Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (USPN 20200366315A1) in view of Efros et al. (USPN 8742959B1).
As per claim 1, Sun et al. discloses a storage system monitoring method, comprising: obtaining storage system monitoring data (paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer. As a non-limiting example, the telemetry data may chronicle the state of one or more subsystems of a computer system. – storage system is a subsystem of a computer system);
generating a plurality of compressed storage system monitoring data segments, at least by: segmenting the storage system monitoring data into a plurality of storage system monitoring data segments (paragraph 0017 - an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050); and
selecting a compression technique for each of the plurality of storage system monitoring data segment; compressing the plurality of storage system monitoring data segments using at least two compression techniques (paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.); and
in response to a query: identifying at least one of the plurality of compressed storage system monitoring data segments; and performing at least one of: reconstructing and providing a portion of the storage system monitoring data using the at least one compressed storage system monitoring data segment (paragraph 0026 - the consumption stage may be performed by centralized management software on the management console or management server resulting in the telemetry data set 2050 being reclaimed for further analysis, reporting, alerting, or other functions of the centralized management software. – the other functions is a user requesting the information; paragraph 0093 - Consumption stage software 2046 installed on the fifth computer system 2010 may read the compressed telemetry data set 2055 and decode the one or more compressed data blocks contained within—applying the appropriate decompression technology to individual data blocks and writing the decompressed data to a reconstruction of the telemetry data set 2050. Once decompressed, the telemetry data contained within the telemetry data set 2050 may be used for system management purposes. As a non-limiting example, the telemetry data may be displayed to a system manager via management console software 2048.); or providing the at least one compressed storage system monitoring data segment for reconstruction of the portion of the storage system monitoring data.
Sun et al. fails to explicitly state based on time information associated with the compressed storage system monitoring data segment.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0026 - the consumption stage may be performed by centralized management software on the management console or management server resulting in the telemetry data set 2050 being reclaimed for further analysis, reporting, alerting, or other functions of the centralized management software.
Efros et al. discloses based on time information associated with the compressed storage system monitoring data segment in column 12, lines 26-36 - An application logic 234 may query the decompressed and/or approximated data from the retrieval component 232. The retrieval component 232 may decompress the compressed data 228 "just in time," or at the time of the query from the application logic 234. The retrieval component 232 may provide the data (which has been decompressed and/or approximated) to the application logic 234. The application logic 234 may deliver the decompressed and/or approximated data to a user, such as via a server 236, which may include a web server, over a data access interface 238. The application logic 234 may, for example, execute on an application server which may co-host a web server.; column 9, lines 34-38 - The compressed data 120 may include segments 122, such as beginning and/or end points of segments, intervals, or time series. The compressed data 120 may also include parameters 124 for each of the intervals or segments, such as coefficients, function type identifiers, and/or function terms. The compressed data 120 may also include identifiers for the intervals or segments and/or functions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the time information in the compressed data that is decompressed upon a user query of Efros in reclaiming data in functions such as a user query of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because specific data during specific time intervals are able to be delivered for analysis, as disclosed in column 12, lines 31-34.
As per claim 2, Sun et al. discloses wherein: the storage system monitoring data comprises at least one of a table metric, a message metric, a streaming metric, a compaction metric, a commit log metric, a storage metric, a hint metric, an index metric, a buffer pool metric, a client management metric, a batch metric, or a virtual machine metric – paragraph 0055 - As a non-limiting example, the telemetry data may chronicle the state of one or more subsystems of a computer system. – any of these metrics is telemetry data .
As per claim 3, Sun et al. discloses wherein: segmenting the storage system monitoring data comprises: segmenting the storage system monitoring data based on at least one of segment size, number of data points, or segment duration (paragraph 0017 - an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050).
Claim(s) 4,6,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (USPN 20200366315A1) in view of Efros et al. (USPN 8742959B1) in further view of Mantzouratos et al. (USPN 11138200B1)
As per claim 4, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: segmenting the storage system monitoring data comprises: determining at least one of statistics of the storage system monitoring data, a frequency domain representation of the storage system monitoring data, or a wavelet domain representation of the storage system monitoring data.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer.
Mantzouratos et al. segmenting the storage system monitoring data comprises: determining at least one of statistics of the storage system monitoring data – column 10, line 59-61 - In the example of process 500, the particular type of time series data that is collected for an item relates to a particular type of statistical information.; column 11, lines 7-14 - At 502, for a (next) type of statistical information, one or more new recorded data points in a time series corresponding to an item are obtained, wherein each recorded data point in the time series corresponds to a corresponding time interval. Process 500 describes an example process in which compressed blocks are separately generated for each different type of statistical information that is associated with an item., a frequency domain representation of the storage system monitoring data, or a wavelet domain representation of the storage system monitoring data.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the statistical information of the time series data which is compressed of Mantzouratos in the telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because time series data including statistical information is compressed according to each different type of statistical information, as disclosed in column 11, lines 7-14.
As per claim 6, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: the method further comprises selecting one of the at least two compression techniques for one of the storage system monitoring data segments based on at least one of a range, standard deviation, distribution, number of zero-crossings, entropy, or mutual information of the one of the storage system monitoring data segments.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer and paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.
Mantzouratos et al. discloses wherein: the method further comprises selecting one of the at least two compression techniques for one of the storage system monitoring data segments based on at least one of a range, standard deviation, distribution, number of zero-crossings, entropy, or mutual information of the one of the storage system monitoring data segments (column 8, line 67 – column 9, line 3 - As mentioned above, data points corresponding to respective time intervals are grouped into groups of a predetermined number of entry values (N) and each group is compressed into a compressed block.; column 9, lines 61-65 - While certain compression techniques are described herein, they are merely examples and any appropriate compression technique may be used to generate compressed blocks of data points and/or padded data points.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the respective time intervals are compressed into compressed blocks of Mantzouratos in compressed telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the time intervals of data is compressed into compressed blocks in order to be queried through a search application, as disclosed in column 10, lines 31-41.
As per claim 11, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: compressing the storage system monitoring data segments into the plurality of compressed storage system monitoring data segments using the at least two compression techniques comprises compressing one of the storage system monitoring data segments into a plurality of first compressed storage system monitoring data segments; and reconstructing and providing the portion of the storage system monitoring data or providing the at least one compressed storage system monitoring data segment for reconstruction of the portion of the storage system monitoring data comprises: reconstructing the first compressed storage system monitoring data segments; and recreating the one of the storage system monitoring data segments by combining the reconstructed first compressed storage system monitoring data segments
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer and paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.
Mantzouratos et al. discloses wherein: compressing the storage system monitoring data segments into the compressed storage system monitoring data segments using the at least two compression techniques comprises compressing a one of the storage system monitoring data segments into multiple first compressed storage system monitoring data segments (column 8, line 67 – column 9, line 3 - As mentioned above, data points corresponding to respective time intervals are grouped into groups of a predetermined number of entry values (N) and each group is compressed into a compressed block.; column 9, lines 61-65 - While certain compression techniques are described herein, they are merely examples and any appropriate compression technique may be used to generate compressed blocks of data points and/or padded data points.); and
reconstructing and providing the portion of the storage system monitoring data or providing the at least one compressed storage system monitoring data segment for reconstruction of the portion of the storage system monitoring data comprises: reconstructing the first compressed storage system monitoring data segments; and recreating the one of the storage system monitoring data segments by combining the reconstructed first compressed storage system monitoring data segments (column 10, lines 14-49 - At 408, it is determined that the item matches an aggregation search query. In various embodiments, it is determined that the item matches an aggregation search query by determining a match between information stored in the item's corresponding document and at least a portion of the aggregation search query. The aggregation search query may include information that matches multiple items. The aggregation search query also specifies which type of aggregation is to be performed based on the information stored in each matching item's corresponding document. At 410, the compressed block from the document corresponding to the item is decompressed to obtain the first entry value and the second entry value. To generate an aggregation that is across one or more time intervals, at least one compressed block from the matching item's document is read and decompressed to obtain the data points included therein. At 412, an aggregation result is generated in response to the aggregation search query based at least in part on the first entry value and the second entry value. The time intervals corresponding to the obtained data points of the decompressed blocks are inferred based on the other information stored in the document (e.g., number of data points (non-padded data points) that are included across the compressed blocks and also the most recent time interval that is associated with a recorded data point in the compressed blocks) to determine a time series aggregation using the data points to satisfy the request.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the data is compressed into compressed blocks and decompressing of data for a query of Mantzouratos in compressed/decompressed telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the data is compressed into compressed blocks in order to be queried through a search application, as disclosed in column 10, lines 31-41.
Claim(s) 7,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (USPN 20200366315A1) in view of Efros et al. (USPN 8742959B1) in further view of McWilliams et al. (USPN 20080301256A1).
As per claim 7, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: the method further comprises: generating, for one of the storage system monitoring data segments, the plurality of compressed storage system monitoring data segments using different ones of the at least two compression techniques; and selecting one of the multiple compressed storage system monitoring data segments for storage in a data store.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer and paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.
McWilliams et al. discloses wherein: the method further comprises: generating, for one of the storage system monitoring data segments, multiple compressed storage system monitoring data segments using different ones of the at least two compression techniques; and selecting one of the multiple compressed storage system monitoring data segments for storage in a data store (paragraph 0192 - In some embodiments, at least some data in the less-fine-grained memory is stored in a compressed fashion. In some embodiments, at least some data in the fine-grained memory, such as a cache for the less-fine-grained memory, is stored in a compressed fashion.; paragraph 0197 - In some embodiments, multiple compression algorithms are used, substantially in parallel, when compressing one or more of the chunks, and best results (such as best compression) of the multiple compression algorithms are used as a compressed version of the one or more chunks. In further embodiments, an indication of the one of the multiple compression algorithms producing the best results is stored with the compressed version of the one or more chunks.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include storing the compressed data according the to the best compression algorithm for the data of McWilliams in the compressed telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the best compression algorithm is used for one or more chunks of data, as disclosed in paragraph 0197.
Regarding claim 9, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: the at least two compression techniques include at least one of polynomial approximation, frequency domain transformation, or audio encoding.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer and paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.
McWilliams et al. discloses wherein: the at least two compression techniques include at least one of polynomial approximation, frequency domain transformation, or audio encoding (paragraph 0197 - In some embodiments, multiple compression algorithms are used, substantially in parallel, when compressing one or more of the chunks, and best results (such as best compression) of the multiple compression algorithms are used as a compressed version of the one or more chunks. In further embodiments, an indication of the one of the multiple compression algorithms producing the best results is stored with the compressed version of the one or more chunks.; paragraph 1213 - According to various embodiments, compress/decompress 370 uses one or more of: run-length encoding; Huffman encoding; Lempel-Ziv compression; Lempel-Ziv-Welch compression; Dynamic Markov compression; dictionary-based compression; other compression techniques; and any combination thereof. – the polynomial approximation, frequency domain transformation, and audio encoding are other compression techniques).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the other compression techniques including polynomial approximation, frequency domain transformation, and audio encoding of McWilliams in the compressed telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the best compression algorithm is used for one or more chunks of data, as disclosed in paragraph 0197.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (USPN 20200366315A1) in view of Efros et al. (USPN 8742959B1) in further view of Jensen et al. (GB 2585513A).
As per claim 10, Sun et al. and Efros et al. fail to explicitly state wherein: compressing the plurality of storage system monitoring data segments into the compressed storage system monitoring data segments using the at least two compression techniques comprises determining, and using, differing sets of compression techniques for different storage system monitoring data segments based on differing characteristics of the different storage system monitoring data segments.
Sun et al. does disclose in paragraph 0055 - The management of one or more computer systems over one or more networks 2024, as illustrated in FIG. 2, may require the collection of telemetry data from the one or more computer systems and the transmission of the telemetry data to a central computer and paragraph 0017 - a working stage where the telemetry data set 2050 may be compressed such that an individual data block selected from one or more data blocks within the telemetry data set 2050 is compressed using an individual data compression technique that is optimally selected for the individual data block and one or more compressed data blocks are encoded into the compressed telemetry data set 2055. The compressed telemetry data set 2055 may comprise data that has been compressed using a plurality of data compression techniques which are not necessarily the same.
Jensen et al. discloses wherein: compressing the storage system monitoring data segments into the compressed storage system monitoring data segments using the at least two compression techniques comprises determining, and using, differing sets of compression techniques for different storage system monitoring data segments based on differing characteristics of the different storage system monitoring data segments (The types of products that the embodiments can be used for include: - A library comprising of multiple compression algorithms as well as a method for selecting the most appropriate compression algorithm; The properties of the data being compressed impacts the compression rate. The 'data type' is a descriptor of data that describes the properties of the data with regard to how efficiently and effectively it can be compressed by different compressors. The model maintains an estimate of achievable compression speed and compression ratio when using different compressors on a data type. The model will calculate an estimate of the compression speed and ratio of new data based on the data type and historical information of compression speed on other data of the same data type. The model's estimates are used to calculate which compressor to use on the new data based on the data type of the data and the model's estimates about compression speeds and ratios of the data type.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the use of deciding which compression algorithm to use based on data type of Jensen in the compressed telemetry data of Sun. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the best compression algorithm is used for one or more chunks of data, as disclosed in paragraph 0197.
There is no prior art rejection for claims 5,8,12-21 because either no prior art could be found or no reason to combine with other prior art found.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered. An additional reference has been found to reject some of the newly added limitations to independent claim 1. Please see the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Yolanda L Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113