Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites in line 1 the limitation “A second apparatus” without reciting a first apparatus. It is unclear whether claim 19 requires one apparatus or two apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (Yoshida et al., “Hierarchical Distribution Matching for Probabilistic Shaped Coded Modulation”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 37, No. 6, March 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 a data processing method, comprising: performing distribution matching on a first bit sequence (input sequence A') to obtain a second bit sequence (the output sequence of LUT 3); obtaining at least two candidate bit sequences for the second bit sequence (the output sequences of LUT 1), wherein each of the at least two candidate bit sequences comprises a first bit part for identifying the candidate bit sequence (the 1-bit input from A' determines the output sequence) and a second bit part obtained based on interleaving of the second bit sequence (the 3-bit input are interleaving of the output of LUT 1); determining a third bit sequence (the 20-bit output D) in the at least two candidate bit sequences for channel coding.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that A' comprises magnitude bits (the shaped bits) and sign bits (the non-shaped bits—the 4-bit at the top line).
Regarding claim 3, the LUT 1 performs distribution matching.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 2 that A' is the sequence to be shaped.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Yoshida et al., “Hierarchical Distribution Matching for Probabilistic Shaped Coded Modulation”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 37, No. 6, March 2019) in view of Xu et al. (Xu et al., “Probabilistic Shaping QC-LDPC Coded modulation Scheme for Optical Fiber Systems”, CLED Pacific Rim 2018, OSA, 2018).
Yoshida et al. has been discussed above in regard to claims 1-3 and 15. The difference between Yoshida et al. and the claimed invention is that Yoshida et al. does not teach performing constellation mapping. Xu et al. teaches in FIG. 2 mapping bit sequence to constellation points. Mapping the five (5) 4-bit sequences of FIG. 2 of Yoshida et al. to constellation points determines the symbol sequence corresponding to bit sequence D of FIG. 2 of Yoshida et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Xu et al. with the system of Yoshida et al. because the constellation can be used to facilitates modulation schemes that carry multiple bits in a single symbol such as 16QAM. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to map bit sequence to constellation points, as taught by Xu et al., in the system of Yoshida et al.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Yoshida et al., “Hierarchical Distribution Matching for Probabilistic Shaped Coded Modulation”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 37, No. 6, March 2019) in view of Peng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2022/0247496 A1) and Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2025/0358039 A1).
Yoshida et al. has been discussed above in regard to claims 1-3 and 15. The difference between Yoshida et al. and the claimed invention is that Yoshida et al. does not teach performing the channel coding on a combination of the third bit sequence and the sign bits of the first bit sequence to obtain first parity bits for the third bit sequence; transmitting a first to-be-transmitted bit sequence, wherein the first to-be-transmitted bit sequence comprises the third bit sequence, the sign bits of the first bit sequence and the first parity bits for the third bit sequence. Peng et al. teaches in FIG. 1A a channel coding scheme where sequence after distribution match (DM) are combined by the FEC encoder 106 and then mapped to symbols for modulating the modulator 130. Liu et al. teaches in FIG. 4 and paragraph [0080] that FEC encoder generates parity bits. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Peng et al. and Liu et al. with the system of Yoshida et al. because Peng et al. and Liu et al. provide the details of implementation that are missing from Yoshida et al. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the third bit sequence and the sign bit to obtain parity bits, as taught by Peng et al. and Liu et al., in the system of Yoshida et al.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Yoshida et al., “Hierarchical Distribution Matching for Probabilistic Shaped Coded Modulation”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 37, No. 6, March 2019).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida et al. teaches in FIG. 1 a system comprising a transmitting unit (the top part of FIG. 1) and a receiving unit (the bottom part of FIG. 1) connected by a channel. Even though Yoshida et al. does not disclose the details of the receiving unit, it is clear from FIG. 1 that the receiving unit performs the reverse process of the transmitting unit to recover the original bit sequence. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the process of FIG. 2 to recover the original bit sequence.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Yoshida et al., “Hierarchical Distribution Matching for Probabilistic Shaped Coded Modulation”, Journal of Lightwave Technology, Vol. 37, No. 6, March 2019) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2025/0358039 A1).
Yoshida et al. has been discussed above in regard to claims 1-3 and 15. The difference between Yoshida et al. and the claimed invention is that Yoshida et al. does not teach at least one processor coupled to a memory storing a set of instructions. Liu et al. teaches in paragraph [0209]-[0210] software/instructions stored in computer-readable memory for implementing a process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Liu et al. with the system of Yoshida et al. because stored program control is flexible and cost effective. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use stored program control for implementing a method, as taught by Liu et al., in the system of Yoshida et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
skl9 March 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635