DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4 and 13-16) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
The pending claims are claims 1-4 and 13-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlson et al., US 20200395583.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al., US 20200395583.
Regarding claim 1, Carlson et al., teaches an electrode (0079; 0105-0111) for an electrochemical device (0004), comprising: a free-standing type electrode film (0013; 0029; 0079; 0242), wherein the free-standing type electrode film comprises an active material (0079; 0102; 0242), a conductive material (0177; 0181; 0222), and a binder resin (0081-0082), wherein the binder resin contained in the free-standing type electrode film has a crystallinity of 10% or less.
Carlson does not teach a crystallinity of 10% or less.
However, “10% or less” would range from 10% to zero. Therefore, since no crystallinity range is described in Carlson, the zero crystallinity would read on claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Carlson et al., teaches wherein the free-standing type electrode film has a tensile elongation of 2% or more and 30% or less (2% elongation; 0005) (15% elongation; 0012) (0206).
Regarding claim 3, Carlson et al., teaches wherein the free-standing type electrode film has a tensile strength of 0.5 Mpa (72.5 psi) or more and 10.0 Mpa (1450.4 psi) or less in the machine direction (MD); Carlson teaches 750 psi (5.17 Mpa) (0012; 0212; 0219; 0229; 0235 of Carlson).
Regarding claim 4, Carlson et al., teaches wherein the free-standing type electrode film has a porosity of 47.3% to 50.7% (Table 7).
Regarding claim 13, Carlson et al., teaches wherein the binder resin comprises polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (0022; 0081-0082), polyolefin (0078; 0184; 0186), or a mixture of two or more of them.
Regarding claim 14, Carlson et al., teaches further comprises a current collector (0185), wherein the free-standing type electrode film is disposed on at least one surface or both surfaces of the current collector (0185).
Regarding claim 15, Carlson et al., teaches a method for manufacturing the electrode for an electrochemical device according to claim 5, which further comprises preparing a current collector (0185), disposing the free-standing type electrode film on at least one surface of the current collector (0185) and carrying out lamination (0031; 0246; 0252).
Regarding claim 16, Carlson et al., teaches secondary battery (0003-0004) comprising the free-standing type electrode (0006; 0029; 0079) as defined in claim 1, wherein the dry electrode is a positive electrode (00228; 0271-0272), and an electrode assembly (0097) comprising the positive electrode (0105-0111), a negative electrode (0105-0111) and a separator is received in a battery casing (0100; 0102) together with a lithium-containing non-aqueous electrolyte (0010; 0014; 0033).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727