Detailed Office Action
Applicant’s amendments and arguments dated 7/1/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 5 and 7-19 are cancelled. Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-4, 6, and 21-24 remain pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome drawing and claim objections previously set forth in the non-final office action of 4/1/2026. These objections are withdrawn.
Applicant amendments are noted and are addressed below in their relevant rejection sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by APOLINARI (IT-VI20120332-A1 and its English translation), hereinafter APOLINARI or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over APOLINARI. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, APOLINARI discloses A universal tip for an electrofusion tool {[0002]}, the universal tip comprising:
a main body configured to be electrically connected to an electrical lead of the electrofusion tool {[0036], [0039] the first conductive part 21 is the main body, [0040], [FIG. 1] 21};
a contact supported by the main body and capable of transferring a voltage from the electrofusion tool to a pipe fitting {[0039] the second conductive part 22 is the contact, [0044]-[0045], [FIG. 1] 22},
the contact being adjustable between a first configuration, in which the contact is configured to engage a first terminal having a first size, and a second configuration, in which the contact is configured to engage a second terminal having a second size that is different than the first size {[0013] note the two different sizes thus being adjustable, [0055] note closing and widening that relates to the two configurations with different sizes}, and
a collar disposed around the contact and movable along an axis, the collar including a cam surface that is at an oblique angle relative to the axis, the cam surface interfaces with a corresponding cam surface of the contact to move the contact radially inward in response to the cam surface of the collar sliding against the cam surface of the contact {[0048], [FIG. 3] note 31/30 is the collar that causes radial size change of 34 when moving or translating, [0051] note the gradually thickened part 32 is the cam surface and has an oblique angle relative to the vertical axis and where 12 is indicates the cam surface of the collar that interact with the other part}.
In the case that it can be argued that the straight portion 11 at its end 12 is also considered the cam surface and it does not include an oblique angle, APOLINARI, however, is silent on the cam surface that is at an oblique angle relative to the axis.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have slightly changed the shape of the end 12 of the straight portion 11 and have extended and slanted it with an oblique angle, since it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art {see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). One would have been motivated to have implemented this change so that a better contact and cooperation between the end 12 and the oblique angle/slanted surface of the thickening portion 32 can be realized {[FIG. 3]}.
Regarding claim 2, APOLINARI discloses wherein the contact defines an opening, wherein in the first configuration, the opening has a first size, and wherein in the second configuration, the opening has a second size that is larger than the first size {[0055] note widening relates to the bigger size, [FIG. 3] note the opening between the two 34}.
Regarding claim 3, APOLINARI discloses wherein the opening defines an axis along which the first terminal or the second terminal is received into the opening {[FIG. 3] note a vertical line between the two 34 is the axis of the opening}.
Regarding claim 4, APOLINARI discloses wherein the collar is movable along the axis between an extended position, in which the collar exerts a force on the contact to move the contact radially inward toward the axis to the first size, and a retracted position, in which the contact rebounds radially outward away from the axis to the second size {[0048], [FIG. 3] note 31/30 is the collar that causes radial size change of 34 when moving or translating}.
Regarding claim 6, APOLINARI discloses further comprising a spring that biases the collar toward the extended position {[0058], [FIG. 3] note spring 40}.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APOLINARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PIONETTI (US-2019/0283338), hereinafter PIONETTI.
Regarding claim 20, APOLINARI discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. APOLINARI, however, is silent on the material of construction of the contact being brass. Note that APOLINARI discloses that the contact 22 is electrically conductive {[0039]}.
In the same filed of endeavor that related to electrofusion, PINOETTI discloses wherein the contact is composed of brass {[0015]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of PIONETTI in the universal tip of APOLINARI and have chosen the conductive contact of APOLINARI to be of brass. As disclosed by PIONETTI, conductive material are metallic specifically brass {[0015]}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748