CTNF 18/646,712 CTNF 79672 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed April 25, 2024. Claims 1-20, are currently pending. Priority Certified copy of priority document CN 202111323749.6 dated November 09, 2021, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/18/2024, 04/09/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 10-16, 20 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tenny et al (hereinafter Tenny) (US 2021/0321329) . Regarding claims 1, 13, 20, Tenny discloses a communication method implemented by a first apparatus at a terminal side, comprising: obtaining first power saving information from a second apparatus at a network side, wherein the first power saving information is related to power saving of a first network device (a first mobile device can receive a first indication of a first transmit activity pattern associated with a second mobile device that transmits data to the first mobile device. For instance, the UE 151 can determine a receive activity pattern based on transmit activity pattern(s) of UE device(s) that transmit data to the UE 151, and then switch between an active receiving state and a power saving state based on the receive activity pattern) (paras. 0005, 0006, 0036), the first power saving information indicates duration of a first active time period, and the duration of the first active time period is variable (the receive activity pattern defines active time durations (on-durations) and inactive time durations (off-durations) for receive activity. In an active time duration, a , such as UE 151 is in the active receiving state, and can receive data. In an inactive time duration, the UE1 151 is in the power saving state (e.g., receiving circuitry is in a low power mode) so the duration in a way is variable) (para. 0036); and communicating with the second apparatus in the duration of the first active time period (implicitly implied as noted above in the on time duration). Tenny further discloses a memory (820) configured to store programs or data, the memory can include transitory or non-transitory storage medium and at least one processor (processing circuitry (810) (para. 0094) Regarding claims 2, 14, Tenny discloses with the first power saving information duration of a first power saving cycle, wherein the duration of the first active time period is less than the duration of the first power saving cycle (show data and no data cycle) (see fig. 4), and a first time domain offset, wherein the first time domain offset is a start time point of the first power saving cycle (a transmit activity pattern can be defined based on parameters, such as a periodicity and/or a time offset. Then, the transmission occasions can be determined based on the periodicity and the time offset (e.g., relative to the system timing)) (para. 0050). Regarding claims 3, 15, Tenny discloses where the duration of the first active time period changes when an update condition of the duration of the first active time period is met (the allowance timers may expire independently, resulting in changes in the aggregated receive activity pattern of the reception side UE. In some embodiments, the end marker may be specific to a service, specific to a connection, or specific to a particular UE pair) (para. 0087). Regarding claims 4, 16, Tenny discloses communicating with the second apparatus in a first updated duration of the first active time period when the update condition of the duration of the first active time period is met (first mobile device updates the first receive activity pattern to include an adjusted first transmit activity pattern with an increased cycle time, and monitors the radio interface according to the updated first receive activity pattern) (paras. 0008, 0009). Regarding claim 10, Tenny discloses obtaining second indication information from the second apparatus, wherein the second indication information indicates whether the first network device receives uplink information in duration of a first dormant time period (the reception side UE can wake up from a dormant or sleeping state (power saving state) for the indicated transmission occasions, and if nothing is received on a transmission occasion, the reception side UE may quickly return to the dormant or sleeping state (power saving state) in order to conserve battery power (para. 0059). Regarding claim 11, Tenny discloses where the duration of the first dormant time period is associated with one of: the duration of the first active time period, or a updated duration of the first active time period ( receive activity pattern defines active time durations (on-durations) and inactive time durations (off-durations) for receive activity. In an active time duration, the UE 151 is in the active receiving state, and can receive data. In an inactive time duration, the UE1 151 is in the power saving state (e.g., receiving circuitry is in a low power mode) and does not receive data ) (para. 0036). Regarding claim 12, Tenny discloses wherein the second indication information is obtained via a system information (the wireless communication system 100 includes devices such as UE 151 can determine a receive activity pattern based on transmit activity patterns of one or more other UE devices, such as UE 152-154, and can switch between an active receiving state and a power saving state according to the receive activity pattern) (para. 0026) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-8, 18-19 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny et al (hereinafter Tenny) (US 2021/0321329) in view of Huang et al (hereinafter Huang) (US 2021/0037468) . Regarding claims 6, 18, Tenny discloses limitation recited above with claim 1, 13, 20. Tenny does not expressly show where the duration of the first active time period changes when receiving first indication information scrambled by using a predefined radio network temporary identifier (RNTI). Huang in a similar field of endeavor of power saving discloses UE may need to monitor Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) scrambled with UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (e.g., C-RNTI, CS-RNTI, SPS-V-RNTI, SL-V-RNTI) in active time (e.g., DRX ON) (para. 0448). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang with active time duration of Tenny for the benefit of allow the active time period duration to be updated, where UE may monitor the common PDCCH based on configuration for the common PDCCH regardless of whether in active time or not. Regarding claims 7, 19, Tenny in view of Huang discloses limitation noted above. Huang further discloses where the predefined RNTI indicates to update the duration of the first active time period (the first UE could receive a signal during a first cycle, wherein the signal indicates the updated first duration and/or the updated second duration in a second cycle) (para. 0465). Regarding claim 8, Tenny in view of Huang discloses limitation noted above. Huang further discloses communicating with the second apparatus in a second updated duration of the first active time period associating with the first indication information (the first UE, in the second cycle, could perform monitoring or receiving sidelink transmission in the updated first duration) (para. 0465) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 9, 17, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI whose telephone number is (571) 272-3014. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30am to 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached at 571 272 3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632. Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 2 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 3 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 4 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 5 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 6 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 7 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 8 Art Unit: 2632 Application/Control Number: 18/646,712 Page 9 Art Unit: 2632