DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao US 20210368032.
Regarding claim 1, Liao US 20210368032 discloses (in Fig. 6-12) a hinge assembly, comprising:
a base (111 shown in Fig. 6) provided with a first fitting portion (portion receiving 14a shown in Fig. 6-7) and a second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b shown in Fig. 6-7);
a first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a) is able to be movably connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 14a);
a second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b) is able to be movably connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b);
a first movable piece (14a in Fig. 6-7),
wherein a first end of the first movable piece (14a) is provided with a first gear sleeve (142 of 14a in Fig. 9),
wherein an outer surface of the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is provided with a first gear end (end at 142 of 14a in Fig. 9), and
the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is connected to and moves synchronously with the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a); and
a second movable piece (14b in Fig. 6-7),
wherein a first end of the second movable piece (14b) is provided with a second gear sleeve (142 of 14b in Fig. 9),
wherein an outer surface of the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is provided with a second gear end (end at 142 of 14b in Fig. 9),
the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is connected to and moves synchronously with the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b), and
the second gear end (end at 142 of 14b) directly engages with the first gear end (end at 142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 6-9).
Regarding claim 3, Liao discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is provided with a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14a in Fig. 9), and
a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a) is disposed in the first mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 6-9); and
wherein the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is provided with a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14b in Fig. 9), and
a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b) is disposed in the second mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14abas depicted in Fig. 6-9).
Regarding claim 5, Liao discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first elastic piece (184 of 14a in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) in a telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) is connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 14), and a second end of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) in the telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) is connected to the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 11-12); and
a second elastic piece (184 of 14b in Fig. 11-12), wherein a first end of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) in a telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) is connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b), and a second end of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) in the telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) is connected to the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b as depicted in Fig. 11-12).
Regarding claim 10, Liao discloses an electronic device, comprising
a flexible screen (40 in Fig. 2);
a first part (20 in Fig. 1);
a second part (30 in Fig. 2); and
a hinge assembly (10 in Fig. 2),
wherein the hinge assembly (10) comprises:
a base (111 in Fig. 6) provided with a first fitting portion (portion receiving 14a in Fig. 5-6) and a second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b in Fig. 5-6);
a first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a) is able to be movably connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 30);
a second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b) is able to be movably connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b);
a first movable piece (14a in Fig. 5-6),
wherein a first end of the first movable piece (14a) is provided with a first gear sleeve (142 of 14a in Fig. 9),
wherein an outer surface of the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is provided with a first gear end (end at 142 of 14a in Fig. 9), and
the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is connected to and moves synchronously with the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a); and
a second movable piece (14b in Fig. 5-6),
wherein a first end of the second movable piece (14b) is provided with a second gear sleeve (142 of 14b in Fig. 9),
wherein an outer surface of the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is provided with a second gear end (end at 142 of 14b in Fig. 9),
the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is connected to and moves synchronously with the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b), and
the second gear end (end at 142 of 14b) directly engages with the first gear end (end at 142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 7-9),
wherein:
the first part (20) is connected to the first movable piece (14a),
the second part (30) is connected to the second movable piece (14b), and
the flexible screen (40) covers the first part (20), the hinge assembly (10), and the second part (30).
Regarding claim 12, Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a) is provided with a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14a), and
a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (183 of 14a) is disposed in the first mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 7-9); and
wherein the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b) is provided with a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14b), and
a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (183 of 14b) is disposed in the second mounting hole (mounting hole of 142 of 14b as depicted in Fig. 7-9).
Regarding claim 14, Liao discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first elastic piece (184 of 14a in Fig. 11-12),
wherein a first end of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) in a telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) is connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 14), and a second end of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) in the telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (184 of 14a) is connected to the first gear sleeve (142 of 14a as depicted in Fig. 11-12); and
a second elastic piece (184 of 14b in Fig. 11-12), wherein a first end of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) in a telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) is connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 14b), and a second end of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) in the telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (184 of 14b) is connected to the second gear sleeve (142 of 14b as depicted in Fig. 11-12).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao US 20220303371 (hereinafter referred to as Liao 371).
Regarding claim 1, Liao 371 discloses (in the embodiment of Fig. 26a) a hinge assembly, comprising:
a base (10 shown in Fig. 25a) provided with a first fitting portion (portion receiving 30 shown in Fig. 25a) and a second fitting portion (portion receiving 60 shown in Fig. 25a);
a first synchronizing shaft (502a in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) is able to be movably connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 30);
a second synchronizing shaft (502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) is able to be movably connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 60);
a first movable piece (30 in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first movable piece (30) is provided with a first gear sleeve (401 in Fig. 26a),
wherein an outer surface of the first gear sleeve (401) is provided with a first gear end (end at 401 in Fig. 26a), and
the first gear sleeve (401) is connected to and moves synchronously with the first synchronizing shaft (502a); and
a second movable piece (60 in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the second movable piece (60) is provided with a second gear sleeve (402 in Fig. 26a),
wherein an outer surface of the second gear sleeve (402) is provided with a second gear end (end at 402 in Fig. 26a),
the second gear sleeve (402) is connected to and moves synchronously with the second synchronizing shaft (502b), and
the second gear end (end at 402) directly engages with the first gear end (end at 401 as depicted in Fig. 26a).
Regarding claim 3, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first gear sleeve (401) is provided with a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 401), and
a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) is disposed in the first mounting hole (mounting hole of 401 as depicted in Fig. 26a); and
wherein the second gear sleeve (402) is provided with a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 402), and
a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) is disposed in the second mounting hole (mounting hole of 402 as depicted in Fig. 26a).
Regarding claim 5, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first elastic piece (503a in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first elastic piece (503a) in a telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (503a) is connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 30), and a second end of the first elastic piece (503a) in the telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (503a) is connected to the first gear sleeve (401 as depicted in Fig. 26a); and
a second elastic piece (503b in Fig. 26a), wherein a first end of the second elastic piece (503b) in a telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (503b) is connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 60), and a second end of the second elastic piece (503b) in the telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (503b) is connected to the second gear sleeve (402 as depicted in Fig. 26a).
Regarding claim 6, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 5, wherein the first gear sleeve (401) has a first fitting surface (surface of 401 in Fig. 26a) that is provided opposite the second end of the first elastic piece (503a),
wherein the first fitting surface is provided with a plurality of first protruding portions (protrusions of 401/36b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the first synchronizing shaft (502a) rotates, and
a first recessed portion (recess in 401/36b in Fig. 26a) is formed between two adjacent first protruding portions (protrusions of 401/36b);
wherein the second gear sleeve (402) has a second fitting surface that is provided opposite the second end of the second elastic piece (503b),
wherein the second fitting surface is provided with a plurality of second protruding portions (protrusions of 402/64b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the second synchronizing shaft (502b) rotates, and
a second recessed portion (recess in 402/64b in Fig. 26a) is formed between two adjacent second protruding portions (protrusions of 402/64b); and
wherein the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first cam (portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 26a),
wherein the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) is connected to the second end (end of 503a at 501a) of the first elastic piece (503a), and
the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) has a third fitting surface (surface of 501b in contact with 401) facing the first fitting surface (surface of 401),
wherein the third fitting surface is provided with a first protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 30) and a first recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 30) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the first synchronizing shaft (502a) rotates,
wherein:
a shape of the first protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502a) corresponds to a shape of the first recessed portion (recess in 401/36b as depicted in Fig. 26a),
a shape of the first recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502a) corresponds to a shape of the first protruding portion (protrusions of 401/36b as depicted in Fig. 26a), and
the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) is able to rotate around an axis of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) to adjust a preload of the first elastic piece (503a) against the first gear sleeve (402); and
a second cam (portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) is connected to the second end of the second elastic piece (503b), and
the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) has a fourth fitting surface facing the second fitting surface (surface of 402),
wherein:
the fourth fitting surface is provided with a second protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a) and a second recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the second synchronizing shaft (502b) rotates,
wherein:
a shape of the second protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502b) corresponds to a shape of the second recessed portion (recess in 402/64b as depicted in Fig. 26a),
a shape of the second recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502b) corresponds to a shape of the second protruding portion (protrusions of 402/64b as depicted in Fig. 26a), and
the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) is able to rotate around an axis of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) to adjust a preload of the second elastic piece (503b) against the second gear sleeve (402).
Regarding claim 7, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a position-limiting piece (506 in Fig. 26b not numbered in Fig. 26a),
wherein the position-limiting piece (506) is connected to both a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) and a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b), and
the position-limiting piece (506) is provided with a first positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502a in Fig. 26a) and a second positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein the second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) passes through the first positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502a), and
the second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) passes through the second positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502b).
Regarding claim 8, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 7, wherein the second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) and the second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) are each provided with a shaft cap (cap of 502a in Fig. 26a), and the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first circlip (505 at 502a in Fig. 26a) connected to the first end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a); and
a second circlip (505 at 502b in Fig. 26a) connected to the first end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b).
Regarding claim 9, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a guide cover (11 in Fig. 11) spaced apart from the base (10),
wherein two ends of a first surface of the guide cover (11) are provided with a first chute (111 corresponding to 32 in Fig. 13b) and a second chute (111 corresponding to 62 in Fig. 13b), respectively;
a first swing arm (32 in Fig. 13a-13b),
wherein a first end of the first swing arm (32) is slidably connected to the first chute (111 corresponding to 32);
a second swing arm (62 in Fig. 13a-13b),
wherein a first end of the second swing arm (62) is slidably connected to the second chute (111 corresponding to 62);
a first guide support (20 in Fig. 9),
wherein a first end of the first guide support (20) is movably connected to a second end of the first swing arm (32); and
a second guide support (50 in Fig. 9),
wherein a first end of the second guide support (50) is movably connected to a second end of the second swing arm (62).
Regarding claim 10, Liao 371 discloses (in Fig. 26a) an electronic device, comprising
a flexible screen (4000 in Fig. 6a);
a first part (2000 in Fig. 6a);
a second part (3000 in Fig. 6a); and
a hinge assembly (1000 in Fig. 6a and 9),
wherein the hinge assembly (1000) comprises:
a base (10 in Fig. 9) provided with a first fitting portion (portion receiving 30 in Fig. 9) and a second fitting portion (portion receiving 60 in Fig. 9);
a first synchronizing shaft (502a in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) is able to be movably connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 30);
a second synchronizing shaft (502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) is able to be movably connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 60);
a first movable piece (30 in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first movable piece (30) is provided with a first gear sleeve (401 in Fig. 26a),
wherein an outer surface of the first gear sleeve (401) is provided with a first gear end (end at 401 in Fig. 26a), and
the first gear sleeve (401) is connected to and moves synchronously with the first synchronizing shaft (502a); and
a second movable piece (60 in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the second movable piece (60) is provided with a second gear sleeve (402 in Fig. 26a),
wherein an outer surface of the second gear sleeve (402) is provided with a second gear end (end at 402 in Fig. 26a),
the second gear sleeve (402) is connected to and moves synchronously with the second synchronizing shaft (502b), and
the second gear end (end at 402) directly engages with the first gear end (end at 401 as depicted in Fig. 26a),
wherein:
the first part (2000) is connected to the first movable piece (30),
the second part (3000) is connected to the second movable piece (60), and
the flexible screen (4000) covers the first part (2000), the hinge assembly (1000), and the second part (3000).
Regarding claim 12, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the first gear sleeve (401) is provided with a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 401), and
a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) is disposed in the first mounting hole (mounting hole of 401 as depicted in Fig. 26a); and
wherein the second gear sleeve (402) is provided with a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 402), and
a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) is disposed in the second mounting hole (mounting hole of 402 as depicted in Fig. 26a).
Regarding claim 14, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first elastic piece (503a in Fig. 26a),
wherein a first end of the first elastic piece (503a) in a telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (503a) is connected to the first fitting portion (portion receiving 30), and a second end of the first elastic piece (503a) in the telescoping direction of the first elastic piece (503a) is connected to the first gear sleeve (401 as depicted in Fig. 26a); and
a second elastic piece (503b in Fig. 26a), wherein a first end of the second elastic piece (503b) in a telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (503b) is connected to the second fitting portion (portion receiving 60), and a second end of the second elastic piece (503b) in the telescoping direction of the second elastic piece (503b) is connected to the second gear sleeve (402 as depicted in Fig. 26a).
Regarding claim 15, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the first gear sleeve (401) has a first fitting surface (surface of 401 in Fig. 26a) that is provided opposite the second end of the first elastic piece (503a),
wherein the first fitting surface is provided with a plurality of first protruding portions (protrusions of 401/36b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the first synchronizing shaft (502a) rotates, and
a first recessed portion (recess in 401/36b in Fig. 26a) is formed between two adjacent first protruding portions (protrusions of 401/36b);
wherein the second gear sleeve (402) has a second fitting surface that is provided opposite the second end of the second elastic piece (503b),
wherein the second fitting surface is provided with a plurality of second protruding portions (protrusions of 402/64b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the second synchronizing shaft (502b) rotates, and
a second recessed portion (recess in 402/64b in Fig. 26a) is formed between two adjacent second protruding portions (protrusions of 402/64b); and
wherein the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first cam (portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 26a),
wherein the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) is connected to the second end (end of 503a at 501a) of the first elastic piece (503a), and
the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) has a third fitting surface (surface of 501b in contact with 401) facing the first fitting surface (surface of 401),
wherein the third fitting surface is provided with a first protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 26a) and a first recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502a in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the first synchronizing shaft (502a) rotates,
wherein:
a shape of the first protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502a) corresponds to a shape of the first recessed portion (recess in 401/36b as depicted in Fig. 26a),
a shape of the first recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502a) corresponds to a shape of the first protruding portion (protrusions of 401/36b as depicted in Fig. 26a), and
the first cam (portion of 501b at 502a) is able to rotate around an axis of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) to adjust a preload of the first elastic piece (503a) against the first gear sleeve (402); and
a second cam (portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) is connected to the second end of the second elastic piece (503b), and
the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) has a fourth fitting surface facing the second fitting surface (surface of 402),
wherein:
the fourth fitting surface is provided with a second protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a) and a second recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502b in Fig. 26a) that are spaced apart in a direction in which the second synchronizing shaft (502b) rotates,
wherein:
a shape of the second protrusion (protrusion of portion of 501b at 502b) corresponds to a shape of the second recessed portion (recess in 402/64b as depicted in Fig. 26a),
a shape of the second recess (recess of portion of 501b at 502b) corresponds to a shape of the second protruding portion (protrusions of 402/64b as depicted in Fig. 26a), and
the second cam (portion of 501b at 502b) is able to rotate around an axis of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) to adjust a preload of the second elastic piece (503b) against the second gear sleeve (402).
Regarding claim 16, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the hinge assembly further comprises:
a position-limiting piece (506 in Fig. 26b shown not numbered in Fig. 26a),
wherein the position-limiting piece (506) is connected to both a second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) and a second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b), and
the position-limiting piece (506) is provided with a first positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502a in Fig. 26a) and a second positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502b in Fig. 26a),
wherein the second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) passes through the first positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502a), and
the second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) passes through the second positioning hole (hole of 506 receiving 502b).
Regarding claim 17, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the second end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a) and the second end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b) are each provided with a shaft cap (cap of 502a in Fig. 27), and the hinge assembly further comprises:
a first circlip (505 at 502a in Fig. 26a) connected to the first end of the first synchronizing shaft (502a); and
a second circlip (505 at 502b in Fig. 26a) connected to the first end of the second synchronizing shaft (502b).
Regarding claim 18, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, the hinge assembly further comprises:
a guide cover (11 in Fig. 11) spaced apart from the base (10),
wherein two ends of a first surface of the guide cover (11) are provided with a first chute (111 corresponding to 32 in Fig. 13b) and a second chute (111 corresponding to 62 in Fig. 13b), respectively;
a first swing arm (32 in Fig. 13a-13b),
wherein a first end of the first swing arm (32) is slidably connected to the first chute (111 corresponding to 32);
a second swing arm (62 in Fig. 13a-13b),
wherein a first end of the second swing arm (62) is slidably connected to the second chute (111 corresponding to 62);
a first guide support (20 in Fig. 9),
wherein a first end of the first guide support (20) is movably connected to a second end of the first swing arm (32); and
a second guide support (50 in Fig. 9),
wherein a first end of the second guide support (50) is movably connected to a second end of the second swing arm (62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao 371 as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Xu US 20250097330.
Regarding claim 4, Liao 371 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 3.
Liao 371 does not explicitly disclose that the first synchronizing shaft is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the first synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and
an inner wall surface of the first mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft; and
wherein the second synchronizing shaft is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the second synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and
an inner wall surface of the second mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft.
However, Xu discloses that a first synchronizing shaft (371) is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the first synchronizing shaft (371) in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular (flat portion as depicted in Fig. 32), and
an inner wall surface of a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 344 in Fig. 14) presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft (371 as depicted in Fig. 33); and
wherein a second synchronizing shaft (372) is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the second synchronizing shaft (372) in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular (plat portion as depicted in Fig. 32), and
an inner wall surface of a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 354 in Fig. 14) presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft (372 as depicted in Fig. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the claimed invention to have the first synchronizing shaft of Liao 371 be a cylindrical piece, a section of the first synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and an inner wall surface of the first mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft; and the second synchronizing shaft of Liao 371 be a cylindrical piece, a section of the second synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and an inner wall surface of the second mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft, as taught by Xu, in order to further insure synchronized rotation of the shafts with the gear sleeves.
Regarding claim 13, Liao 371 discloses the electronic device according to claim 12.
Liao 371 does not explicitly disclose that the first synchronizing shaft is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the first synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and
an inner wall surface of the first mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft; and
wherein the second synchronizing shaft is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the second synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and
an inner wall surface of the second mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft.
However, Xu discloses that a first synchronizing shaft (371) is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the first synchronizing shaft (371) in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular (flat portion as depicted in Fig. 32), and
an inner wall surface of a first mounting hole (mounting hole of 344 in Fig. 14) presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft (371 as depicted in Fig. 33); and
wherein a second synchronizing shaft (372) is a cylindrical piece,
a section of the second synchronizing shaft (372) in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular (plat portion as depicted in Fig. 32), and
an inner wall surface of a second mounting hole (mounting hole of 354 in Fig. 14) presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft (372 as depicted in Fig. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the claimed invention to have the first synchronizing shaft of Liao 371 be a cylindrical piece, a section of the first synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the first synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and an inner wall surface of the first mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the first synchronizing shaft; and the second synchronizing shaft of Liao 371 be a cylindrical piece, a section of the second synchronizing shaft in an axial direction of the second synchronizing shaft is non-circular, and an inner wall surface of the second mounting hole presses against an outer wall surface of the second synchronizing shaft, as taught by Xu, in order to further insure synchronized rotation of the shafts with the gear sleeves.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-13, filed 01/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-10 and 12-18 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liao US 20210368032, and the embodiment of Fig. 26a of Liao US 20220303371 in view of Xu US 20250097330.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841