DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since the recitation of probability value but no mention of the probability what value or probability of “what” and therefore being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a channel state feedback method implemented by an apparatus, comprising:
receiving first indication information(item 902 in Fig. 9); and
reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information(P[0068-0069], only necessary feedback signal; item 904 in Fig. 9),
wherein the second value is for determining channel state feedback information( item 903 in Fig. 9; feedback overhead), and
the first information comprises channel state indicator, CQI, information or signal-to- interference-plus-noise ratio, SINR, information(item 906 in Fig. 9).
Claims 12, 14 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the apparatus comprises a terminal device or a chip of a terminal device(Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959) in view of Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu)(US 2018/0287680).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second probability value, wherein the second probability value is for determining whether to reduce the first value of the first information to the second value; and that the reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining a first probability value based on the first indication information; and reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first probability value and the second probability value.
However, Xu teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second probability value, wherein the second probability value is for determining whether to reduce the first value of the first information to the second value; and that the reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining a first probability value based on the first indication information; and reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first probability value and the second probability value(Fig. 9, item S910, indication information; P[0061-0064], antenna ports of the current cell and antenna ports of the neighboring cell; occupancy based on great probability; measurement result is compared with threshold).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprises: receiving a second probability value, wherein the second probability value is for determining whether to reduce the first value of the first information to the second value; and that the reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining a first probability value based on the first indication information; and reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first probability value and the second probability value in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first probability value and the second probability value comprises: reducing the first value of the first information to the second value based on the first probability value, the second probability value, and a first threshold value(Fig. 9; P[0061-0064], occupancy based on great probability; measurement result is compared with threshold).
Claims 15-16 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 2-3 respectively.
Claim(s) 4, 13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959) in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(US 2025/0192836).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following information: a reduction value, a cosine similarity of an artificial intelligence, AI, model, and a normalized mean square error of the AI model, wherein the reduction value represents a difference between the first value and the second value, the AI model is for determining the channel state feedback information, and the cosine similarity of the AI model and the normalized mean square error of the AI model are for calculating the reduction value. However, Zhang teaches in an analogous art wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following information: a reduction value, a cosine similarity of an artificial intelligence, AI, model, and a normalized mean square error of the AI model, wherein the reduction value represents a difference between the first value and the second value, the AI model is for determining the channel state feedback information, and the cosine similarity of the AI model and the normalized mean square error of the AI model are for calculating the reduction value(abstract; Fig. 7; P[0063-0065], cosine similarity; reduce reporting overhead; P[0112-0115], quantize the CSI matrix encoding in an accuracy associated with a codebook; P[0039], deep learning).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first indication information further comprises at least one of the following information: a reduction value, a cosine similarity of an artificial intelligence, AI, model, and a normalized mean square error of the AI model, wherein the reduction value represents a difference between the first value and the second value, the AI model is for determining the channel state feedback information, and the cosine similarity of the AI model and the normalized mean square error of the AI model are for calculating the reduction value in order to have improved latency.
Claims 13, 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959) in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)(US 2025/0192836) and Jin et al. (hereinafter Jin)(KR 20210097504 A).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Zhang teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein a square of the cosine similarity of the AI model is for calculating the reduction value.
However, Jin teaches in an analogous art wherein a square of the cosine similarity of the AI model is for calculating the reduction value(Page 4; also P[0053], square of cosine similarity).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a square of the cosine similarity of the AI model is for calculating the reduction value in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959) in view of Salem et al.(hereinafter Salem)(US 2023/0283342).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: quantizing the second SINR value based on second indication information to generate a third SINR value, wherein the second indication information is from a network device, and the second indication information indicates a quantization manner of the SINR information; and determining the channel state feedback information based on the third SINR value. However, Salem teaches in an analogous art wherein the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: quantizing the second SINR value based on second indication information to generate a third SINR value, wherein the second indication information is from a network device, and the second indication information indicates a quantization manner of the SINR information; and determining the channel state feedback information based on the third SINR value(title, overhead reduction CSI report quantization and encoding; P[0053], item 302 in Fig. 3; gNB in a network configures the UE to generate CSI reports; P[0038], UE reports SINR; P[0041], fewer bits than CSI quantity; quantization of the CSI quantity; P[0090-0092], CSI feedback mode; quantized value of SINR). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: quantizing the second SINR value based on second indication information to generate a third SINR value, wherein the second indication information is from a network device, and the second indication information indicates a quantization manner of the SINR information; and determining the channel state feedback information based on the third SINR value in order to have improved latency.
Regarding claim 9, Salen teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the second indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of quantization bits, a quantization range, or a quantization step(P[0093], number of bits of the value of the SINR).
Claim(s) 6-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2013/0265959) in view of Salem et al.(hereinafter Salem)(US 2023/0283342) and Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2023/0246695).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the first information is the CQI information, the first value is a first CQI value, and the second value is a second CQI value; and the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining the first CQI value based on a first SINR value, wherein the first SINR value is determined based on a channel eigenvector, and the channel eigenvector indicates information about a downlink channel; and reducing the first CQI value of the CQI information to the second CQI value based on the first indication information
However, Wang teaches in an analogous art wherein the first information is the CQI information, the first value is a first CQI value, and the second value is a second CQI value; and the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining the first CQI value based on a first SINR value, wherein the first SINR value is determined based on a channel eigenvector, and the channel eigenvector indicates information about a downlink channel; and reducing the first CQI value of the CQI information to the second CQI value based on the first indication information(item S504-S505 in Fig. 5; P[0040], CSI may include CQI; feedback information includes signal-t-interference ratio (SINR); characteristic value of channel matrix is channel eigen vector; P[0076-0083], transformed channel characteristics; compression characteristics; first value before compression and second value after compression).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first information is the CQI information, the first value is a first CQI value, and the second value is a second CQI value; and the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: determining the first CQI value based on a first SINR value, wherein the first SINR value is determined based on a channel eigenvector, and the channel eigenvector indicates information about a downlink channel; and reducing the first CQI value of the CQI information to the second CQI value based on the first indication information in order to have improved latency.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining a second CQI value based on the second SINR value. However, Wang teaches in an analogous art wherein the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining a second CQI value based on the second SINR value(item S504-S505 in Fig. 5; P[0040], feedback information includes signal-t-interference ratio (SINR); characteristic value of channel matrix is channel eigen vector; P[0076-0083], transformed channel characteristics; compression characteristics; first value before compression and second value after compression).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the first information is the SINR information, the first value is a first SINR value, and the second value is a second SINR value; the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information comprises: reducing the first SINR value of the SINR information to the second SINR value based on the first indication information; and after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining a second CQI value based on the second SINR value in order to have improved latency.
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Salen teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the network device; and determining the channel eigenvector based on the CSI-RS. However, Wang teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the network device; and determining the channel eigenvector based on the CSI-RS(P[0040], feedback information may be the channel state reference signal (CSI); characteristic vector of channel matrix(eigen vector); P[0002], reduce the overhead). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the method further comprises: receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the network device; and determining the channel eigenvector based on the CSI-RS in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Salen teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining the channel state feedback information based on the second value; and sending the channel state feedback information to the network device. However, Wang teaches in an analogous art wherein after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining the channel state feedback information based on the second value; and sending the channel state feedback information to the network device(item 2 in Fig. 1B indication information; P[0040], feedback information may be the channel state reference signal (CSI); Fig. 5, compressed channel characteristics; transmit the compressed channel characteristics; P[0002], reduce the overhead) .
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein after the reducing a first value of first information to a second value based on the first indication information, the method further comprises: determining the channel state feedback information based on the second value; and sending the channel state feedback information to the network device in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647