CTNF 18/646,162 CTNF 101647 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. 23-19 AIA Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenghun Suh et al. (US 12268041 B2) hereinafter referred to as “Suh”, further in view of Jeongki Kim et al. (US 20200266244 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Kim”, and further in view of Yuichiro Goto et al. (JP 2023072871 A) hereinafter referred to as “Goto” . Regarding Claim 1 Suh teaches A display device (Fig 3, 5) comprising: a lower substrate (20) comprising at least one light-emitting diode (LED) light source (61); an upper substrate (90) comprising at least one color filter (81) ; and a bonding layer (65) configured to bond the lower substrate and the upper substrate, wherein the upper substrate comprises a partition wall structure (Fig 5 element 70) provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer. Suh is not relied on to teach the limitations of at least one quantum dot color filter Kim teaches a display with at least one quantum dot color filter (Para. [0019]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Suh is also not relied on to teach the limitations of a partition wall structure comprising a plurality of sub-rods repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer. Goto teaches a display device with a partition wall structure (Fig 4 elements 107) comprising a plurality of sub-rods(107) repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh such that a partition wall structure comprises a plurality of sub-rods repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 2 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 1, Suh does further teach a rod (70) Suh does not teach the plurality of sub-rods Goto further teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) is configured to prevent penetration of an impurity including at least one of oxygen or moisture through the edge area.(Para [0045][0061] ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the device had a plurality of sub-rods, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 3 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 2, Suh further teaches wherein the upper substrate (90) comprises: a glass substrate (Col. 14 lines 8-9) configured to output light; a black matrix layer (fig 3 and 5 element 77) configured to prevent light interference; a color filter layer (81); a color conversion layer (71) comprising at least one color converter (Col 11 lines 44-48); the partition wall layer (70); and an inorganic encapsulation layer (74) configured to control light reflection.(Col. 13 lines 24-26) Suh is not relied upon to teach a color filter layer comprising the at least one quantum dot color filter; Kim teaches a display with a color filter layer comprising the at least one quantum dot color filter; (Para. [0019]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Suh also is not relied upon to teach the partition wall layer comprising the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods Goto teaches a display device with the partition wall layer comprising the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that a partition wall structure comprises a plurality of sub-rods, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 4 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh further teaches wherein the lower substrate (20) comprises: a base substrate (20); a buffer layer (50) comprising an inorganic insulation material (Col. 10 lines 7-8, 10-12); and a light-emitting element layer comprising the at least one LED light source. (Fig 3 and 5 element 61) Regarding Claim 5 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh further teaches wherein the bonding layer (65) comprises an optical bonding material (Col.14 lines 22-23) configured to transmit light and the bonding layer is configured to bond the lower substrate and the upper substrate using the optical bonding material.(Fig 12) Regarding Claim 6 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh is not relied upon to teach wherein in the partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm. Goto teaches wherein in the partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods (Fig 4 elements 107) are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm. (Fig 4 Goto Translation Para [0047]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that in a partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm., as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer and allows for the ability to adjust the filling rate (Goto translation Para [0052][0076]) Regarding Claim 7 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh is not relied upon to teach wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm. Goto teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm. (Goto translation Para [0076]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that at least one of the plurality of sub-rods of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer and allows for the ability to adjust the filling rate (Goto translation Para [0052][0076]) Regarding Claim 8 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh further teaches wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer (74) fills an area between at least two rods (70) and is parallel to the black matrix layer.(77) Suh is not relied upon to teach an engraved area between at least two of the plurality of sub-rods Goto teaches an engraved area (fig 4 element108) between at least two of the plurality of sub-rods (107) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the shape of the partition layer rod (Suh 70) now has an engraved area between at least two of the plurality of sub-rods (Goto 107) as described in Goto, which would thus receive the encapsulation layer of Suh, because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 9 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh further teaches wherein the upper substrate (90) further comprises a functional planarization layer (Fig 3 and 5 element 75) between the color filter layer (81) and the partition wall layer (70), and the functional planarization layer comprises a low refractive material (Col 13 lines 58-62). Regarding Claim 10 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The display device of claim 3, Suh further teaches the partition wall layer (70) made of rods (70) provided between at least two color filters (81 and 82). Suh is not relied upon to teach the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided Goto teaches a display device with the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided (107 Fig 4) between two color filters It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that a partition wall structure comprises a plurality of sub-rods repeatedly provided between color filters, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Suh is not relied upon to teach between at least two quantum dot color filters. Kim teaches a display with at least two quantum dot color filters (Para. [0019]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Regarding claim 11 Suh teaches A method for manufacturing a display device (Fig 3 and 5), the method comprising: forming a light-emitting substrate (20) comprising at least one light-emitting diode (LED) light source(61); forming a color conversion substrate(90) comprising at least one color filter(81); and forming a bonding layer(65) bonding the light-emitting substrate(20) and the color conversion substrate(90), wherein forming the color conversion substrate(90) comprises forming a partition wall structure (Fig 5 element 70) comprising a partition wall layer (70). Suh is not relied upon to teach at least one quantum dot color filter Kim teaches a display with at least one quantum dot color filter (Para. [0019]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Suh is also not relied on to teach the limitations of a plurality of sub-rods repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer. Goto teaches a display device with a plurality of sub-rods(107) repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh such that a plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided in an edge area of a partition wall layer, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 12 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 11, Suh does further teach a rod (70) Suh does not teach the plurality of sub-rods Goto further teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) is configured to prevent penetration of an impurity including at least one of oxygen or moisture through the edge area.(Para [0045][0061] ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the device had a plurality of sub-rods, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 13 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 12, Suh further teaches wherein the forming the color conversion substrate(90) comprises: forming a glass substrate (Col. 14 lines 8-9) outputting light; forming a black matrix layer (fig 3 and 5 element 77) preventing light interference; forming a color filter layer(81); forming a color conversion layer (71) comprising at least one color converter(Col 11 lines 44-48); forming the partition wall layer (70); and forming an inorganic encapsulation layer(74) controlling light reflection.(Col. 13 lines 24-26) Suh is not relied upon to teach forming a color filter layer comprising the at least one quantum dot color filter; Kim teaches a display with forming a color filter layer comprising the at least one quantum dot color filter; (Para. [0019]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Suh also is not relied upon to teach forming the partition wall layer comprising the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods Goto teaches a display device with forming the partition wall layer comprising the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that a partition wall structure comprises a plurality of sub-rods, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding Claim 14 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh further teaches wherein the forming the light-emitting substrate(20) includes: forming a base substrate(20); forming a buffer layer (50) including an inorganic insulating material(Col. 10 lines 7-8, 10-12); and forming a light-emitting element layer comprising the at least one LED light source. (Fig 3 and 5 element 61) Regarding claim 15 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh further teaches wherein the bonding layer (65) comprises an optical bonding material (Col.14 lines 22-23) transmitting light and bonds the light-emitting substrate and the color conversion substrate using the optical bonding material.(Fig 12) Regarding claim 16 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh is not relied upon to teach wherein in the partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm. Goto teaches wherein in the partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods (Fig 4 elements 107) are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm. (Fig 4 Goto Translation Para [0047]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that in a partition wall structure, the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided at intervals of 1 µm to 100 µm., as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer and allows for the ability to adjust the filling rate (Goto translation Para [0052][0076]). Regarding claim 17 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh is not relied upon to teach wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm. Goto teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of sub-rods (107) of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm. (Goto translation Para [0076]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that at least one of the plurality of sub-rods of the partition wall structure has a cubic shape and is formed to have a height of 1 µm to 100 µm, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer and allows for the ability to adjust the filling rate (Goto translation Para [0052][0076]) Regarding claim 18 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh further teaches wherein the forming the inorganic encapsulation layer(74) comprises filling an area between at least two rods (70) and forming the inorganic encapsulation layer parallel to the black matrix layer.(77) Suh is not relied upon to teach an engraved area between at least two sub-rods Goto teaches an engraved area (fig 4 element 108) between at least two sub-rods (107) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the shape of the partition layer rod (Suh 70) now has an engraved area between at least two sub-rods (Goto 107) as described in Goto, which would thus receive the encapsulation layer of Suh, because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Regarding claim 19 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh further teaches wherein the forming the color conversion substrate(90) further comprises forming a functional planarization layer (Fig 3 and 5 element 75) between the color filter layer (81) and the partition wall layer (70) and including a low refractive material (Col 13 lines 58-62). Regarding claim 20 Suh in view of Kim and Goto teaches The method of claim 13, Suh further teaches the partition wall layer (70) made of rods (70) provided between at least two color filters (81 and 82). Suh is not relied upon to teach the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided Goto teaches a display device with the plurality of sub-rods are repeatedly provided (107 Fig 4) between two color filters It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that a partition wall structure comprises a plurality of sub-rods repeatedly provided between color filters, as described in Goto because the modification allows for a secure attachment even with a thick bonding layer (Goto translation Para [0052]) Suh is not relied upon to teach between at least two quantum dot color filters. Kim teaches a display with at least two quantum dot color filters (Para. [0019 fig 4]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Suh in view of Kim in view of Goto such that the color filter is a quantum dot color filter, as described in Kim because the modification of the quantum dots allows light to be emitted radially, and thus, a viewing angle property may be improved. (Kim, Para. [0019][0079]) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SONG; TAEYOUNG et al.(US 20250344595 A1), Suh; Jenghun et al. (US 12154936 B2), JOO; SUN-KYU et al. (US-20240142678-A1) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAIME LYNN SPRENGER whose telephone number is (571)272-8444. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 7:30a.m. - 5:00p.m. ET.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sue Purvis can be reached at 571-272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 14 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 15 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 16 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/646,162 Page 17 Art Unit: 2893