DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 29-30 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2003/0210355) in view of Koo et al. (US 2022/0223119).
Regarding claim 21, Dao discloses, a vehicle sunlight shading device (Fig. 4), comprising:
a sunlight shade (66) included in a vehicle (Para. 0027), the sunlight shade configured such that transmittance (52) of the sunlight shade is adjustable (Para. 0027);
an illuminance sensor (54) configured to measure illuminance around the vehicle; and
a controller (58, 62, 64) configured to control the sunlight shade to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the illuminance measured (60) around the vehicle by the illuminance sensor (Para. 0027).
Dao does not disclose the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch.
Koo teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading device that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch (Para. 0018 and Claims 6 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device of Koo in the vehicle sunlight shading device of Dao since Koo teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading device for the purpose of reducing glare and improving a user’s visibility.
Regarding claim 29, Dao in view Koo discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Dao further discloses, a mode switch for selecting one of a plurality of adjustment modes (see 52 specifically “OFF”, “AUTO” and “MANUAL” of Fig. 4 and associated text) corresponding to a plurality of correlations between the illuminance around the vehicle and the transmittance of the sunlight shade which are set to be different from each other for adjusting the transmittance of the sunlight shade (Para. 0027), respectively, wherein the controller is configured to store the plurality of adjustment modes (Para. 0027), and control the sunlight shade to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade according to one of the plurality of the correlations between the illuminance around the vehicle and the transmittance of the sunlight shade corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of adjustment modes selected through the mode switch (Para. 0027 and see 52).
Regarding claim 30, Dao discloses, a method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
measuring, by an illuminance sensor (54), illuminance around the vehicle (Para. 0027); and
controlling, by a controller (58, 62, 64), the sunlight shade (66) configured such that transmittance of the sunlight shade is adjustable (Para. 0027), wherein the controlling of the sunlight shade comprises controlling the sunlight shade to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the illuminance around the vehicle (60) measured by the illuminance sensor (Para. 0027).
Dao does not disclose the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch.
Koo teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading device that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch (Para. 0018 and Claims 6 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device of Koo in the vehicle sunlight shading device of Dao since Koo teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading device for the purpose of reducing glare and improving a user’s visibility.
Regarding claim 40, Dao discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable medium (58, 62, 64) configured to store instructions (Fig. 4), that when executed by a processor (58, 62, 64), cause the processor to perform operations (Fig. 4) comprising:
measuring, by an illuminance sensor (54), illuminance around the vehicle (Para. 0027); and
controlling, by a controller (58, 62, 64), the sunlight shade (66) configured such that transmittance of the sunlight shade is adjustable (Para. 0027), wherein the controlling of the sunlight shade comprises controlling the sunlight shade to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the illuminance around the vehicle (60) measured by the illuminance sensor (Para. 0027).
Dao does not disclose the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch.
Koo teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading device that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch (Para. 0018 and Claims 6 and 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device of Koo in the vehicle sunlight shading device of Dao since Koo teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading device for the purpose of reducing glare and improving a user’s visibility.
Claims 22-24 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2003/0210355) in view of Koo et al. (US 2022/0223119) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, and further in view of Peso et al. (US 2021/0271124).
Dao in view of Koo remains as applied to claims 21 and 30 above.
Dao in view of Koo does not disclose a tilt sensor configured to measure a tilt of the vehicle, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade of the vehicle based on the illuminance measured by the illuminance sensor and the tilt of the vehicle measured by the tilt sensor.
Peso teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to include a tilt sensor configured to measure a tilt of the vehicle (Para. 0137 and 0147), wherein the controller is configured to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade of the vehicle based on the illuminance measured by the illuminance sensor and the tilt of the vehicle measured by the tilt sensor (Para. 0137 and 0147).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tilt sensor configured to measure a tilt of the vehicle, wherein the controller is configured to adjust the transmittance of the sunlight shade of the vehicle based on the illuminance measured by the illuminance sensor and the tilt of the vehicle measured by the tilt sensor as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Peso in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Peso teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with reduced user disorientation and discomfort.
Regarding claims 23 and 32, Dao, Koo and Peso discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peso further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to, when the vehicle is on an uphill slope according to the tilt of the vehicle measured by the tilt sensor, control the sunlight shade to lower the transmittance of the sunlight shade than when the vehicle is on a flat surface (Para. 0137 and 0147).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Peso in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Peso teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with reduced user disorientation and discomfort.
Regarding claims 24 and 33, Dao, Koo and Peso discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Peso further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to, when the vehicle is on a downhill slope according to the tilt of the vehicle measured by the tilt sensor, control the sunlight shade to increase the transmittance of the sunlight shade than when the vehicle is on a flat surface (Para. 0137 and 0156-0159).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading device and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Peso in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Peso teaches it is known to include these features in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with reduced user disorientation and discomfort.
Claims 25-28 and 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US 2003/0210355) in view of Koo et al. (US 2022/0223119) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2018/0079284).
Dao in view of Koo remains as applied to claims 21 and 30 above.
Dao in view of Koo does not disclose a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the vehicle, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the speed of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor.
Choi teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to include a speed sensor (320, 330 of Fig. 2) configured to measure a speed of the vehicle (Para. 0016-0017), wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the speed of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor (Para. 0016-0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the vehicle, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the speed of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Regarding claims 26 and 35, Dao, Koo and Choi discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Choi further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to increase the speed of the change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade in proportion to the speed of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor (Para. 0016-0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Regarding claims 27 and 36, Dao, Koo and Choi discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Choi further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to include a rainwater sensor (870 of Fig. 8) configured to detect rainwater (Para. 0271 and 0334-0335), wherein the controller is configured to control the sunlight shade to reduce a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade when the rainwater is detected by the rainwater sensor (Para. 0271 and 0334-0335).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Dao, Koo and Choi discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Choi further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to make the controller is configured to control the sunlight shade to constantly maintain the transmittance of the sunlight shade when a number of times of changes in the illuminance measured by the illuminance sensor by a set magnitude or more within a predetermined period is greater than or equal to a predetermined number (Para. 0293-0294 and 0296-0297).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Regarding claim 37, Dao, Koo and Choi discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Choi further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to make the adjusting of the speed of the change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on the rainwater detection information comprises reducing the speed of the change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade when the rainwater is detected according to the rainwater detection information (Para. 0016-0017 and see 320, 330 of Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Regarding claim 39, Dao, Koo and Choi discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Choi further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle that it would have been desirable to include constantly maintaining the transmittance of the sunlight shade when the number of times of the changes in the illuminance measured by the illuminance sensor by the set magnitude or more within the predetermined period is greater than or equal to the predetermined number (Para. 0293-0294 and 0296-0297).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle of Choi in the combination of Dao in view of Koo since Choi teaches it is known to include this feature in a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle for the purpose of providing a vehicle sunlight shading member and method for controlling a sunlight shade included in a vehicle with optimized user safety and convenience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dong (CN 117656784) discloses a vehicle shading device that includes a controller is configured to adjust a speed of change in the transmittance of the sunlight shade based on a speed of the vehicle or setting information set through a speed switch.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 08/17/2026