DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Seyedi et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0368247 1 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seyedi et al teaches a distributed device cluster, shown on Fig. 1, comprising:
a plurality of devices (101a to 101f), wherein each device includes at least one pair of transmission components (shown on Fig. 2, 102a-1 to 102d-1 are considered as at least one pair of transmission components on each device) each including a first transmission component and a second transmission component that are coupled to each other (transmission component 102a-1 located on device 101a is coupled to transmission component 102a-2 located on device 101b and transmission component 102b-1 located on device 101a is coupled to transmission component 102b-2 located on device 101b); and
a plurality of connection lines (202-1 and 202-2),
wherein for any two devices of the plurality of devices, a first transmission component in one device of the any two devices is directly coupled to a second transmission component in another device of the any two devices via at least one connection line without any intermediate switching or routing component (para [0018]; “Each node 102 can include a photonics interface system (as illustrated and described in more detail below with respect to FIGS. 3 and 5) configured to enable the node 102 to transmit and receive optical signals from other nodes 102 within the network 100. Each of the nodes 102 within each cluster 101 can be directly connected over an optical fiber to each of the other nodes 102 within the same cluster 101. The photonic interface system of each node 102 can also be directly connected to at least one node of every other different cluster 101 over an optical interconnect fabric 103. In various embodiments, the optical interconnect fabric 103 can comprise one or more of single-mode fibers, multi-mode fibers, or a combination thereof. For ease of reference, a single line is illustrated in FIG. 1 connecting each cluster 101 to the other clusters 101, each line representing the at least one direct connection from a node 102 of a first cluster 101 to a node 102 of a second cluster different from the first cluster within the network 100.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayamohan et al (US Pub. No. 2012/0324068 A1) in view of Seyedi et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0368247 1 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jayamohan et al teaches distributed device cluster, shown on Fig. 1, comprising:
a plurality of devices (100 and 102), wherein each device includes at least one pair of transmission components (1-n) each including a first transmission component and a second transmission component that are coupled to each other (para [0022]; … multi-server unit 200 also comprises a direct network of n server nodes arranged such that multiple paths may be defined between any two server nodes in the direct network, ....”; para [0023]; “…one or more server nodes may be configured to act as a connection manager to manage distributed switching between the server nodes of multi-server unit 200. The connection manager may monitor traffic along all paths in the distributed network, and provision paths between server nodes, for example, as network traffic patterns and bandwidth usage change, if a path becomes broken, or based upon other such considerations.”); and,
a plurality of connection lines (Fig. 1 shows connection lines connecting plurality of servers).
Jayamohan et al teaches wherein for any of the plurality of devices, a first transmission component in one device is coupled to a second transmission component in another device via at least one connection line (para [0022]; … multi-server unit 200 also comprises a direct network of n server nodes arranged such that multiple paths may be defined between any two server nodes in the direct network, ....”; para [0023]; “…one or more server nodes may be configured to act as a connection manager to manage distributed switching between the server nodes of multi-server unit 200. The connection manager may monitor traffic along all paths in the distributed network, and provision paths between server nodes, for example, as network traffic patterns and bandwidth usage change, if a path becomes broken, or based upon other such considerations.”).
Jayamohan et al differs from the claimed invention in that Jayamohan et al does not specifically teach a first transmission component in one device of the any two devices is directly coupled to a second transmission component in another device of the any two devices via at least one connection line without any intermediate switching or routing component. Seyedi et al teaches distributed device cluster, shown on Fig. 1 wherein a first transmission component in one device of the any two devices is directly coupled to a second transmission component in another device of the any two devices via at least one connection line without any intermediate switching or routing component (para [0018]; “Each node 102 can include a photonics interface system (as illustrated and described in more detail below with respect to FIGS. 3 and 5) configured to enable the node 102 to transmit and receive optical signals from other nodes 102 within the network 100. Each of the nodes 102 within each cluster 101 can be directly connected over an optical fiber to each of the other nodes 102 within the same cluster 101. The photonic interface system of each node 102 can also be directly connected to at least one node of every other different cluster 101 over an optical interconnect fabric 103. In various embodiments, the optical interconnect fabric 103 can comprise one or more of single-mode fibers, multi-mode fibers, or a combination thereof. For ease of reference, a single line is illustrated in FIG. 1 connecting each cluster 101 to the other clusters 101, each line representing the at least one direct connection from a node 102 of a first cluster 101 to a node 102 of a second cluster different from the first cluster within the network 100.”). Since there various ways to connect transmission components, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the distributed device cluster of Jayamohan et al by directly coupling transmission components, as taught by Seyedi et al, in order to eliminate potential points of failure in the switches and reduce power consumption used to operate the switches.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jayamohan et al as modified by Seyedi et al teaches wherein the device further includes an inter-connection component (Jayamohan et al: Fig. 1, 108 or 110), the first transmission component and the second transmission component in the device are coupled via the inter-connection component, and the inter-connection component is used for transmitting at least a portion of data from the first transmission component to the second transmission component (Jayamohan et al: para [0022]; “Multi server unit 200 comprises connections to core switches 108, 110, and thus utilizes the same upstream connections as multi-server unit 102. However, multi-server unit 200 also comprises a direct network of n server nodes arranged such that multiple paths may be defined between any two server nodes in the direct network, thereby providing for greater bi-section bandwidth and fault tolerance than the tree-based architecture of multi-server unit 102, as data may be directed along multiple paths between two intra-unit server nodes.”; para [0023]; “…one or more server nodes may be configured to act as a connection manager to manage distributed switching between the server nodes of multi-server unit 200. The connection manager may monitor traffic along all paths in the distributed network, and provision paths between server nodes, for example, as network traffic patterns and bandwidth usage change, if a path becomes broken, or based upon other such considerations.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jayamohan et al as modified by Seyedi et al teaches, shown on Fig. 1, Jayamohan et al teaches wherein the inter-connection component is a switch; for any two of the plurality of devices, the first transmission component in one device is coupled to the at least one connection line, and the switch and the second transmission component in another device in sequence (Jayamohan et al: para [0022]; “Multi server unit 200 comprises connections to core switches 108, 110, and thus utilizes the same upstream connections as multi-server unit 102. However, multi-server unit 200 also comprises a direct network of n server nodes arranged such that multiple paths may be defined between any two server nodes in the direct network, thereby providing for greater bi-section bandwidth and fault tolerance than the tree-based architecture of multi-server unit 102, as data may be directed along multiple paths between two intra-unit server nodes.”; para [0023]; “…one or more server nodes may be configured to act as a connection manager to manage distributed switching between the server nodes of multi-server unit 200. The connection manager may monitor traffic along all paths in the distributed network, and provision paths between server nodes, for example, as network traffic patterns and bandwidth usage change, if a path becomes broken, or based upon other such considerations.”; shown on Fig. 1, server node located on device 100 is connected to another server node located on device 102 via switch 108 or 110; signal transmitted from server node located on device 100 is transmitted via switch 108 or 110 to another server node located on another server node located on device 102 in sequence).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635