DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “insert opening” recited in Claims 14, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, and 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plasencia in US Patent 9194152.
Regarding Claim 14, Plasencia teaches a tent support structure comprising: a frame component (20); and an insert (474) fastened to the frame component, wherein the frame component is formed with an insert opening (the opening in 20 into which 474 is inserted), wherein the frame component is formed as a hollow profile (see Fig. 52) with the insert opening, wherein the insert comprises a receptacle for a rod (502), and wherein the receptacle protrudes through the insert opening into the frame component.
Regarding Claim 15, Plasencia teaches that the receptacle of the insert is formed as a blind hole, cylindrically (a “cylindrical bore”) , or both.
Regarding Claim 16, Plasencia teaches that the receptacle of the insert forms a receptacle opening (at the top end, see Fig. 47) on an outside of the frame component, wherein the receptacle opening is arranged corresponding to the insert opening.
Regarding Claim 17, Plasencia teaches that the receptacle of the insert has a longitudinal extension direction (along 584) which extends transversely to a normal direction of the insert opening.
Regarding Claim 18, Plasencia teaches that the insert is configured to be fastenable (via screw A, see below) to the frame component in a predetermined orientation.
Regarding Claim 19, Plasencia teaches that the insert has a fastening region (B) which abuts against an outside of the frame component proximate to the insert opening.
Regarding Claim 20, Plasencia teaches that the insert is fastened to the frame component by a fastening element (A), or wherein the frame component has a fastening opening adjacent to the insert opening, wherein the fastening element extends through the fastening opening, or wherein the fastening element fastens the insert to the frame component at the fastening region, wherein the fastening element extends through the fastening region.
Regarding Claim 22, Plasencia teaches that the tent support structure forms at least one base platform (12), wherein the frame component is a part of the base platform.
Regarding Claim 23, Plasencia teaches a tent comprising: a tent shell (12); and a tent support structure comprising: a frame component (20); and an insert (474) fastened to the frame component; wherein the frame component is formed with an insert opening (the opening into which 474 is inserted), wherein the frame component is formed as a hollow profile (see Fig. 52) with the insert opening, wherein the insert comprises a receptacle (584) for a rod (502), and wherein the receptacle protrudes through the insert opening into the frame component, wherein the tent support structure at least partially spans the tent shell.
Regarding Claim 24, Plasencia teaches that the rod is fastened in the receptacle of the insert and at least partially spans a tent door, an over-tent (such as (420), or a tent window.
Regarding Claim 25, Plasencia teaches that the tent is configured as a roof tent (the tent forms a roof) or a trailer tent.
Regarding Claim 26, Plasencia teaches a tent support structure, comprising: a frame component (20) forming a hollow profile (see Fig. 52); and an insert (474) configured to fasten to the frame component, wherein the insert is configured to fasten to the frame component of the tent support structure, wherein the insert comprises a receptacle (574) for a rod (502), and wherein the receptacle is configured to protrude through an insert opening (the opening in 20 into which 474 is inserted) of the frame component into the frame component when the insert is fastened to the frame component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plasencia, as applied to Claim 14 above. Plasencia teaches that the tent support structure comprises the rod arranged in the receptacle of the insert but is silent on the materials used therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Plasencia by manufacturing the device such that the insert is formed from a material which comprises zinc, the frame component is formed from an aluminum material, and the rod is formed from a steel material in order to meet the individual needs of the user since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Woodard et al., Litwin et al., Amoriello, Frederickson, Eriks, Ruzic et al., Hewitt et al., Clement, and Head et al. teach tents with insert members.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636