DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The amount of B is not further limited in claim 18 from claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tetsuhiro (JP2018002497A).
In re claim 1, Tetsuhiro discloses a dielectric ceramic composition (Summary of the Invention ¶1-3) comprising an oxide (I) of A, R, and B, wherein the oxide (I) has a tetragonal tungsten bronze type structure; the A contains K and Ba; the R is at least one selected from a group consisting of La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, Y, and Sc (Summary of the Invention ¶2, Technical Field ¶15; Note that both compounds are a tetragonal tungsten bronze type structure.);
the B is at least one selected from a group consisting of Nb and Ta (Summary of the Invention ¶2);
the B is contained in an amount of 4.75 mol or more and 5.25 mol or less with respect to 2 mol of the A (Technical Field ¶13, ¶17-20; Tetsuhiro discloses the claimed range of 0.35 ≦ x ≦ 0.75, 0.20 ≦ y ≦ 0.85, 0.25 ≦ a ≦ 0.75, and a + b = 1.00, to create a product with ideal high temperature load lifetime, leakage current characteristics, and suppression of mitigation of oxygen defects. A value of ‘x’ being 0.35, ‘y’ being 0.75, ‘a’ being 0.3, and ‘b’ being 0.7 produces a value of Nb of 5.15 moles with respect to 2 mol of the A, as claimed.).; and
the A, R, and B are contained in a total molar fraction of 0.975 or more with respect to all metal elements contained in the dielectric ceramic composition (Table 1: Sample 37; Note that the Examiner is taking Sr to be part of the ‘A’ site.).
In re claim 5, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the K is contained in a molar fraction of 0.1 or more and 0.95 or less in the A (Table 1: Sample 37; K is contained in an amount of 0.35 moles).
In re claim 6, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the Ba is contained in a molar fraction of 0.05 or more and 0.9 or less in the A (Table 1: Sample 37; Ba is contained in an amount of 0.44 moles.).
In re claim 7, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the R is contained in an amount of 0.4 mol or more and 0.967 mol or less with respect to 2 mol of the A (Table 1: Sample 37; R is contained in an amount of 0.425 moles per 2 moles of A.).
In re claim 8, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the K and the Ba are contained in a total molar fraction of 0.8 or more in the A (Table 1: Sample 37; The molar fraction is 0.81.).
In re claim 9, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the A further contains an alkali metal element or an alkaline earth metal element (Summary of the Invention ¶2; Sr is an alkaline earth metal.) .
In re claim 10, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the Nb is contained in a molar fraction of 1 in the B (Summary of the Invention ¶2; Table 1: Sample 37).
In re claim 11, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the K is contained in a molar fraction of 0.2 or more in the A (Table 1: Sample 37; The molar fraction of K is 0.36.).
In re claim 12, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the R is contained in an amount of 0.466 mol or more with respect to 2 mol of the A (Table 1: Sample 37).
In re claim 13, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the La and the Pr are contained in a total molar fraction of 0.333 or more in the R (Table 1: Sample 36; Note that the only rare earth element is La.).
In re claim 15, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the Nb is contained in a molar fraction of 1 in the B (Table 1: Sample 36; Note that only Nb is in the B.) .
In re claim 17, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the A is contained in a molar fraction of 0.2 or more and 0.3 or less with respect to all metal elements contained in the oxide (I) (Technical Field ¶13, ¶17-20; Tetsuhiro discloses the claimed range of 0.35 ≦ x ≦ 0.75, 0.20 ≦ y ≦ 0.85, 0.25 ≦ a ≦ 0.75, and a + b = 1.00, to create a product with ideal high temperature load lifetime, leakage current characteristics, and suppression of mitigation of oxygen defects. A value of ‘x’ being 0.35, ‘y’ being 0.75, ‘a’ being 0.3, and ‘b’ being 0.7 produces a molar fraction of A of 0.26.).
In re claim 18, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses wherein the B is contained in an amount of 4.75 mol or more and 5.25 mol or less with respect to 2 mol of the A (Technical Field ¶13, ¶17-20; Tetsuhiro discloses the claimed range of 0.35 ≦ x ≦ 0.75, 0.20 ≦ y ≦ 0.85, 0.25 ≦ a ≦ 0.75, and a + b = 1.00, to create a product with ideal high temperature load lifetime, leakage current characteristics, and suppression of mitigation of oxygen defects. A value of ‘x’ being 0.35, ‘y’ being 0.75, ‘a’ being 0.3, and ‘b’ being 0.7 produces a value of Nb of 5.15 moles with respect to 2 mol of the A, as claimed.).
In re claim 19, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro further discloses two electrodes (3 – Figure 1, Technical Field ¶4);
and a dielectric portion (2 – Figure 1, Technical Field ¶4) between the two electrodes (Figure 1), wherein the dielectric portion comprises the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tetsuhiro (JP2018002497A) in view of Murata et al. (US Publication 2022/0028614).
In re claim 2, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose further comprising an oxide (II) of X, wherein the X is at least one selected from a group consisting of Mn, Cu, Fe, Co, Ni, V, and Si.
Murata discloses a dielectric composition having a tetragonal tungsten bronze structure further including an oxide (II) of X, wherein the X is at least one selected from a group consisting of Mn, Cu, Fe, Co, Ni, V, and Si (¶22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oxide of Murata to achieve a dielectric having a high dielectric constant and resistivity (¶22 – Murata).
In re claim 3, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 2, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the X is contained in an amount of 0.18 mol or less with respect to 2 mol of the A.
Murata discloses wherein the X is contained in an amount of 0.18 mol or less with respect to 2 mol of the A (Table 1: Sample 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oxide of Murata to achieve a dielectric having a high dielectric constant and resistivity (¶22 – Murata).
In re claim 4, Tetsuhiro discloses the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 2, as explained above. Tetsuhiro does not disclose wherein the A, R, B, and X are contained in a total molar fraction of 0.8 or more and 1 or less with respect to all metal elements contained in the dielectric ceramic composition.
Murata discloses wherein the A, R, B, and X are contained in a total molar fraction of 0.8 or more and 1 or less with respect to all metal elements contained in the dielectric ceramic composition (Table 1: Sample 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the oxide of Murata to achieve a dielectric having a high dielectric constant and resistivity (¶22 – Murata).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) wherein the K and the Ba are contained in a total molar fraction of 1 in the A.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the dielectric ceramic composition according to claim 1, wherein the oxide of A, R, and B is represented by: K2-2xBa2x(A1)yRσ(1-2x/3)B5+zO15+δin which, A1 is an element other than K and Ba, 0 < x < 1, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, -0.25 ≤ z ≤ 0.25, and -5 ≤δ≤ 7.5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Natori et al. (US Publication 2003/0020157) [¶67]
Zelner et al. (US Publication 2022/0170178) [¶34]
Yamazaki et al. (US Publication 2015/0295162) [¶55]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848