DETAIL ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/12/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant only argued regarding independent claim 12, in connection to Vela’s (CN 110139775) teaching, as presented below. Since, there was no other arguments presented, going forward at this stage Examiner will only be providing response to Applicant arguments, regarding independent claim 12, as further presented below.
Following is Applicant’s arguments,
However, respectfully Examiner disagrees.
Above left-hand side Fig. 1 is from AAPA, wherein
Above right-hand side Fig. 5 is from Applicant’s own invention,
reflecting on current claims, provided for comparison purposes; wherein,
note that only difference between Fig. 1 & 5 is that
Fig. 5 introduces relay S2 connecting neutral conductor N and 3rd phase on L3
As evidence, under BRI, see following Examiner’s interpretation of claim 12 in connection with Applicant’s Fig. 5,
In regards to claim 12, L7-12, Applicant never claims which one of the transverse switches (i.e., T7-T12) being closed, in another word conducting to be on.
Since, Applicant’s both first and second two bridge transistors of the third phase (T5=OFF=T6) are being open, in another conducting to be off; resulting teaching of Applicant’s own admitted prior Art (Fig. 1) to be enough to teach Claim 12’s claimed feature(s) in L7-12; wherein, claim 12’s claimed feature(s) in L5-6 having no relationship to claimed features of in L7-10.
Above annotated Fig. 7-9 and relative excerpts are from Vela Garcia (“Vela”, CN 110139775)
Vela was only used to teach “(Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) switching an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connecting between a third phase C’s output to an input of the neutral conductor 90)”. This was further agreed by Applicant in above remarks, Pg. 8 L6-9 and 12-13.
Additionally, Applicant never claimed any of the following detail(s)
what is
“a switching state (Applicant’s Fig. 111; i.e., X (which is between phases V & VI) by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T6=off & T11=T12=on)”,
“a first charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase V by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=off & T6=T12=on)” vs.
“a second charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase VI by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=on & T6=T12=off)” and
how such operations are even being performed, in relationship to third phase vs. neutral conductor, meaning specific current flow.
Examiner is aware that the charging phases has to do with capacitors C1-2, and specific current flow between each first-third phase, neutral conductor and DC node (3). However, none of such detail was ever claimed. Therefore, due to lack of specific detail claim language, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), AAPA already teaches some type of charging phases and current flow, corresponding to 1st-3rd phases, leading to teaching above claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 12-16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA), in view of Vela Garcia (“Vela”, CN 110139775).
Above left-hand side Fig. 1 is from AAPA, wherein
Above right-hand side Fig. 5 is from Applicant’s own invention,
reflecting on current claims, provided for comparison purposes; wherein,
note that only difference between Fig. 1 & 5 is that
Fig. 5 introduces relay S2 connecting neutral conductor N and 3rd phase on L3’s input end
Regarding independent claim 12, AAPA teaches (Fig. 1-4; see Specification Pg. 1 L10-Pg. 3 L20) a method for operating a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter (Fig. 1, 3; a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter, wherein each phase corresponding to respective La-c; Para 3) with a neutral conductor (i.e., Fig. 1, 3; neutral conductor being N) to an alternating voltage grid (Fig. 1, 3; see current’s arrow direction being provided to N of AC inputs being grid 2; Para 3) for converting a single-phase alternating voltage into a direct voltage (i.e., at node 3’s output received by a further circuit, not shown; Para 3), the method comprising the following steps:
switching an input of first &/or second phases of three phases (1st phase on La, 2nd phase on Lb and 3rd phase on Lc) to an input of the neutral conductor (input of N); and
opening a first (1st phase on La: T1, 2nd phase on Lb: T3, 3rd phase on Lc: T5) and a second (1st phase on La: T2, 2nd phase on Lb: T4, 3rd phase on Lc: T6) of two bridge transistors (1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6) of the third phase (Fig. 6; 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6 being off or open. Note that similarly taught 2nd-3rd phase on Lb-c’s bridge 2-3’s are also shown in being off or open) and
closing at least one transverse switch (1st phase on La’s 1st set of transverse switches: T7-8, 2nd phase on Lb’s 2nd set of transverse switches: T9-10 and 3rd phase on Lc’s 3rd set of transverse switches: T11-12) for providing an intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases)
between
a first charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; one of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’) and
a second charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; another of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’)
of the single-phase alternating voltage (i.e., L1 to N).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: Applicant never claimed any of the following detail about
what is
“a switching state (Applicant’s Fig. 111; i.e., X (which is between phases V & VI) by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T6=off & T11=T12=on)”,
“a first charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase V by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=off & T6=T12=on)” vs.
“a second charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase VI by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=on & T6=T12=off)”; and
how such operations are even being performed, in relationship to third phase vs. neutral conductor, meaning specific current flow.
Additionally, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Examiner is aware that the dis/charging phases has to do with capacitors C1-2, and specific current flow between each first-third phase, neutral conductor and DC node (3). However, none of such detail was ever claimed. Therefore, due to lack of specific detail claim language, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), AAPA already teaches some type of charging phases and current flow, corresponding to 1st-3rd phases, leading to teaching above claimed limitations.]
However, AAPA fails to explicitly teach switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay, connecting between a third phase’s output to an input of the neutral conductor).
Above annotated Fig. 7-9 and relative excerpts are from Vela Garcia (“Vela”, CN 110139775)
However, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AAPA’s converter to include use of a fuse or relay (similar to Applicant’s S2) at the input end of third phase prior to the inductor (similar to Applicant’s Lc) and a neutral conductor, to establish selective connection for switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor, as disclosed by Vela, as doing so would have maintained a small volume, reliable, safe operational, low EMI emission controlled and relatively low input current harmonic controlled converter circuit, while adapting re-set specification control between charging phases, which ultimately results to providing various operational power level output, as taught by Vela (see, English translated document, pg. 2 abstract and Para 2-last para).
Regarding claim 13, AAPA teaches the intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases) is provided between each charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; one of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’) during operation of the converter (Fig. 1, 3; a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter; Para 3).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE.
As stated above, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Furthermore, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt)]
Regarding claim 14, AAPA teaches the first charging phase includes charging a first intermediate circuit capacitor of the converter and the second charging phase includes charging a second intermediate circuit capacitor (Fig. 2, 4; one of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE]
Regarding claim 15, AAPA teaches
an electrical connection (i.e., using required switching operations of T1-12) between
an input of the third phase (Fig. 6; 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6 being off or open. Note that similarly taught 2nd-3rd phase on Lb-c’s bridge 2-3’s are also shown in being off or open) and
a node (3 being between C1 & C2) between the first and second intermediate circuit capacitors is present in the intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases; wherein 1st phase on La’s 1st set of transverse switches: T7-8, 2nd phase on Lb’s 2nd set of transverse switches: T9-10 and 3rd phase on Lc’s 3rd set of transverse switches: T11-12).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE.
As stated above, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Furthermore, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Lastly, see following details of Chen (CN 115158040), under conclusion, which teaches same limitation of above specific claim(s).]
Regarding claim 16, AAPA teaches the three phases of the converter (Fig. 1, 3; a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter; Para 3) have a relevant inductance in their input (Fig. 1-3; each phase corresponding to respective La-c) and are connected via the relevant inductance (Fig. 1-3; each phase corresponding to respective La-c) to the alternating voltage grid (2).
Regarding claim 18, AAPA teaches the intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases) is shorter (i.e., see, Fig. 2, 4; where transverse switches on-time period is shown shorter then bridge-switches on-time period) than the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase (i.e., on/off operation of taught respective phase’s bridge switches to charge/discharge of C1-2; wherein 1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE.
As stated above, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Furthermore, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Lastly, see following details of Chen (CN 115158040), under conclusion, which teaches same limitation of above specific claim(s).]
Regarding claim 19, AAPA teaches
the intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases):
(i) is independent of (i.e., see, Fig. 2, 4; where transverse switches on-time period is shown shorter then bridge-switches on-time period; during shaded/charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period; and during non-shaded/non-charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is not dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period) a duration of the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase (i.e., on/off operation of taught respective phase’s bridge switches to charge/discharge of C1-2; wherein 1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6), or
(ii) is selected depending on (i.e., see, Fig. 2, 4; where transverse switches on-time period is shown shorter then bridge-switches on-time period; during shaded/charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period; and during non-shaded/non-charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is not dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period) the duration of the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase (i.e., on/off operation of taught respective phase’s bridge switches to charge/discharge of C1-2; wherein 1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE.
As stated above, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Furthermore, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Lastly, see following details of Chen (CN 115158040), under conclusion, which teaches same limitation of above specific claim(s).]
Regarding claim 20, AAPA teaches the intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases) has in each case a maximum duration of (i.e., see, Fig. 2, 4; where transverse switches on-time period is shown shorter then bridge-switches on-time period; during shaded/charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period; and during non-shaded/non-charging phased period of time transverse switches on-time period is not dependent/co-related to the bridge-switches on-time period) a duration of the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase (i.e., on/off operation of taught respective phase’s bridge switches to charge/discharge of C1-2; wherein 1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6).
[Also See detail in above additional Examiner’s NOTE.
As stated above, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Furthermore, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Lastly, see following details of Chen (CN 115158040), under conclusion, which teaches same limitation of above specific claim(s).]
However, AAPA fails to explicitly teach use of a maximum duration being a value of 0.5 times (of a duration of the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AAPA’s converter to include use of a maximum duration being a value of 0.5 times when compared with a duration of the first charging phase and/or the second charging phase, as disclosed by AAPA, as doing so would have provided an improved converter’s performance, which varied adaptability to provide various operating power level output, as required by the load, as taught by AAPA (Para 5), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding independent claim 21, AAPA teaches (Fig. 1-4; see Specification Pg. 1 L10-Pg. 3 L20) a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter (Fig. 1, 3; a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter, wherein each phase corresponding to respective La-c; Para 3) with a neutral conductor (i.e., Fig. 1, 3; neutral conductor being N) to an alternating voltage grid (Fig. 1, 3; see current’s arrow direction being provided to N of AC inputs being grid 2; Para 3) for converting a single-phase alternating voltage (i.e., from 2) into a direct voltage i.e., at node 3’s output received by a further circuit, not shown; Para 3), the converter configured to:
switch an input of first &/or second phases of three phases (1st phase on La, 2nd phase on Lb and 3rd phase on Lc) to an input of the neutral conductor (input of N); and
open a first (1st phase on La: T1, 2nd phase on Lb: T3, 3rd phase on Lc: T5) and a second (1st phase on La: T2, 2nd phase on Lb: T4, 3rd phase on Lc: T6) of two bridge transistors (1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6) of the third phase (Fig. 6; 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6 being off or open. Note that similarly taught 2nd-3rd phase on Lb-c’s bridge 2-3’s are also shown in being off or open) and
close at least one transverse switch (1st phase on La’s 1st set of transverse switches: T7-8, 2nd phase on Lb’s 2nd set of transverse switches: T9-10 and 3rd phase on Lc’s 3rd set of transverse switches: T11-12) for providing an intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases)
between
a first charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; one of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’) and
a second charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; another of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’) of the single-phase alternating voltage (i.e., L1 to N).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: Applicant never claimed any of the following detail about
what is
“a switching state (Applicant’s Fig. 111; i.e., X (which is between phases V & VI) by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T6=off & T11=T12=on)”,
“a first charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase V by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=off & T6=T12=on)” vs.
“a second charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase VI by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=on & T6=T12=off)”; and
how such operations are even being performed, in relationship to third phase vs. neutral conductor, meaning specific current flow.
Additionally, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Examiner is aware that the dis/charging phases has to do with capacitors C1-2, and specific current flow between each first-third phase, neutral conductor and DC node (3). However, none of such detail was ever claimed. Therefore, due to lack of specific detail claim language, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), AAPA already teaches some type of charging phases and current flow, corresponding to 1st-3rd phases, leading to teaching above claimed limitations.]
However, AAPA fails to explicitly teach switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay, connecting between a third phase’s output to an input of the neutral conductor).
However, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AAPA’s converter to include use of a fuse or relay (similar to Applicant’s S2) at the input end of third phase prior to the inductor (similar to Applicant’s Lc) and a neutral conductor, to establish selective connection for switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor, as disclosed by Vela, as doing so would have maintained a small volume, reliable, safe operational, low EMI emission controlled and relatively low input current harmonic controlled converter circuit, while adapting re-set specification control between charging phases, which ultimately results to providing various operational power level output, as taught by Vela (see, English translated document, pg. 2 abstract and Para 2-last para).
Regarding independent claim 22, AAPA teaches (Fig. 1-4; see Specification Pg. 1 L10-Pg. 3 L20) a three-phase inverter (Fig. 1, 3; a T-type three-phase AC/DC converter, wherein each phase corresponding to respective La-c; Para 3) configured to supply electrical energy to an electric machine (i.e., battery operated passenger transport, in another word, electric vehicles (EV)) by:
switching an input of first &/or second phases of three phases (1st phase on La, 2nd phase on Lb and 3rd phase on Lc) to an input of the neutral conductor (input of N); and
opening a first (1st phase on La: T1, 2nd phase on Lb: T3, 3rd phase on Lc: T5) and a second (1st phase on La: T2, 2nd phase on Lb: T4, 3rd phase on Lc: T6) of two bridge transistors (1st phase on La’s bridge1: T1-2, 2nd phase on Lb’s bridge 2: T3-4, 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6) of the third phase (Fig. 6; 3rd phase on Lc’s bridge 3: T5-6 being off or open. Note that similarly taught 2nd-3rd phase on Lb-c’s bridge 2-3’s are also shown in being off or open) and
closing at least one transverse switch (1st phase on La’s 1st set of transverse switches: T7-8, 2nd phase on Lb’s 2nd set of transverse switches: T9-10 and 3rd phase on Lc’s 3rd set of transverse switches: T11-12) for providing an intermediate switching state (i.e., using on/off switching states of taught 1st-3rd set of transverse switches, in between two phases)
between
a first charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; one of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’) and
a second charging phase (Fig. 2, 4; another of first-four phases I-IV to charge vs. discharge capacitors ‘C1-2’)
of the single-phase alternating voltage (i.e., L1 to N).
[Additional Examiner’s NOTE: Applicant never claimed any of the following detail about
what is
“a switching state (Applicant’s Fig. 111; i.e., X (which is between phases V & VI) by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T6=off & T11=T12=on)”,
“a first charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase V by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=off & T6=T12=on)” vs.
“a second charging phase (Applicant’s Fig. 11; i.e., phase VI by having 3rd phase’s respective switching operation T5=T11=on & T6=T12=off)”; and
how such operations are even being performed, in relationship to third phase vs. neutral conductor, meaning specific current flow.
Additionally, Applicant fails to claim any order of sequence, with claimed conditional steps between “the steps of:” (1) “switching an input…to… neutral conductor (claim 1, L5-6)” and (2) “opening a first …of the single-phase alternating voltage”. Under BRI, (1) and (2) may operate independently of each other.
Examiner is aware that the dis/charging phases has to do with capacitors C1-2, and specific current flow between each first-third phase, neutral conductor and DC node (3). However, none of such detail was ever claimed. Therefore, due to lack of specific detail claim language, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), AAPA already teaches some type of charging phases and current flow, corresponding to 1st-3rd phases, leading to teaching above claimed limitations.]
However, AAPA fails to explicitly teach switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay, connecting between a third phase’s output to an input of the neutral conductor).
However, Vela explicitly teaches (Fig. 1, 7-9; abstract; also see, English translated document’s Pg. 7 Para 3-Pg. 9 last Para) using a fuse or relay (17), connected to establish a selective switching connection from an input of a third phase (i.e., 3rd phase C is on input side of L3) to an input of the neutral conductor (i.e., using a fuse or relay 17, connected to control a circular current path between the third phase C and to an input of the neutral conductor 90);… providing the intermediate switching state (i.e., using S1, S2, S3) between a first charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) and a second charging phase (i.e., of C1 vs. C2) of the single phase alternating voltage (see, above excerpt).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified AAPA’s converter to include use of a fuse or relay (similar to Applicant’s S2) at the input end of third phase prior to the inductor (similar to Applicant’s Lc) and a neutral conductor, to establish selective connection for switching an input of a third phase to an input of the neutral conductor, as disclosed by Vela, as doing so would have maintained a small volume, reliable, safe operational, low EMI emission controlled and relatively low input current harmonic controlled converter circuit, while adapting re-set specification control between charging phases, which ultimately results to providing various operational power level output, as taught by Vela (see, English translated document, pg. 2 abstract and Para 2-last para).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, cited art(s) failed to teach, “wherein the intermediate switching state is such that a first transistor of the third phase has a switching state identical to a charging phase for charging a first intermediate circuit capacitor, a second transistor of the third phase has a switching state identical to a charging phase of a second intermediate circuit capacitor, while two transverse switches connecting the third phase to a center tap of the three-phase AC/DC converter are switched to conductive”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUSRAT QUDDUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838