DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 6, and 14 presently recite functional language. Specifically, the limitation “the developing roller and the toner supply roller are configured to be rotated so that R represented by the following formula (E1) satisfies 1.2≤R≤1.5” recited in claims 1 and 14 and “the toner supply roller, the second driving force-transmission portion, and the developing roller are driven to be coupled so that λ represented by the following formula (E2) satisfies 1.2≤ λ x rRS / rD ≤1.5” recited in claim 6.
In the claimed formula (E1), VRS represents an absolute value of a peripheral speed of the toner supply roller, and VD represents an absolute value of a peripheral speed of the developing roller. In other words, the speeds of each roller are independently set to arrive at the R in the claimed formula (E1). In the claimed formula (E2), ωRS represents a rotational angular velocity of the toner supply roller, and ωD represents a rotational angular velocity of the developing roller. In other words, the velocities of each roller are independently set to arrive at the λ in the claimed formula (E2).
According to MPEP 2114, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”. Therefore, the manner of operating the claimed process cartridge does not necessarily differentiate the claims from prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 9-11, it is unclear which “resin layer” the respective limitations are explicitly referring to. That is, each of claims 9-11 depend on claim 1, which recites a surface elastic layer for the developing roller (line 19), a surface resin layer for the toner supply roller (lines 20-21), and a surface resin layer (containing a polyarylate resin) for the electrophotographic photosensitive member (lines 22-23).
Based on paragraphs [0104], [0132], and [0135] of the instant specification, the “resin layer” of claims 9-11 will be interpreted as referring to that of the toner supply roller. For purposes of clarity, it is recommended to amend claims 9-11 to recite, for example, “the resin layer of the toner supply roller”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shouno et al. (US PGP 2009/0279923 A1), in view of Mizushima et al. (US PGP 2011/0206511 A1).
Shouno teaches a developing device of an electrophotographic image forming apparatus including a first roller and a second roller disposed in a peripheral contact with the first roller to define a contact region therebetween so that the first roller is capable of supplying and collecting a toner to and from the second roller in the contact ration. In other words, the first roller is a toner supply roller and the second roller is a developing roller ([0010]).
The developing roller is taught to be disposed in parallel to the photosensitive member and opposed to the peripheral surface of the photosensitive member leaving a development gap between the developing roller and the photosensitive member. The developing roller is drivingly connected to a motor so that it rotates in the direction of the driving motor ([0020]) (which reads on the corresponding configuration recited in instant claim 1 and claim 14). The outermost surface of the developing roller is taught to include an electrically conductive elastic material, such as rubber or polyurethane foam mixed with one or more conductive materials ([0021]) (which reads on the corresponding configuration recited in instant claim 1 and claim 14).
The supply roller is taught to be mounted in parallel to and in contact with the back peripheral surface of the developing roller, away from the photosensitive member, and has a polyurethane foam layer mounted around the periphery of a metal core ([0022]) (which reads on the corresponding configuration recited in instant claim 1, claim 9, and claim 10). The supply roller is taught to be mounted for rotation so that the peripheral portions of the supply roller and the developing roller move in the opposite directions at the contact or contact region (which reads on the corresponding configuration recited in instant claim 1 and claim 14).
The polyurethane foam layer of the supply roller is taught to be formed with an open ratio of cell walls, which allows liquid to enter into the cells of the polyurethane foam. By doing so, electric conductivity is provided to the polyurethane foam by dipping the polyurethane foam into liquid containing electrically conductive material ([0050]-[0051]). In other words, the polyurethane foam layer contains a conductive filler (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 11).
The peripheral speed of the supply roller is taught to be controlled such that a ratio R of the peripheral speed VS of the supply roller to the peripheral speed VD of the developing roller ranges from 0.8 to 1.5. When the ratio R (=VS/VD) is equal to or more than 0.8, the supply roller is provided with a sufficient scraping ability against the toner particles, even when they are small, against the developing roller. When the ratio R is equal to or less than 1.5, there is less stress on the tonner as it passes through the contact region between the supply roller and the developing roller ([0023]). In the embodiments, the developing device of Example B1 exhibited an R ratio of 1.2 (Table 1) (which reads on the corresponding formula (E1) recited in instant claim 1, claim 7, and claim 14).
Shouno teaches that the photosensitive member may be a cylindrical drum or an endless belt ([0016]), but it silent to teach or suggest the composition of the photosensitive member. Mizushima teaches a photoreceptor containing a conductive support and a photosensitive layer including a polyarylate resin having a repeating structure represented by formula (1) ([0021]-[0035]). The inclusion of the polyarylate resin is taught to improve effective toner cleaning ([0266]).
The polyarylate resin is taught to account for 30% or more by weight of all binder resins in the charge transport layer in the photosensitive layer, and preferably 50% or more by weight ([0345]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 3).
In the examples, the photoreceptor of Example 5 included a polyarylate resin having a repeating unit represented by Formula 27 ([0525]) (which reads on the formula (A1) recited in instant
claim 1 and claim 14):
The photoreceptor of Example 5 exhibited the highest evaluation rank across the board in terms of cleaning failure, noise, and image quality ([0546]-[0548]), Table 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the photoreceptor of Mizushima as the photosensitive member in the developing device of Shouno, as Shouno teaches that the photosensitive member is not limited and Mizushima’s photoreceptor exhibits excellent cleaning properties when the polyarylate includes the repeating unit represented by the Formula 27.
In doing so, the nuclear magnetic resonance spectrum obtained by subjecting a polymer component recovered from the surface layer of the photosensitive member would be expected to satisfy the peaks recited in instant claim 2, as paragraph [0162] of the instant specification discloses that this indicates that the structural unit represented by the formula (A1) is present.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shouno et al. (US PGP 2009/0279923 A1), in view of Mizushima et al. (US PGP 2011/0206511 A1), and further in view of Oyoshi (JP 2012013899 A) (references herein made with respect to English machine translation attached).
The teachings of Shouno and Mizushima are discussed above and incorporated herein. Shouno appears to be silent to teach the driving force(s) of the developing device, and even explicitly states that this portion is not shown in the figures ([0026]). Oyoshi teaches a developing device including gears for transmitting a driving force to the photosensitive member and various rotating members of the developing device. The gears include a photosensitive gear 2G provided coaxially with the photosensitive member, a roller gear 40G provided coaxially with the developing roller, a developing roller gear 42G provided coaxially and integrally with the supply roller, and idler gears 50G and 52G as drive transmission gears (pg. 5, seventh paragraph) (which reads on the configuration recited in instant claim 4 and claim 5). The occurrence of defective images is taught to be prevented by using the configuration of gears described above (pg. 6, second paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the transmission gears configuration taught by Oyoshi, in view of preventing image defects. In doing so, the developing device of modified Shouno would necessarily satisfy the claimed formula (E2) recited in instant claim 6, as the ratio rRS/rD in the formula (E2) directly correlates to the ratio R recited in formula (E1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shouno et al. (US PGP 2009/0279923 A1), in view of Mizushima et al. (US PGP 2011/0206411 A1), and further in view of Uematsu et al. (US PGP 2014/0270853 A1).
The teachings of Shouno and Mizushima are discussed above and incorporated herein. Shouno appears to be silent to teach the MD-1 hardness of the developing roller. Uematsu teaches that the MD-1 hardness of the surface of a charging roller (e.g., developing roller) should be set to be 90º or less and preferably 40º or more and 80º or less, in view of improving the contact of the charging roller with the photosensitive member and discharge stability ([0051]) (which reads on the corresponding range recited in instant claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the MD-1 hardness of the developing roller of modified Shouno, to fall within the range taught by Uematsu, in view of improving the charging stability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2016/0154325 A1 to Tanaka et al. teaches a process cartridge including an electrophotographic photosensitive member, a charging device, and a developing device. The photosensitive member has a surface layer containing at least one selected from the group consisting of a polyarylate resin and a polycarbonate resin ([0007]-[0009]). The polyarylate has a structural unit represented by formula (B) ([0108]-[0111]).
/BOONE ALEXANDER EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
07/23/2026