DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 8-11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 8 each recite “three three” in line 2. This is presumed to be a typographical error and the second occurrence of three is interpreted to be deleted.
Claims 4-5 and 9-11 are objected to based on dependency from an objected to clam.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a condenser unit” in claims 1 and 7 and “an expansion device” in claims 6 and 12.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“a condenser unit” corresponds to a compressor, air conditioner, or heat pump as described in paragraph 0006 of the published application;
“an expansion device” corresponds to a conventional thermal expansion valve, a mixed-phase regulator and surge vessel (reservoir) or the like as described in paragraph 0036 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanamurthy et al (US 20080034760) in view of Jayarathne (US 2020/0271354).
Regarding claim 1, Narayanamurthy teaches a thermal storage and cooling system (fig. 2), comprising: a condenser unit (111, 102) configured to receive warm refrigerant and supply cool refrigerant (refrigerant comes out of the condenser as a warm, high-pressure liquid refrigerant delivered through a high-pressure liquid supply line 112 to an expansion device 130, Low-pressure vapor phase and liquid refrigerant is then returned to compressor 110 via low pressure return line 118 completing the refrigeration loop, paragraph 0015); a first supply line (annotated fig. below) capable of supplying the cool refrigerant from the condenser unit to a vessel (146); a second supply line (annotated fig. below) that carries the cool refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel to either a primary heat exchanger (106) or to an evaporator coil (122) inside an air handler (150); the primary heat exchanger, comprising: a tank (140) that holds ice and water (fluid/ice, paragraph 0016); and a plurality of coils (142) that run vertically from the bottom of the tank to the top of the tank through the ice and water (paragraph 0016, Fig. 1); a first return line (annotated fig. below) that carries gas phase refrigerant and connects the coils at the top of the tank to the condenser unit (paragraph 0015) and also connects the coils at the top of the tank to the top of the vessel (paragraph 0021); a refrigerant pump (120) configured to suck the cool refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel and from the bottom of the tank through the second supply line and direct it to the evaporator coil (paragraph 0019); and the air handler, enabling the air handler to blow warm air across the evaporator coil, thus generating a stream of cooler air (paragraph 0019) and warming the cold refrigerant (paragraph 0019), wherein after passing through the evaporator coil the warm refrigerant is returned through a second return line (annotate fig. below) to the vessel but fails to explicitly teach wherein the evaporator coil is integrated inside the air handler.
However, Jayarathne teaches an HVAC system wherein evaporator 80 is disposed within air handler 108 (Fig. 5; para. 0039; etc.) to facilitate he flow of air across the evaporator and into the space to be conditioned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to modify the evaporator of Narayanamurthy et al. to be integrated inside the air handler in view of Jayarathne for the simple purpose of facilitating the flow of air across the evaporator and into the space to be conditioned.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “configured to”, “capable of”, and “is returned”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the combined teachings teach the system is configured to operate in one of three modes: ice make mode (ice make, paragraph 0022 of Narayanamurthy), ice melt mode (ice melt, paragraph 0022 of Narayanamurthy) and direct cooling mode (direct cooling, paragraph 0030, 0033 of Narayanamurthy), wherein ice make mode generates ice inside the tank (form ice, paragraph 0006, 0018, 0022 of Narayanamurthy), ice melt mode uses the ice in the tank to generate cooling (cooling, paragraph 0019, 0022 of Narayanamurthy) and direct cooling mode uses the condenser unit to provide cooling (paragraph 0033 of Narayanamurthy).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the combined teachings teach when operating in ice make mode the second supply line is configured to direct the cold refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel only to the bottom of the coils in the tank, wherein the water in the tank warms the refrigerant causing it to boil and generate gas phase refrigerant that rises through the coils (paragraph 0022, 0025 of Narayanamurthy).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the combined teachings teach operating in ice melt mode: the condenser unit is turned off and doesn't supply refrigerant (paragraph 0019 with valves, paragraph 0025 of Narayanamurthy); vapor phase refrigerant inside the vessel is sucked out the vessel through vapor lines emanating from the top of vessel and enter the coils at the top of the tank; the vapor phase refrigerant condenses as it descends through the coils to the bottom of the tank to form cool liquid phase refrigerant; and the second supply line is configured to direct the cold liquid phase refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel and from the coils at the bottom of the tank to the evaporator coil inside the air handler (paragraph 0019 of Narayanamurthy, Fig. 5; para. 0039 of Jayarathne).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the combined teaching teach when operating in direct cooling mode: the condenser unit generates cool refrigerant which flows through the first supply line into the vessel; the cool refrigerant at the bottom of vessel is sucked out by the pump through the second supply line and is directed to the evaporator coil; no refrigerant is drawn from the tank; the action of the air handler warms the refrigerant inside the evaporator coil, resulting in warmer liquid and gas phase refrigerant; the warmer liquid and gas phase refrigerant returns to the vessel through the second return line; and gas phase refrigerant inside the vessel returns to the condenser unit through a return line where it is transformed to cool liquid phase refrigerant (fig. 5, paragraph 0033 of Narayanamurthy).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, the combined teaching teach an expansion device (130 of Narayanamurthy), wherein the expansion device is inline with the first supply line that carries the cool refrigerant from the condenser unit to the vessel, further cooling the refrigerant (fig. 2 of Narayanamurthy).
Regarding claim 7, Narayanamurthy teaches a thermal storage and cooling device (fig. 2) that integrates with a condenser unit (111, 102) and an air handler (150), comprising: a first supply line (annotated fig. below) capable of supplying the cool refrigerant from the condenser unit to a vessel (146); a second supply line (annotated fig. below) that carries the cool refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel to either a primary heat exchanger (106) or to an evaporator coil (122); the primary heat exchanger, comprising: a tank(140) that holds ice and water (fluid/ice, paragraph 0016); and a plurality of coils (142) that run vertically from the bottom of the tank to the top of the tank through the ice and water (paragraph 0016, Fig. 1); a first return line (annotated fig. below) that either directs gas phase refrigerant from the coils at the top of the tank to the condenser unit (paragraph 0015) or directs gas phase refrigerant from the top of the vessel to the coils at the top of the tank (paragraph 0022); a refrigerant pump (120) configured to suck the cool refrigerant from the bottom of the vessel and from the bottom of the tank through the second supply line and direct it to the evaporator coil (paragraph 0019), enabling the air handler to blow warm air across the evaporator coil (paragraph 0019), thus generating a stream of cooler air and warming the cold refrigerant (paragraph 0019), wherein after passing through the evaporator coil the warm refrigerant is returned through a second return line to the vessel (annotated fig. below) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the evaporator coil is integrated inside the air handler.
However, Jayarathne teaches an HVAC system wherein evaporator 80 is disposed within air handler 108 (Fig. 5; para. 0039; etc.) to facilitate he flow of air across the evaporator and into the space to be conditioned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to modify the evaporator of Narayanamurthy et al. to be integrated inside the air handler in view of Jayarathne for the simple purpose of facilitating the flow of air across the evaporator and into the space to be conditioned.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “configured to”, “capable of”, and “is returned”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763