DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
This action is in response to the application filed 04/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The use of the terms NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000, CAN, Raspberry Pi, PiCAN-M, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 17 contain the trademark/trade name NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 (repeated throughout the claims). Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe data systems and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Claim will be further interpreted to correspond to any data system(s) capable of the claimed limitations. All Dependent Claims rejected based at least upon their dependency on indefinite claims.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name Raspberry Pi (repeated in Claim 19). Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a type of computer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Claim will be further interpreted to correspond to any computer capable of the claimed limitations.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name CAN bus (repeated throughout the claims). Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a type of communications bus and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Claim will be further interpreted to correspond to any communications bus capable of the claimed limitations.
Claim 5 contains the trademark/trade name PiCAN-M. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a type of communications bus and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Claim will be further interpreted to correspond to any communications bus capable of the claimed limitations.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " the CAN bus interface board". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isojarvi (US20200363209) in view of Morford (US20250201031).
Claim 1:
Isojarvi explicitly teaches:
A system for remotely monitoring marine vessel data, comprising:
a computing device having a processor, a memory, and a plurality of communication interfaces, wherein the plurality of communication interfaces include a first interface configured to connect to a vessel's NMEA 0183 data system, a second interface configured to connect to the vessel's NMEA 2000 data system, and a third interface configured to connect to the vessel's internet connection;
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
Examiner Note: See 112(b) rejection.
a data cache configured to store vessel data; and
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The memory 220 may serve the sole purpose of storing data, or it may be constructed as a part of an apparatus serving other purposes, such as processing data. A proprietary sensor data application (client application) 231, activity data and environmental data may be stored to the memory 220.” (Para 0117)
a software application stored in the memory and executed by the processor, the software application configured to:
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
receive, via the first and second interfaces, vessel data from the NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 data systems;
(Isojarvi) – “A computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices includes receiving a first sensor data item with first sensor data of a first sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices” (Abstract)
“The AIS receiver (comprised by the communication interface 293 or the communication interface within the sensor device 290) may receive a wireless transmission comprising an AIS signal from the same marine vessel 121 to which the sensor device 290 is affixed. The sensor device 290 may beforehand store information identifying the marine vessel 121 (for example, International Maritime Organization (IMO) ship identification number or Maritime Mobile Service Identity (MMSI)) so that it is able to determine that the AIS signal relates to the marine vessel 121 to which it is affixed. The AIS signal includes several pieces of information relating to the marine vessel, for example, the vessel's identity, type, position, course, speed, navigational status and other safety-related information. The sensor device 290 may transmit to the local computer 291 the AIS signal as it was received (in other words, every piece of information contained in the AIS signal). In another example, the sensor device 290 may select a subset of information included in the AIS signal to be included in the sensor data. In one example, the subset includes at least position and/or time information of the marine vessel 121.” (Para 0145)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
transmit, via the third interface, the vessel data in real-time to a remote server using the vessel's internet connection;
(Isojarvi) – “Real-time interaction may be provided between the apparatus 120 and the server 130 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150. Real-time interaction may also be provided between the apparatus 120 and the remote user device 160 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150, 161.” (Para 0094)
“A sensor data item is generated by a sensor device of the marine vessel 121 and transmitted to the server 130. Sensor data items may be processed at the apparatus 120 before transmitting or they may be sent without further processing.” (Para 0095)
“Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
store the vessel data in the data cache when the vessel's internet connection is unavailable; and
(Isojarvi) – “Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The memory 220 may serve the sole purpose of storing data, or it may be constructed as a part of an apparatus serving other purposes, such as processing data. A proprietary sensor data application (client application) 231, activity data and environmental data may be stored to the memory 220.” (Para 0117)
Examiner Note: Isojarvi teaches storing vessel data in a storage. By nature, if no connection is available, it cannot be transmitted out.
transmit the stored vessel data to the remote server [upon reconnection of the vessel's internet connection].
(Isojarvi) – “Real-time interaction may be provided between the apparatus 120 and the server 130 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150. Real-time interaction may also be provided between the apparatus 120 and the remote user device 160 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150, 161.” (Para 0094)
“A sensor data item is generated by a sensor device of the marine vessel 121 and transmitted to the server 130. Sensor data items may be processed at the apparatus 120 before transmitting or they may be sent without further processing.” (Para 0095)
“Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Isojarvi does not explicitly teach:
upon reconnection of the vessel's internet connection
Morford, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle processing, teaches:
upon reconnection of the vessel's internet connection
(Morford) – “In some implementations, step 502 can include involve monitoring a physical connection between the diagnostic port of the vehicle and the VIA via a cable (e.g., cable 114). Monitoring could be conducted through electrical signaling or monitoring circuitry designed to sense the presence of a connected cable. In some implementations, this detection could trigger an interrupt or a status flag within the system signaling that a cable has been attached. Upon detecting the cable attachment, the method can then initiate the necessary processes to establish communication with the vehicle's diagnostic port. This step can include identifying the type of cable and, by extension, the diagnostic port type to which it is connected, leveraging the cable detection circuit 308 in VIA 104. In some implementations, detecting the cable attachment could also trigger a self-test or diagnostic routine within the VIA to ensure that the connection is sound and that the necessary hardware and software resources are in a ready state to proceed with the initialization process. The detection of cable attachment might also trigger alerts or status updates to other components within the system or to a central management system, indicating that the VIA is transitioning to an active state.” (Para 0080)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 2:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the software application is further configured to:
receive, from the remote server, user-specified configuration settings defining the vessel data to be transmitted and [a transmission frequency]; and
(Isojarvi) – “In an embodiment, a remote control apparatus 160 may be authenticated and configuration data sent from the control apparatus 160 to the system server 130, 131, wherein configuration settings may be modified based on the received data. In an embodiment, the modified settings may then be sent to the apparatus 120 over the network 150 and the local connection or the wireless operator. The modified settings may also be sent to external devices correspondingly, through the apparatus 120 or directly over the network 150, for example.” (Para 0109)
“In an embodiment, the system 100 may comprise a server apparatus 130, which comprises a storage device 131 for storing service data, service metrics and subscriber information, over data connection 151. The service data may comprise configuration data; account creation data; sensor data; sensor ID's; reference data items, user input data; real-time collaboration data; predefined settings; and attribute data, for example.” (Para 0102)
“In an embodiment, configuration information or application download information for any apparatus may be automatically downloaded and configured by the server 130. Thus, the user of the devices may not need to do any initialization or configuration for the service. The system server 130 may also take care of account creation process for the service, such sensor devices, apparatuses and users.” (Para 0105)
“In an embodiment, a service web application may be used for configuration of a system. The service web application may be run on any user device, admin device, or a remote control device 160, such as a personal computer connected to a public data network, such as Internet 150, for example. The control apparatus 160 may also be connected locally to the apparatus 120 over a local connection 123 and may utilize the network connections of the apparatus 120 for configuration purposes. The service web application of the control apparatus may provide searching/adding instruments, determining attributes, device setup and configuration, for example. The service web application of the control apparatus 160 may be a general configuration tool for tasks being too complex to be performed on the user interface of the apparatus 120, for example.” (Para 0108)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
apply the user-specified configuration settings to control the transmission of the vessel data.
(Isojarvi) – “In an embodiment, a remote control apparatus 160 may be authenticated and configuration data sent from the control apparatus 160 to the system server 130, 131, wherein configuration settings may be modified based on the received data. In an embodiment, the modified settings may then be sent to the apparatus 120 over the network 150 and the local connection or the wireless operator. The modified settings may also be sent to external devices correspondingly, through the apparatus 120 or directly over the network 150, for example.” (Para 0109)
“In an embodiment, the system 100 may comprise a server apparatus 130, which comprises a storage device 131 for storing service data, service metrics and subscriber information, over data connection 151. The service data may comprise configuration data; account creation data; sensor data; sensor ID's; reference data items, user input data; real-time collaboration data; predefined settings; and attribute data, for example.” (Para 0102)
“In an embodiment, configuration information or application download information for any apparatus may be automatically downloaded and configured by the server 130. Thus, the user of the devices may not need to do any initialization or configuration for the service. The system server 130 may also take care of account creation process for the service, such sensor devices, apparatuses and users.” (Para 0105)
“In an embodiment, a service web application may be used for configuration of a system. The service web application may be run on any user device, admin device, or a remote control device 160, such as a personal computer connected to a public data network, such as Internet 150, for example. The control apparatus 160 may also be connected locally to the apparatus 120 over a local connection 123 and may utilize the network connections of the apparatus 120 for configuration purposes. The service web application of the control apparatus may provide searching/adding instruments, determining attributes, device setup and configuration, for example. The service web application of the control apparatus 160 may be a general configuration tool for tasks being too complex to be performed on the user interface of the apparatus 120, for example.” (Para 0108)
Isojarvi does not explicitly teach:
a transmission frequency
Morford, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle processing, teaches:
a transmission frequency
(Morford) – “Alternatively, or in conjunction with the foregoing, the detection integrated circuit 206 could employ a passive resonance circuit that resonates at a particular frequency specific to the type of diagnostic port. When the cable is connected, the VIA could send a sweep of frequencies, and the resonance detected can indicate the type of diagnostic port.” (Para 0051)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 3:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the computing device is a single-board computer comprising a Raspberry Pi.
(Isojarvi) – “The computer device 291 may comprise a Raspberry Pi type of computer device, for example.” (Para 0153)
Examiner Note: See 112(b) rejection.
Claim 4:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
further comprising: a CAN bus interface board communicatively coupled to the computing device, the CAN bus interface board providing the interface for connecting to the vessel's NMEA 2000 data system.
(Isojarvi) – “In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the capturing device 260 are comprised in the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using an internal bus of the apparatus 120. In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the sensor device 260 are external devices connected to the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using communication interface 250 of the apparatus 120 or using the internal bus.” (Para 0123)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
Examiner Note: See 112(b) rejection.
Claim 5:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 4 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the CAN bus interface board is a PiCAN-M board.
(Isojarvi) – “In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the capturing device 260 are comprised in the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using an internal bus of the apparatus 120. In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the sensor device 260 are external devices connected to the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using communication interface 250 of the apparatus 120 or using the internal bus.” (Para 0123)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
“The computer device 291 may comprise a Raspberry Pi type of computer device, for example.” (Para 0153)
Examiner Note: See 112(b) rejection.
Claim 6:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
further comprising: a serial bus interface board communicatively coupled to the computing device, the serial bus interface board providing the interface for connecting to the vessel's NMEA 0183 data system.
(Isojarvi) – “In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the capturing device 260 are comprised in the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using an internal bus of the apparatus 120. In case the satellite positioning device 270 and the sensor device 260 are external devices connected to the apparatus 120 they may be connected to the apparatus 120 using communication interface 250 of the apparatus 120 or using the internal bus.” (Para 0123)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
Claim 7:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
further comprising an enclosure housing the computing device, wherein the enclosure is one of a custom 3D-printed enclosure or a stock enclosure provided with the CAN bus interface board.
(Isojarvi) – “The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, enclosure may correspond with any physical structure of the computing device. A stock enclosure may correspond with any structure. See 112(b) rejection.
Claim 9:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the software application is configured to run as a service on the computing device.
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
Claim 10:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the software application is remotely configurable via the remote server.
(Isojarvi) – “In an embodiment, configuration information or application download information for any apparatus may be automatically downloaded and configured by the server 130. Thus, the user of the devices may not need to do any initialization or configuration for the service. The system server 130 may also take care of account creation process for the service, such sensor devices, apparatuses and users.” (Para 0105)
“The service web application of the control apparatus may provide searching/adding instruments, determining attributes, device setup and configuration, for example. The service web application of the control apparatus 160 may be a general configuration tool for tasks being too complex to be performed on the user interface of the apparatus 120, for example.” (Para 0108)
Claim 11:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations in their entirety. Morford further teaches:
wherein the software application is further configured to: detect an interruption in the vessel's internet connection; and automatically transmit the stored vessel data to the remote server upon detecting a reconnection of the vessel's internet connection.
(Morford) – “In some implementations, step 502 can include involve monitoring a physical connection between the diagnostic port of the vehicle and the VIA via a cable (e.g., cable 114). Monitoring could be conducted through electrical signaling or monitoring circuitry designed to sense the presence of a connected cable. In some implementations, this detection could trigger an interrupt or a status flag within the system signaling that a cable has been attached. Upon detecting the cable attachment, the method can then initiate the necessary processes to establish communication with the vehicle's diagnostic port. This step can include identifying the type of cable and, by extension, the diagnostic port type to which it is connected, leveraging the cable detection circuit 308 in VIA 104. In some implementations, detecting the cable attachment could also trigger a self-test or diagnostic routine within the VIA to ensure that the connection is sound and that the necessary hardware and software resources are in a ready state to proceed with the initialization process. The detection of cable attachment might also trigger alerts or status updates to other components within the system or to a central management system, indicating that the VIA is transitioning to an active state.” (Para 0080)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 12:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the vessel data comprises at least one of GPS data, speed data, heading data, wind data, depth data, and engine performance data.
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“In an embodiment, the sensor device 260, 290 and the processing of the sensor data may provide a plurality of parameters relating to a marine vessel, for example one or more of the following: time, position (latitude & longitude), SOG (speed over ground), COG (course over ground), HDT (true heading), ROT (rate of turn), ETA (estimated time of arrival), draft, trim (pitch), list (roll), pitching, surging, rolling, swaying, yawing, heaving (and their characteristics like period, amplitude, harmonics etc.), vibrations in three dimensions, and propeller/engine RPM.” (Para 0138)
Claim 13:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the software application is further configured to:
process the vessel data received from the NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 data systems to generate processed vessel data; and
(Isojarvi) – “A sensor data item is generated by a sensor device of the marine vessel 121 and transmitted to the server 130. Sensor data items may be processed at the apparatus 120 before transmitting or they may be sent without further processing.” (Para 0095)
“According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
“A computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices includes receiving a first sensor data item with first sensor data of a first sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices” (Abstract)
“The AIS receiver (comprised by the communication interface 293 or the communication interface within the sensor device 290) may receive a wireless transmission comprising an AIS signal from the same marine vessel 121 to which the sensor device 290 is affixed. The sensor device 290 may beforehand store information identifying the marine vessel 121 (for example, International Maritime Organization (IMO) ship identification number or Maritime Mobile Service Identity (MMSI)) so that it is able to determine that the AIS signal relates to the marine vessel 121 to which it is affixed. The AIS signal includes several pieces of information relating to the marine vessel, for example, the vessel's identity, type, position, course, speed, navigational status and other safety-related information. The sensor device 290 may transmit to the local computer 291 the AIS signal as it was received (in other words, every piece of information contained in the AIS signal). In another example, the sensor device 290 may select a subset of information included in the AIS signal to be included in the sensor data. In one example, the subset includes at least position and/or time information of the marine vessel 121.” (Para 0145)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
transmit the processed vessel data to the remote server.
(Isojarvi) – “Real-time interaction may be provided between the apparatus 120 and the server 130 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150. Real-time interaction may also be provided between the apparatus 120 and the remote user device 160 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150, 161.” (Para 0094)
“A sensor data item is generated by a sensor device of the marine vessel 121 and transmitted to the server 130. Sensor data items may be processed at the apparatus 120 before transmitting or they may be sent without further processing.” (Para 0095)
“Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
Claim 14:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi further teaches:
wherein the computing device is configured for headless operation and remote access.
(Isojarvi) – “Real-time interaction may be provided between the apparatus 120 and the server 130 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150. Real-time interaction may also be provided between the apparatus 120 and the remote user device 160 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150, 161.” (Para 0094)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any operation which does not require direct user operation at the apparatus corresponds with headless operations, including operation through the remote user device or server.
Claim 15:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations in their entirety. Morford further teaches:
wherein the data cache is configured to store the vessel data in a queue for transmission to the remote server.
(Morford) – “In some implementations, the VIA might employ buffering mechanisms to temporarily store the incoming data, ensuring that no data is lost during periods of high data throughput or if processing delays occur. These buffering mechanisms might include circular buffers, FIFO (first-in, first-out) queues, or other data storage structures that can accommodate the flow of incoming data.” (Para 0090)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 16:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations in their entirety. Morford further teaches:
wherein the software application is further configured to:
encrypt the vessel data prior to transmitting the vessel data to the remote server; and
decrypt the user-specified configuration settings received from the remote server.
(Morford) – “In some implementations, controller 404 could function as an Electronic Logging Device (ELD) to record essential metrics pertaining to vehicle usage, driver behavior, and other operational parameters. The controller might capture and log data such as driving hours, vehicle speed, engine status, fuel consumption, and maintenance alerts, among others. In some implementations, this recorded data can be structured in a log format compliant with regulatory or organizational standards, ensuring adherence to legal and operational requirements. In some implementations, controller 404 might have a dedicated memory to securely store the logged data for a specified period or until it is uploaded to a central system. Periodically, or upon certain triggering events, controller 404 could initiate the transmission of the logged data to a central system via network interface 408. This central system could be a server managed by a fleet operator, a regulatory body, or a third-party service provider. In some implementations, the uploading process might be scheduled during low-traffic hours or while the vehicle is at rest to minimize the impact on network resources and vehicle operations. In some implementations, controller 404 may encrypt the data before transmission to ensure its integrity and confidentiality during transit. Furthermore, in some implementations, controller 404 might receive updates or instructions from the central system concerning logging parameters, operational thresholds, or firmware updates, enabling continuous alignment with evolving operational or regulatory requirements.” (Para 0074)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 17:
Isojarvi explicitly teaches:
A method for remotely monitoring marine vessel data, comprising: connecting a computing device to a vessel's NMEA 0183 data system via a first communication interface of the computing device; connecting the computing device to the vessel's NMEA 2000 data system via a second communication interface of the computing device; connecting the computing device to the vessel's internet connection via a third communication interface of the computing device;
(Isojarvi) – “According to a first example aspect of the disclosed embodiments there is provided a computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices” (Para 0014)
“The general structure of the apparatus 120 comprises a user interface 240, a communication interface 250, a satellite positioning device (GPS) 270, a capturing/sensor device 260 for capturing current activity data and/or current environmental data relating to the vessel, a processor 210, and a memory 220 coupled to the processor 210. The apparatus 120 further comprises software 230 stored in the memory 220 and operable to be loaded into and executed in the processor 210. The software 230 may comprise one or more software modules and can be in the form of a computer program product. The user apparatus 210 may further comprise a user interface controller 280.” (Para 0115)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
Examiner Note: See 112(b) rejection.
receiving, by the computing device via the first and second communication interfaces, vessel data from the NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 data systems;
(Isojarvi) – “A computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices includes receiving a first sensor data item with first sensor data of a first sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices” (Abstract)
“The AIS receiver (comprised by the communication interface 293 or the communication interface within the sensor device 290) may receive a wireless transmission comprising an AIS signal from the same marine vessel 121 to which the sensor device 290 is affixed. The sensor device 290 may beforehand store information identifying the marine vessel 121 (for example, International Maritime Organization (IMO) ship identification number or Maritime Mobile Service Identity (MMSI)) so that it is able to determine that the AIS signal relates to the marine vessel 121 to which it is affixed. The AIS signal includes several pieces of information relating to the marine vessel, for example, the vessel's identity, type, position, course, speed, navigational status and other safety-related information. The sensor device 290 may transmit to the local computer 291 the AIS signal as it was received (in other words, every piece of information contained in the AIS signal). In another example, the sensor device 290 may select a subset of information included in the AIS signal to be included in the sensor data. In one example, the subset includes at least position and/or time information of the marine vessel 121.” (Para 0145)
“The communication interface module 250 implements at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module 250 may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, LTE (Long Term Evolution), or 5G radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example. The communication interface module 250 may be integrated into the apparatus 120, or into an adapter, card or the like that may be inserted into a suitable slot or port of the apparatus 120. The communication interface module 250 may support one radio interface technology or a plurality of technologies. The apparatus 120 may comprise a plurality of communication interface modules 250.” (Para 0120)
“The sensor device 260, 290 may comprise communication interface module implementing at least part of data transmission. The communication interface module may comprise, e.g., a wireless or a wired interface module. The wireless interface may comprise such as a WLAN, Bluetooth, infrared (IR), radio frequency identification (RF ID), GSM/GPRS, CDMA, WCDMA, or LTE (Long Term Evolution) radio module. The wired interface may comprise such as universal serial bus (USB) or National Marine Electronics Association (NMEA) 0183/2000 standard for example.” (Para 0151)
transmitting, by the computing device via the third communication interface and the internet connection, the received vessel data in real-time to a remote server;
(Isojarvi) – “Real-time interaction may be provided between the apparatus 120 and the server 130 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150. Real-time interaction may also be provided between the apparatus 120 and the remote user device 160 to collaborate for marine vessel data over a network 150, 161.” (Para 0094)
“A sensor data item is generated by a sensor device of the marine vessel 121 and transmitted to the server 130. Sensor data items may be processed at the apparatus 120 before transmitting or they may be sent without further processing.” (Para 0095)
“Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The apparatus 120 is configured to be connectable to a public network 150, such as Internet, directly via local connection or via a wireless communication network 140 over a wireless connection 122. The wireless connection 122 may comprise a mobile cellular network, a satellite network or a wireless local area network (WLAN), for example. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, over a data connection 141. The apparatus 120 may be configured to be connectable to the public data communication network 150, for example the Internet, directly over a data connection that may comprise a fixed or wireless mobile broadband access. The wireless communication network 140 may be connected to a server apparatus 130 of the system 100, over a data connection.” (Para 0091)
detecting, by the computing device, that the internet connection is unavailable;
(Isojarvi) – “Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The memory 220 may serve the sole purpose of storing data, or it may be constructed as a part of an apparatus serving other purposes, such as processing data. A proprietary sensor data application (client application) 231, activity data and environmental data may be stored to the memory 220.” (Para 0117)
Examiner Note: Isojarvi teaches storing vessel data in a storage. By nature, if no connection is available, it cannot be transmitted out.
storing, in response to detecting the internet connection is unavailable, the received vessel data in a data cache of the computing device;
(Isojarvi) – “Sensor data may also be stored within the apparatus 120 before transmission over the network 150. Then again, transmitted sensor data may be stored/and or processed at the server apparatus 130 or at the remote user device 160.” (Para 0096)
“The memory 220 may serve the sole purpose of storing data, or it may be constructed as a part of an apparatus serving other purposes, such as processing data. A proprietary sensor data application (client application) 231, activity data and environmental data may be stored to the memory 220.” (Para 0117)
Examiner Note: Isojarvi teaches storing vessel data in a storage. By nature, if no connection is available, it cannot be transmitted out.
providing, by the remote server, remote access to the received vessel data to authorized users.
(Isojarvi) – “The user of the apparatus 120 or the remote user device 160 may need to be logged in with user credentials to a chosen service of the network server 130.” (Para 0099)
“In an embodiment, the system 100 may comprise a server apparatus 130, which comprises a storage device 131 for storing service data, service metrics and subscriber information, over data connection 151. The service data may comprise configuration data; account creation data; sensor data; sensor ID's; reference data items, user input data; real-time collaboration data; predefined settings; and attribute data, for example.” (Para 0102)
“A computer implemented method for providing marine vessel data of a marine vessel with a plurality of sensor devices includes receiving a first sensor data item with first sensor data of a first sensor device of the plurality of sensor devices” (Abstract)
Isojarvi does not explicitly teach:
detecting, by the computing device, that the internet connection has been re-established; transmitting, in response to detecting the internet connection has been re-established, the vessel data stored in the data cache to the remote server; and
Morford, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle processing, teaches:
detecting, by the computing device, that the internet connection has been re-established; transmitting, in response to detecting the internet connection has been re-established, the vessel data stored in the data cache to the remote server; and
(Morford) – “In some implementations, step 502 can include involve monitoring a physical connection between the diagnostic port of the vehicle and the VIA via a cable (e.g., cable 114). Monitoring could be conducted through electrical signaling or monitoring circuitry designed to sense the presence of a connected cable. In some implementations, this detection could trigger an interrupt or a status flag within the system signaling that a cable has been attached. Upon detecting the cable attachment, the method can then initiate the necessary processes to establish communication with the vehicle's diagnostic port. This step can include identifying the type of cable and, by extension, the diagnostic port type to which it is connected, leveraging the cable detection circuit 308 in VIA 104. In some implementations, detecting the cable attachment could also trigger a self-test or diagnostic routine within the VIA to ensure that the connection is sound and that the necessary hardware and software resources are in a ready state to proceed with the initialization process. The detection of cable attachment might also trigger alerts or status updates to other components within the system or to a central management system, indicating that the VIA is transitioning to an active state.” (Para 0080)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the vehicle interface of Morford. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “manage a power state of the system.” (Morford Para 0011)
Claim 18:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 2
Claim 19:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 3
Claim 20:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 4
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isojarvi (US20200363209) in view of Morford (US20250201031) further in view of Swatko (US11612084).
Claim 8:
Isojarvi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Isojarvi does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Swatko, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle data processing, teaches:
wherein the computing device further comprises a heatsink attached to the processor.
(Swatko) – “A thermal management system may cool at least a portion of a computer system with one or more cooling systems. The thermal management system can include one or more modular heatsink assemblies.” (Abstract)
“In some examples, the computing components cooled by the modular heatsink assemblies may comprise substantially planar cards or boards having a bank of integrated circuits disposed on one or both faces thereof such as a memory module. By way of example and not limitation, other computing components that can be cooled by the modular heatsink assemblies and/or components of the thermal management system described herein include other memory devices, central processor units, graphics processing units, voltage regulators, ethernet controllers, chipsets, solid-state drives, power supplies, image processing units, network interface cards, or any other computing component that generates heat.” (Col 2 Ln 27-39)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method for providing marine vessel data of Isojarvi with the modular heatsink of Swatko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “The modular heatsink assembly can also help hold the computer component in position, absorb vibrations, and/or protect the computing components from damage during operation of the vehicle and/or during collision.” (Swatko Col 2 Ln 23-26)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Coloney (US20160012758) teaches a similar remote diagnostic system for marine vessels.
Coloney (US20160012650) teaches a similar marine data collection system.
Law (US20230326265) teaches processor management including a heatsink.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3667