DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed December 15th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9-11, and 19-20 have been amended. Claim 21 has been added.
The Section 103 rejections over Horn as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Ichikawa as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Beckert as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The Section 103 rejections over Ashraf as the primary reference made in the Office action mailed have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection has been made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 15th, 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, provisional Application Nos.62/737,367 & 62/821,485, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The (additional) closed shapes (formed discontinuous elements) at the intersections of any of the grid lines, is not taught until 16/575,706 filed 09/19/2019.
Therefore, the priority date of claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, and 13-21 is September 19th, 2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-18, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2001/0008683 A1) (hereinafter “Takai”) in view of Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D824,180 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘180”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-18, and 21, Takai teaches a nonwoven fabric as a part of an absorbent article liquid permeable skin contacting top sheet or liquid impermeable back sheet (outer cover) with the absorbent core disposed therebetween [0074, Fig. 6] comprising a plurality of first and second (and fifth) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements crossing a plurality of third and fourth (and six and seventh) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements extending intermediate the first and second lines (and the first and fifth) at a (positive/negative) slope, each of the lines comprising a curved or linear shape having closed shapes formed by a plurality of discontinuous elements formed at the intersections thereof [All Figs. [H4]), each of the discontinuous press-welded elements having a smaller thickness and density than the lofted/pillowed portions defined by them [0061], the closed shape portions further comprising press-welded shapes comprising either or both linear/curvilinear lines (All Figs. [H5]) and continuous/discontinuous closed shape patterns (All Figs. [H1/H2/H3]).
However, the first, second, third, and fourth lines are all depicted curvilinear.
Enderby ‘180 teaches a plurality shapes comprising first and second (and fifth) parallel straight lines formed of discontinuous elements having shorter third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) parallel curvilinear lines formed of discontinuous elements extending therebetween (at a positive/negative slope) demonstrating the limitation to have straight and/or curved parallel lines is an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claims 14 & 17/14-18/14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai in view of Enderby ‘180, as applied to claim 1, further in view Ding et al. (CN 101914838 A) (hereinafter “Ding”).
Regarding claim 14, a through-air bonded nonwoven is not taught.
Ding teaches a nonwoven fabric applied to personal hygiene products such as diapers [0002-0004], wherein at least a hot air process is used in addition to a simultaneous shaping process that causes consolidated depressions in a linear pattern that surrounds non-limited geometrically shaped bulging non-bonded regions [0018, 0060]in the nonwoven fabric [0034], having the bulkiness/flexibility of a through air bonded nonwoven but the strength and antifluff qualities of being shaped [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a through air process to at least partially bond intersecting fibers included with a shaping/deformation process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a nonwoven having good strength/flexibility while maintaining antifluff qualities [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 15 & 17/15-18/15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takai in view of Enderby ‘180, as applied to claim 1, optionally further in view of Yamanaka et al. (JP 2014-094159 A) (hereinafter “Yamanaka”) OR Arizti et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0282999 A1) (hereinafter “Arizti”).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, only a first recognizable pattern comprising first and second regions is taught by Takai. However, more than one zone having the same pattern can be formed.
Alternatively, Yamanaka teaches a disposable diaper comprising a backsheet and garment exterior sheet [0036-0037], wherein the exterior sheet comprises a nonwoven that at least partially functions as a loop material [0062], wherein a first visually distinct design pattern (All Figs. [M11]) and a second visually distinct design imparted by thermal/ultrasonic bonding/embossing forming each design pattern comprising two different regions each region comprising different densities [0065, 0067-0068], wherein the first design pattern is different from the second design pattern such that they may be visually differentiated and/or by touch even in dark conditions [0049, 0051, 0056] the first design pattern acting as a target region/landing zone [0062-0063].
OR
Arizti teaches a nonwoven substrate having zonal treatments, wherein a first zone comprises a first morphological treatment and the second zone comprises a second morphological treatment different from the first [0008, 0141, 0181, 0208], wherein a morphological treatment can comprise embossing in a plurality of intersecting lines [0177, Fig. 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a second visually distinct pattern of embossed (or emboss-like) lines forming a third and fourth regions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to design a landing zone and/or outer cover having a visual and touch differentiation for fastening [Yamanaka; 0049, 0051, 0056] OR provide different patterns for aesthetical and/or functional reasons such as fluid handling [Arizti; 0008, 0141, 0181, 0208].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-19, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0177886 A1) (hereinafter “Kanya”) in view of Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D824,180 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘180”), and/or optionally Horn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0158957 A1) (hereinafter “Horn”), and Schuller et al. (U.S. Patent No. D734,618 S) and/or Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D556,462 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘462), and/or optionally Tanio et al. (JP 2011-200337 A) (hereinafter “Tanio”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-19, and 21, Kanya teaches a spunbonded/spunlaid continuous fiber nonwoven [0012, 0047, 0070, 0099] for an absorbent article the nonwoven comprising the liquid permeable topsheet or the liquid impermeable backsheet having a landing/fastening zone, with an absorbent core disposed therebetween [0060, 0082-0083], the nonwoven having an increased appearing and feeling softness, wherein that visual impression is at least partially imparted by a plurality of quilt-like closed shape (second) pillow regions defined by a lattice pattern of discontinuous geometric elements (second regions) comprising a plurality of first and second (and fifth) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements crossing a plurality of third and fourth (and six and seventh) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements extending intermediate the first and second lines (and the first and fifth, respectively) at a (positive/negative) slope, which allows the fibers inbetween to pop/pillow out most effectively [0103, 0113], and that while rhombus/diamond shapes are depicted, other shapes, such as triangles and parallelograms, may be suitable [0108].
However, the third and fourth lines being curvilinear and while the first and second lines remain straight and a plurality of (additional) closed shapes being formed of discontinuous elements at intersections of the first and third/fourth and second and third/fourth lines is not taught.
Enderby ‘180 teaches a plurality shapes comprising first and second (and fifth) parallel straight lines formed of discontinuous elements having shorter third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) parallel curvilinear lines formed of discontinuous elements extending therebetween (at a positive/negative slope) demonstrating the limitation to have straight and/or curved parallel lines is an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Alternatively or furthermore, Horn teaches a nonwoven web being a component of an absorbent article such as a diaper comprising a liquid pervious topsheet, liquid impervious backsheet, and an absorbent core positioned therebetween [0032], with the backsheet comprising an outer cover nonwoven material forming a garment facing surface [0036-0037], wherein the nonwoven web may form a loop member/landing zone, topsheet, and/or outer cover of the backsheet [0049], wherein the nonwoven web comprises a (first visually distinct) pattern of lofted (three-dimensional, quilted) cells (second region) defined a first plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (first, second, fifth lines) and a second plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (third, fourth, sixth, seventh lines), extending at an angle (positive/negative slope, dependent upon perspective) to the first plurality, wherein the bond lines are formed via thermal embossing [0055], which inherently increases at least the volumetric density, possibly the basis weight, and lowers the caliper of the bond sites in relation to the cells which are relatively lofted [0055, 0072-0074], wherein at least one of the first and second pluralities of bond lines are formed curvilinear such that cells formed by the first, second, and fifth lines and third, fourth, sixth, and seventh lines have two parallel linear sides and two sides that are parallel curved and longer [0058 & Fig. 4], wherein at least one bonding line (or bonding line set) being non-linear/curvilinear allows for additional bonding of the fibers within the web without increasing bond area which further increases web integrity and increases hook anchoring when used as a mechanical loop fastener [0056, 0063, 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form at least one plurality of parallel bonding lines (third and fourth) as curvilinear, which can be the only set of curvilinear lines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase web bonding/integrity/strength without substantially increasing bond area [Horn; 0056, 0063, 0070].
Also, Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462 teach discontinuous parallel lines in a grid/lattice pattern surrounding closed geometric shapes, wherein at each of the intersections is a second type of (smaller) closed shape formed by discontinuous pattern elements, demonstrating the limitation to have a second-type of closed shape formed by discontinuous pattern elements in a discontinuous parallel line lattice pattern is an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Alternatively or furthermore, Tanio teaches a compressed groove lattice pattern defining a plurality of closed shapes having a different intensive property, wherein located at the intersections of the groove, connected or disconnected therefrom, is an additional decorative floral recess providing visual enjoyment, preventing bending of the absorbent article along the grooves [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a second-type of closed shape formed by similar pattern elements in a parallel line lattice pattern. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide visual enjoyment while also providing a bit more resistance to bending along the grooves [0048].
Claims 14 & 17/14-18/14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya in view of Enderby ‘180, optionally Horn, and Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462, as applied to claim 1, optionally further in view of Ding et al. (CN 101914838 A) (hereinafter “Ding”).
Regarding claim 14, a through-air bonded nonwoven is not taught.
Ding teaches a nonwoven fabric applied to personal hygiene products such as diapers [0002-0004], wherein at least a hot air process is used in addition to a simultaneous shaping process that causes consolidated depressions in a linear pattern that surrounds non-limited geometrically shaped bulging non-bonded regions [0018, 0060]in the nonwoven fabric [0034], having the bulkiness/flexibility of a through air bonded nonwoven but the strength and antifluff qualities of being shaped [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a through air process to at least partially bond intersecting fibers included with a shaping/deformation process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a nonwoven having good strength/flexibility while maintaining antifluff qualities [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 15 & 17/15-18/15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya in view of Enderby ‘180, optionally Horn, and Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Weirich et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,615,460) (hereinafter “Weirich”) OR Yamanaka et al. (JP 2014-094159 A) (hereinafter “Yamanaka”) OR Arizti et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0282999 A1) (hereinafter “Arizti”).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, only a first recognizable pattern comprising first and second regions is taught by Takai. However, more than one zone having the same pattern can be formed.
Alternatively, Weirich teaches a female (loop) component for a fastening device included in an absorbent article having regions of different extensibility, wherein differentials may be provided by a non-uniform patterns of joining (bonding) the nonwoven creating regions of differing loft (col. 8, lines 4-26 & col. 10, lines 26-48).
OR
Yamanaka teaches a disposable diaper comprising a backsheet and garment exterior sheet [0036-0037], wherein the exterior sheet comprises a nonwoven that at least partially functions as a loop material [0062], wherein a first visually distinct design pattern (All Figs. [M11]) and a second visually distinct design imparted by thermal/ultrasonic bonding/embossing forming each design pattern comprising two different regions each region comprising different densities [0065, 0067-0068], wherein the first design pattern is different from the second design pattern such that they may be visually differentiated and/or by touch even in dark conditions [0049, 0051, 0056] the first design pattern acting as a target region/landing zone [0062-0063].
OR
Arizti teaches a nonwoven substrate having zonal treatments, wherein a first zone comprises a first morphological treatment and the second zone comprises a second morphological treatment different from the first [0008, 0141, 0181, 0208], wherein a morphological treatment can comprise embossing in a plurality of intersecting lines [0177, Fig. 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a second visually distinct pattern of embossed (or emboss-like) lines forming a third and fourth regions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form different extensibility and/or visually different loft/loop regions [Weirich; col. 8, lines 4-26] OR design a landing zone and/or outer cover having a visual and touch differentiation for fastening [Yamanaka; 0049, 0051, 0056] OR provide different patterns for aesthetical and/or functional reasons such as fluid handling [Arizti; 0008, 0141, 0181, 0208].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-19, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0177886 A1) (hereinafter “Kanya”) in view of Ticotin (Defining Elegance: Home Treasures Quilted Bedding), optionally also Horn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0158957 A1) (hereinafter “Horn”) OR Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 2,705,498), and Schuller et al. (U.S. Patent No. D734,618 S) and/or Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D556,462 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘462).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16-19, and 21, Kanya teaches a spunbonded/spunlaid continuous fiber nonwoven [0012, 0047, 0070, 0099] for an absorbent article the nonwoven comprising the liquid permeable topsheet or the liquid impermeable backsheet having a landing/fastening zone, with an absorbent core disposed therebetween [0060, 0082-0083], the nonwoven having an increased appearing and feeling softness, wherein that visual impression is at least partially imparted by a plurality of quilt-like closed shape (second) pillow regions defined by a lattice pattern of discontinuous geometric elements (second regions) comprising a plurality of first and second (and fifth) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements crossing a plurality of third and fourth (and six and seventh) continuous lines formed by discontinuous elements extending intermediate the first and second lines (and the first and fifth, respectively) at a (positive/negative) slope, which allows the fibers inbetween to pop/pillow out most effectively [0103, 0113], and that while rhombus/diamond shapes are depicted, other shapes, such as triangles and parallelograms, may be suitable [0108].
However, the third and fourth lines being curvilinear and while the first and second lines remain straight and a plurality of (additional) closed shapes being formed of discontinuous elements at intersections of the first and third/fourth and second and third/fourth lines is not taught.
Ticotin teaches stitched quilting patterns comprising discontinuous crossing lines, wherein only a fraction form pillowed geometric shapes defined by stitching patterns comprising lines that could be diagonal to a fiber/machine direction, which are rectangle/rhombus-type: Basket Weave, Viscaya, & Newport; rhombus/diamond-type: Blooms, Clover, Diamond, Honeycomb, Liberty, Luciana, Milano, Renaissance, & Sahara; and parallelogram-type (depicted below): Chester (on left: all straight lines) & Zurich (on right: first, second, fifth lines are straight, and third and fourth lines are curvilinear), comprising a herringbone/chevron pattern having vertical first, second, and fifth lines with negative and/or positive slope third, fourth, sixth, and seventh diagonal lines extending therebetween, demonstrating a parallelogram quilting embodiment as an alternative aesthetic design choice to the known diamond/rhombic design, wherein the parallelogram lattice grid having straight and/or curved parallel lines is also an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Johnson teaches a spunbond nonwoven cover layer for an absorbent core for a sanitary napkin and/or diaper (col. 1, lines 20-30), comprising a plurality of diagonal bonded lines that cause the fabric set therebetween to pillow/pucker outward, especially when the nonwoven is stretched crosswise/transversely providing a quilted effect (col. 3, lines 19-40), wherein a modification is to provide a known diamond shape with at least one set of parallel wavy lines (col. 5, lines 65-74; Fig. 10).
AND/OR
Horn teaches a nonwoven web being a component of an absorbent article such as a diaper comprising a liquid pervious topsheet, liquid impervious backsheet, and an absorbent core positioned therebetween [0032], with the backsheet comprising an outer cover nonwoven material forming a garment facing surface [0036-0037], wherein the nonwoven web may form a loop member/landing zone, topsheet, and/or outer cover of the backsheet [0049], wherein the nonwoven web comprises a (first visually distinct) pattern of lofted (three-dimensional, quilted) cells (second region) defined a first plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (first, second, fifth lines) and a second plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (third, fourth, sixth, seventh lines), extending at an angle (positive/negative slope, dependent upon perspective) to the first plurality, wherein the bond lines are formed via thermal embossing [0055], which inherently increases at least the volumetric density, possibly the basis weight, and lowers the caliper of the bond sites in relation to the cells which are relatively lofted [0055, 0072-0074], wherein at least one of the first and second pluralities of bond lines are formed curvilinear such that cells formed by the first, second, and fifth lines and third, fourth, sixth, and seventh lines have two parallel linear sides and two sides that are parallel curved and longer [0058 & Fig. 4], wherein at least one bonding line (or bonding line set) being non-linear/curvilinear allows for additional bonding of the fibers within the web without increasing bond area which further increases web integrity and increases hook anchoring when used as a mechanical loop fastener [0056, 0063, 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the diagonal bonding lines (third and fourth) crossing the fibers as curvilinear, wherein keeping the other lines as straight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a known wavy modification to diagonally oriented bonding/quilting lines, which would allow for increased cross-wise elasticity and displacement of fibers without rupture [Johnson; col. 5, lines 10-35 & 65-74] AND/OR increase web bonding/integrity/strength without increasing bond area and to allow more fibers to be available for anchoring hooks [Horn; 0056, 0063, 0070].
Also, Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462 teach discontinuous parallel lines in a grid/lattice pattern surrounding closed geometric shapes, wherein at each of the intersections is a second type of (smaller) closed shape formed by discontinuous pattern elements, demonstrating the limitation to have a second-type of closed shape formed by discontinuous pattern elements in a discontinuous parallel line lattice pattern is an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Alternatively or furthermore, Tanio teaches a compressed groove lattice pattern defining a plurality of closed shapes having a different intensive property, wherein located at the intersections of the groove, connected or disconnected therefrom, is an additional decorative floral recess providing visual enjoyment, preventing bending of the absorbent article along the grooves [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a second-type of closed shape formed by similar pattern elements in a parallel line lattice pattern. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide visual enjoyment while also providing a bit more resistance to bending along the grooves [0048].
Claims 14 & 17/14-18/14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya in view of Ticotin, optionally Horn OR Johnson, and Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462, as applied to claim 1, optionally further in view of Ding et al. (CN 101914838 A) (hereinafter “Ding”).
Regarding claim 14, a through-air bonded nonwoven is not taught.
Ding teaches a nonwoven fabric applied to personal hygiene products such as diapers [0002-0004], wherein at least a hot air process is used in addition to a simultaneous shaping process that causes consolidated depressions in a linear pattern that surrounds non-limited geometrically shaped bulging non-bonded regions [0018, 0060]in the nonwoven fabric [0034], having the bulkiness/flexibility of a through air bonded nonwoven but the strength and antifluff qualities of being shaped [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a through air process to at least partially bond intersecting fibers included with a shaping/deformation process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form a nonwoven having good strength/flexibility while maintaining antifluff qualities [0008, 0013, 0034, 0062].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 15 & 17/15-18/15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanya in view of Ticotin, optionally Horn OR Johnson, and Schuller and/or Enderby ‘462, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Weirich et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,615,460) (hereinafter “Weirich”) OR Yamanaka et al. (JP 2014-094159 A) (hereinafter “Yamanaka”) OR Arizti et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0282999 A1) (hereinafter “Arizti”).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, only a first recognizable pattern comprising first and second regions is taught by Takai. However, more than one zone having the same pattern can be formed.
Alternatively, Weirich teaches a female (loop) component for a fastening device included in an absorbent article having regions of different extensibility, wherein differentials may be provided by a non-uniform patterns of joining (bonding) the nonwoven creating regions of differing loft (col. 8, lines 4-26 & col. 10, lines 26-48).
OR
Yamanaka teaches a disposable diaper comprising a backsheet and garment exterior sheet [0036-0037], wherein the exterior sheet comprises a nonwoven that at least partially functions as a loop material [0062], wherein a first visually distinct design pattern (All Figs. [M11]) and a second visually distinct design imparted by thermal/ultrasonic bonding/embossing forming each design pattern comprising two different regions each region comprising different densities [0065, 0067-0068], wherein the first design pattern is different from the second design pattern such that they may be visually differentiated and/or by touch even in dark conditions [0049, 0051, 0056] the first design pattern acting as a target region/landing zone [0062-0063].
OR
Arizti teaches a nonwoven substrate having zonal treatments, wherein a first zone comprises a first morphological treatment and the second zone comprises a second morphological treatment different from the first [0008, 0141, 0181, 0208], wherein a morphological treatment can comprise embossing in a plurality of intersecting lines [0177, Fig. 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a second visually distinct pattern of embossed (or emboss-like) lines forming a third and fourth regions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form different extensibility and/or visually different loft/loop regions [Weirich; col. 8, lines 4-26] OR design a landing zone and/or outer cover having a visual and touch differentiation for fastening [Yamanaka; 0049, 0051, 0056] OR provide different patterns for aesthetical and/or functional reasons such as fluid handling [Arizti; 0008, 0141, 0181, 0208].
Claims 17-18 are rejected as recited above.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, & 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0029994 A1) (hereinafter “Ashraf”) in view of Kanya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0177886 A1) (hereinafter “Kanya”), as evidenced by or in view of Kawai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0128411 A1) (hereinafter “Kawai”) and Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D556,462 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘462), and Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D824,180 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘180”), optionally Horn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0158957 A1) (hereinafter “Horn”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, and 13-21, Ashraf teaches a shaped nonwoven for the topsheet, backsheet, or other components of an absorbent article such as a diaper [0052, 0057-0058, 0105], the continuous fiber/filament spunbond nonwoven [0064, 0076, 0081, 0085] comprising at least one visually discernible zone, possibly more patterns for additional zones [0101-0103] comprising a regular repeating (periodic) pattern on at least one surface [0054, 0101], wherein the zone comprises a plurality of three dimensional soft, pillowy features (second/fourth regions), such as diamonds or hearts, being enclosed/surrounded by portions (first/third regions) having differing intensive properties, such as caliper/thickness, density, and/or basis weight, from an adjacent (second/first) region (All Figs. [21]) [0037-0039, 0051-0058, 0108-0109, claims 16-17 & 20], wherein the enclosed/surrounded/closed shape of the feature (second/fourth regions) may be any linear or curvilinear pattern of lines, the lines being continuous or discontinuous [0057-0058, 0087-0088, 0103], a demonstrated diamond pattern comprises both positive and negative slopes and forming a quilted-like appearance with the pillowed features [0057-0058, Fig. 2] with additional smaller (hearts) being formed at intersections thereof, which add aesthetic benefits and the feel of softness [0058, Fig. 2], the regions/features of the nonwoven being defined via a forming belt [0051-0056], followed by hot-air through bonding [0092]. Additionally, point/emboss bonding can also be provided in a network (pattern) of high(er) density (first/third) regions that forms or reinforces (already) shaped features in a continuous or semi-continuous (continuous line with discontinuous elements) manner which increases web integrity/tensile strength [0087-0090]. The absorbent article/diaper comprises front and back waist regions, the front waist region having a landing zone (front belt) [0179-0180], a liquid permeable topsheet, liquid impermeable backsheet having a nonwoven as an outer cover, wherein any of the topsheet, landing zone, and/or backsheet may comprise the shaped nonwoven [0137-1039], and an absorbent core disposed therebetween [0127-0131].
However, the lattice/grid being discontinuous such that the first and second (and fifth) parallel straight lines formed in combination with third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) lines extending therebetween with additional closed shapes formed at intersections thereof are each formed by discontinuous elements is not explicitly taught.
Kanya teaches a nonwoven having an increased appearing and feeling softness, wherein that is at least partially imparted by a pattern of pillow regions defined by a lattice pattern of interrupted paths/discrete impressions that give the appearance of stitching, wherein continuous lines/paths would increase the stiffness and lower the flexibility and softness [0100, 0106, 0110, claim 1], wherein Kawai evidences/further teaches a nonwoven formed via a multilayered forming template [0005, 0051] having a relief pattern such that a first region has a higher fiber density and lower thickness than a second region that surrounds it in a network pattern forming a plurality of rhombic/diamond-shaped closed figures [0004, 0017-0018], wherein the rhombic lattice may be continuous lines [0017] or discontinuous lines formed of discontinuous elements, wherein the discontinuous lines pattern increases flexibility and provides a simulated stitch pattern [0041-0042, 0106, 0110], wherein Enderby ‘462 also evidences or further teaches that decorative closed shapes formed at intersections of discontinuous line lattice patterns are also formed of discontinuous elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form each of the lines as claimed surrounding raised/pillowed geometric shapes and small heart/decorative shapes at the intersections as comprising discontinuous elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to give the appearance of stitched quilting increasing both actual and perceived softness [Kanya; 0106, 0110], which would also be effective for recessed lines formed of increased fiber density at least partially surrounding raised areas of lower density, forming an equivalent but more flexible nonwoven [Kawai; 0041-0042].
Lastly, the third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) lines are not explicitly taught to be curvilinear while the first and second (and fifth) lines are taught to be straight.
Enderby ‘180 teaches a plurality shapes comprising first and second (and fifth) parallel straight lines formed of discontinuous elements having shorter third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) parallel curvilinear lines formed of discontinuous elements extending therebetween (at a positive/negative slope) demonstrating the limitation to have straight and/or curved parallel lines is an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Alternatively or furthermore, Horn teaches a nonwoven web being a component of an absorbent article such as a diaper comprising a liquid pervious topsheet, liquid impervious backsheet, and an absorbent core positioned therebetween [0032], with the backsheet comprising an outer cover nonwoven material forming a garment facing surface [0036-0037], wherein the nonwoven web may form a loop member/landing zone, topsheet, and/or outer cover of the backsheet [0049], wherein the nonwoven web comprises a (first visually distinct) pattern of lofted (three-dimensional, quilted) cells (second region) defined a first plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (first, second, fifth lines) and a second plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (third, fourth, sixth, seventh lines), extending at an angle (positive/negative slope, dependent upon perspective) to the first plurality, wherein the bond lines are formed via thermal embossing [0055], which inherently increases at least the volumetric density, possibly the basis weight, and lowers the caliper of the bond sites in relation to the cells which are relatively lofted [0055, 0072-0074], wherein at least one of the first and second pluralities of bond lines are formed curvilinear such that cells formed by the first, second, and fifth lines and third, fourth, sixth, and seventh lines have two parallel linear sides and two sides that are parallel curved and longer [0058 & Fig. 4], wherein at least one bonding line (or bonding line set) being non-linear/curvilinear allows for additional bonding of the fibers within the web without increasing bond area which further increases web integrity and increases hook anchoring when used as a mechanical loop fastener [0056, 0063, 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form at least one plurality of parallel bonding lines (third and fourth) as curvilinear, which can be the only set of curvilinear lines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase web bonding/integrity/strength without substantially increasing bond area [Horn; 0056, 0063, 0070].
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, & 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0029994 A1) (hereinafter “Ashraf”) in view of Kanya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0177886 A1) (hereinafter “Kanya”), as evidenced by or in view of Kawai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0128411 A1) (hereinafter “Kawai”) and Enderby (U.S. Patent No. D556,462 S) (hereinafter “Enderby ‘462), Ticotin (Defining Elegance: Home Treasures Quilted Bedding), and optionally Horn et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0158957 A1) (hereinafter “Horn”) OR Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 2,705,498).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, and 13-21, Ashraf teaches a shaped nonwoven for the topsheet, backsheet, or other components of an absorbent article such as a diaper [0052, 0057-0058, 0105], the continuous fiber/filament spunbond nonwoven [0064, 0076, 0081, 0085] comprising at least one visually discernible zone, possibly more patterns for additional zones [0101-0103] comprising a regular repeating (periodic) pattern on at least one surface [0054, 0101], wherein the zone comprises a plurality of three dimensional soft, pillowy features (second/fourth regions), such as diamonds or hearts, being enclosed/surrounded by portions (first/third regions) having differing intensive properties, such as caliper/thickness, density, and/or basis weight, from an adjacent (second/first) region (All Figs. [21]) [0037-0039, 0051-0058, 0108-0109, claims 16-17 & 20], wherein the enclosed/surrounded/closed shape of the feature (second/fourth regions) may be any linear or curvilinear pattern of lines, the lines being continuous or discontinuous [0057-0058, 0087-0088, 0103], a demonstrated diamond pattern comprises both positive and negative slopes and forming a quilted-like appearance with the pillowed features [0057-0058, Fig. 2] with additional smaller (hearts) being formed at intersections thereof, which add aesthetic benefits and the feel of softness [0058, Fig. 2], the regions/features of the nonwoven being defined via a forming belt [0051-0056], followed by hot-air through bonding [0092]. Additionally, point/emboss bonding can also be provided in a network (pattern) of high(er) density (first/third) regions that forms or reinforces (already) shaped features in a continuous or semi-continuous (continuous line with discontinuous elements) manner which increases web integrity/tensile strength [0087-0090]. The absorbent article/diaper comprises front and back waist regions, the front waist region having a landing zone (front belt) [0179-0180], a liquid permeable topsheet, liquid impermeable backsheet having a nonwoven as an outer cover, wherein any of the topsheet, landing zone, and/or backsheet may comprise the shaped nonwoven [0137-1039], and an absorbent core disposed therebetween [0127-0131].
However, the lattice/grid being discontinuous such that the first and second (and fifth) parallel straight lines formed in combination with third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) lines extending therebetween with additional closed shapes formed at intersections thereof are each formed by discontinuous elements is not explicitly taught.
Kanya teaches a nonwoven having an increased appearing and feeling softness, wherein that is at least partially imparted by a pattern of pillow regions defined by a lattice pattern of interrupted paths/discrete impressions that give the appearance of stitching, wherein continuous lines/paths would increase the stiffness and lower the flexibility and softness [0100, 0106, 0110, claim 1], wherein Kawai evidences/further teaches a nonwoven formed via a multilayered forming template [0005, 0051] having a relief pattern such that a first region has a higher fiber density and lower thickness than a second region that surrounds it in a network pattern forming a plurality of rhombic/diamond-shaped closed figures [0004, 0017-0018], wherein the rhombic lattice may be continuous lines [0017] or discontinuous lines formed of discontinuous elements, wherein the discontinuous lines pattern increases flexibility and provides a simulated stitch pattern [0041-0042, 0106, 0110], wherein Enderby ‘462 also evidences or further teaches that decorative closed shapes formed at intersections of discontinuous line lattice patterns are also formed of discontinuous elements.
Ticotin teaches stitched quilting patterns comprising discontinuous crossing lines, wherein only a fraction form pillowed geometric shapes defined by stitching patterns comprising lines that could be diagonal to a fiber/machine direction, which are rectangle/rhombus-type: Basket Weave, Viscaya, & Newport; rhombus/diamond-type: Blooms, Clover, Diamond, Honeycomb, Liberty, Luciana, Milano, Renaissance, & Sahara; and parallelogram-type (depicted below): Chester (on left: all straight lines) & Zurich (on right: first, second, fifth lines are straight, and third and fourth lines are curvilinear), comprising a herringbone/chevron pattern having vertical first, second, and fifth lines with negative and/or positive slope third, fourth, sixth, and seventh diagonal lines extending therebetween, demonstrating a parallelogram quilting embodiment as an alternative aesthetic design choice to the known diamond/rhombic design, wherein the parallelogram lattice grid having straight and/or curved parallel lines is also an aesthetic design choice, wherein it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form each of the lines as claimed surrounding raised/pillowed parallelogram shapes and small heart/decorative shapes at the intersections as comprising discontinuous elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to give the appearance of stitched quilting increasing both actual and perceived softness [Kanya; 0106, 0110], which would also be effective for recessed lines formed of increased fiber density at least partially surrounding raised areas of lower density, forming an equivalent but more flexible nonwoven [Kawai; 0041-0042].
In the event that the third and fourth (and sixth and seventh) lines are not properly motivated to form curvilinear lines:
Johnson teaches a spunbond nonwoven cover layer for an absorbent core for a sanitary napkin and/or diaper (col. 1, lines 20-30), comprising a plurality of diagonal bonded lines that cause the fabric set therebetween to pillow/pucker outward, especially when the nonwoven is stretched crosswise/transversely providing a quilted effect (col. 3, lines 19-40), wherein a modification is to provide a closed shape with at least one set of lateral diagonally extending parallel wavy lines (col. 5, lines 65-74; Fig. 10).
AND/OR
Horn teaches a nonwoven web being a component of an absorbent article such as a diaper comprising a liquid pervious topsheet, liquid impervious backsheet, and an absorbent core positioned therebetween [0032], with the backsheet comprising an outer cover nonwoven material forming a garment facing surface [0036-0037], wherein the nonwoven web may form a loop member/landing zone, topsheet, and/or outer cover of the backsheet [0049], wherein the nonwoven web comprises a (first visually distinct) pattern of lofted (three-dimensional, quilted) cells (second region) defined a first plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (first, second, fifth lines) and a second plurality of parallel continuously extending bond lines (third, fourth, sixth, seventh lines), extending at an angle (positive/negative slope, dependent upon perspective) to the first plurality, wherein the bond lines are formed via thermal embossing [0055], which inherently increases at least the volumetric density, possibly the basis weight, and lowers the caliper of the bond sites in relation to the cells which are relatively lofted [0055, 0072-0074], wherein at least one of the first and second pluralities of bond lines are formed curvilinear such that cells formed by the first, second, and fifth lines and third, fourth, sixth, and seventh lines have two parallel linear sides and two sides that are parallel curved and longer [0058 & Fig. 4], wherein at least one bonding line (or bonding line set) being non-linear/curvilinear allows for additional bonding of the fibers within the web without increasing bond area which further increases web integrity and increases hook anchoring when used as a mechanical loop fastener [0056, 0063, 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the diagonal bonding lines (third and fourth) crossing the fibers as curvilinear, wherein keeping the other lines as straight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a known wavy modification to diagonally oriented bonding/quilting lines, which would allow for increased cross-wise elasticity and displacement of fibers without rupture [Johnson; col. 5, lines 10-35 & 65-74] AND/OR increase web bonding/integrity/strength without increasing bond area and to allow more fibers to be available for anchoring hooks [Horn; 0056, 0063, 0070].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Discontinuous lattice pattern elements comprising parallel curvy lines intersecting parallel straight lines is a common pattern as set forth in U.S. Patent Nos. D507,415; D660,009; D660,010.
Discontinuous lattice pattern elements comprising parallel lines intersecting having closed shapes forming by discontinuous pattern elements is set forth in U.S. Patent No. D390,362.
Discontinuous element straight lines connected by discontinuous curvilinear lines wherein at intersections thereof comprising closed shapes formed by discontinuous elements is taught by U.S. Patent No. D504,779.
Mecl et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0161897 A1) teaches compressed bond patterns forming first and second regions, wherein the pattern could easily be modified by the decorative pattern of Hoeft (U.S. Patent No. D522,759) wherein the closed flower containing curvilinear diamond shapes are formed at intersections of first and second straight lines and third and fourth curvilinear lines forming curved pararllelogram, optionally further in view of U.S. Patent No. D586,564 for additional closed shapes formed at each of the intersections. The secondary design patterns could also have modified Takai.
LaVon et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0070042 A1) teach a bonding pattern as set forth for both a backsheet outer cover (Fig. 1D) and a topsheet (Figs. 2B, 2D), which is now somewhat available as prior art due to the altered priority date as recited above, but includes some of the same inventors and inventive entity.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Frank J Vineis can be reached at (571)270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JEFFREY A VONCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 February 4th, 2026