Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 1/5/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 7-19 and 21-24 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-24 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-19 and 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B-H and Invention II.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference number 44 on FIG. 3 described as a microcontroller in [0026] and reference number 78 on FIG. 4 described as outer coating in [0029].
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, replace “collar” with “the collar”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by APOLINARI (IT-VI20120332-A1 and its English translation), hereinafter APOLINARI. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, APOLINARI discloses A universal tip for an electrofusion tool {[0002]}, the universal tip comprising:
a main body configured to be electrically connected to an electrical lead of the electrofusion tool {[0036], [0039] the first conductive part 21 is the main body, [0040], [FIG. 1] 21}; and
a contact supported by the main body and capable of transferring a voltage from the electrofusion tool to a pipe fitting {[0039] the second conductive part 22 is the contact, [0044]-[0045], [FIG. 1] 22},
the contact being adjustable between a first configuration, in which the contact is configured to engage a first terminal having a first size, and a second configuration, in which the contact is configured to engage a second terminal having a second size that is different than the first size {[0013] note the two different sizes thus being adjustable, [0055] note closing and widening that relates to the two configurations with different sizes}.
Regarding claim 2, APOLINARI discloses wherein the contact defines an opening, wherein in the first configuration, the opening has a first size, and wherein in the second configuration, the opening has a second size that is larger than the first size {[0055] note widening relates to the bigger size, [FIG. 3] note the opening between the two 34}.
Regarding claim 3, APOLINARI discloses wherein the opening defines an axis along which the first terminal or the second terminal is received into the opening {[FIG. 3] note a vertical line between the two 34 is the axis of the opening}.
Regarding claim 4, APOLINARI discloses further comprising a collar disposed around the contact and movable along the axis between an extended position, in which the collar exerts a force on the contact to move the contact radially inward toward the axis to the first size, and a retracted position, in which the contact rebounds radially outward away from the axis to the second size {[0048], [FIG. 3] note 31/30 is the collar that causes radial size change of 34 when moving or translating}.
Regarding claim 5, APOLINARI discloses wherein collar includes a cam surface that interfaces with a corresponding cam surface of the contact to move the contact radially inward and radially outward in response to the cam surface of the collar sliding against the cam surface of the contact between the extended position and the retracted position {[0051] note the thickened part 32 is the cam surface of the contact and where 12 is indicates the cam surface of the collar that interact with each other}.
Regarding claim 6, APOLINARI discloses further comprising a spring that biases the collar toward the extended position {[0058], [FIG. 3] note spring 40}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APOLINARI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PIONETTI (US-2019/0283338), hereinafter PIONETTI.
Regarding claim 20, APOLINARI discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. APOLINARI, however, is silent on the material of construction of the contact being brass. Note that APOLINARI discloses that the contact 22 is electrically conductive {[0039]}.
In the same filed of endeavor that related to electrofusion, PINOETTI discloses wherein the contact is composed of brass {[0015]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of PIONETTI in the universal tip of APOLINARI and have chosen the conductive contact of APOLINARI to be of brass. As disclosed by PIONETTI, conductive material are metallic specifically brass {[0015]}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748