DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendments
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11- 14, 16-18, and 20-24 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendment to the Claims and Remarks filed on 01/09/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 11, 16, and 20 are amended claims.
Claims 2, 4, 13- 14, 17-18, and 21 are previously presented claims.
Claims 3, 9, and 12 are original claims.
Claim 22-24 are new claims.
Claim 6, 10, 15, and 19 have been cancelled and will not be considered at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories of Invention:
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11- 14, 16-18, and 20-24 are drawn to a method, system, and article of manufacture, which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 1:
Independent claim 1 recites a method for obtaining retrieving information input by a user, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task; and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration.
Independent claim 11 recites a system for obtaining retrieving information input by a user, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task, the general knowledge retrieving task refers to retrieval of extensive and fundamental principle knowledges related to the medical device, the image collection task refers to a task related to obtaining a medical image based on the medical device and the fault detection task refers to a task related to troubleshooting testing or maintenance of the medical device and/or the system; and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration.
Independent claim 20 recites an article of manufacture for obtaining retrieving information input by a user, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task; and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration.
These steps amount to certain methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people – also note MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) stating certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping).
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements within the claims only amount to instructions to implement the judicial exception using a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)].
The claims recite the additional elements of a computing device, at least one processor, at least one storage device, an information retrieving interface, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
These elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception because this is an example of applying the abstract idea by use of general-purpose computer which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The above claims, as a whole, are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More:
The present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to more than the abstract idea because the additional elements or combination of elements amount to no more than a recitation of instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a
practical application, the claims recite the additional elements of a computing device, at least one processor, at least one storage device, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
For the reasons stated, these claims are consequently rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Analysis of Dependent Claims
Dependent claim 2 recites wherein when the at least one piece of guide information includes multiple pieces of guide information, the method further comprises: obtaining at least one of a historical operation record of the user, user information, and a current scanning portion; and determining a sequence number for each of the multiple pieces of guide information based on the multiple pieces of guide information and the at least one of the historical operation record of the user, the user information, and the current scanning portion.
Dependent claims 3 and 12 recite wherein the retrieving information includes at least one of text information, voice information, and image information related to the target task.
Dependent claims 4 and 13 recite wherein when the retrieving information includes the text information and/or the voice information, determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining one or more retrieving keywords of the retrieving information by processing the retrieving information; and determining, based on the one or more retrieving keywords keyword, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information.
Dependent claim 5 and 14 recite wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information by processing, based on a retrieval analysis model, the retrieving information, wherein the retrieval analysis model includes a guide information determination model, an input of the guide information determination model includes a keyword and/or an image feature, and an output of the guide information determination model includes the at least one piece of guide information.
Dependent claims 7 and 16 recite wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information; in response to determining that the task type of the target task is the fault detection task, obtaining a fault interface and a system log of the medical device used by the user; and determining, based on the retrieving information, the fault interface, and the system log, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information.
Dependent claim 22 recites wherein the determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining a matching degree between the retrieving information and multiple reference guide information in a medical device knowledge base; and determining at least one piece of guide information of the multiple reference guide information based on the matching degree.
Dependent claim 23 recites wherein the determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information; in response to determining that the task type of the target task is a general knowledge retrieving task, determining reference guide information corresponding to a retrieving keyword from a general region of a medical device knowledge base based on a retrieving keyword corresponding to the retrieving information; and determining the reference guide information as the at least one piece of guide information.
Dependent claim 24 recites wherein the general knowledge retrieving task refers to a task of understanding basic information including at least one of a model, a system composition, or a principle of the medical device; or the fault detection task includes at least one of a fault localization, a fault type determination, or a fault recovery of a fault of the medical device, and the fault includes at least one of a loss of connectivity in a control system of the medical device, an abnormal image reconstruction, or an inadequate image scanning signal strength.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 2-10, 12-18, and 21-24 only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1, 11, or 20 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim.
Dependent claims 8 recites in response to a triggering operation of the user on one of the at least one piece of guide information, displaying a target operating interface corresponding to the one of the at least one piece of guide information, wherein the target operating interface refers to an interactive interface where the user performs an operation and control to complete the target task, and the target operating interface is related to the at least one piece of guide information. The displaying a target operating interface is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 9 and 18 recite wherein the target operating interface includes operating guide information, the operating guide information is configured to guide the user in completing a corresponding operation on the target operating interface, and the method further comprises: guiding, based on the operating guide information, the user in operating on the target operating interface to complete the target task. The target operating interface is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 10 and 21 recite wherein a displaying type of the operating guide information includes at least one of a text guidance, an image guidance, and a cartoon guidance. Displaying type of the operating guide information is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent 17 recites in response to a triggering operation of the user, displaying a target operating interface, wherein the target operating interface is related to the at least one piece of guide information. The displaying a target operating interface is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 11-12, 17-18, 20-21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rosenblatt (US 20130093829 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Rosenblatt teaches a method for guiding an operation of a medical device implemented on a computing device having at least one processor and at least one storage device, comprising:
obtaining retrieving information input by a user via an information retrieving interface, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task; ([Para. 0022] The system may include a tablet interface presenting the video communications facility, a workflow associated with the device, and content related to the usage of the device. [Para. 0114] The communication system may be associated with a step-by-step workflow for using the medical device in the medical procedure. The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. In embodiments, the content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0122] The voice control (i.e. retrieving information) may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures (i.e. target task information). For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow.)
and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration. ([Para. 0122] The voice commands (i.e. retrieving information) may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The plurality of stored workflows (i.e. guide information) for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a directions for use (DFU) for utilizing the medical device and an instructions for use (IFU) for utilizing the medical device.)
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, Rosenblatt further teaches wherein the retrieving information includes at least one of text information, voice information, and image information related to the target task. ([Para. 0122] The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow.)
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, Rosenblatt teaches further comprising: in response to a triggering operation of the user on one of the at least one piece of guide information, displaying a target operating interface corresponding to the one of the at least one piece of guide information, wherein the target operating interface refers to an interactive interface where the user performs an operation and control to complete the target task, and the target operating interface is related to the at least one piece of guide information. ([Para. 0119] A platform that may be comprised of a touch screen/display interface in a procedure environment with a voice control, a video communications capability, a plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures. The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The voice commands may also be associated with controlling the platform. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a DFU for utilizing the medical device and an IFU for utilizing the medical device. [Para. 0114] The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. The content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models).)
REGARDING CLAIM 9
Rosenblatt teach the method of claim 8, Rosenblatt further teaches wherein the target operating interface includes operating guide information, the operating guide information is configured to guide the user in completing a corresponding operation on the target operating interface, and the method further comprises: guiding, based on the operating guide information, the user in operating on the target operating interface to complete the target task. ([Para. 0119] A platform that may be comprised of a touch screen/display interface in a procedure environment with a voice control, a video communications capability, a plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures. The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The voice commands may also be associated with controlling the platform. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a DFU for utilizing the medical device and an IFU for utilizing the medical device. [Para. 0114] The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. The content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models).)
REGARDING CLAIM 11
Rosenblatt teaches a system for guiding an operation of a medical device, comprising:
at least one storage device storing executable instructions, ([Para. 0322] At least one storage medium capable of storing methods, programs, applications, code and/or instructions.)
and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the executable instructions, the at least one processor causes the system to perform operations including: ([Para. 0317] The storage medium associated with the processor for storing methods, programs, codes, program instructions or other type of instructions capable of being executed by the computing or processing device.)
obtaining retrieving information input by a user via an information retrieving interface, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task, the general knowledge retrieving task refers to retrieval of extensive and fundamental principle knowledges related to the medical device, the image collection task refers to a task related to obtaining a medical image based on the medical device and the fault detection task refers to a task related to troubleshooting testing or maintenance of the medical device and/or the system; ([Para. 0022] The system may include a tablet interface presenting the video communications facility, a workflow associated with the device, and content related to the usage of the device. [Para. 0114] The communication system may be associated with a step-by-step workflow (i.e. general knowledge retrieving task of extensive and fundamental principle knowledges related to the medical device) for using the medical device in the medical procedure. The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. In embodiments, the content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0122] The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow.)
determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration. ([Para. 0122] The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a directions for use (DFU) for utilizing the medical device and an instructions for use (IFU) for utilizing the medical device.)
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Claim(s) 12 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 3, thus Claim(s) 12 is/are similarly analyzed
and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 3.
REGARDING CLAIM 17
Claim(s) 17 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 8, thus Claim(s) 17 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 8.
REGARDING CLAIM 18
Claim(s) 18 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 9, thus Claim(s) 18 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 9.
REGARDING CLAIM 20
Rosenblatt teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, comprising at least one set of instructions, wherein when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, the at least one set of instructions causes the computing device to perform a method, the method comprising:
obtaining retrieving information input by a user via an information retrieving interface, wherein the retrieving information includes a corresponding target task, the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/ or data, and the target task includes at least one of general knowledge retrieving task, and image collection task, or a fault detection task; ([Para. 0022] The system may include a tablet interface presenting the video communications facility, a workflow associated with the device, and content related to the usage of the device. [Para. 0114] The communication system may be associated with a step-by-step workflow for using the medical device in the medical procedure. The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. In embodiments, the content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0122] The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow.)
and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration. ([Para. 0122] The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a directions for use (DFU) for utilizing the medical device and an instructions for use (IFU) for utilizing the medical device.)
REGARDING CLAIM 21
Rosenblatt teaches the system of claim 18, Rosenblatt further teaches wherein a displaying type of the operating guide information includes at least one of a text guidance, an image guidance, and a cartoon guidance. ([Para. 0119] A platform that may be comprised of a touch screen/display interface in a procedure environment with a voice control, a video communications capability, a plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures. The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The voice commands may also be associated with controlling the platform. . For example, a voice command may instruct the platform to begin a video communication between a practitioner host and a specialist. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a DFU for utilizing the medical device and an IFU for utilizing the medical device. [Para. 0114] The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. The content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0140] presenting a view of the steps of a step-by-step workflow may include presenting a list of items (e.g. tools, materials, or other resources) required for such steps. In some embodiments, the steps of the step-by-step workflow may be presented as a cascade or Gantt chart on one or more of the viewing devices, to provide a global view of the steps and/or the list of item required for the steps.)
REGARDING CLAIM 24
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, Rosenblatt further teaches wherein the general knowledge retrieving task refers to a task of understanding basic information including at least one of a model, a system composition, or a principle of the medical device; or the fault detection task includes at least one of a fault localization, a fault type determination, or a fault recovery of a fault of the medical device, and the fault includes at least one of a loss of connectivity in a control system of the medical device, an abnormal image reconstruction, or an inadequate image scanning signal strength. ([Para. 0119] A platform that may be comprised of a touch screen/display interface in a procedure environment with a voice control, a video communications capability, a plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures. The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The voice commands may also be associated with controlling the platform (i.e. general knowledge retrieving task). For example, a voice command may instruct the platform to begin a video communication between a practitioner host and a specialist. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a DFU for utilizing the medical device and an IFU for utilizing the medical device. [Para. 0114] The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. The content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0140] presenting a view of the steps of a step-by-step workflow may include presenting a list of items (e.g. tools, materials, or other resources) required for such steps. In some embodiments, the steps of the step-by-step workflow may be presented as a cascade or Gantt chart on one or more of the viewing devices, to provide a global view of the steps and/or the list of item required for the steps.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblatt (US 20130093829 A1) in view of Zuhars (US 20080314973 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, however Zuhars teaches wherein when the at least one piece of guide information includes multiple pieces of guide information, the method further comprises:
obtaining at least one of a historical operation record of the user, user information, and a current scanning portion; ([Para. 0016] The interface 105 of the medical device 100 is configured for receiving identification data of a user. The user can be a medical staff such as a surgeon, a physician and/or a service technician. [Para. 0026] The user specific configuration data can be transferred and/or programmed onto the portable component 110 via the interface 105. The portable component 110 can be associated with the user (e.g., patient, surgeon, or service technician) via, for example, a photograph, an identification number. [Para. 0039] Determining at the controller 115 in the medical device 100 whether a user associated with the identification data is authorized to use the medical device 100 based on the identification data received at the interface 105 step 215, retrieving the configuration data from the portable component 110 based on the identification data step 220 and configuring the medical device 100 based on the configuration data retrieved step 225. [Para. 0043] Retrieve the configuration data, corresponding to the identification data, from the portable component 110, upon determining the authorized user. )
and determining a sequence number for each of the multiple pieces of guide information based on the multiple pieces of guide information and the at least one of the historical operation record of the user, the user information, and the current scanning portion. ([Para. 0044] The user specific configuration data may include a workflow plan, for example, an ordered selection of instructional images that are displayed to the user via a display device such that the instructional images provide a "walk-through" of the medical procedure or a portion thereof. Alternatively, the workflow plan may include a number of surgical sub-step images, some of which may or may not be displayed to and performed by the surgeon based on selections chosen by the surgeon during the performance of a surgical procedure.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of providing remote real-time guidance for a procedure with a device as taught by Rosenblatt, and incorporate healthcare provider’s specific preferences regarding the configuration of a medical device as taught by Zuhars, with the motivation of reducing the healthcare provider's interaction with the medical device thereby facilitating the user to carry out the medical procedure (Zuhars Para. 0006).
Claim(s) 4-5, 13-14, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblatt (US 20130093829 A1) in view of Helmer (US 20200286628 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 3, however Helmer teaches wherein when the retrieving information includes the text information and/or the voice information, determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes:
determining one or more retrieving keywords of the retrieving information by processing the retrieving information; ([Para. 0062] Audio signals input (i.e. retrieving information) into the system via a microphone 14 are converted into a natural language data stream using, for example, a speech-to-text algorithm. The natural language data stream is then analyzed to determine if the input audio signals comprise a voice command (i.e. keywords) 58 from a user 12. Potential voice commands in the audio stream are identified and are each assigned a confidence score. The confidence score can, for example, be based on how closely the potential voice command matches a pre-determined voice command. The confidence score is used to select one or more of the potential voice commands for further analysis. )
and determining, based on the one or more retrieving keywords, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information. ([Para. 0062] Audio signals input (i.e. retrieving information) into the system via a microphone 14 are converted into a natural language data stream using, for example, a speech-to-text algorithm. The natural language data stream is then analyzed to determine if the input audio signals comprise a voice command 58 (i.e. keywords) from a user 12. Potential voice commands in the audio stream are identified and are each assigned a confidence score. [Para. 0064] If a voice command is determined to be present in the natural language stream, the system attempts to convert at least a part of the natural language stream into a query 60 for a medical database 26. A confidence level for the query generated in this way may also be determined. For example, the query could be selected from a pre-defined list of permissible queries, with the confidence level determined from how closely the natural language stream matches the pre-defined query. In this way, the system generates a query form the voice command 62. [Para. 0066] the confidence level is above the pre-determined threshold confidence, then the generated query is transmitted 66 to a data server 26. The data server 26 uses the generated query to query a medical database 68 to determine a response to the voice command input by the user 12. If a response to the query is present in the database, the response is transmitted 70 back to the part of the system local to the user, such as the medical query answering apparatus [Para. 0068] The response may contain video data. If video data is present in the response, the user may be provided with the option to stream the video data 74, or a part of it, to a display device capable of video playback that is connected to the system. Providing a video stream to a display device can be particularly useful when the query relates to the use of a medical device (i.e. guide information).)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of real-time guidance for a procedure with a device as taught by Rosenblatt and incorporate providing medical information in response to a query as taught by Helmer, with the motivation of a user to request and be provided with information relating to their medication or medical devices (Helmer Para. 0004).
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, however Helmer teaches wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information by processing, based on a retrieval analysis model, the retrieving information, wherein the retrieval analysis model includes a guide information determination model, an input of the guide information determination model includes a keyword and/or an image feature, and an output of the guide information determination model includes the at least one piece of guide information. ([Para. 0029] When audio signals are received by the microphone 14, the processor arrangement 38 can convert the audio signals into a natural language stream and then further process the natural language stream to determine whether a voice command (i.e. keyword) is present in the audio signal. Said voice command may comprise a predefined command, such as an activation command for the device or a predefined query, or a question regarding a medical device. [Para. 0039] The medical database contains pre-defined responses to medical queries, such as those relating to medication and/or medical devices. [Para. 0052] The processor arrangement 38 is configured to convert any audio signal detected by the microphone 14 into a natural language data stream. The processor arrangement 38 may implement a speech-to-text algorithm (i.e. retrieval analysis model) in order to convert the audio signal into a natural language stream. Such algorithms can include Hidden Markov Models, Dynamic Time Warping, or Neural Networks (i.e. retrieval analysis model). The processor arrangement 38 is further configured to analyze the natural language data stream in order to determine if a voice command is present in the natural language data stream. The processing arrangement 38 can achieve this by identifying potential voice commands in the natural language data stream and assigning to each of the potential voice commands a confidence level. [Para. 0064] A voice command is determined to be present in the natural language stream, the system attempts to convert at least a part of the natural language stream into a query 60 for a medical database 26. A confidence level for the query generated in this way may also be determined. For example, the query could be selected from a pre-defined list of permissible queries, with the confidence level determined from how closely the natural language stream matches the pre-defined query. In this way, the system generates a query form the voice command 62. [Para. 0066] The data server 26 uses the generated query to query a medical database 68 to determine a response to the voice command input by the user 12. Query is present in the database, the response is transmitted 70 back to the part of the system local to the user, such as the medical query answering apparatus. [Para. 0068] The user may be provided with the option to stream the video data 74, or a part of it, to a display device capable of video playback that is connected to the system. Providing a video stream to a display device can be particularly useful when the query relates to the use of a medical device.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of real-time guidance for a procedure with a device as taught by Rosenblatt and incorporate providing medical information in response to a query as taught by Helmer, with the motivation of a user to request and be provided with information relating to their medication or medical devices (Helmer Para. 0004).
REGARDING CLAIM 13
Claim(s) 13 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 4, thus Claim(s) 13 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 4.
REGARDING CLAIM 14
Claim(s) 14 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 5, thus Claim(s) 14 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 5.
REGARDING CLAIM 22
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 3, however Helmer teaches wherein the determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining a matching degree between the retrieving information and multiple reference guide information in a medical device knowledge base; and determining at least one piece of guide information of the multiple reference guide information based on the matching degree. . ([Para. 0029] When audio signals are received by the microphone 14, the processor arrangement 38 can convert the audio signals into a natural language stream and then further process the natural language stream to determine whether a voice command (i.e. keyword) is present in the audio signal. Said voice command may comprise a predefined command, such as an activation command for the device or a predefined query, or a question regarding a medical device. [Para. 0039] The medical database contains pre-defined responses to medical queries, such as those relating to medication and/or medical devices. [Para. 0052] The processor arrangement 38 is configured to convert any audio signal detected by the microphone 14 into a natural language data stream. The processor arrangement 38 may implement a speech-to-text algorithm in order to convert the audio signal into a natural language stream. Such algorithms can include Hidden Markov Models, Dynamic Time Warping, or Neural Networks (i.e. retrieval analysis model). The processor arrangement 38 is further configured to analyze the natural language data stream in order to determine if a voice command is present in the natural language data stream. The processing arrangement 38 can achieve this by identifying potential voice commands in the natural language data stream and assigning to each of the potential voice commands a confidence level (i.e. matching degree). [Para. 0064] A voice command is determined to be present in the natural language stream, the system attempts to convert at least a part of the natural language stream into a query 60 for a medical database 26. A confidence level for the query generated in this way may also be determined. For example, the query could be selected from a pre-defined list of permissible queries, with the confidence level determined from how closely the natural language stream matches the pre-defined query. In this way, the system generates a query form the voice command 62. [Para. 0066] The data server 26 uses the generated query to query a medical database 68 to determine a response to the voice command input by the user 12. Query is present in the database, the response is transmitted 70 back to the part of the system local to the user, such as the medical query answering apparatus. [Para. 0068] The user may be provided with the option to stream the video data 74, or a part of it, to a display device capable of video playback that is connected to the system. Providing a video stream to a display device can be particularly useful when the query relates to the use of a medical device.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of real-time guidance for a procedure with a device as taught by Rosenblatt and incorporate providing medical information in response to a query as taught by Helmer, with the motivation of a user to request and be provided with information relating to their medication or medical devices (Helmer Para. 0004).
Claim(s) 7, 16, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenblatt (US 20130093829 A1) in view of Knorl (US 20090125757 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Rosenblatt teach the method of claim 1, however Knorl further teaches wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes:
determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information; ([Para. 0006] Automatically monitoring system components of a system for faults using software, the software identifying a faulty system component, and identifying a type of error (i.e. determining a fault detection task type, which is a type of target task) associated with the faulty system component via a processor. The method also includes presenting context-related troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the correction of the faulty system component that is specific to the type of error identified, the context-related troubleshooting workflow guidance including guidance that is (1) identified and/or retrieved by a processor and (2) related to a number of workflow steps to be performed to correct the type of error identified associated with the faulty system component. [Para. 0030] The workflow guidance presented may be predetermined and retrieved by a processor. [Para. 0032] Predetermined and/or benchmarked troubleshooting workflow guidance (i.e. retrieving information), comprising either complete or partial workflows, may be stored in a database. The workflows may be stored as complete workflows to be performed or individual work steps that may selected by the processor during real-time to dynamically create a full workflow.)
in response to determining that the task type of the target task is the fault detection task, obtaining a fault interface and a system log of the medical device used by the user; ([Para. 0015] After a faulty component is identified, component-related, context-related, and/or user-specific troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the faulty system component identified may be retrieved, identified, selected, and/or determined by the processor and presented to a user. [Para. 0034] A number of troubleshooting related workflow steps, or even complete troubleshooting workflows, specific to system components, particular errors or types of errors, and/or users may be predetermined and benchmarked. The workflows and/or workflow steps identified by the benchmarking process may then have associated virtual machine representations created by a software expert. The virtual representations of the workflow steps may be stored in a database for subsequently retrieval, selection, and/or presentation to the user via a user interface (i.e. fault interface). [Para. 0038] The workflow steps needed to identify the error with the faulty system component may depend on the type, make, or model of the faulty system component, and/or user specifications, such as settings or configurations. [Para. 0052] A processor may identify individual workflow steps from a predetermined workflow to present to the user. The individual workflow steps selected may be based upon user-specific information, such as type of system or system components employed (i.e. system log), or upon various systems conditions automatically monitored by the system monitoring tool.)
and determining, based on the retrieving information, the fault interface, and the system log, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information. ([Para. 0015] After a faulty component is identified, component-related, context-related, and/or user-specific troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the faulty system component identified may be retrieved, identified, selected, and/or determined by the processor and presented to a user. [Para. 0016] The user-specific guidance may be specific to the user and provide guidance based upon the user and/or user specifications, preferences, settings, configurations, and/or other information specific to the user. [Para. 0052] A processor may identify individual workflow steps from a predetermined workflow to present to the user. The individual workflow steps selected may be based upon user-specific information, such as type of system or system components employed (i.e. system log), or upon various systems conditions automatically monitored by the system monitoring tool. [Para. 0030] The method 100 may include presenting troubleshooting or diagnostic workflow guidance, such as component-specific, error-specific, and/or user-specific workflow guidance. The workflow guidance presented may be predetermined and retrieved by a processor (i.e. retrieving information). Alternatively or additionally, the processor may identify, select, or otherwise determine a number of individual work steps to be included within a troubleshooting workflow presented. [Para. 0039] The system may present workflow steps to correct or repair the component (i.e. guide information). The workflow steps to correct the error may be predetermined or selected by a processor during runtime based upon various conditions automatically monitored by the processor. The workflow steps to correct the component may involve replacing a faulty part of the component identified as being the cause of the fault and then testing the faulty component with the replacement part. [Para. 0048] The user may be introduced directly from the system monitoring user interface to the troubleshooting workflow guidance 214. For instance, the user interface may be operable to present a number of hierarchal levels. The upper most level or levels may relate to system monitoring, while the lower or drill-down levels may relate to the presentation of troubleshooting workflow guidance.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of providing remote real-time guidance for a procedure with a device as taught by Rosenblatt and incorporate system monitoring and detailed troubleshooting workflow guidance as taught by Knorl, with the motivation of providing identification and correction of system and/or system component faults and errors (Knorl Para. 0001).
REGARDING CLAIM 16
Claim(s) 16 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 7, thus Claim(s) 16 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 7.
REGARDING CLAIM 23
Rosenblatt teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes:
determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information; ([Para. 0022] The system may include a tablet interface presenting the video communications facility, a workflow associated with the device, and content related to the usage of the device. [Para. 0114] The communication system may be associated with a step-by-step workflow for using the medical device in the medical procedure. The step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. In embodiments, the content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). [Para. 0122] The voice control (i.e. retrieving information) may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures (i.e. target task information). For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow.)
and determining the reference guide information as the at least one piece of guide information. ([Para. 0122] The voice commands (i.e. retrieving information) may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The plurality of stored workflows (i.e. guide information) for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a directions for use (DFU) for utilizing the medical device and an instructions for use (IFU) for utilizing the medical device.)
Rosenblatt does not explicitly teach, however Knorl teaches
in response to determining that the task type of the target task is a general knowledge retrieving task, determining reference guide information corresponding to a retrieving keyword from a general region of a medical device knowledge base based on a retrieving keyword corresponding to the retrieving information; ([Para. 0057] FIG. 3 illustrates exemplary database structures for storing virtual representations of troubleshooting workflow procedures 300. The data structures may include system related data structures 302 [Para. 0074] The knowledge base window 510 may provide access to a separate pop-up window that facilitates network access to more detailed information.[Para. 0084] The details window 506 may present function guide, test tools, and message viewer related buttons. The function guide button may provide access to all information about the functionality of the component that was selected from the upper level display for troubleshooting workflow. Information also may be presented that details the component's interaction with the other interconnected components.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 10-17 “I. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101” filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claimed invention is not directed towards an abstract idea because the amended claim have integrated features into a practical application. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In Claim 1 and 20, the functions of retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/or data, the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieval task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task, and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instruction, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration"-connects, are part of the abstract idea. The information retrieval interface is an additional element which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
An improvement to the abstract idea of improving the efficiency of complex device operations and the effectiveness of medical examinations does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(III) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG,921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology.”). There is no indication in the instant disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. The instant application and claim language fail to detail how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
In Claim 11, the functions of the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task, the general knowledge retrieving task refers to retrieval of extensive and fundamental principle knowledges related to the medical device, the image collection task refers to a task related to obtaining a medical image based on the medical device, and the fault detection task refers to a task related to troubleshooting, testing, or maintenance of the medical device and/or the system are part of the abstract idea. The information retrieval interface is an additional element which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
An improvement to the abstract idea of ‘enables the processing of retrieval information through a retrieval analysis model, allowing for the rapid and accurate determination of at least one corresponding piece of guide information for the retrieval input’ does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(III) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG,921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology.”). There is no indication in the instant disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. The instant application and claim language fail to detail how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant asserts that the amended independent claims meet the significantly more requirements. Specifically, the additional features of claim 1 (e.g., "obtaining retrieving information input by a user via an information retrieving interface" and "the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task") are not conventional in the art and the amended claim 1 achieves additional technical effects. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Examiner has identified the use of “obtaining retrieving information input by a user” and "the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task” as part of the abstract idea, the conventionality of the obtaining retrieving information input by a user and the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task is not considered under Step 2B. The consideration under Step 2B is if the additional elements, alone or in combination, are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field – the novelty of the abstract idea is not considered relevant under the Step 2B analysis. Here, the additional elements of Claims 1, 11, and 20 reciting a computing device, at least one processor, at least one storage device, and an information retrieving interface and Claim 20 reciting a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and one or more processors, alone or in combination, amount to instruction to implement the abstract idea using a general-purpose computer.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 17-31 “II. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) based on Rosenblatt – V. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Rosenblatt and Knorl” filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that voice commands of Rosenblatt are not analogous to the retrieving information input by the user and guide information. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Rosenblatt utilizes the user utilizes voice commands (i.e. retrieving information) which are associated with workflows (i.e. guide information) that contain instructions for medical procedures. The retrieval of the associated workflows is indicative of a general knowledge retrieving task. This is indicative of the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/or data, and the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration.
Applicant asserts that Rosenblatt does not teach "the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/or data, and the
target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image
collection task, or a fault detection task", "determining, based on the retrieving
information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving
information", and "the guide information includes at least one of an operation instruction,
an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Rosenblatt utilizes the user utilizes voice commands (i.e. retrieving information) which are associated with workflows (i.e. guide information) that contain instructions for medical procedures. The retrieval of the associated workflows is indicative of a general knowledge retrieving task. This is indicative of the retrieving information refers to information configured to query or obtain required information and/or data, and the target task includes at least one of a general knowledge retrieving task, an image collection task, or a fault detection task and determining, based on the retrieving information, at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information, wherein the at least one piece of guide information is configured to guide the user in completing the target task and the guide information includes at least one of an operation instructions, an operation process, an operation guideline, an operation prompt, or an operation demonstration.
Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach the limitations of Claim 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Rosenblatt teaches at Para. 0119 that a platform that may be comprised of a touch screen/display interface in a procedure environment with a voice control, a video communications capability, a plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures. The voice control may receive voice commands from one or more practitioner hosts. The voice commands may be associated with one or more of the stored workflows for medical procedures. For example, the voice commands may instruct the platform to proceed to the next step in the workflow, or instruct the platform to replay a step in the workflow. The voice commands may also be associated with controlling the platform. The plurality of stored workflows for medical procedures may be a plurality of step-by-step workflows from one or more of a DFU for utilizing the medical device and an IFU for utilizing the medical device. Para. 0114 further teaches the step-by-step workflow for the medical device may be a step-by-step workflow from a DFU or from an IFU for utilizing the medical device. The step-by-step workflow may be generated using a content creation tool. The content creation tool may be comprised of (a) an interface that may define one or more branches in the step-by-step workflow, (b) one or more of: (x) an interface for creating one or more video/animation, and (y) an interface for creating other media (e.g. audio track, text, etc.) for the step-by-step workflow, and (c) an interface for displaying one or more models (e.g. CAD models). This is indicative of operating guide information, the operating guide information is configured to guide the user in completing a corresponding operation on the target operating interface, and the method further comprises: guiding, based on the operating guide information, the user in operating on the target operating interface to complete the target task.
Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach the limitations of Claim 4. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Helmer teaches receiving audio signals (i.e. voice information) and converts them into natural language data and are further analyzed determine if the audio signals contain voice commands (i.e., keywords), which are later utilized to search medical databases. Therefore, the identified parts of the natural language data are utilized as keywords to search a medical database to retrieve a response to the user initial voice commands. This is indicative of wherein when the retrieving information includes the text information and/or the voice information, determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining one or more retrieving keywords of the retrieving information by processing the retrieving information.
Helmer teaches at Para. 0062 that audio signals input into the system via a microphone 14 are converted into a natural language data stream using, for example, a speech-to-text algorithm. The natural language data stream is then analyzed to determine if the input audio signals comprise a voice command 58 from a user 12. Potential voice commands in the audio stream are identified and are each assigned a confidence score. Para. 0064 teaches that if a voice command is determined to be present in the natural language stream, the system attempts to convert at least a part of the natural language stream into a query 60 for a medical database 26. A confidence level for the query generated in this way may also be determined. For example, the query could be selected from a pre-defined list of permissible queries, with the confidence level determined from how closely the natural language stream matches the pre-defined query. In this way, the system generates a query form the voice command 62. Para. 0066 teaches the confidence level is above the pre-determined threshold confidence, then the generated query is transmitted 66 to a data server 26. The data server 26 uses the generated query to query a medical database 68 to determine a response to the voice command input by the user 12. If a response to the query is present in the database, the response is transmitted 70 back to the part of the system local to the user, such as the medical query answering apparatus. Para. 0068 teaches the response may contain video data. If video data is present in the response, the user may be provided with the option to stream the video data 74, or a part of it, to a display device capable of video playback that is connected to the system. Providing a video stream to a display device can be particularly useful when the query relates to the use of a medical device (i.e. guide information). This is indicative of determining, based on the one or more retrieving keywords, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information.
Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach the limitations of Claim 5. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Helmer teaches at ([Para. 0029] When audio signals are received by the microphone 14, the processor arrangement 38 can convert the audio signals into a natural language stream and then further process the natural language stream to determine whether a voice command (i.e. keyword) is present in the audio signal. Said voice command may comprise a predefined command, such as an activation command for the device or a predefined query, or a question regarding a medical device. [Para. 0039] The medical database contains pre-defined responses to medical queries, such as those relating to medication and/or medical devices. [Para. 0052] The processor arrangement 38 is configured to convert any audio signal detected by the microphone 14 into a natural language data stream. The processor arrangement 38 may implement a speech-to-text algorithm in order to convert the audio signal into a natural language stream. Such algorithms can include Hidden Markov Models, Dynamic Time Warping, or Neural Networks (i.e. retrieval analysis model). Examiner interprets the use of the speech-to-text algorithm to be indicative of a retrieval analysis model. The processor arrangement 38 is further configured to analyze the natural language data stream in order to determine if a voice command is present in the natural language data stream. The processing arrangement 38 can achieve this by identifying potential voice commands in the natural language data stream and assigning to each of the potential voice commands a confidence level. [Para. 0064] A voice command is determined to be present in the natural language stream, the system attempts to convert at least a part of the natural language stream into a query 60 for a medical database 26. A confidence level for the query generated in this way may also be determined. For example, the query could be selected from a pre-defined list of permissible queries, with the confidence level determined from how closely the natural language stream matches the pre-defined query. In this way, the system generates a query form the voice command 62. [Para. 0066] The data server 26 uses the generated query to query a medical database 68 to determine a response to the voice command input by the user 12. Query is present in the database, the response is transmitted 70 back to the part of the system local to the user, such as the medical query answering apparatus. [Para. 0068] The user may be provided with the option to stream the video data 74, or a part of it, to a display device capable of video playback that is connected to the system. Providing a video stream to a display device can be particularly useful when the query relates to the use of a medical device. This is indicative of wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information by processing, based on a retrieval analysis model, the retrieving information, wherein the retrieval analysis model includes a guide information determination model, an input of the guide information determination model includes a keyword and/or an image feature, and an output of the guide information determination model includes the at least one piece of guide information.
Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach the limitations of Claim 7. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Knorl teaches at Para. 0006 that automatically monitoring system components of a system for faults using software, the software identifying a faulty system component, and identifying a type of error (i.e. task type) associated with the faulty system component via a processor. The method also includes presenting context-related troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the correction of the faulty system component that is specific to the type of error identified, the context-related troubleshooting workflow guidance including guidance that is (1) identified and/or retrieved by a processor and (2) related to a number of workflow steps to be performed to correct the type of error identified associated with the faulty system component. The voice input commands from the user is associated with workflows that provide the user instructions. The identification of the voice command and its subsequent retrieval of an associated workflow is indicative of determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information. [Para. 0030] The workflow guidance presented may be predetermined and retrieved by a processor. [Para. 0032] Predetermined and/or benchmarked troubleshooting workflow guidance (i.e. retrieving information), comprising either complete or partial workflows, may be stored in a database. The workflows may be stored as complete workflows to be performed or individual work steps that may selected by the processor during real-time to dynamically create a full workflow. This is indicative of wherein determining, based on the retrieving information, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information includes: determining a task type of the target task based on the retrieving information.
Knorl teaches at Para. 0015 that after a faulty component is identified, component-related, context-related, and/or user-specific troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the faulty system component identified may be retrieved, identified, selected, and/or determined by the processor and presented to a user. [Para. 0034] A number of troubleshooting related workflow steps, or even complete troubleshooting workflows, specific to system components, particular errors or types of errors, and/or users may be predetermined and benchmarked. The workflows and/or workflow steps identified by the benchmarking process may then have associated virtual machine representations created by a software expert. The virtual representations of the workflow steps may be stored in a database for subsequently retrieval, selection, and/or presentation to the user via a user interface (i.e. fault interface). [Para. 0038] The workflow steps needed to identify the error with the faulty system component may depend on the type, make, or model of the faulty system component, and/or user specifications, such as settings or configurations. [Para. 0052] A processor may identify individual workflow steps from a predetermined workflow to present to the user. The individual workflow steps selected may be based upon user-specific information, such as type of system or system components employed (i.e. system log), or upon various systems conditions automatically monitored by the system monitoring tool. This is indicative of in response to determining that the task type of the target task is the fault detection task, obtaining a fault interface and a system log of the medical device used by the user.
Knorl teaches at Para. 0015 that after a faulty component is identified, component-related, context-related, and/or user-specific troubleshooting workflow guidance associated with the faulty system component identified may be retrieved, identified, selected, and/or determined by the processor and presented to a user. [Para. 0016] The user-specific guidance may be specific to the user and provide guidance based upon the user and/or user specifications, preferences, settings, configurations, and/or other information specific to the user. [Para. 0052] A processor may identify individual workflow steps from a predetermined workflow to present to the user. The individual workflow steps selected may be based upon user-specific information, such as type of system or system components employed (i.e. system log), or upon various systems conditions automatically monitored by the system monitoring tool. [Para. 0030] The method 100 may include presenting troubleshooting or diagnostic workflow guidance, such as component-specific, error-specific, and/or user-specific workflow guidance. The workflow guidance presented may be predetermined and retrieved by a processor (i.e. retrieving information). Alternatively or additionally, the processor may identify, select, or otherwise determine a number of individual work steps to be included within a troubleshooting workflow presented. [Para. 0039] The system may present workflow steps to correct or repair the component (i.e. guide information). The workflow steps to correct the error may be predetermined or selected by a processor during runtime based upon various conditions automatically monitored by the processor. The workflow steps to correct the component may involve replacing a faulty part of the component identified as being the cause of the fault and then testing the faulty component with the replacement part. [Para. 0048] The user may be introduced directly from the system monitoring user interface to the troubleshooting workflow guidance 214. For instance, the user interface may be operable to present a number of hierarchal levels. The upper most level or levels may relate to system monitoring, while the lower or drill-down levels may relate to the presentation of troubleshooting workflow guidance. This is indicative of determining, based on the retrieving information, the fault interface, and the system log, the at least one piece of guide information corresponding to the retrieving information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.K.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/PETER H CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681