DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 depends from itself.
Claim 6 is unclear. It appears that the molar ratio is actually 1:3-3:1. Does claim 6 intend that the batch size be limited to the number of moles recited? Note that claim 7 is correct and should be used as a guide for amending claim 6.
Claim 1b is incorrect and self-contradictory- an aging step precludes dialysis. See Drake col. 14, which teaches aging then dialysis.
The alternate ranges-within-a-range of claim 11 is improper and unclear. See also claims 15 and 16.
The wherein clause of claim1 is unclear and apparently self-contradictory. It is unclear how can the dialysate in the third container (which has already passed through the second container) interact with the barrier in the second container. The term ‘infusing dialysate’ is unclear and apparently duplicative since it is by definition the material escaping from the second container.
In the wherein clause of claim 1, it is unclear as to what ‘waste products’ refers. It is taken that small residual ions escape the second container and go into the third container because they are smaller than the product nanoparticles.
In the last line of claim 1, ‘the outlet’ is without antecedent. It is presumed to not return directly to the second container (since it can pass through the barrier through which it previously passed) but go to waste/recovery/recycling to step a. The clause is entirely unclear.
In claim 1 the term ‘metal/metal oxide’ is unclear and should refer to a composition of the two reagents.
In claim 4, ‘and the like’ is unclear as the basis for determination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Neal article.
Neal teaches, in the abstract, the claimed material. The Office is under no obligation to show the process steps of a product-by-process claim.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Drake 12599698.
Drake teaches, especially in col. 5 and 13, Ag doped Cerium oxide nanoparticles, formed by reacting silver nitrate with Ce nitrate in the presence of H2O2. Even though the process differs, no difference is seen in the actual product claimed given that it is a product-by-process claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake taken with Kauffman et al. 20050037435.
Drake, above teaches dialysis in col. 14 but does not teach the specific dialysis system (as understood, however Kauffman teaches, especially on pg. 8, para 71 the dialysis can be performed with one bag inside another. Using this system in the process of is obvious to attain the desired level of purity.
For claim 3-5, see Drake col. 13 lines 60-65.
For claims 8 and 9, it is obvious as a matter of scale to make more valuable product.
For claim 10, Drake uses water, see col. 14.
For claim 11, the aging is up to 3 weeks, which overlaps the claimed range and thus rendering it obvious.
For claim 15, no difference is seen since the reagents are the same.
For claim 16, Drake uses 5 x 10E-5 moles of AgNO3 and 35 x 10E-5 moles cerium nitrate hexahydrate. The concentration of Ag is .995 millimoles/l. (the volume is 50.25 ml). In any event, the concentration is obvious to control batch since especially since claim 16 does not specify the reactant ratio.
For claim 17, light is included in ‘radiation’ and microwaves are not required.
For claim 18, no difference is seen in the particle.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake/Kauffman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Allston et al. 20100152077.
In so far as claim 2 is supposed to depend upon claim 1, it is not taught.
Allston teaches, especially in para 24-25, nanoparticle dialysis including cerium oxide which can be metal-doped. Also taught is the formation of the particles in para 30.
For claim 2, the equivalent of a 2 kilodalton size mesh is used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are allowable since the features therein are not taught or suggested.
The Guo document had no abstract, nor any meaningful information.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736