DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should recite “The device of claim 21.” Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 in view of Kachare et al. (US 2022/0083257).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
A device, comprising:
memory cells having a storage capacity (claim 1: local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via network storage services provided over the network interface);
a first interface to a host system (claim 1: a bus connector configured to be connected to a computer bus external to the storage product as manufactured…provide, through the bus connector, the first messages to a local host system);
a second interface to a computer network (claim 1: a network interface operable on a computer network to receive storage access messages from a remote host system) to provide storage services using the storage capacity (claim 1: local storage device having a storage capacity accessible via network storage services provided over the network interface); and
a computational storage processor (claim 1: a computational storage processor);
wherein the device is configured to provide at least a first portion of storage access messages received in the second interface to the computational storage processor (claim 1: separate the storage access messages into first messages, second messages, and third messages; claim 1: provide the second messages to the computational storage processor) and a second portion of the storage access messages to the host system in providing the storage services (claim 1: provide, through the bus connector, the first messages to a local host system, external to the storage product and connected to the computer bus), wherein:
the storage access messages are received in the second interface from another device via the computer network (claim 1: a network interface operable on a computer network to receive storage access messages from a remote host system); and…
U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 does not appear to explicitly teach “the second portion of the storage access messages received from the computing device is not provided to the memory cells or the computational storage processor.” However, Kachare et al. disclose:
the second portion of the storage access messages received from the computing device is not provided to the memory cells or the computational storage processor ([0054] the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 further discloses:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first interface is configured to operate on a computer bus external to the device manufactured as a storage product (claim 1: a bus connector configured to be connected to a computer bus external to the storage product as manufactured).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 2, wherein the second interface is configured as a network interface of the storage product to operate on the computer network (claim 1: a network interface operable on a computer network to receive storage access messages from a remote host system).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 3, further comprising:
a logic circuit (claim 2: a processing device) configured to separate the first portion of the storage access messages and the second portion of the storage access messages (claim 1: wherein the storage product is configured to: separate the storage access messages into first messages, second messages, and third messages).
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 4, wherein the storage services are provided via executing commands in:
a third portion of the storage access messages that does not go through the host system and does not go through the computational storage processor (claim 1: the third messages from the network interface without going through the local host system and the computational storage processor);
first messages from the computational storage processor, responsive to the first portion of the storage access messages (claim 1: provide the second messages to the computational storage processor to generate fifth messages); and
second messages from the host system, responsive to the second portion of the storage access messages (claim 1: the first messages to a local host system, external to the storage product and connected to the computer bus, to generate fourth messages).
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 5, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to reconstruct the storage access messages from incoming packets received at the network interface from the computer network (claim 2: a processing device coupled to the network interface to generate the storage access messages from incoming packets received at the network interface from the computer network).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 6, wherein the logic circuit includes a processor separate from the computational storage processor (claim 3: the processing device is separate from the computational storage processor).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 6, wherein the logic circuit is configured to set up, based on the second messages, computation instructions (claim 6: the local host system is configured to set up computation instructions via processing the first messages); and
the computational storage processor is configured via the computation instructions to process the first portion of the storage access messages (claim 6: the computational storage processor is configured via the computation instructions to generate the fifth messages from processing of the second messages).
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 8, wherein the storage product is configured in a form of an expansion card connected to the computer bus via insertion into an expansion slot on a mother board (claim 9: wherein the storage product is configured in a form of an expansion card connected to the computer bus via insertion into an expansion slot on a mother board).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11,983,434 discloses:
The device of claim 8, further comprising:
a casing or housing configured to enclose the storage product as manufactured (claim 10: a casing or housing enclosing the network interface, the local storage device, the computational storage processor, and the processing device).
Claims 11-20 of the instant application recite limitations that are substantially similar to the limitation of claim 1-10 rejected above. Additionally, claims 11-20 of the instant application correspond to various limitations as recited in claims 1-20 of the US Patent No. No. 11,983,434. Therefore, claims 11-20 of the instant application and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting on the same rationale as claims 1-10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-12, 16-17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare et al. and Strong et al. (US 2015/0199298).
Regarding claim 1, Kachare et al. disclose:
A device, comprising:
memory cells having a storage capacity (FIG. 4 Memory 228, 224, 204; [0024] SSDs which may include solid state media such as not-AND (NAND) flash memory; [0026] SSDs which may include solid state media such as not-AND (NAND) flash memory; [0028] memory 228 such as DRAM, SRAM, nonvolatile memory, and/or the like; One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that memory of the storage device has a storage capacity and is composed memory cells);
a first interface to a host system (FIG. 4 Host Interface 406);
a second interface to a computer network to provide storage services using the storage capacity (FIG. 4 NIC 460; [0054] the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462); and
a computational storage processor (FIG. 5 Attachable Compute Module 420);
wherein the device is configured to provide at least a first portion of storage access messages received in the second interface to the computational storage processor (FIG. 4 468; [0052] The NIC 460 may be configured to access the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 directly through an interface 468, which may also be implemented using any suitable interconnect and/or network interface and/or protocol including any of those mentioned above) and a second portion of the storage access messages to the host system in providing the storage services (FIG. 4 470; [0053] The NIC 460 may be configured to access the host interface 406 directly through an interface 470, which may also be implemented using any suitable interconnect and/or network interface and/or protocol including any of those mentioned above, wherein:
the storage access messages are received in the second interface from a computing device via the computer network (FIG. 4 NIC 460; [0054] the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462; It is noted that “a computing device” does not limit the structure of the claimed “device” and does not serve as a patentable distinction); and
the second portion of the storage access messages received from the computing device is not provided to the memory cells or the computational storage processor ([0054] the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462).
Kachare et al. disclose the limitations of claim 1. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “storage access messages,” Kachare’s teachings of a communication to access resources on a storage device are storage access messages. However, in the alternative, Strong et al. disclose:
storage access messages ([0019] a message (e.g., a write request) includes a command to access a storage device)
Kachare et al. and Strong et al. are analogous art because they teach storage systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kachare et al. and Strong et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of Kachare et al. with the Strong et al. teachings of messages because such a modification would have amounted to little more than combining "familiar elements according to known methods" and would have been obvious because it would have done "no more than yield predictable results." (MPEP 2143 I.A.) It is a well-known that messages may be write requests. Sending a message in the form of a write request would have yielded the predictable result of notifying the device of a command to write data to the device.
Regarding claim 2, Kachare et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first interface is configured to operate on a computer bus external to the device manufactured as a storage product ([0030] The host interface 206 may connect the storage device 200 to a host 218 through a connection 216 using any storage interface and/or protocol such as PCIe, NVMe, NVMe-oF, Ethernet, InfiniBand, Fibre Channel, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 3, Kachare et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 2, wherein the second interface is configured as a network interface of the storage product to operate on the computer network (FIG. 4 NIC 460; [0054] the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462).
Regarding claim 4, Kachare et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 3, further comprising:
a logic circuit configured to separate the first portion of the storage access messages and the second portion of the storage access messages (FIG. 4 NIC 460 separates messages through 468 and 470).
The limitations of claims 11, 12, 16, and 17 correspond the limitations of claims 1-3. Therefore, claims 11, 12, 16, and 17 are rejected under the same reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-3.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kachare et al. and Strong et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the storage access messages are processed by the host system into third storage access messages (The “host system” does not limit the structure of the claimed “device.” Therefore, the processing of the second storage access messages by the host system into third storage access messages does not impose a limit on the claim scope and does not serve as a patentable distinction. The claim merely requires the second portion of storage access messages as taught by Kachare et al. and Strong et al. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Kachare et al. and Strong et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 1, wherein the host system is configured to send the third storage access messages to the computational storage processor (The “host system” does not limit the structure of the claimed “device.” Therefore, the host system configured to send the third storage access messages does not impose a limit on the claim scope and does not serve as a patentable distinction. The claim merely requires the computation storage processor as taught by Kachare et al. and Strong et al. in claim 1).
Claims 5, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2012/0110277).
Regarding claim 5, Kachare et al. further disclose:
The device of claim 4, wherein the storage services are provided via executing commands ([0019] A storage device controller may be configured to communicate with the attachable compute module through one or more command extensions of a storage protocol, by utilizing a proprietary communication protocol, and/or the like. A method may include transferring control of one or more functions, such as data processing functions, of the storage device to an attachable compute module. In some embodiments, an attachable compute module may include a control and/or status data structure configured to be read and/or written by a storage device controller) in:
a third portion of the storage access messages that does not go through the host system and does not go through the computational storage processor (FIG. 4 466);
Kachare et al. do not appear to explicitly teach “first messages from the computational storage processor, responsive to the first portion of the storage access messages; and second messages from the host system, responsive to the second portion of the storage access messages,” However, Shin et al. disclose:
first messages from the computational storage processor, responsive to the first portion of the storage access messages (FIG. 5 Write Status 533; Read Data and Status 533/534 are responses to Read 530/531 and Write commands 532; [0024] The commands and responses to the commands are generally packaged within communications messages that include headers which identify the sending and receiving entities as well as the command or response type, length of included data, and other information; One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand than response messages are sent in response to storage access messages); and
second messages from the host system, responsive to the second portion of the storage access messages (FIG. 5 Write Status 533; Read Data and Status 533/534 are responses to Read 530/531 and Write commands 532; [0024] The commands and responses to the commands are generally packaged within communications messages that include headers which identify the sending and receiving entities as well as the command or response type, length of included data, and other information; One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand than response messages are sent from devices in response to storage access messages).
Kachare et al., Strong et al., and Shin et al. are analogous art because they teach storage systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kachare et al., Strong et al., and Shin et al. before him/her, to modify the combined teachings of Kachare et al. and Strong et al. with the Shin et al. teachings of storage command responses because sending responses to storage commands would have amounted to little more than combining "familiar elements according to known methods" and would have been obvious because it would have done "no more than yield predictable results." (MPEP 2143 IA.) Sending responses to storage commands is a known technique for providing read data and status updates. Therefore, implementing response messages would have resulted in the predictable result of providing read data and status updates.
The limitations of claims 14 and 19 correspond the limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claims 14 and 19 are rejected under the same reasoning as the rejection of claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 13, 15, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejection of the claims is overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kachare et al. do not disclose the amended claim limitation “the second portion of the storage access messages received from the computing device is not provided to the memory cells or the computational storage processor.” Applicant cites paragraph [0054] of Kachare et al. in support of the position that “Kachare only teaches receiving compute tasks from the host” (Remarks page 2). However, in the passage cited by applicant, Kachare et al. discloses “the NIC 460 may be configured to use some or all of the compute resources 426 of the attachable compute module 420 to function as a computational NIC, which may receive offloaded compute tasks from the host 418 and/or any other devices connected to the one or more network connectors 462.” Compute tasks are not only received from the host. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the claims in view of Kachare et al. and Strong et al. is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY A WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137