DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/21/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080055711 A1 to Kolodner et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Kolodner discloses liquid mirror comprising: a first liquid (Fig. 1 liquid 110); a second liquid immiscible with the first liquid and configured to define an interface between the first liquid and the second liquid (Fig. 1 liquid 115); a plurality of reflective particles configured to self-assemble at the interface between the first liquid and the second liquid (Fig. 1 reflective particles 125); and a support structure defining an outer surface configured to support the first liquid and the second liquid (Fig. 1 substrate 140), wherein the outer surface, the first liquid, and the second liquid are configured to cause the plurality of reflective particles to form a focusing shape via capillary action of the first liquid and the second liquid and interaction with the support structure (as shown in Fig. 2 para 29).
Regarding Claim 2. Kolodner further discloses at least one the first liquid or the second liquid comprises an ionic liquid (para 25-27).
Regarding Claim 3. Kolodner further discloses the focusing shape is at least one of a paraboloidal shape, a spherical shape, or a hyperboloidal shape (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4. Kolodner further discloses the support structure is configured to direct at least one of the first liquid or the second liquid to the outer surface of the support structure as a function of position within an area of the outer surface of the support structure (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5. Kolodner further discloses the outer surface of the support structure is fluidically coupled to a reservoir configured to hold the first liquid and the second liquid (Fig. 2 opening 215).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871