DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment submitted 12/15/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim(s) 1-10 in the previous Office Action under this section, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) or subsection (b) (AIA ), for being indefinite is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2004/0060409 A1 to Leung et al. (hereinafter “Leung”) in view of US 2009/0210006 A1 to Cohen et al. (hereinafter “Cohen”) (both references previously made of record by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Leung discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-7B; Examiner’s Diagram of Fig. 7A below; and [0045]-[0178]) a suture structure (80, see Figs. 7A-B and [0135]-[0178]) that enhances lifting effect (see at least [0134]), comprising: a thread (82), which has a thread diameter ("SD") that extends in a lengthwise direction; a plurality of barbs (81), which are arranged on a surface of the thread (see Figs. 7A-B) in the lengthwise direction, the barbs having at least one planar surface; and a plurality of grooves ("CD"), which are formed on the surface of the thread to respectively correspond to the plurality of barbs and are each arranged adjacent to the respective barb of the plurality of barbs at one side of the barb in the lengthwise direction (see Figs. 7A-B), wherein the barbs have a barb height and a barb width, and the grooves have a groove length and a groove depth (see Examiner's Diagram of Fig. 7A below, showing the 4 measurements and referring to X1-X4 as used by applicant in the spec. at Fig. 4), the barb height being between 0.27 times of the thread diameter (see [0172], 0.2-1 times the suture diameter, thus encompassing the claimed value), the barb width being 0.46 times of the thread diameter (see [0172], where it is 0.05-0.6 times the thread diameter, thus encompassing the claimed value), the groove length being 0.55 times of the thread diameter (see [0172], where it is 0.2-2 times the thread diameter, thus encompassing the claimed value), the groove depth being between 0.33 times of the thread diameter (see [0172] where it is 0.05-0.6 times the thread diameter at its maximum depth, note also that the groove depth varies along length "L, thus encompassing the claimed value) (see MPEP 2131.03, when the prior art teaches a range that overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity, the claim is anticipated - the ratios of the various measurements to the suture diameter are given with sufficient specificity in Leung for a person of ordinary skill to envisage the claimed range as being specific examples falling within the given range of Leung).
Leung further discloses (claims 6-7) wherein the plurality of barbs and the plurality of grooves are arranged on the thread in a spiral manner (see Figs. 6A-7B and [0106]/[0135]-[0137]); (claims 8-9) wherein the plurality of barbs and the plurality of grooves are arranged on the thread in an equidistant manner (see [0176]-[0177] and Fig. 7B; at cut distance "P").
With respect to claim 1, Leung fails to specifically disclose wherein for at least one barb of the barbs, the at least one planar surface is formed on a distal end of the at least one barb and distant from the thread and parallel to the lengthwise direction and wherein the groove that corresponds to the at least one barb is defined by at least one planar bottom that is away from the at least one planar surface and parallel to the length wise direction.
Cohen discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-4A; and [0022]-[0082]), in the same field of endeavor of barbed sutures, a suture structure (Fig. 4A, see [0023]-[0026]) comprising a thread (14), a plurality of barbs (12) arranged on a surface of the thread in the lengthwise direction, the barbs having at least one planar surface (indicated by #12 in Fig. 4A); a plurality of grooves (indicated by #12C in Fig. 4A), which are formed on the surface of the thread to respectively correspond to the plurality of barbs and are each arranged adjacent to the respective barb of the plurality of barbs at one side of the barb in the lengthwise direction (see Fig. 4A), wherein for at least one barb of the barbs, the at least one planar surface is formed on a distal end of the at least one barb and distant from the thread and parallel to the lengthwise direction (see Fig. 4A, the planar surface indicated by #12 extends to the distal end of the barb and is both distant from the thread and parallel to the lengthwise direction indicated by “D-D”) and wherein the groove that corresponds to the at least one barb is defined by at least one planar bottom that is away from the at least one planar surface and parallel to the length wise direction (see Fig. 4A, the portion of the groove formed at portion 12C corresponds to the barb, is defined by a planar bottom that is away from planar surface indicated by #12 of the barb, and is parallel to the lengthwise direction indicated by “D-D”). Cohen deems this type of barb a “compound barb”, and indicates that a suture thread can have any combination of compound barbs and single angle barbs (see Fig. 3 and [0025]). Leung’s device is considered to have single angle barbs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a barbed suture such as in Leung having both single angle barbs and at least one compound barb as taught by Cohen since these different types of barbs are useful for providing a gripping effect in tissue into which the suture is inserted to prevent pull-out or migration by providing differing angles of the barb as they are inserted into tissue to provide a variety of gripping forces on the tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771