DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Cooke, US 2007/0128959 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 10, Cooke discloses a tensioning system (figure 1) for a cummerbund (14). The tensioning system comprising a mounting panel (32), a tensioning device (24, 25, 30, 31), a plurality of adapters, (23, can be more than two per side, [0007]), and a lace (two cables (22). The tensioning device is attached to the mounting panel (32, [0005]). The mounting panel (32) includes a plurality of spaced-apart openings (via tubes/bumpers (26, [0007]) sewn to the mounting panel (32, figure 1) positioned to route the lace (22); the lace (22) operably connects the tensioning device ( 24) to the spaced-apart openings (26) of the mounting panel and to the plurality of adapters (23); the plurality of adapters (23), in conjunction with the lace (22), are configured to join a first opposing end and a second opposing end of the cummerbund (14) to the mounting panel (32); and, the tensioning device (24) is configured to adjust the fit of the cummerbund by gathering the lace (22), which draws the opposing ends closer together and tightens the cummerbund around a wearer ([0008]).
Regarding claim 10, it recites the functional, intended use limitation that the mounting panel is configured for attachment to a back panel section of a plate carrier. Cooke discloses that the mounting panel is attached to a front panel portion of the personal flotation device via thread ([0005]). Therefore, Cooke’s mounting panel is capable of being mounted to any panel section, e.g., the back panel section of a plate carrier via thread.
Regarding claims 2, 6, and 11, Cooke discloses that the tensioning device can be pulled (pulling on the knob 31) to release the tension on the lace ([0005]).
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 12, Cooke discloses there can be more than one adapter (23, cable guides [0006]).
Regarding claims 4, 9 and 14, Cooke discloses openings in the cable guides (23) that allow the lace (22) to pass through (channel, not shown, ([0007]).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Cooke discloses the spaced apart openings (26) are positioned to allow the lace (22) to draw the plurality of adapters (23, cable guides) closer together to pull the opposing ends of the cummerbund closer together ([0008]).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pease discloses obesity belts made for its suitable adjustment so as to be adapted to the person of the wearer.
Wu discloses a helmet (1) has a front shell (11) and a rear shell (12) which can be moved relating to the front shell (11), the rear shell (12) has a shell cavity (123), the two ends of the front shell (11) are plug-connected with the two ends of the rear shell (12). The adjustment device (2) comprises a positive rotatable knob (21), a fixing pole (22), a winding ring (24), two pulling ropes (27) and a reverse locking device for preventing the knob (21) from rotating reversely.
Maloney discloses a dial lace tightening mechanism 18 provided on the rear yoke support member 14. The ends of a lace or the ends of laces 20 are received in the dial lace tightening mechanism 18. The dial lace tightening mechanism 18 can be operated manually to increase or decrease the tension in the lace(s) 20, as by rotating a knob on the mechanism. Such a mechanism may include a spool on which a lace is wound and unwound, as desired.
Nickel discloses a medical brace having lacing systems for tightening of the medical braces. Some embodiments include multiple components of the lacing system integrated into a single housing piece. For example, multiple reels can be used to tighten different portions of the lacing system, and the multiple reels can be mounted onto a single housing. Also, multiple lace guides can be integrated into, or attached to, a single housing piece.
Kim discloses a torso protector device for martial arts is disclosed. The device comprises a cylindrical torso protection body to protect a wearer's torso; a shoulder cover coupled to the cylindrical torso protection body at front and rear portions thereof. Wherein, the shoulder cover has a neck opening defined in a top. Left and right arm passing openings are defined in the shoulder cover in the left and right sides. A wire coupled to the cylindrical torso protection body and the shoulder cover; a wire adjuster module coupled to the wire; and, a screener to screen the wire. Wherein, an adjustment dial is operatively coupled to the wire adjuster module. The rotation of the adjustment dial results in length increase or decrease of the wire.
Trudel discloses A tightening device for tightening an article includes an elongate panel that is positionable about the article. The elongate panel has a proximal end and a distal end. A tensioning mechanism is coupled with the proximal end of the elongate panel. The tightening device also includes a tension member that is operably coupled with the tensioning mechanism so that an operation of the tensioning mechanism adjusts a tension of the tension member. The tightening device further includes at least one guide member that is coupled with the elongate panel between the proximal end and the distal end. The tension member is operable with the at least one guide member so that the tension member is routed about the article and along a portion of the elongate panel.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677