DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/5/2024, and 9/29/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim(s) 7, line 1+, “the the”, was recited perhaps - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (KR 20190058143 A) in view of Correas-Serrano (US 20210408656 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Kwak disclose(s):
An apparatus for controlling electromagnetic waves in an electromagnetic wave measurement device (figs 1-5), the apparatus comprising:
a transmitting antenna (104; fig 1; [lines 13-21 in page 3]) configured to generate electromagnetic waves
Kwak does not disclose(s):
the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture; wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode.
Correas-Serrano teaches:
the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture (134; figs 11a-11c; [0058]); wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode [0059].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kwak by implementing the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture; wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode as disclosed by Correas-Serrano in order to test an antenna with improved signal integrity as taught/suggested by Correas-Serrano ([0076]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of controlling electromagnetic waves in an electromagnetic wave measurement device of Kwak to the know device of transmitting antenna Correas-Serrano of yielding the predictable result of measuring characteristics of a transmitting antenna.
With regards to claim 2. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 1,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the transmitting antenna radiates a beam transitioned from a normal mode to the high-order mode [0059].
With regards to claim 3. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 1,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein, when the transmitting antenna transitions from the normal mode to the high-order mode according to an input frequency, the transmitting antenna radiates a plurality of beams having different directions [0059, 0072].
With regards to claim 4. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 1,
Kwak further disclose(s):
wherein, when generating a beam
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the transmitting antenna generating a beam in the high-order mode [0059].
With regards to claim 5. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 1,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein, when transitioning from a normal mode to the high-order mode, an aperture size of the transmitting antenna is increased and the transmitting antenna has a predetermined angle (see 134 in fig 10a).
With regards to claim 6. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 5,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the predetermined angle is formed to be different depending on the high-order mode to be converted (figs 6-7; [0051]).
With regards to claim 7. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The apparatus of claim 6,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the the high-order mode represents a mode that occurs according to an operating frequency [0059].
With regards to claim 11. Kwak disclose(s):
A method for controlling electromagnetic waves in an electromagnetic wave measurement device (figs 1-5), the method comprising:
process of generating, by a transmitting antenna (104; fig 1; [lines 13-21 in page 3]), electromagnetic waves
Kwak does not disclose(s):
the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture; wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode.
Correas-Serrano teaches:
the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture (134; figs 11a-11c; [0058]); wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode [0059].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Kwak by implementing the transmitting antenna configured to generate electromagnetic waves through an aperture; wherein the transmitting antenna generates a beam by a high-order mode as disclosed by Correas-Serrano in order to test an antenna with improved signal integrity as taught/suggested by Correas-Serrano ([0076]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of controlling electromagnetic waves in an electromagnetic wave measurement device of Kwak to the know device of transmitting antenna Correas-Serrano of yielding the predictable result of measuring characteristics of a transmitting antenna.
With regards to claim 12. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 11,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the transmitting antenna radiates a beam transitioned from a normal mode to the high-order mode [0059].
With regards to claim 13. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 11,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein, when the transmitting antenna transitions from the normal mode to the high-order mode according to an input frequency, the transmitting antenna radiates a plurality of beams having different directions [0059, 0072].
With regards to claim 14. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 11,
Kwak further disclose(s):
Kwak further disclose(s):
wherein, when generating a beam
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the transmitting antenna generating a beam in the high-order mode [0059].
With regards to claim 15. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 11,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein, when transitioning from a normal mode to the high-order mode, an aperture size of the transmitting antenna is increased and the transmitting antenna has a predetermined angle (see 134 in fig 10a).
With regards to claim 16. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 15,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the predetermined angle is formed to be different depending on the high-order mode to be converted (figs 6-7; [0051]).
With regards to claim 17. Kwak as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 16,
Correas-Serrano further discloses:
wherein the the high-order mode represents a mode that occurs according to an operating frequency [0059].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-10, and 18-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rowell (US 20190313266 A1) discloses: a measurement system as well as a method for testing a device under test.
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896