Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, as filed 25 April 2024, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of a typographical error. In Claim 8, the recitations: “in Chemical Formula 1-1,” and “in Chemical Formula 1-2,” should be amended to recite --in Chemical Formula 2-1,--and -- in Chemical Formula 2-2--, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20120088160 A1) in view of Choi (US 20220173439 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an electrolyte ([0007]) comprising:
a non-aqueous organic solvent; ([0007] non-aqueous electrolytes)
a lithium salt; ([0038])
a first additive represented by Chemical Formula 1; (Page 3, row 3, compound on the left, and [0070] “triglycidyl isocyanurate”. Examiner notes that this is also known as CAS No. 2451-62-9.)
in Chemical Formula 1, X1 to X3 are each N or CH and at least one selected from among X1 to X3 is N; L1 to L3 are each independently a single bond, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylene group; and R1 to R3 are each independently an epoxy group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, and at least one selected from among R1 to R3 is an epoxy group; (as shown at page 3, row 3, compound on the left, and [0070] triglycidyl isocyanurate)
wherein the electrolyte is for a rechargeable lithium battery. ([0002], [0007])
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 15, a rechargeable lithium battery comprising: a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material; ([0042] cathode active materials) a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material; ([0043] anode active materials) and the electrolyte as claimed in claim 1, and the limitation of claim 16, wherein the rechargeable lithium battery further comprises a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode and impregnated with the electrolyte. ([0041])
Zhang teaches [0007] that the disclosed additives at stabilizing additives that provide long life and high capacity retention. At [0017] Zhang discloses the use of one or more stabilizing additives but does not explicitly teach a second additive represented by Chemical Formula 2.
Choi, in the field of (abstract) electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery, discloses at [0110] the use of 0.5 wt % of 2-fluoro-1,3,2-dioxaphospholane, which Choi refers to as “Chemical Formula 1” and 0.5 wt % of chemical formula 2-1, represented by chemical formula 2.
Examiner notes that Choi’s “Chemical Formula 1” (2-fluoro-1,3,2-dioxaphospholane) disclosed at [0110] is known in the instant specification as Chemical Formula 2-2a-1 and Choi’s “Chemical Formula 2-1” (phosphorodifluoridous acid, ethylene ester), disclosed at [0056], is known in the instant specification as Chemical Formula 2-1a-1.
At [0008-0010], Choi discloses that Choi’s electrolyte non-aqueous electrolyte suppresses an increase in resistance during high - temperature storage and improves battery performance by reducing gas generation. Choi at [0047-0048] discloses that [Choi’s] Chemical Formula 2 may form a stable SEI film having high heat resistance through a synergy effect with the phosphite functional group of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, so that the SEI film may remain still firm (e.g., may be stable) even when stored for a long time at a high temperature. As the SEI film is maintained, the SEI film may prevent or reduce exposure of the surface of the positive electrode and may thus more effectively suppress or reduce reactions on the interface of the positive electrode with the electrolyte, suppress or reduce high temperature-gas generation due to the stable film at a high temperature, and also suppress or reduce decomposition of the solvent of the electrolyte, thereby improving the high temperature storage characteristics of a rechargeable lithium battery.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the electrolyte of Zhang by adding the compounds of Choi’s Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 at 0.5 wt% each, with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving the high temperature storage characteristics of a rechargeable lithium battery. This renders obvious the second additive represented by Chemical Formula 2, as set forth in the instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 -6 and 17, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Zhang’s teaching at page 3, row 3 and [0070] of “triglycidyl isocyanurate”(CAS No. 2451-62-9) renders obvious the limitations of clams 2-6 and 17.
Regarding claims 7-10 and 18 -19, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Choi, as set forth in claim 1 and incorporated herein by reference, renders obvious the modification of Zhang’s electrolyte by adding the compounds of Choi’s Chemical Formula 1 and Choi’s Chemical Formula 2 at 0.5 wt% each, [Equivalent to the instant Chemical Formula 2-1a-1 and Chemical Formula 2-2a-1] thus rendering obvious the limitations of claims 7-10 and 18-19.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Zhang at [0028] teaches the stabilizing additive at 5 wt% to 20 wt%. Zhang in view of Choi, as set forth in claim 1 and incorporated herein by reference, renders obvious the modification of Zhang’s electrolyte by adding the compounds of Choi’s Chemical Formula 1 and Choi’s Chemical Formula 2 at 0.5 wt% each, therefore “second additive” is at 1 wt.%. The created a weight ratio of 5:1 to 20: 1, which falls within the claimed range of about 2:1 to about 100:1.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Zhang at [0028] teaches the stabilizing additive at 5 wt% to 20 wt%, which equals the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Choi, as set forth in claim 1 and incorporated herein by reference, renders obvious the modification of Zhang’s electrolyte by adding the compounds of Choi’s Chemical Formula 1 and Choi’s Chemical Formula 2 at 0.5 wt% each, therefore “second additive” is at 1 wt.%, which falls within the claimed range of about 0.1 to about 2 wt%, based on a total amount of the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Choi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. At [0039] Zhang teaches that candidates for the non-aqueous organic solvent include ethylene carbonate, ethylmethyl carbonate, and dimethyl carbonate. While Zhang does not teach a specific embodiment having EC, EMC, and DC, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select EC, EMC, and DC as components for the organic solvent of the instant electrolyte as they represent three known solutions to the problem of electrolyte selection. Choi at [0109] and Table 1, disclose an EC:EMC:DC solvent electrolyte with excellent storage properties after high temperature use, providing further motivation for the selection of this solvent combination, with a reasonable expectation of creating an electrolyte with good high temperature storage properties.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 8-13, and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/670386 (reference application) in view of Zhang (US 20120088160 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the reference application recites in part: “A rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material; a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material; an electrolyte solution for a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive, wherein the additive comprises a first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2, and the positive electrode active material comprises lithium nickel composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 3…” The reference claim 1 is similar to the instant claim 1, except that the reference claim 1 requires a positive active material which can be NMC. The use of NMC as a positive active material is well known in the art, evidence is provided by Zhang at [0042]. Dependent claims 2-8 of the reference application contain limitations similar to the dependent claims 2-3, 8-13 and 15-17 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751