DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reggiardo (US 2010/0274108).
Regarding claim 1, Reggiardo discloses an analyte sensor system, comprising:
an analyte sensor configured to generate a sensor signal representative of an analyte concentration of a host (element 101; paragraph [0027]);
a sensor electronics module (element 102) comprising:
one or more processors configured to determine an estimated analyte concentration based on the sensor signal (element 204); and
a communication circuit configured to transmit a wireless signal indicative of the estimated analyte concentration (element 206);
a battery configured to provide energy to the sensor electronics module and the analyte sensor (element 502; paragraph [0058]); and
a capacitor coupled to the battery (element 501), wherein:
the battery is further configured to charge the capacitor with additional energy (paragraph [0052]); and
the capacitor is configured to provide the additional energy to the sensor electronics module (paragraph [0052]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 2, Reggiardo further discloses that the capacitor is a supercapacitor (paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Reggiardo further discloses that the capacitor is configured to provide the additional energy to the sensor electronics module during a high-load period (paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0054]), .
Regarding claim 4, Reggiardo further discloses that the capacitor is coupled in parallel with the battery (paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Reggiardo further discloses that the sensor electronics module is configured to receive the additional energy from the capacitor instead of the energy from the battery (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Reggiardo further discloses that the sensor electronics module is configured to receive the energy from the additional capacitor, instead of the energy from the battery, for transmission of the wireless signal by the communication circuit (paragraphs [0052]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Reggiardo further discloses that the capacitor is configured to extend an operational life of the battery by reducing strain on the battery during a high-load period (paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reggiardo in view of Haller (US 2007/0123938).
Regarding claim 7, Reggiardo does not disclose that the capacitor is configured to receive the energy from the battery for short term storage and configured to transfer the energy to the battery for long term storage. Haller teaches a system configured to interact with a host comprising an electronics module (element 904), a battery (paragraph [0071]), and a capacitor (element 902), where the capacitor is configured to be charged and provide power to the electronics module (paragraph [0071], “the electronic subassembly can use the charge stored on the capacitor to power the stimulator during times of peak power demand”) and also to transfer the energy to the battery for “long term” storage (paragraph [0071], “use the charge stored on the capacitor to recharge the rechargeable battery”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the system of Reggiardo with the capacitor configured to transfer energy back to the battery for “long term” storage, as taught by Haller, in order to more efficiently conserve power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Reggiardo does not disclose the battery or capacitor as providing power to the analyte sensor because Reggiardo “does not identify either battery as providing energy to an analyte sensor”. The Examiner notes that Reggiardo does not set forth details of sensor 101 but instead incorporates by reference the disclosure of US 6175752 (see paragraph [0036]), which clearly shows the sensor component as electrodes on a substrate, powered via traces which connect to a transmitter unit, that transmitter unit providing the power which enables operation of the sensor – that is, the equivalent of analog interface 201 of the “transmitter unit” 102 of Reggiardo which receives its power from power supply 207. Reggiardo does not disclose any separate power source for sensor 101, nor does US 6175752 show any power source other than power supply 95 for the control unit 44 which is analogous to transmitter unit 102 of Reggiardo just as sensor 42 of US 6175752 is analogous to sensor 101 of Reggiardo, powered by power supply 207. See column 36, lines 41-54 of US 6175752 which clearly sets forth the power supply of the on skin control unit providing power to both the control unit and the sensor via the analog connection between control unit and sensor.
Regarding Haller, Applicant presents only arguments not directed to the limitation upon which Haller is relied to teach, that being a capacitor which can be configured to receive energy which is used either to power the device’s electronics module or to recharge a rechargeable battery which is also configured to power the device’s electronics module; the source of that energy does not alter the teaching of how the capacitor is configured to discharge and power other components, which is what Haller is relied upon to teach. Reggiardo already discloses the capacitor being powered by a battery, and as modified by the teachings of Haller that capacitor would thus be configured to have the option of sending power to either the electronics module or the battery which itself also can provide power to the electronics module.
The claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN E TOTH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791