DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “each end of the saw blade directly attached to one of the springs;” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In re Claim 1, “each end of the saw blade directly attached to one of the springs” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As understood, the springs are connected to the spring holders and the spring holders are directly connected to the blade. As such, “each end of the saw blade directly attached to one of the springs” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Dependent claims 2-9 fail to cure this rejection, and as such are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud.
In re Claim 1, Davidson teaches a modified bow saw comprising:
a bow saw frame (see Fig. 1, #10) comprising two ends (see Fig. 1, #11/12);
two spring holders (see Figs. 1-4, #22/37), with one attached to each end of the bow saw frame (see Figs. 1-2);
the two spring holders each comprising a spring (see Figs. 1-4, springs #47/48; The Examiner notes that the text of Davidson appears to reference spring #47 and #41));
a saw blade comprising two ends (see Figs. 1-2, #15 has two ends);
each end of the saw blade attached to one of the springs (see Figs. 1-4, #showing one end of blade #15 attached to each of assemblies which includes either spring #47 or spring #48 – attached was interpreted as connected in assembly, the Examiner notes that the claims do not require the springs be directly attached to the blade and nor do Applicant’s figures illustrate this);
wherein each spring is disposed inside one spring holder (see Figs. 2-4, spring #47 is located within bore #21 of head #22 and spring #48 is located within bore #50 of #37), and both springs in combination are configured to move the saw blade back and forth in a sawing motion along the direction of the blade independently of the spring holders and the bow (see Col. 2, ll. 27-34 teaching that relative longitudinal movement is permitted along slot #24);
a reciprocating saw attachment adapter configured to attach to a reciprocating mechanism of an electrically powered reciprocating saw (the handle is capable of being attached to an electrically power reciprocating saw).
Davidson does not teach the saw blade directly attached to the spring. However, Arthaud teaches that it is known in the art of reciprocating blades to provide directly on the blade (see Arthaud, Fig. 1, #4/#5). In the same field of invention, reciprocation saws/blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to connect the blade to the spring, as taught by Arthaud. Doing so is the substitution one known spring /blade connection for another known spring / blade connection in order to provide the blade with the benefit of spring tension (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
In re Claim 4, modified Davidson, in re Claim 1, teaches further comprising one or more braces connecting the frame and the spring holder (see annotated Fig. 1, below).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud, and further in view of US 1,051,193 to Burge.
In re Claim 2, modified Davidson, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the frame includes an adjustable depth bar guide.
However, Burge teaches that it is known in the sawing art to provide an adjustable depth bar guide (see Burge, Figs. 1-3, #2 and 20-22 and 24-26). In the same field of invention, handheld saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide an adjustable depth bar guide (see Burge, Figs. 1-3, #23/19 and 20-22 and 24-26). Doing so provides a means for adjustment to locate the saw nearer or farther from the body of the frame to cut larger workpieces (see Burge, Col 1, ll. 31-40).
Claim 3, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud, and further in view of US 5,313,709 to Pabon-Delgado.
In re Claim 3, modified Davidson, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the frame comprises one or more ergonomic handles.
However, Pabon-Delgado teaches wherein the frame comprises one or more ergonomic handles (see Pabon-Delgado, Figs. 1-2, #88).
In the same field of invention, hack saws, it would have been obvious to add two handles to the frame of the saw of Davidson. Doing so provides additional handles to assist the user is using the saw, for example if the saw gets “stuck” in the workpiece the handles on the frame allow the user to pull the saw from the workpiece above the blade where the saw is stuck.
In re Claim 5, modified Davidson, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the reciprocating saw attachment adapter connects to a plate (see Pabon-Delgado, Figs. 1-2, #18) on the spring holder.
However, Pabon-Delgado teaches that it is known to connect a hack saw structure to a hacksaw frame (see Pabon- Delgado, Fig. 1), wherein the reciprocating saw attachment adapter connects to a plate (see Pabon- Delgado, Figs. 1-2, #18).
In the same field of invention, hacksaws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to utilize the power driven hack saw structure of Pabon- Delgado with the hacksaw of Davidson. Doing so would provide a power driven hacksaw. Doing so provides a hacksaw that is power driven and not requiring manual effort, thus allowing more people to use the saw and cutting things.
In re Claim 9, modified Davidson in re Claim 1, is silent as to: attaching a modified bow saw of claim 1 to an electrically powered reciprocating saw via a reciprocating saw attachment adapter; electrically powering the reciprocating saw; and sawing a material with the modified bow saw.
However, Pabon-Delgado teaches attaching a hack saw structure to an electrically power driven saw structure (see Pabon-Delgado, Figs.1-2; see also abstract and Col. 1, ll. 12-56) saw of claim 1 to a reciprocating saw (see Pabon-Delgado, the structure that moves #20 is considered a reciprocating saw) via a reciprocating saw attachment adapter (The structure that attaches to #20 is considered a reciprocating saw adapter); electrically powering the reciprocating saw (see Pabon-Delgato, Figs. 1-2, #11); and sawing a material with the modified bow saw (the structure of Pabon-Delgato is a saw for sawing material).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud, and further in view of US 1,852,616 to Kittle.
In re Claim 6, Davidson, in re Claim 1, is silent as to wherein the saw blade comprises steel or a carbide. However, Kittle teaches that it is known in the saw art that comprises steel (see Kittle, Pg. 1, 73-82, teaching a blade made of hardened steel). In the same field of invention, handheld saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the blade out of hardened steel. Doing so would allow the user to cut metal (see Kittle, Pg. 1, ll. 73-82).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud, and further in view of US 66,690 to Elmer.
In re Claim 7, modified Davison, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the frame comprises steel. However, Elmer teaches that it is known to make the frame of a saw from steel (see Elmer Fig. 1, “H,” Pg. 1, which states “I make the bow H in any of the known forms, of iron or steel or other suitable material.”). In the same field of invention, hand held saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the frame from steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). Here, making the frame from steel would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,101,362 to Davidson in view of US 4,015,499 to Arthaud, and further in view of US 843,827 to Knudsen.
In re Claim 8, modified Davidson, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the spring comprises steel.
However, Knudsen teaches that it is known in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the spring from steel, as taught by Knudsen. In the same field of invention, coil springs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the spring from steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). Here, making the spring from steel would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
US 2,101,362 to Davison teaches the structure of a hack saw with two springs/two spring holders and a blade that is capable of longitudinal movement and US 4,015,499 teaches that it is known to attach the spring directly to the blade – see discussion above.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724