layer 122 includes an outer peripheral portion disposed outside an outer peripheral edge of the semiconductor module 11 in plan view, and wherein the protective film 19 further covers the outer peripheral portion of the thermal conductive layer 122.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamata Fig. 1 and [0001]-[0083] disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the protective film 19 [0028] includes a urethane resin material, a fluoropolymer material, or a polyimide resin material.
Conclusion
/Sonya McCall-Shepard/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898