DETAILED ACTION
Priority
For the purpose of prior art consideration, the effective filing date of the instant application is based on the application being filed on April 25th, 2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “activity instrument” and “magnetic component” in claims 1-20 and “vibration component” in claims 7 and 17.
Claim 1 and 11 – “[an] activity instrument to perform an activity”. See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim 7 and 17 – “[at least one] vibration component configured to vibrate the activity instrument …” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Examiner’s Note
While independent claims 1 and 11 do recite a method/ process and a system/ machine, respectively, said claims do not recite any of the enumerated abstract ideas and said claims are considered patent eligible under 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bark et al. (US 2017/0344999 A1) in view of Chiu et al. (US 2022/0207318 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Bark teaches:
A method/ system comprising:
an activity computing device configured to execute software instructions that cause the activity computing device to (See Bark ¶ [0205] – At least part of a device (e.g., modules or functions thereof) or a method (e.g., steps) according to various embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented as commands stored, e.g., in the form of a program module, in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. In the case where commands are executed by at least one processor, the at least one processor may perform a particular function corresponding to the commands):
receiving, by at least one processor of an activity computing device, a first indication that a user has initiated an activity (See Bark ¶ [0102-0103] – an electronic device which determines whether an electronic device approaches a payment processing device and performs a payment function… the electronic device is capable of including a number of components (e.g., a processor, a driver, an FPCB, a power supply, and a sensor unit). The electronic device is capable of controlling coils included in the FPCB via the processor);
wherein the activity computing device is configured to receive an activity instrument to perform/ complete the activity (See Bark ¶ [0114] – The electronic device is capable of receiving card information (e.g., track 1, track 2, track 3 or token information) included in at least a part of a magnetic stripe of a card (e.g., a magnetic card) from a card issuing company or bank server via a communication module);
wherein the activity computing device comprises at least one first magnetic component switching between a first and a second mode (See Bark ¶ [0115-0116] – the voltage measuring unit is capable of converting a magnetic field signal generated in a payment processing device into an induced electromotive force and measuring the induced electromotive force by using a voltage detecting coil… If an induced electromotive force for a payment processing device is measured by using the NFC coil, the power supply is capable of switching the state of power applied to the NFC coil from a current state to a pull-down state); and
instructing, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device, the at least one first magnetic component to generate (See Bark ¶ [0110] - The controller is capable of detecting a magnetic field generated by a payment processing device via the voltage detecting coil):
when in the first mode: a first magnetic field having a first polarity that is configured to interact with a second magnetic field generated by at least one second magnetic component of the activity instrument (See Bark ¶ [0041-0042] - the electronic device is capable of supporting coil-based payment modes (e.g., an MST payment mode, an NFC payment mode). That is, the electronic device is capable of including a number of coils to support a number of payment modes and [0111] - The data creating unit is capable of controlling the direction of current flowing into the MST coil by applying a voltage with different polarities to the two ends of the MST coil according to data (e.g., a 0 or 1 bit). The data creating unit is capable of receiving data containing card information from the card information management unit and converting the data into a pulse signal of a logical low/high.);
wherein the second magnetic field has a second polarity … when the activity instrument is in proximal engagement with the activity computing device (See Bark ¶ [0111] - The data creating unit is capable of controlling the direction of current flowing into the MST coil by applying a voltage with different polarities to the two ends of the MST coil according to data (e.g., a 0 or 1 bit). The data creating unit is capable of receiving data containing card information from the card information management unit and converting the data into a pulse signal of a logical low/high and [0147] - If the induced voltage is greater than a reference voltage, it indicates that the electronic device is close to a payment processing device so that a payment function may be performed)…; and
when in the second mode:
a third magnetic field having a third polarity that is configured to interact with the second magnetic field generated by the at least one second magnetic component of the activity instrument (See Bark ¶ [0041-0042] - the electronic device is capable of supporting coil-based payment modes (e.g., an MST payment mode [second magnetic field], an NFC payment mode [third magnetic field]). That is, the electronic device is capable of including a number of coils to support a number of payment modes and [0111] - The data creating unit is capable of controlling the direction of current flowing into the MST coil by applying a voltage with different polarities to the two ends of the MST coil according to data (e.g., a 0 or 1 bit). The data creating unit is capable of receiving data containing card information from the card information management unit and converting the data into a pulse signal of a logical low/high);
wherein the third polarity is opposite to the second polarity so that the activity computing device generates a pulling magnetic force when the activity instrument is in proximal engagement with the activity computing device (See Bark ¶ [0041-0042] - the electronic device is capable of supporting coil-based payment modes (e.g., an MST payment mode, an NFC payment mode). That is, the electronic device is capable of including a number of coils to support a number of payment modes, [0111] - The data creating unit is capable of controlling the direction of current flowing into the MST coil by applying a voltage with different polarities to the two ends of the MST coil according to data (e.g., a 0 or 1 bit). The data creating unit is capable of receiving data containing card information from the card information management unit and converting the data into a pulse signal of a logical low/high and [0145-0146] - The activation of a reception mode may be a process of detecting a magnetic field, generated from an external device (e.g., a payment processing device), and blocking the power supply or switching the power supply from a current state to a pull-down state in order to measure an induced electromotive force generated by the first coil, based on the detected magnetic field…If the reception mode of the first coil is activated, the processor is capable of measuring the magnitude of a voltage (e.g., the induced voltage) corresponding to the induced electromotive force that the first coil generated. If the electronic device has approached a payment processing device, the processor is capable of amplifying a magnetic field generated from a payment processing device via the attractor of the electronic device), indicating to the user that the activity computing device is prepared to receive the activity instrument so as to facilitate a performance of the activity (See Bark ¶ [0147] - If the induced voltage is greater than a reference voltage, it indicates that the electronic device is close to a payment processing device so that a payment function may be performed).
wherein the at least one first magnetic component comprises an electromagnet (See Bark ¶ [0108] - The FPCB is capable of including an attractor for amplifying a magnetic field generated from the payment processing device. The attractor is made of ferrite and a metal. The attractor may be implemented with a magnetic body. The attractor may be disposed adjacent to the voltage detecting coil so that the detecting coil may easily detect an amplified magnetic field [electromagnet by example]);
wherein the electromagnet is configured to change from the first polarity to the third polarity via a direction of an electric current passing therethrough (See Bark ¶ [0111] – The data creating unit is capable of controlling the direction of current flowing into the MST coil by applying a voltage with different polarities to the two ends of the MST coil … The driver may include an H-bridge for controlling the polarity of a voltage applied to the two ends of the MST coil and [0116] - The power supply is capable of supplying power to the NFC coil. If a temperature is measured via the NFC coil, the power supply is capable of applying a default level of voltage required to measure the temperature to the NFC coil. In this case, the power supply may be in a pull-up state. If an induced electromotive force for a payment processing device is measured by using the NFC coil, the power supply is capable of switching the state of power applied to the NFC coil from a current state to a pull-down state).
While Bark teaches an electronic device interacting with a payment processing device based on different polarities of multiple magnetic fields to create a pulling force when said electronic device approaches said payment processing terminal (Bark ¶ [0041-0042], [0110-0111] and [0145-0147]), Bark does not explicitly teach that within said interaction of magnetic fields the second magnetic field has a second polarity that is the same as the first polarity so that the activity computing device generates a repulsive force … indicating to the user that the activity computing device is not prepared to receive the activity instrument. This is taught by Chiu (See Chiu ¶ [0054] – When tag device [activity instrument] is brought proximate to the slot area, the tag device will be aligned within the slot via the magnetic coupling of the three pairs of magnet. In a preferred embodiment, the counter-magnets may be provided on the front surface of the tag device. In this way, the tag device may be repelled by a mutual repulsive force generated between the magnets and the counter-magnets of the same polarity. Advantageously, such a resistance of the tag device from being secured by the tag holder may provide a (tactile) signal to the user that the back surface of the tag device is now facing toward the tag holder, avoiding the user from misaligning the tag device with the tag holder and therefore misaligning the feeder and the radiator, which may eventually lead to a failure of reading the tag). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the magnetic polarity based device interaction for payment processing system of Bark the function of repelling devices from interacting with each other when said devices are misaligned or otherwise not prepared for said interacting with each other by using the same magnetic polarities between said devices as taught by Chiu to accurately align and removably secure an RFID tagged card within the slot of the tag such that the communication link may be guaranteed when the RFID card and the tag holder are combined or placed proximate to each other (Chiu ¶ [0063]), thereby increasing the accuracy of the magnetic polarity based device interaction for payment processing system of Bark.
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 1 and 11, wherein the instructions further cause the activity computing device to:
receiving, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device, a second indication that the activity is ready to be performed using the activity instrument (As the specification of the instant application uses activation and authentication interchangeably, see Bark ¶ [0145] - The processor is capable of activating a reception mode (e.g., a voltage detection function) of the first coil adjacent to the second coil. The activation of a reception mode may be a process of detecting a magnetic field, generated from an external device (e.g., a payment processing device));
transmitting, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device, a request to activate the activity instrument for performing the activity to a server of an entity associated with the activity instrument (As the specification of the instant application uses activation and authentication interchangeably, see Bark ¶ [0114] - The card information management unit is capable of storing card details. If the user authentication unit authenticates a user, the controller checks information regarding the authenticated user from the card information management unit… The electronic device is capable of receiving card information (e.g., track 1, track 2, track 3 or token information) included in at least a part of a magnetic stripe of a card (e.g., a magnetic card) from a card issuing company or bank server via a communication module); and
receiving, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device, a third indication of an activation status of the activity instrument before instructing the at least one first magnetic component (As the specification of the instant application uses activation and authentication interchangeably, see Bark ¶ [0138] - the processor executes an application (e.g., an application program) to perform a payment. The processor completes user authentication to perform a payment function. The reception of a payment command as in step 701 refers to a state where the user authentication corresponding to a payment function is completed).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 2 and 12, wherein the instructions further cause the activity computing device to/ comprising:
receiving, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device, an alert that authentication of the user is required prior to an activation of the activity instrument (See Bark ¶ [0047] - The electronic device is capable of repeating the transmission of a magnetic field signal from the time of user authentication. The electronic device is capable of stopping the generation of a set of magnetic field signals before the electronic device approaches the payment processing device. FIG. 2A is an illustration of a case where a time required for payment is greater than a generation time of a magnetic field signal. In this case, the electronic device must repeat the payment sequence to execute the payment function, which causes a user to repeat user authentication, which inconveniences the user and [0156] - the processor is capable of informing a user of a guide message [alert] as to whether the electronic device must be closer to a payment processing device).
Regarding Claim 4 and 16, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 3 and 15, wherein the authentication of the user comprises:
entering at least one of a password or a pin into a financial application on the user computing device (See Bark ¶ [0044] - a procedure for performing a payment function may include a process for authenticating a user via an application for performing a payment function (e.g., fingerprint authentication, password authentication, iris authentication));
wherein the financial application is associated with the entity (See Bark ¶ [0081] – an API as part of a program module downloaded from a server and [0114] – receiving information from a bank server).
Regarding Claim 5 and 14, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 3 and 13, wherein the instructions further cause the activity computing device to/ comprising:
receiving, by the at least one processor of the activity computing device:
an alert that the user was authenticated; or
an alert that the user was not authenticated (See Bark ¶ [0047] - The electronic device is capable of repeating the transmission of a magnetic field signal from the time of user authentication. The electronic device is capable of stopping the generation of a set of magnetic field signals before the electronic device approaches the payment processing device. FIG. 2A is an illustration of a case where a time required for payment is greater than a generation time of a magnetic field signal. In this case, the electronic device must repeat the payment sequence to execute the payment function, which causes a user to repeat user authentication, which inconveniences the user and [0156] - the processor is capable of informing a user of a guide message [alert] as to whether the electronic device must be closer to a payment processing device);
wherein the activity instrument is activated if the user is authenticated; and
wherein the activity instrument is not activated if the user is not authenticated (See Bark ¶ [0046-0047] - the electronic device is capable of performing user authentication via fingerprint recognition. The electronic device is handed over to a cashier. If the cashier holds the electronic device near a payment processing device (e.g., a POS terminal, a card reader), the electronic device completes the payment function … The electronic device is capable of repeating the transmission of a magnetic field signal from the time of user authentication. The electronic device is capable of stopping the generation of a set of magnetic field signals before the electronic device approaches the payment processing device. FIG. 2A is an illustration of a case where a time required for payment is greater than a generation time of a magnetic field signal. In this case, the electronic device must repeat the payment sequence to execute the payment function [user is not authenticated], which causes a user to repeat user authentication, which inconveniences the user).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Bark teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the activity computing device is configured to provide an indication when the activity is completed, and the activity instrument is ready to be removed (See Bark ¶ [0050] – if the electronic device receives an acknowledgement (approval) message for the payment completion, the electronic device recognizes that the payment has been completed and stops generating the magnetic field signal).
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 1 and 11, wherein the activity computing device comprises a sensor configured to detect a polarity of the second magnetic field (See Bark ¶ [0110-0111] – The controller is capable of detecting a magnetic field generated by a payment processing device via the voltage detecting coil [sensor by example], and measuring a magnitude of an induced voltage (e.g., an induced electromotive force) corresponding to the detected magnetic field via the voltage measuring unit … The driver may include an H-bridge for controlling the polarity of a voltage applied to the two ends of the MST coil).
Regarding Claim 9 and 19, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 1 and 11, wherein the second polarity of the second magnetic field of the activity instrument is a known polarity (See Bark ¶ [0110-0111] – The controller is capable of detecting a magnetic field generated by a payment processing device via the voltage detecting coil [sensor by example], and measuring a magnitude of an induced voltage (e.g., an induced electromotive force) corresponding to the detected magnetic field via the voltage measuring unit … The driver may include an H-bridge for controlling the polarity of a voltage applied to the two ends of the MST coil and [0130] - determines whether the measured induced voltage is greater than the first reference voltage. By controlling the polarity of an induced voltage and comparing said induced voltage with a reference voltage, the polarity must be known).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Bark teaches:
The system of claim 14, wherein the activity instrument is associated with a financial application on a computing device of the user (See Bark ¶ [0044] - a procedure for performing a payment function may include a process for authenticating a user via an application for performing a payment function (e.g., fingerprint authentication, password authentication, iris authentication), [0081] – an API as part of a program module downloaded from a server and [0114] – receiving information from a bank server).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bark et al. (US 2017/0344999 A1) in view of Chiu et al. (US 2022/0207318 A1) and Levesque et al. (US 2020/0082678 A1).
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, modified Bark teaches:
The method/ system of claim 1 and 11, wherein the activity instrument further comprises at least one vibration component (See claim 1 and 8 as noted above and ¶ [0084] – the electronic device converting an electrical signal into mechanical vibrations for a vibration/ haptic effect.)
While Bark teaches an electronic device interacting with a payment processing device based on different polarities of multiple magnetic fields to create a pulling force as well as vibrating for a haptic effect when said electronic device approaches said payment processing terminal (Bark ¶ [0041-0042], [0084] [0110-0111] and [0145-0147]), Bark does not explicitly teach that said vibrating is to vibrate the activity instrument when the activity instrument is in proximal engagement with the activity computing device, indicating to the user that the activity computing device is not prepared to receive the activity instrument. This is taught by Levesque (See Levesque ¶ [0013] – When the credit card reader detects the credit card is within proximity of the wireless card reader, the credit card reader activates the electromagnet, which attracts the piece of steel and draws the credit card towards the reader, providing a haptic effect to the shopper. Thus, the shopper is informed that the credit card reader has detected the credit card and is attempting to read the financial information… If the credit card reader was unable to obtain the financial information, the credit card reader may instead pulse the electromagnet to induce a vibration in the credit card to indicate that the financial information could not be obtained. Thereby indicating to the user that the activity computing device is not prepared to receive the activity instrument by example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the magnetic polarity based device interaction and haptic feedback for payment processing system of Bark the function of providing haptic feedback through vibration based on said interaction between said devices as taught by Levesque to enable haptic feedback capability in ordinary objects without the expense or impracticality of incorporating a power supply, haptic effect logic and circuitry, and a haptic output device, such as an actuator (Levesque ¶ [0014]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the magnetic polarity based device interaction and haptic feedback for payment processing system of Bark.
Invocation of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f):
The amendments to the instant application do not fully resolve the previous issue regarding 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). The magnetic component of claims 1 and 11 has been amended to show that said magnetic component is an electromagnet. This element no longer invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). The other elements previously noted as invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) have not been amended and remain to invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as noted above.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
The amendments to independent claims 1 and 11 do not overcome the previously cited prior art combination of Bark and Chiu. Therefore, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that said combination of Bark and Chiu does not teach changing “from the fist polarity to the third polarity” to generate a “repulsive force” when in the first mode, and a “pulling magnetic force” when in the second mode as required by independent claims 1 and 11, said prior art combination does in fact teach these features. The applicant fails to consider the prior art references in their entirety and argues against the references individually when it is that combination of references that is the basis of the rejection. Citations from Bark have been added to show teaching of these features. Specifically, Bark at ¶ [0108], [0111] and [0116] teach using an electromagnet, switching between polarities when required and that said polarities are pull-up [repulsive] or pull-down [pulling/ attractive]. Chiu is cited to explicitly teach a repulsive force between magnetic elements. Bark and Chiu are an obvious combination to one of ordinary skill in the art for reasons noted above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as well as both systems execute payment transactions based in part on alignment or positioning of magnetic components engaged in said transactions.
Contrary to the applicant’s assertion that Bark and Chiu do not teach the claimed readiness-state interaction “when in the first mode: … not prepared to receive the activity instrument; when in the second mode: … prepared to receive the activity instrument”., said prior art combination does in fact teach these features. The applicant’s arguments fail to consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as they are currently disclosed, as well as arguing against the references individually when it is that combination of references that is the basis of the rejection. As noted above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Bark teaches the mode of readiness when an electromagnetic device is ready to receive an activity instrument, while Chiu teaches the mode of the device not being ready to receive the activity instrument. This is further illustrated by Levesque in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 regarding claims 7 and 17.
Dependent claims 2-9 and 12-19 remain rejected for dependency on their respective rejected independent base claims and as described above in the current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
The applicant is generally reminded that prior art must be considered in its entirety (MPEP 2141.02 (VI)). Moreover, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627